reviews for: listing #80424 - Kemah, Texas House rental

Galveston Bay House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kemah Boardwalk area
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $295 - $295 /nt
    $281 - $281 /wk
    $259 - $259 /mth

sort by:

Extended Stay

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 19, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at the Galveston Bay house for the last month of spring as I house-hunted in the area. I was fortunate to experience fantastic weather and a great breeze off of the bay kept things nice and cool. The property is conveniently located to the Kemah Boardwalk, old Seabrook, and Pasadena. You cannot quite see Kemah from the deck, but if you walk to the edge of the property on the bay you can. There are many types of birds and other critters (raccoons, etc.) that hang out near the bay and my wife caught a glimpse of dolphins swimming nearby one day. The beach at El Jardin was not that great, but it could have been time of year.

The unit was nicely appointed with new appliances and such, but don't expect all of the bells and whistles that you might find in a newer home or condo. There was plenty of space in the closets for clothes and luggage. The owners were very helpful and accommodating.

My two dogs had a blast; they loved hanging out on the deck. I brought a baby gate to keep them from going down the stairs (would recommend bringing one if you have small children). The Seabrook City Park is located a little over a quarter of a mile from the property. It was easy to walk the dogs there daily.

Keep in mind when making plans, you will have to climb stairs. The house sits on piers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LOVED WATCHING THE DOLPHINS SWIMMING IN THE BAY

Review submitted: July 10, 2014   Date of arrival: May 8, 2014

This house was wonderful- quiet and relaxing. Loved watching the dolphins swimming in the bay from the porch. We hope to make a return visit soon. Thank You.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful escape

Review submitted: July 9, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

My family and I were very happy with our stay. We had the fireworks display on the 4th and the sunrise over the bay in the morning. It was truly a place that all of us love and enjoyed. We hope to come again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic visit

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

Our family of 7 (6 adults, 1 child) spent a wonderful 3-day weekend at this house. The location is perfect--easy to get to and close to all the activities at the Kemah boardwalk. The house is beautiful and well laid out. The amenities were first class, and we had everything we needed. This was, by far, the best VRBO rental experience we have had, and I hope to return soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

THE YARD AND SEAWALL WERE GREAT FOR THE KIDS

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

We came down for spring break family vacation with the little kiddos. 1 st time to the beach, NASA, Schlitterbaun. Thanks for letting us use your house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

THE HOUSE WAS WONDERFUL AND VIEW INCREDIBLE

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

This is the first time we have made such a trip together. We made some great memories, the house was wonderful and view incredible.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WE CAME FOR R & R

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

We certainly got that. View is breathtaking and great sunsets and sunrises. Thanks for the hospitality, we will be back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WE CAME FOR FISHING TOURNEMENT

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

Our group had a very nice time, great set up for weekend. Almost won the tournament.l

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best ever Labor Day

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

We came for a weekend gettaway and had a great time. Thanks for making this possible.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

THANKS FOR THE WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We hated to leave, we had a blast. Awesome.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WE ABSOLUTELY LOVED OUR STAY

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

Came here as a family vacation/21st Birthday. We loved our stay, thanks for letting share your home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LOVED THE VIEW, THE SUNRISE WE EVEN SAW DOLPHINS

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

We came down for a weddings, it was a great place to relax. We loved the view. Thanks for sharing with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LOVE THE HOUSE

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

We had a great stay, we will definitely come back. P.S. took first place in the first annual Beauties on the Bay contest.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

Cloudy windy and wonderful. The day trips were great. Thanks for the place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house for our group. Liked that coffee was supplied in the kitchen!

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 16, 2014

The house was exactly as described. Our group liked having the kitchen and laundry facilities in the home. The view of the water from the deck was gorgeous~wished we could have spent more time enjoying the view!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent home on the bay

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

We stayed here for a regatta in November '12. The home was very well kept and very well equipped. The master bedroom was very spacious with a great view of the bay. The second bedroom had a queen bed and was very nice. The 3rd bedroom had bunk beds and was nice as well. Plenty of seating in the living room for 6-8 people seating comfortably. Just blocks from the Kemah boardwalk and minutes to all restaurants in the area. We plan on staying each regatta that we attend in the bay area. The owner was always available for any issues, although we did not have any.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Galveston Bay House!

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

Very nice house that was delivered as advertised and provided a nice winter getaway! We had a relaxing time and made some great memories fishing and exploring the area. Put on your waders and go wade fishing! Rent a kayak maybe. Do not forget to throw a line out from the backyard when the sun goes down! There are some lunkers out there at night!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great September getaway

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

We just got back from a lovely 10 days in Galveston Bay House. The weather was perfect - not too hot ! Great location to enjoy breakfast on the deck as the sun rises over the Bay, explore the Houston area by car, and have a secluded retreat to get back to each evening! If you like boats, they are everywhere!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Week with the grandchildren

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

The house is prefect for families. Our grandchildren loved the big yard. It's locations was great for the space center.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Vacation House Review

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

The house provides a great back yard for frisbee and recreational games for kids, and adults. The house is clean, comfortable, provides amenities such as cable and internet, and has a bbq for grilling out on the ground level. It is close to the Kemah boardwalk that has restaurants and a night life for adults, with many food options. I plan on renting this house again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

The house is in a fabulous location with waterfront views - this is definitely the selling point for the house. It was well placed for Galveston Island, NASA, Kemah boardwalk and main roads to get around the south of Houston.
It has everything you could want with plenty of space inside and out. Our party consisted of 4 adults and 2 children and we never felt enclosed.
I would recommend this to anyone and would not hesitate to book this house again.
From the very beginning, Fred was helpful with the booking and answered all of our questions promptly. He was a very good host.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a great place!

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

A group of us rented the beach house for the Kemah Triathlon that was that weekend. The location was great. You felt secluded enough and being in the residential area was a plus but just a 2 minute drive down the road you were at the Kemah Boardwalk and other attractions. The beds were SO comfortable as well. It was so peaceful having our morning coffee on the patio overlooking the bay and listening to the ocean, especially post race when we could just unwind and relax. My son (4 yo) had a great time playing in the grass behind the house, we flew kites, and played ball. It had ample room for him to exert his energy but where I still felt safe for him to be playing. Highly recommend this home and we will definitely be returning!

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic place to stay, beautiful view and location was perfect!

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

We had a great visit to Kemah and house was perfect. Beautiful ocean view from balcony. Will definitely stay here again on our next visit. Bottle of wine was a perfect touch, thanks for the hospitality.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at your bay house and it worked out perfectly for our group of six. The view from the house was wonderful and we enjoyed relaxing on the patio. The house was very clean and had everything we needed. We enjoyed the location and being away from the traffic on the Kemah bridge. I'm sure we will be returning next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

seabrook

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

This place was perfect for our family get together.My family loved it. The location was great and close to everything . We are looking forward to rent this again .Thank you very much.. I highly recommend this for a quite and restful getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Family Chrismas On The Water.......

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

This place was perfect for our family get together. Close to everything to make it a great getaway. Everything was immaculate and modern, but still with that waterfront cottage retreat feel. The facilities and all amenities were exactly as described.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bay House review from very satisfied customer

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

This Bay side vacation place made us feel like home. This is the first time I’ve ever rented a vacation home. What a great experience. My family loved it. We will always have great memories. If I ever do this again, you have set the bar for everyone else. The property was clean, the view out back was beautiful. I would recommend this property to my friend and family. The location was great and close to everything we wanted to see and do.
Thank you for a great weekend

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful home!

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

This home in Seabrook was exactly what we needed. It is comfortable for the four of us. We were able to entertain extended family with plenty of room. The youngest in the group were thrilled with the large open lawn to play on. It had everything that we needed. We will be staying here again if it is available the next time we travel to Texas. :) The view is spectacular and the neighbors were very friendly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great retreat

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

The house was a wonderful, restful place. My family felt at home but is was also good to be there alone as the sun came up. The house was clean and well-appointed. The location was great.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Home for a Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

We did a 3 night stay with our two young kids and our dog. The house is immaculately kept and very clean. Thoughtful amenities including high quality towels and linens made us feel at home. The view of the bay is fantastic and the back yard is huge - great for playing with the kids and the dog enjoyed having some space to run around on his leash run. We went to Galveston one day and NASA the next. The Kemah boardwalk is 5 minutes down the road and there are tons of great restaurants in the area.

We plan to be regulars as we live a short distance away..

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Seabrook

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

This is the nicest home we've rented and we all had a great time; We enjoyed Seadooing around Clear Lake, visiting the Kemah boardwalk and watching the boats come in and out at Outriggers right down the road. i'm looking forward to coming back next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

We had a wonderful time - very relaxed and laid back. The pictures don't do the place justice. The fireworks from the boardwalk and dolphin watching were icing on the cake. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to relax & regroup!!

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We stayed the weekend and had a great time.The house is beauitful and very clean. We enjoyed the fishing,crabbing, and fish market right the road. Kemah is always fun if you want to get away for a nice dinner or a little shopping.

I highly recommend this for a quite and restful getaway!!

Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

JULY 2012

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

We needed to kick back and relax, and this property was the perfect place to do that. Quiet nieghborhood, great view of the bay, the boats, and the Friday night fireworks at Kemah Boardwalk. The house was clean and comfortable. We will be back as soon as possible. Thank you .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEAUTIFUL

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

The Galveston Bay House is a wonderful place to spend time with your family. The Seabrook / Kemah area is so peaceful and quite. Kemah boardwalk is so much fun. We had a blast and this vacation will be one to remember. We recommend visiting the El Jardin beach which is 10 miles from the house. Very nice, clean area to take the family swimming. We look forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hate to leave

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

Our stay at the Galveston Bay house was a very enjoyable expierance. We contacted the owner on very short notice and he was able to accomadate us for the 6 weeks that we requested. It is an absolutley wonderful location with everything you might need to enjoy your vacation. The location is perfect to enjoy all the area has to offer. Belive me you will not want to leave at the end of you stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect getaway for out-of-towners.

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

We just loved our stay at the Todville house. Not only was it right on the bay but it was so close to the boardwalk and cute shops. It was more than enough room for our group of 6 adults and even for two additional guests one of the nights. It was great to have a grill handy for nights to do some grilling/BBQ. If for any reason we end up in the Houston area again we would LOVE to stay again. :)

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We liked it!

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

It was a very typical beach experience at a wonderful location and I will be back for sure ;) Walking distance of kemah and fish markets, boating and bordwalk, Stewart beach is right down the road, NASA around the conor and Galveston is close as enough too..........thanks Fred you super to deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kemah Bay House

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our week at this property. My husband is working on a project in Houston and normally stays at hotels, but that does become tiresome. This was a very nice agenda change that allowed me to join him and bring our two dogs and visit family in the area. The accomodations were very comfortable, clean and the view of the bay from the deck was a breath of fresh air. The property is positioned perfectly for moon viewing! We were both raised in the area but now live in the Hill Country. Plenty of places close by to get our "seafood fix". There's everything you need to be comfortable and the yard is spacious which allowed for frisbee time with the dogs. Hope to make it back before long.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Galveston Bay experience.

Review submitted: September 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

The house could not be better located. Great views from the house and deck and the bay in your back yard. Plenty of restaurants and activities nearby, Kemah board walk less than five minutes away. Fred and Sandra are the perfect hosts and Joseph makes sure the place is in ship shape and hospitable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This was a great house on the bay.

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

My family and I really enjoyed the house and the local area. The house was easy to find and in a good central location. All the usual necessities were nearby as well as plenty of restaurants and attractions. The view of the bay was really nice and when the water receded from the rocks, the beach was fun to explore, though a ramp or functional dock would have made water access a little easier. The online listing was accurate and the furnishings were nice and well maintained.

We would definitely recommend this house to friends and family and would certainly stay there again ourselves. We enjoyed relaxing on the deck in the late evening watching the boats. This was a quiet, peaceful place that made the trip worth it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect bayside retreat!

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

My husband and I hosted a family reunion at the bay house and had a wonderful time! The house is beautifully decorated, has all the amenities you need, comfortably sleeps 8-9 people, and has plenty of room for additional daytime guests. Our favorite feature was the panoramic view of the bay. It's perfect! We spent hours and hours relaxing on the deck watching the boats and birds, and even saw a few dolphins! Our second favorite feature was the Kemah boardwalk, which is only 5 minutes away.

My parents were considering bringing their dog with them from Baton Rouge, so I spent a long time researching both pet-friendly and non-pet properties. You really can't find a better deal than the bay house. There are cheaper rentals out there, but they're not right on the water and they're not nearly as nice. We were very pleased and look forward to staying at the bay house again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great getaway for Moms and kiddos!

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

The house was very clean and welcoming. The view of the bay was gorgeous and the property felt very private and quiet. There was just us, two moms and two children under seven, The kids loved the bunk beds and deck area. The Kemah Boardwalk was so close, it was perfect for us! We also enjoyed Galveston beach and the Space Center. (all within 30 minutes of the property). The furniture was a bit outdated, but comfortable. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would come back again!! In August, it took a while to cool the house in the main living area, it was more comfortable in the evening for sure. All the extras were provided! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2010 Todville Road

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

My husband and I had the most spectacular time while staying at the Pounds home.. We arrived to a clean, well equipped, very nicely decorated home that had ample room for us. The running park with miles and miles of running trails just a few blocks away was an added surprise. We were right there for the fireworks and didnt have to go anywhere to see the spectacular display. Fred was so helpful will any questions we had. I would recommend this property to anyone who wants to enjoy a relaxing vacation. We are already planning our next visit.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

My family spent nearly two weeks at the Bay House in June. We are considering a move to Houston and wanted to check out the Bay area. We found the home so relaxing that we didn't want to leave. It is cozy and beautifuly decorated. There's a collection of books & DVDs if you have the time. Our girls played out by the water every evening and there was plenty of room for the dog to run around. We mostly enjoyed sitting on the back porch and watching the boats pass. Although it is close to many restaurants, we chose to cook every night. Everything we needed was stocked in the kitchen. The bottle of wine was also a nice touch. If we are in Seabrook again, we will definitely return to this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Waterfront Bayhouse

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

This waterfront bayhouse is a great place for a small family to spend time. It's pet friendly property with lots of yard space. It's nearby activities, attractions and excellent restaurants. The property is clean and well-maintained.

The only downside is the pier is washed out and fishing is not possible from the house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

2010 Todville Rd.

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Our stay at Fred and Sandra's property met all expectations. The view of Galveston Bay is spectacular, the close proximity to Kemah, and the 1st class accomodations made our stay one that we will remember, and expierience again!. The commitment that Fred and Sandra have made to making thier guests feel like they are really on a vacation, away from the normal strife of life, makes the whole expierience memorable. I was able to park my boat in the driveway, clean fish, and enjoy some surf & turf utilizing their fully stocked kitchen of utensils, and the gas grill. I know we will start making this get-a-way an annual tradition for our family.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

318756

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

You have the perfect Bay House and location for an enjoyable gulf vacation. We only wished we had been able to stay longer! The home was tastefully decorated and supplied with all the necessities, spotless and well maintained. We enjoyed the Kemah Boardwalk, Galveston and the many fresh food restaurants. We certainly recommend this house for vactioneers and family and friends! Fred was extremely helpful regarding our questions on fishing, etc.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Easter Weekend at the Bay House

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

This was our second visit to the bay house. We had a wonderful, relaxing Easter weekend enjoying the views of the bay from the deck.We invited our family down for dinner and they just loved the house. All of the kids had fun hunting for eggs on the lawn. We also checked out the nice park nearby while taking our dog for a walk. My son really appreciated the new flat screen TV in the bunk room. We look forward to returning soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely blown away

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

The home is actually as advertised. The 2 bedrooms are big enough and the master BR is large. The living room is wonderful and the view cannot be beaten. I always wonder what I am walking into and if the photos and comments are legitimate - this place was an absolute delight. We will be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

This was our favorite place ever for our annual mother/daughter get away. The younger ladies loved sunning on the back deck with the view of the ocean. Our 86 year old mother who is handicapped also loved sitting on the deck and being able to relax on the couch and still view the ocean. Love your home. Told my husband it was the perfect size for our future retirement home. Last time I was in Seabrook was around 1967 when there was almost nothing there. In fact, we stayed at Mo Mo's home which was located just around the corner on First St., last lot on the right. Sure brought back some long lost memories. Sad to see the house no longer there.

It was nice to rent a place that I didn't feel I had to go back over and clean before using. I'm very OCD as my family can tell you. All the cookware, utensils, and dishes were very nice. We felt at home and that's a great feeling when you rent a vacation home. The furnishings were superb. My only disappointment was when you sat in the lounge chairs the deck rails blocked the views of the ocean. However, I do understand the safety aspect and appreciate you staying on top of that.

We look forward to renting from you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Bay House

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

Our first stay at the Bay House was so great that we decided to come back. The owners of the house are so easy to work with. Sitting on the deck at night is so relaxing because the area is very quit. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5 Star Feel

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

This was our second experience with VRBO. While we were pleased with our initial expereince, I cannot tell you how impressed we were with this property. We really hit a home run finding this gorgeous bayfront property. The property is exactly as described, very conveniently located. We made day trips to Houston, Galveston, and Nasa. Sitting out ont he deck enjoying the views was very nice as well. Incredible sunrises right from the living room, with a full wall of windows, just incredible. Can't speak highly enough about the place. Communication with the owner was excellent too!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanks for a Great Visit

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

Thank you, Fred and Sandra, we had a wonderful stay at the Galveston Bay House. The house is well furnished and nicely appointed. The view is magnificent. We look forward to returning the next time we visit Kemah.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun Weekend at the Galveston Bay Home

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

Daer Sandra & Fred, We had a wonderful weekend in your beautiful bay home. The house is so cozy, warm, & spotless clean. Once the fog lifted in the afternoon the views of the bay were breathtaking! The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need to make a meal. We also enjoyed making hamburgers on the gas grill. There are numerous, wonderful restaraunts nearby if you choose to eat out. My daughter commented how lovely it is decorated and my son enjoyed watching basketball on the flat screen TV. My husband appreciated the five minute drive to the marina where a friend of ours keeps his sailboat. We all look forward to coming back soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Waterfront Haven

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

Thank you for a fantastic home away from home. The decor is fabulous and makes you feel as if you are in a high end hotel. I went for work at Johnson Space Center; it was a quick jet up NASA Rd. One every morning. The atmosphere was extremely relaxing. The only down fall of the week was the extremely low temperatures and ice storm (In Houston???). This caused the pipes freeze..leaving us with no water. Only for a morning as the owners worked quickly and efficiently, so we had water by the time we arrived back at the house. We will definitely be renting again if the whole family comes as I go to the area at least once a year. Thank you, Fred and Sandra. You have made us believers in VRBO and we will be using this site for our summer trip to New York state. Unfortunately I don't know how any house could be better this one. Thanks again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Sanctuary

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

My purpose to stay here at the Pound's Bayhouse was because of having to be out of our home due to smoke damage - yes, I left a pot of eggs on boil and left the house for several hours only to come home to SMOKE! So, we had to find another place to stay while the house was being professionally cleaned.

I selected this home because it was pet-friendly and I had my faithful friend of 15 years, a Whippet, with us. The home was perfect for us - the size was very adequate for our stay. The view of the bay, undeniably peaceful. All the comforts of home, and a charmingly decorated!

The Pounds' were very accommodating to our needs and I would highly recommend their Bay House for vacationing or a home away from home as in our situation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Great Getaway

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

I had to do business in Houston for a week and wanted to mix in some quality downtime. The Galveston Bay House was a perfect setting for a relaxing time. The location is excellent, the neighbors are nice, everything worked, and the owners were very helpful with any questions I had. There are some really cool restaurants in the area (including Frenchy's), and it's centrally located to all sorts of other shopping (and drinking). I would (and have) recommended the Galveston Bay House to my friends, and I look forward to returning later in the year.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Christmas Week Stay

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

We spent a week in this Kemah house. The house is just as represented. We had a great time. The place clean, comfortable and well appointed. The view of Galveston Bay is beautiful. the wrap around deck provided a great spot to relax and watch the total lunar eclipse. Weather got cold a few days later. I checked, and I am pretty sure that the owner can't do much about Mother Nature.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful New Year

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

We had a very nice time staying in this home for New Years. I grew up in the area and have family there, but wanted somewhere to stay with just my husband and kids. The children slept great in their rooms and my husband and I enjoyed sitting on the deck, drinking wine, and looking at Galveston Bay. The house was clean, comfortable, and stocked with anything you could need in the kitchen. The rental/check in process was easy. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

Had a wonderful time in your great home. We had a great thanksgiving gettaway with our family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cedar Hill, TX

Review submitted: November 27, 2010   Date of arrival: November 22, 2010

Our stay at the Bay House was great. The view from the deck is outstanding. Being sailors we loved watching the sail boats in the bay. All attactions and restaurants are nearby. The owners were easy to work with and were ready to help if need. I will be recommending this place to our friends. I know we will be staying here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

Thanks for sharing your home with us. We had a very fun time, and the setting and views were amazing and entertaining from 7am till late eve. Thanks again we enjoyed thoroughly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review