reviews for: listing #80436 - Whidbey Island, Washington House rental

Luxury Cape Cod on Low Bank Sandy Beach, westside Whidbey
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $595 - $950 /nt
    $3,300 - $5,700 /wk

sort by:

Super Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 5, 2014   Date of arrival: July 25, 2014

My family (6 adults and 4 children) spent a wonderful week at this house. I have to say that it is probably the best equipped vacation home I have ever rented. You name it - it is there. The game room was awesome for the after sunset nights and the rooms were spacious and very well laid out. The location is quiet and great for walking on the huge beach at low tide.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks so much Bill! We so appreciate your kind words and hope to have you back again soon! All the best, Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girl's Weekend 2013

Review submitted: November 25, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

We loved the house and location - thank you for sharing! I decided to rent a house this year for my annual party as opposed to having it at my house and it worked out beautifully. The house is extremely well designed and offers both privacy and delightful community areas - the kitchen/dining/living rooms are an open floor plan and offer the most amazing views of the beach, water and islands! A big storm came through on Saturday and it was like being on the coast without the long drive. It was such fun to watch with a glass of wine and the fireplace keeping us warm! There are spectacular views from almost every room in the house and the outdoor areas are such a bonus - beachfront. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and the home was warm and cozy throughout -combined with a nice open feeling that spoke to the great design. The house is clean and well maintained and the owner was responsive and very nice to work with. Only tricky part was parking since we were all coming from different areas and at different times. Only 4 cars allowed onsite and the offsite parking was not within walking so do plan for this if it applies. Workable but a little inconvenient - the house and location are definitely worth it though. It would be a perfect place to rent any time of the year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Em's gang

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

The house was absolutely magnificent. The setting was spectacular. The only sounds we heard were the tides going in and out, the shore birds, and the seals. A perfectly peaceful and serene vacation spot. The photographs on the VRBO site showed all the beautiful parts of the house. And we took tons of photos from the wonderful patio.
It was also wonderfully handicapped accessible. Unfortunately, sightseeing with a person in a motorized wheelchair was limited in the older towns. We did visit the Whidby Island Vineyard and Winery, which was fun. But the house setting was so sensational that we never wanted to leave, and spent our time walking (for those of us who could walk) the beach when tide was out, and along the lovely country lanes.
We are deeply grateful for the way the owner allowed us to accommodate our handicapped daughter's needs. This was a special and most memorable week for us all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our "Holiday House"

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

Everything about this home made our family comfortable. Getting to it was the hardest part but the directions were great. The game room certainly helped occupy the youngsters during down time. Thanks for making our early Christmas a hit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Worth every penny!

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

This house exceeded our expectations. The hot tub was very clean and hot enough even during the very cold weather. Living room has a cozy no hassle gas fire place, kitchen was big and nice to cook in. But the game room really made it all worth it. The Foosball table is in great condition and is high quality as is the pool table. The air hockey table was a little on the weak side, as in the puck did not slide very well but it was usable. The owner is responsive and accommodating, a pleasure to rent from. The view is over the top - rent this house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful stay on the island

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

We had a group of 3 kids and 8 adults staying on the property and the bedroom layout was just perfect for the group - a set of bunk bed for the older kids, and all the rest of the party got their own rooms. The kitchen was great and well stocked with pots/pans/misc cooking utensils and even pantry basics. The hot tub was nice and warm with a great view of the water. The game room was of course the star attraction! Wonderful house layout, beautifully appointed, gorgeous water views - everything about the stay was perfect.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Thanksgiving in Recent Memory

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Our family stayed at this stunning home over the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend. There were 8 of us altogether and more than enough space for everyone. It may be hard to believe but the home is more beautiful in real life than it appears in the photographs. It was so comfortable, welcoming and spotlessly clean. We were fortunate to have 3 days of solid warm sunshine, and the balmy evenings around the campfire were stellar. Shooting stars were seen, local wineries visited and lots of laughs around the more than adequate dining table. All of our young ones were studying for midterms but the wi-fi in the home made it possible for them to do lots of homework and research online. So many positives. The owner was very easy to deal with. We loved every minute of our stay. Thank you Nancy and Al for providing such a wonderful piece of paradise for others to enjoy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect spot for ladies retreat

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

This house was a gorgeous spot for our retreat last weekend. So beautiful furnished, with all first-class amenities. The beds and linens were actually better than what I have at home, and there's plenty of room for the 10 of us to sleep comfortably. The house is right on the water, so we sat at the table and watched otters, seals and eagles go by. Really a step above typical "vacation rental" properties.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Weekend Getaway!

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend at Nancy's home. We had 6 adults and 4 children and there was more than enough room for us all! The children loved climbing on the rocks and looking for seashells on the beach. The adults relaxed in the beach chairs and enjoyed the spectacular view of the Olympic mountains and Puget. We also enjoyed the game room in the evening. The home is very comfortable, beautifully decorated and had everything our family needed to have the perfect weekend getaway. We will absolutely be returning to this house if we come back to Whidbey Island. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

My wife and I and newborn daughter stayed in the Whidbey Beach Retreat the weekend of November 19th. We needed some time just to ourselves and this home hit the bill. The kitchen was well stocked and even included an espresso machine. The hot tub is great with beautiful views across the water. In the morning we were greeted by a fantastic view of snow on the Olympics. The area and home is beautiful and we love to visit Whidbey. Everything was exactly as it should be, and we'll be sure to come back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A wonderful, relaxing weekend by the beach

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

We spent a weekend with friends at the house and had a wonderful time. Not only is the area great for a number of outdoor activities (hiking, kayaking, watching the sun set...), but the house offers a large number of ways to pass the time as well (foosball, air hockey, pool, XBOX Kinect, ...), so that the time flew by ...

The kitchen is well-equipped and makes cooking for large groups easy and the sitting areas are very comfortable and cosy.

All in all, this was like a mini-vacation without much travel :) We'll definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

35th Wedding Anniversary and Family Reunion

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

My husband, and I plus our 4 adult children and their wives and boyfriend stayed here this past weekend! What an incredible home that was perfect for all of us to be together but also have space to do things on our own or with others (like the game room or media room)! Everything that is noted on this site about the home is true! A quiet neighborhood made it nice, also! Close to Langley for shopping and exploring. The 180 degree view of the ocean was fabulous especially since the the weather was perfect! The beach was perfect for walking, exploring and clamming! We would definitely return to this home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely house for large retreat

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

We spent a ladies only weekend at this lovely home on Whidbey. The house perectly accomodated our group of 10 - plenty of space to socialize and relax without feeling crowded. The location was perfect for a quiet retreat with amazing views right on the water! The house was clean, well-maintained and nicely appointed - we felt like we were spoiled!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We love having women's groups! Thank you for choosing us for your retreat, and please come again.

To prospective customers- 12 persons is our largest group at this property, please contact us for our other property if you have a group of 12-14.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We soooooo enjoyed our time

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

Comfortable, relaxing, convenient yet secluded location, beautiful views, and tons of fun... even when it rained. It was better than we hoped for! We look forward to returning and highly recommend it to all!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review