reviews for: listing #80510 - Lake Glenville, North Carolina House rental

Panoramic Views of Lake Glenville and Mountains
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Tator Knob
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $160 - $200 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,300 /wk

sort by:

Gorgeous Fall Colors and View!

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is in a wonderful little neighborhood within 15 minutes of Cashiers. The views from this home are magnificent and rare. We spent a great deal of time just gazing out the window of the great room. Beds are comfy and TV and electronics work well. We both worked some during our stay and the Wi-fi signal was fast and consistent. If you use Verizon,I can vouch for great reception. It turned cold while we were there (32 degrees the last two days) the new central heating system was great and kept us cozy.The landlords have considered a renters every need. This is a perfect retreat for 2 couples or a small family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Welcome Spring:

Review submitted: May 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Doug & Louise,
Hickory House was just what we needed to welcome spring. Our stay was much to short but every day was pure gift. The weather was beautiful and we sat for hours in the sunlight and enjoyed the hummingbirds and the beauty of the lake. The house is warm and inviting and had such a hosptitable feeling. We could tell you wanted us to feel warmly welcomed, even a bottle of wine waiting for us, everything we needed available. We will be back, hopefully for a longer stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Views

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Our trip to this home was absolutely a wonderful experience. We expected that the area would be beautiful but we were greatly suprised at the mesmerizing views from all the rooms and deck. We didn't want to leave and go into town to get groceries because we were afraid we would miss the sun shining different on the lake or we would lose the mystical feeling it conjured. Everything that we needed was provided and the owners were immediately attentive to any question we had. There were some great little shops and restaurants in nearby Cashiers. We are going back in the Summer to experience boating and the Summer season!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hickory House

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We rented Hickory House as a place to escape the Florida heat as well as to relax and unwind. We were pleasantly surprised the moment we opened the front door. In the foreground was a beautiful comfortable tastefully decorated home and as we expanded our view the panorama of mountains and the lake was nothing short of breathtaking. This home is nestled in a mountaintop community close to every convenience. We loved being in the house relaxing while taking in the awesome views and always tried to be home for the beautiful sunsets, but we did mange to pull ourselves away to rent a pontoon boat and go on a few side trips to view waterfalls and visit neighboring towns. The home itself was equiped with ever amenitiy you could imagine. If you needed it, it was there. We had the pleasure of meeting the gracious and accomodating Booth family before we left and they were absolutley delightful people. We feel like we have known them for years. We will be including Hickory House in our future vacation plans. We found another piece of paradise in Hickory House.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Serenity at Hickory House

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Hickory House is definitely the right choice if you are looking for a peaceful and serene setting surrounded by mountains, a lake, and the everchanging grace of nature. The house and accommodations were even more than we expected and the view from every room in the house just made you pause and breathe in the beauty.

We took a boat tour of Lake Glenville, drove around the lake on the looping mountain roads, took a trip to an apple farm, climbed to the top of Chimney Rock, shopped and spent a lot of time on the deck or in front of the fireplace reading and relaxing.

We ate several lunches out at Wild Thyme Cafe, Cornucopia, and Tommy's but at night we ate at the house because we did not want to miss seeing the end of the day settle over the lake.

We would highly recommend Hickory House to anyone and you want find better owners with whom to deal on renting a vacation property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hickory House

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

The best view from every room, of Lake Glenville and the surrounding mountains. New bathrooms and the kitchen has everything a cook needs. Did I mention the View! It just jumps out at you, I could spend all my time on the deck. The weber gas grill let me pretend to help the cook while I enjoyed the view and some wine. We spent the week "unplugged" but the house was well equipped with wifi and satellite tv. Oh yeah! and a great gas fireplace that was controlled by a thermostat that turned it on and off as temperature dictated. A great getaway with no hassles.

Wayne,
Melbourne Beach, FL

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful retreat

Review submitted: September 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

Our stay at Hickory House was a perfect way to celebrate my parents' 65th wedding anniversary. The looks on their faces when we walked into the house assured me that I had made the right choice. They especially enjoyed the view of the mountains and the lake and sitting on the porch.
The tasteful decor, comfortable furnishings, and awesome view all work together to make the place a relaxing retreat. It is quiet and peaceful and feels secluded, yet it is close to shopping, dining, and activities in the area.
We look forward to revisiting soon.(When I read the note from the folks who were there for four weeks, I was envious!)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place!

Review submitted: September 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Hickory House is a great vacation getaway. It proved to be all that we could ask for and more with access to quaint mountain towns, nature trails, waterfalls and the lake. We took advantage of them all. We were able to bring our 2 dogs and were joined throughout our stay by friends and family. The house was well furnished and offered services such as wi-fi that made it a true home away from home. We loved it and had a great time. The owners were a joy to work with as they were helpful and friendly and worked hard to make sure the house was up-to-date, inviting and comfortable. My favorite activity was just sitting out on the deck and watching the hummingbirds with a backdrop of the stunning view of the lake

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Best North Carolina Experience Ever

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

This property is breathtaking. The house is beautiful, clean, spacious, and has every amenity and more. When you get in the house and see the view over Lake Glenville it is an immediate WOW ! The Booth's are wonderfully pleasant people who take genuine interest in providing every detail for you to have the best time of your life in the beautiful Blue Ridge mountain region on North Carolina. My wife and I have vacationed in the area before but never in this kind of casual and comfortable elegance. We have never enjoyed watching hummingbirds as much ( and for as long ) as we did sitting on the deck with the most magnificent view imaginable. We enjoyed the Southern Belle restaurant on the left hand side of the road driving toward Highlands very much as well as the barbecue headquarters in downtown Cashiers that is the local favorite also. A highlight of our trip was white water rafting on the Nantahala river in Bryson City just an hour away from the house. A must during your stay. We recommend the Nantahala Outfitters group to sign on with. There is an Ingel's grocery store in town that has all the comforts of your favorite grocer at home. Don;'t forget to rent a pontoon boat from the marina store just down the street on the right heading toward town and get out on Lake Glenville for the day. Spectacular mountain views from down below and the homes around the lake are magnificent. We would highly recommned this property to anyone that wants a relaxing, stunningly beautful experience in the western tip of North Carolina.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hickory House at Lake Glenville

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

My husband aand I and our two labs have just returned from a four week stay at Hickory House, and could not be happier with our vacation. The house is perfectly situated, with a panoramic view of lake Glenville, and is decorated in a friendly, casual style. The owners are exceptionally helpful and have gone to great lengths to make sure every convenience is offered. During our stay, we were joined at various times for a few days each by relatives of every generation from 14 to 83, and they all had a great time. There is plenty to do in the area. We hiked to waterfalls, rented a boat to explore the lake, found a park with a trout stream flowing through - perfect for picnics, and shopped in nearby towns. The dogs swam and chased balls at the communal beach area until they dropped from happiness. Often, we just sat on the balcony and looked at the ever-changing light on the lake. The temperature was always pleasant at that altitude. We have literally travelled the world, and cannot think of a more beautiful and relaxing place to spend some time. We look forward to returning to this fantastic house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A little bit of Heaven in NC

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

This house and the thoughtful hospitality of the owners far exceeded our expectations. Gorgeous views of Lake Glenville, beautiful decorating,comfortable furniture, TV and Wy-fi plus complete seclusion, security and privacy. Every comfort and convenience was provided and the owners were a delight to deal with. If you are looking for a perfect mountain getaway with friends and family of all ages, we highly recommend Hickory House on Tater Knob. We will be going back for sure.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A magical place

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

Our stay at Hickory House was so much more than we anticipated. We knew there would be beautiful mountain views over a pristine mountain lake but we never could have imagined the thoughtful consideration for our every comfort and enjoyment of Hickory House it's owners provided. Yes, there's hiking, and water sports, golf and fine dining close by, but the homey welcoming comforts of Hickory House make a visit to Cashiers and Glenville nothing short of magical. As seniors, we found the house completely accessible and as internet-aholics we made great use of the WY-Fi and Dish TV. We plan to come back to Hickory House and bring our kids and grandkids as it is a wonderful family house. For a romantic getaway or a family reunion, Hickory House is perfect. Thanks to the Booths for sharing their mountain treasure.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review