reviews for: listing #8057 - Hilton Head Island, South Carolina House rental

Castle By the Sea, 7 Bed, 8 Bath Luxury Home with Elevator
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  8
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Forest Beach
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,500 - $8,500 /wk

sort by:

Spring Break

Review submitted: April 15, 2008   Date of arrival: April 5, 2008

The pictures tell the correct story! The house is amazing. It is perfect for multiple families. We had 2 families with 7 children ages 4 - 18. The kids loved the theme bedrooms, the pool, toys in the garage, and the very short walk to the beach. We also loved walking to dinner and shopping. The house was amazing! Clean, comfortable beds, organized, and had everything we needed. We would recommend this house. We hope to return.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Really felt like a home away from home.

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: August 29, 2013

My family and I arrived at Castle by the Sea and the name couldn't be more perfect for this immaculate mansion. All of the amenities listed were accurate and I couldn't imagine a more prepared, perfect vacation home for my family.

There were 16 of us - 9 adults and 7 children. 4 of the kids are under 1 so having a crib and pack and plays available were a huge help. The kitchen was an enormous gourmet kitchen and we found booster chairs which were very helpful for the kids. There were also two high chairs, exersaucer and a booster chair. Upstairs was an excellent play area with video game consoles that kept the older kids happy.

The entire house was extremely spacious even with so many of us there. The outdoor private pool was very convenient and allowed us to get some swimming in during baby nap times.

Debbie was wonderful, helpful and answered all of our questions. We can't wait to come back here to visit again. It really was a home away from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great family vacation home!

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

Every review is right! This is an amazing home! Beautiful inside and out...Organized with attention given to every detail in every room of the house! A perfect place for families to vacation. So many amenities --- from tons of beach toys, to beautiful linens, to a well-stocked kitchen, to plush beach towels, to games, books and DVDs, and more! Nice short walk to the beach and a beautiful pool area to spend the afternoons. Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Property

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

We stayed for a week in Castle By The Sea in early April 2013 and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

We were a party of nine - 7 adults, a 6 year old and a 2 year old. The house was perfect. We've stayed in a lot of rental properties and have never seen one as well equipped as this. The kitchen especially has everything you'll ever need, including kids plates, cups, etc. It even has two dishwashers and a separate ice maker (as well as the one built in to the fridge) to make life easier. It's also very child friendly with stair gates fitted throughout and lots of toys and games to keep children entertained.

The pool was well designed for family use and proved to be a great hit with the kids as well as being big enough for the adults to enjoy. It's also well positioned catching the sun for most of the day. There were plenty of towels available.

Everything in the description is accurate and fair. It is very well positioned, less than a minutes stroll from the beach and a short walk to restaurants, bike hire and Coligny Place. Although close to all the amenities, the setting is very peaceful and apart from the occassional car or bike going past we felt like we were the only ones there.

The electronics in the house were also impressive and, with clear instructions provided, very easy to use whether you wanted to watch a DVD in the lounge or play your iTunes through the speakers by the pool.

The house was very well presented, clean throughout and had plenty of storage in every room.

In summary, we thought the house was fabulous. We'll probably go back to Hilton Head at some point as there's still lots there that we didn't get chance to do. If we do go back we'll certainly look to stay at Castle By The Sea.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect house made for a perfect vacation!

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

I can't say enough about how wonderful Castle by the Sea is...the pictures do not do it justice. It is a beautiful home for sure, but the amenities make vacationing there effortless. If you are traveling with children, they have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and easy...from sippy cups to pool toys and absolutely everything in between! Our kids LOVED the themed bedrooms and felt so special sleeping in them. The master bedrooms are nicely furnished and our bathroom was luxurious! The walk to the beach took less than a minute, so it made going back and forth with kids a piece of cake. This private section of beach was awesome and not crowded at all. We enjoyed the short walk to Coligny and the walking trails close by as well. We feel so lucky to have found this gem of a house in Hilton Head and we'll definitely be back!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Castle, Indeed!

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Our family of 15 enjoyed everything about "the Castle." Location, very kid-friendly, wonderful pool, elevator, every utensil that could ever be needed, wonderful bed-rooms .. for kids and for adults, plenty of parking, TVs everywhere, very nice bathrooms, just a great property! The description provided on the web-site is very accurate and is not exaggerated at all. Not as close to Harbour Town as some might like --- but still close to shops, a wonderful beach, etc. About a 15 min. drive to Sea Pines, its restaurants, etc. This is a first class, well organized, thoughtfully planned, very nicely equipped and maintained ,,, Castle! We recommend it --- without any reservations.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Vacation House

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We love staying at this house when we come to Hilton Head. It is perfect for family vacations with young children. The kids love the character themed rooms and the large outdoor pool. We look forward to staying here again in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Vacation at the "Castle"

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

We had such a wonderful vacation!! The house was amazing, very comfortable for our group of 15 and of course, perfect for our grandchildren. While they loved playing in the sand at the beach, the pool was a huge hit. All the water toys and floating devices available were great and used a lot.

The bedrooms were just lovely, with VERY comfortable mattresses. The children's bedrooms...well, what can I say, Oliver, our grandson said it was like being in Disney World! The kids toys were much fun, but I personally loved the children's book collection, as I read to the kids quite often.

And now about the kitchen...I thought I had a pretty cool one myself, until seeing and cooking in the "Castle by the Sea" kitchen. Each couple in our family took turns cooking; one son-in-law is Executive Chef at a country club, and even he was impressed! It would be hard to find a better equipped home kitchen.

We rented several bikes for the week, along with kid seats and carts,which were delivered to the house, really fun and convenient.

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home. You and Linda have been so kind. I'm sure we will try to do this again, hopefully next year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our favorite house in North Forest Beach!!

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

This is our sixth year traveling to Hilton Head and staying in North Forest Beach. We had 17 people in our group and everyone agreed that this was the best house we have stayed in. The house had everything we needed, fully stocked kitchen, ice maker, two dishwashers, outside refrigerator, comfy beds, seating outside and inside for everyone, tons of bathrooms and it was clean, clean, clean! We live by the ocean at home and one of the families that was with us in the house lives on the ocean, so we tend to stay at the pool and not go to the beach that much. The pool area had a spot for everyone to sit and we had a hard time getting the kids out of the pool! The spa is connected to the pool which is something that we look for when renting a house. When the kids did get out of the pool, the huge garage was a hit and they would play chess or use the pool table. It also had plenty of room for all the bikes and golf clubs! The upstairs loft was another place they would hang out at night before they went to bed.

I would like to thank Debbie for everything, her attention to detail did not go unnoticed by our group!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Best Family Vacation Spot -- EVER!

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We had a group of 18 family members between the ages of 17 to 81 stay at the Castle. We traveled from NY, FL, OH, IN, and WA. It was an absolutely amazing and wonderful vacation. Everybody (!!) thoroughly enjoyed the spacious home with all the amenities the owners could think of. All strongly agreed that this house plus it's proximity to the ocean, shopping, and restaurants was the best! The Castle By the Sea blew everybody away with the sheer size; the elevator to make the upstairs trips easier on my parents, the pool table, putting green, and even large chess board in the garage! The older kids (17 to 27) all loved the castle beds! The living room (wonderful couch and window seating) allowed everybody a prime spot for "movie night"! The easy walk and/or bike ride to Coligny was great for nightlife for the younger crowd too. The entire group is ready to book for next year! What great memories... Thanks for sharing this wonderful home!! We will soon be booking for next year.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

The perfect vacation rental for multiple families!

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

I have stayed in this home three times and hope to stay there again. Each time I stayed with multiple families, all of which have young children. The home is fully equipped with everything you need to keep children and adults entertained. The kitchen is fully stocked and every little detail has been carefully considered. It really is a dream home! My children love to stay in the character themed rooms and I love that each room has a separate bath! If you have an infant or a toddler, you will be thrilled to not have to pack all those extras that you need to travel!

It is amazing and I HIGHLY recommend making this your next destination in Hilton Head!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Incredible house, fantastic vacation!

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

My family and I rented Castle By The Sea for a week in March, with two other families - a total of 13 people. The house was amazing - more bedrooms than we could use, even with so many people, and a fantastic layout makes each bedroom feel very private, with spacious and inviting common areas that meant no-one ever felt crowded. Great kid's Disney theme rooms in common area on second floor, with video games that don't usually come with rentals, and a pool table and beach toys in the basement, which is also the garage - ample room for four cars if you park two deep.

Everything in the house, from decoration to kitchen utensils, is top-of-the-line; incredibly well cared for, and was immaculate when we arrived. The heated pool (a per-day heating charge, which was totally worth it!), outdoor spa, grill, and built-in patio refrigerator let us wind down before dinner with a beer or glass of wine, while the kids splashed around - perfect. Although we easily could have spent every day at the house, the beach is less than a block away, and a local bike shop provides discounts on rentals for people staying in the house - we had 5 bikes for a week at $85 + tax, thanks to this amenity.

Location is great; 5 minute walk to Coligny Square, which has movie theatre, Piggly Wiggly grocery store, coffee shop and lots of small shops. Two larger grocery stores, a gym, Staples, and Starbucks are less than five minutes away by car.

We had no problems while at the house, but the local property managers checked in twice to make sure everything was going well.

Only thing clients might want to bring is a set of beach chairs. Generous beach towels are provided, with a request that they be laundered and put away before checkout - a request we were happy to meet, and made convenient by two washer/dryer units in the house.

Can't say enough good things about this house - it is worth every penny and a fantastic place to stay with friends or for a family reunion. We loved it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Visitors from Ohio

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

This house exceeded my expectations! We decided to have a last-minute vacation and this house was perfect for us! With young kids, it had plenty of things to keep them busy - books, games, puzzles, train table, chess set...and don't forget the pool. We heated the pool and I was glad we did - the kids spent every afternoon in the pool even when it was cooler out. The house is fully equipped! The kids (2, 5, 7) loved the fantasy bunk beds! The house was clean and the property managers are very responsive. The beach is very close by and the wagon they provide was great to bring beach toys etc with us. The beds were very comfortable. We would for sure come back again! Thank you for a great vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation!

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Thanks Debbie! We had such a great vacation at your home. With 4 kids ages 11 weeks thru 8 yrs old the house had EVERYTHING we needed! The adults had just as much fun as the kids. Can't wait to get back to the house next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Five Star Location

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

Great family oriented vacation home. Great location to the beach and shops. Very comfortable, you'll hate to go home!!

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome house for an extended family vacation

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

We are an extended family of 16 people including 7 kids under 8 years old. We absolutely loved staying in this kid-friendly house. The home and all it's good things were great. We had no problems. We loved the walk-onto-the-board chess set in the basement and the pool and spa. Those were are favorites. We found the house had all the baby and kid equipment we needed including everything from Wii to sippy cups.

Plenty of room for the kids to play in the loft while the adults can enjoy the living area and still keep an eye on the kids. The kitchen is well equipped. (Well, we did have to go get a second coffee pot so the leaded and decaf coffee drinkers could both enjoy morning coffee at the same time.)

The house is an easy walk to the beach and convenient to everything. The walk to the plaza for lunch or shopping took no time at all.

The owner was easy to work with and provided all the help we needed. The house was spotless when we arrived and everything worked as it should.

It was our first time to stay in Hilton Head and we loved that, too. We rented bikes and cycled all over the place. Peddles is the bicycle rental place to go to. We tried two others and this one is the best.

If you're planning deep sea fishing, we recommend Integrity Charters (www.integritycharterfishing.com). They did a great job for us and we had a blast.

Jean

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Most Wonderfull

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

I and my wife stayed in the Castle. It was truly a most beautiful home. This was the first time since we have been married that we were actually able to take a true "vacation". I had never seen the ocean. It was as I expected awe inspiring. We had the time of our lives. I cannot say enough about it. Thank You so much. We stayed the week of April 2-9. Our children invited us to come.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for large group gatherings...

Review submitted: January 16, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

Every couple of years, our extended family gets together for xmas and this year we decided on HHI. We quickly found this house and one of the biggest draws for us was the large family/dining/kitchen area. The house is set up beautifully for large groups to hang out during the day, and the master bedrooms are wonderful and all have baths. The two kid themed rooms are cute, but may cause some "snide remarks" from older teens or adults relegated to them, but work well as places to crash at the end of a long day, when all that really matters is a nice bed to sleep in. The amenities of the home are top notch, with pretty much everything you could think of being provided from kitchen utencils, to beach toys, to pool table and video and board games. The whole house stereo is a nice plus for entertaining. All in all, a really nice place to hang out. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A House/Week to Remember!

Review submitted: November 13, 2009   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

What a delight for my entire family! Our three daughters and their families joined us at Castle by the Sea to celebrate our 40th Anniversary. The home was fantastic! Every amenity was taken care of - even a computer with internet was provided. Our five grandchildren were thrilled with the games, the movies, the water "toys", the close proximity to the beach and the wonderful pool and spa waiting for our return every day. Each couple had their own King size bedroom and bath while the children loved their themed bedrooms. The kitchen was perfect to accommodate our large family. It contained all the cooking utensils a chef could want! The entire house lent itself to a fabulous family vacation. Thanks for the memories!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

September 2009

Review submitted: September 13, 2009   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

This house is amazing. It was so clean and decorated beautifully. There is everything and anything a family with small children would need, which makes it very nice to not have to pack extra things. The layout of the house was wonderful, with some bedrooms separate from the kids themed rooms so those adults that did not have kids were not woken up. The pool and hot tub were amazing, we were in it every day. And it is only a 2 minute walk to the beach. It is also a short walk to amazing shops and restaurants. Absolutely beautiful and we will definitely go back next year.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Luxury accommodations - close to the beach

Review submitted: July 28, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

The house is just wonderful - it was cleaned perfectly upon arrival and had many, many extra ammenities that made for a wonderful stay. This is a luxury home that is family (kid) friendly. Plenty of space for multiple families to enjoy. The bedrooms were large and very comfortable. The house was close to the beach (around 90 yards) and the our kids could come/go safely. Great house value for the price!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

50th wedding anniversary celebration

Review submitted: July 18, 2009   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

The Castle by the Sea was a charming and terrific home for our family of ten to celebrate our anniversry. The property is very well maintained , extremely clean ,well decorated.and children friendly.

Our family inclded four Grandchildren, 14,13,6 and 2,
with the video games, pool and other toys available they were busy and enjoyed the home as much as the four adults.

The beach is a five minute walk and a number of shops and resaturants are 10 minutes away.

I will recommend this home to my friends and other family
members that are looking for a vacation site with a lovely,
relaxing home near the shore.

This property is truly first class and will be a vacation home that you will want to revisit again and again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Place

Review submitted: May 19, 2009   Date of arrival: May 9, 2009

We just returned from a week's stay at this beautiful home. This is so family friendly. It is beautiful for the adults and awesome for the children. The pictures online don't even do it justice.
Steps from the beach, beautiful kid friendly heated pool, within walking distance of shops.
The only complaint I have is that Hilton Head does not have an awful lot to do except for golf and beach. We like to take the kids on outings and day trips and this was kind of lacking. If you want a restful, luxurious vacation this is the rental for you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our annual Golf trip

Review submitted: March 23, 2009   Date of arrival: March 4, 2009

Debbie,
Thanks so much. Your home was wonderful. The eight guys who got to stay in your home for the four nights couldn't have been happier. We were blessed with great weather (75 everyday) and spent a lot of our time enjoying the outside space and the hot tub.

It was rather amusing to see the reactions of the men to the beautiful Disney themed rooms. Two gentlemen spent the whole trip singing "Under the Sea" from The Little Mermaid. These two are pushing 50. The song caught on and was a big hit at our Saturday night Awards dinner at Skillets.

Your home is both beautiful and functional. The proximity to both the beach and my home made it ideal and we look forward to renting it again next March. If anyone asks me for a suggestion on where to rent, your house will be first on my list.

Thanks again, Pat

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break

Review submitted: April 8, 2008   Date of arrival: March 28, 2008

This is an excellent property great location. It's name suits "Castle by the Sea" This is a good location for anytime of year.The owners thought out all imaginable details for complete enjoyment for multiple families. I will be back

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Beach House!!!!

Review submitted: March 26, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

We have stayed here two years in a row and love it. Our kids ask every spring if it's time to go to castle by the sea. This house has everything you can think of for a perfect vacation. I have recommended this to all of my friends. 5 stars!!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Wonderful family resort!

Review submitted: December 27, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

This house was fabulous and had everything we could ask for. The location was very central to restaurants, etc. but far enough away from the traffice and noise. The accomodations were perfect for the younger children and had plenty of activites to keep them busy. I would recommend this house to larger families who want to feel settled in a great home away from home! You won't be disappointed!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review