reviews for: listing #80578 - Bonita Beach, Florida Townhome rental

Waterfront! near Beach, bikes,canoe,peddle boat, WIFI,grille
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $75 - $178 /nt
    $525 - $1,250 /wk
    $1,960 - $4,200 /mth

sort by:

great getaway for fishing couple

Review submitted: August 3, 2014   Date of arrival: July 27, 2014

We arrived on Sunday and found the place exactly as described, clean, comfortable and nicely appointed. It is obvious the owner has gone to great lengths to provide guests with every possible accommodation to insure a pleasurable stay. The kitchen is well equipped for meal preperation and we enjoyed our cooking time. The bathroom is very beautiful with tile and granite counter top, the shower is very inviting and my husband commented on how much he enjoyed it. The bedroom has the most comfortable bed we have ever had in a rental, you won't be disappointed. There is an endless list of wonderful attributes connected with this property I can't note them all here but will surmise by saying you can't find anything not accommodating at this location. We came to fish and were more than satified with the results having caught over 80 fish large and small, a few so large we were not equipped to land them. If fishing is your thing you certainly won't find a better situation, great fishing with perfect creature comforts all in one place. We spent 4 days and left only once for a quick grocery and bait run, you have practically and "all inclusive" vacation when you stay here. What a great value for the costs, and even better that you're going to love it too. The view of the bay was also great, watching the boats as well as dolphin, and schooling fish, birds and fish feeding on barnacle covered submerged trees at the edge like black drum and large flounder made the whole experience just perfect. We loved every minute and will certainly be back. Thanks Donna for offering such a nice property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic location and views over the water

Review submitted: December 23, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

Renting this property was a delight. The owners were a pleasure to deal with from our initial enquiries right through to making sure our stay was perfect. They made the whole booking process easy for us. The property is in a quiet location but has all you need on your doorstep. The local Publix store is really close and has a great bakery. Each day we had breakfast out on the deck and couldn’t wait to get back ‘home’ to the deck to watch the sunset.
The apartment is cosy, clean and comfortable and has all the facilities you need. The bed was restful and the shower room is recently renovated so is really lovely and the view from the shower is a delight first thing in the morning.
All in all renting this property left us with many happy memories.

Owners response: Thank you for the feedback! My 3 rentals are my ONLY BUSINESS. I am not a 'rental manager' where you are just a number- one of the hundreds. Or an owner who works a full time job and handles rentals after work or on weekends. I try to stay in the background during your stay- unless you need me. But I only live 20 minutes away- so if you do need me- no worries! When guests are happy- I AM HAPPY!!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Home Away From Home

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

A wonderful little place to stay! My husband and I were looking for a little relaxation for our long weekend and we found exactly what we needed in this very comfy & clean apartment. We felt so at home there, that we almost forgot we were on vacation. Everything looks exactly as it does in the photos on this website and we highly recommend this unit for anyone needing to get away and just relax. There are a few beaches nearby within walking or bicycle riding distance which were very nice and clean. The Fish House Restaurant and Doc's on the Beach both have a nice menu selection and great tasting food. Seven Eleven is a block away and you can catch the bus right on the corner of the intersection if you are wanting to go farther and do not have a car (which is what we did). On our last day we even rented a pontoon boat from Bonita Boat Rentals on Estero Bay for the day and cruised the bay to Lover's Key Beach, which is a very beautiful area where we even got to see dolphins playing in the water. Thank you so much Mo and Donna for making it a vacation to remember and we will definitely be back!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: And I love what her husband said to me when I asked him if he found everything ok. He said - beyond ok. It was not like renting an apartment- it was as if it was his "second home". That is a great way to express exactly the feeling I was hoping to create!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

fichu

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

I normally travel to Florida for a week each year around this time and stay in a standard hotel. This year, I refused to eat 9 consecutive days of restaurant food so rented this unit. It was immaculately clean everywhere you look. I took my shoes off the minute I came in. The bed was extraordinarily comfortable and I do not normally say that about any hotel or home. The bath and kitchen were small but perfectly acceptable with everything one could possibly need. Was it elegant? No. Was it wonderful? Yes. I even had a couple of bad health days and stayed home and I was so at ease and so enjoyed the deck and view I almost stayed sick. I began to think of the cormorant who came to sit on the stick in front of the deck as MY cormorant. It is very easy to find, convenient to good restaurants, groceries, and attractions. I will certainly look for this unit again when I come back. The owners, by the way, could not be more helpful. They were friendly and gave great advice. I would recommend it to anyone who can live without a concierge and fake silk drapes and who doesn't want to go there on my week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great review! I'm so glad you mentioned 'not elegant'. I,personally, feel a bit ill at ease in a pretentious and formal home. So my intention is to create an informal, casual, comfortable 'Florida Fun' type of environment. Looks like I succeeded by your adjective 'Wonderful'! And perfect timing on the 'small' bathroom comment. It's actually standard bathroom size. But when the former owners had it they put in an over sized linen cabinet which makes it feel a bit crowded. This fall the bathroom is scheduled to be completely remodeled. YOUR cormorant (it's a diving water bird- so fun to watch) is perched on the branch waiting for your return visit!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

The perfect place!!

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

A wonderful place!! My husband and I have always stayed in hotels for vacations, but we thought we would try a rental property this trip. We had never stayed at a rental property before, so I was apprehensive, but this apartment was wonderful! The photos and description posted for this rental are accurate. The apartment was clean, well maintained, and decorated nicely, in a quiet neighborhood, and much more room than a hotel room! The apartment is connected to another rental and I was worried about noise and sharing facilities. I had nothing to worry about. We met the other renters, but we never heard them during our stay. Privacy is maintained with separate parking spaces, entries and landscaping. The apartment provides for all your basic needs. We loved being able to cook our own meals, eat out on the deck and enjoy the water view. Having the beach so close by was a plus, and Mo and Donna provide everything you need to have fun in the sun: beach towels, beach chairs, cooler, bicycles, canoe and a paddle boat!! My husband enjoyed taking the canoe out on the water. There were plenty of restaurants and shopping near by. We stayed in the middle of April and the temperature was 85 degrees daily and low humidity. Mo and Donna responded promptly to our emails and phone calls. Definitely would recommend this rental and plan on returning in the future. I think our hotel days are over!! Thank you Mo and Donna for making our 25th wedding anniversary trip such a wonderful one!

Owners response: Once again I truly appreciate the time and effort it takes to post a review. The last couple that stayed said they felt "spoiled" staying there. That's exactly the environment I strive to create. When I travel and stay in a vacation rental that is the feeling I'd like to have so I put myself in the traveler's shoes.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Starbay is FABULOUS!

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

This apartment is immaculate, well equipped and wonderfully decorated. The view from the deck or patio is super! The location is very convenient, only a couple minutes to the beach, groceries and retail shopping. Mo was so helpful with my last minute reservation. My only complaint is that I couldn't stay longer...MUCH longer!

Owners response: I have the perfect solution- JUST COME BACK!!! Thanks so much for NOT staying in a motel which you said you did not want to do. We're very grateful you tried our vacation rental instead! Donna and Mo- the Andrews sisters

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Ein wundervolles Haus ! A wonderful house ! *****

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

Wir waren vom 11.Oktober bis zum 11.November 2012 in diesem wunderschönen Haus. Es ist sehr persönlich eingrichtet und hat Seele. Es strahlt etwas aus, daß nicht jedes Ferienhaus hat. Mo und Donna haben es mit sehr viel Liebe zum Detail eingerichtet. Als Ansprechpartner waren sie stets erreichbar. Das Haus war sauber und ordentlich, ein wunderschöner Blick auf das Wasser, es hat uns rundum zufrieden gestellt. Mit den beiden Fahrrädern haben wir so manche Tour unternommen. Eine wirklich sehr schöne Gegend hier. Der Strand ist mit dem Fahrrad gut zu erreichen. Ein herzliches Dankeschön an Mo und Donna !

We stay here from October 11 until November 11, 2012 in this beautiful house. This house has a soul ! Mo and Donna have it decorated with lots of attention to detail. As contacts, they were always available. The house was clean and tidy, a beautiful view of the water, it has put us completely satisfied. With the two bicycles we have so many tour undertaken. A really nice area here. The beach is easily accessible by bicycle. A big thank you to Mo and Donna!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful time!

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

Thanks so much Mo and Donna for sharing your treasure! All of the earlier reviews are spot on...it is a clean cozy place with a super bay view! I loved the deck for morning heron watching (one liked the tree 20 feet from the deck at the waters edge) & for a glass of wine watching the beautiful sunset.

The location was terrific...a 2 minute drive straight to the beach, 25 minutes to downtown Naples and the airport. Also a 3 minute walk to the Fish House restaurant which you can see from the home (daily 3-6pm happy hours w/ $5 half pound peel and eat shrimp & $6 dozen oysters....yum!).

Donna and Mo were so helpful with our changing dates and very quick to respond to every request.

We will be back soon...your place is a gem.

Kari and Bob

Owners response: This review pretty much has that casual Florida Keys feel I think we are going for in presenting this property as a cheerful and fun vacation spot. When traveling, I too want to soak up the atmosphere of the location by having spectacular scenery , privacy, and appropriate decor to the geography. Our place looks tropical and individualistic, it is not cookie-cutter quality. My sister and I spare no effort in attending to the details that hopefully create a unique and memorable vacation. If you want to research more reviews to have confidence in us before making your rental decision, please check out our other listing # 211374 on HomeAway or #828422 on HomeAwayUK. You will see that my sister and I put our hearts into our business here at StarBay. With deepest appreciation to our honored guests, MO Andrews, Andrews Sisters

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Stay @ Great Location

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

My wife and I stopped at StarBay for 9 days in September 2012. Location was easy to find and property was just as described and in immaculate condition. The owners were always quick to answer any initial queries regarding the property which was very reassuring and bred confidence that the description of the property would match the reality, always important when scoping out somewhere to stay.
We used StarBay as a base to travel the area. Naples, Fort Myers, Sanibel & Captiva were all within easy reach. Local to the property is a 7-eleven , Publix supermarket and lots of good quality restaurants should you wish to eat out. There are public beaches along Hickory Blvd (2 mins drive away) with free parking should you wish to spend the day by the Ocean. Just be aware it will cost you $2 per hour to park at the Bonita Public Beach so drive past and go a little further up Hickory Blvd for the free beach parking. We saw Manatees & Dolphins while we were at the Beach along with Sea Osprey , Pelicans and all the usual Floridian birdlife. Also lots of wildlife to see around Starbay.
Should we ever be in the Area again we would have no hesitation in stopping at StarBay again.

Owners response: We feel so fortunate to get these over the top positive reviews - we don't ask for them. Our esteemed guests who return home and get very busy catching up with their routine not only honor us, but they do a service for you, the potential guest, as well. Hopefully you will find these experienced based reports comforting - that you are making a safe choice about where to spend your hard-earned holiday savings, and that you are dealing with reputable owners who would rather over supply on the comforts and tropical atmosphere than skimp and be found wanting in any way. Quite alot of trust is involved in these sight unseen rental decisions, my sister and I know that from staying in vacation rentals ourselves. We do so deeply appreciate our guests who take the time to write a review to help you with trusting this process. We have
more reviews regarding the property on our other HomeAway listing #211374 and listing # 828422 in the U.K. Most sincerely, Mo Andrews, andrews Sisters

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Excellent Accommodation and Location

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

What a lovely place. My husband and I enjoyed two weeks at Starbay. The property is in excellent condition and is in a perfect location. Mo and Donna were extremely welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed breakfast and evening drinks on the balcony overlooking the Bay. We even spotted a manatee on one occasion. We would strongly recommend Starbay to couples wanting a quiet setting which is close to wonderful beaches.

Owners response: The six mile beach within a bike ride is clean and except for one famous Doc's Bar and Grill, non-commercial. The white sand and shells reflect the sunset and there are breezes galore.
And there are more beaches all the way down to the south, to Naples, and to the north, to Ft. Myers Beach. This area is more like the casual Florida Keys then anywhere else. Except we have the major shopping centers and any number of fabulous dining places here with short drives of mere minutes.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Perfect Getaway!!

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

We fell in love with our Starbay Getaway. We told the owners that they would have to kick us out! The unit is absolutely adorable and the perfect size for the two of us. Everything looks exactly as it does in the photos on this website. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. The unit is very private. We enjoyed the bird shows from the very private deck. We watched the sunsets and enjoyed the glow from the moon. This unit is convenient to everything...Bonita Beach, Ft. Myers Beach, Naples, Shopping galore and every type of restaurant you can imagine. The owners are always there for you, but we didn't need them because everything was working perfectly and the unit was spotless. We highly recommend this unit. We also stayed with our family in their 3BR/3BA Starbay unit in January and loved the larger unit as well. Definitely choose Starbay as your perfect getaway!!! Chuck & Judy from Annapolis, Maryland.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Quiet Waterfront Apartment offers an Idyllic Retreat

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

Our stay at Donna and Mo's apartment on Star Bay was THE most relaxing vacation we have experienced. As advertised, this is truly a quiet and hassle-free place. The apartment is tucked back in a residential area, not on a busy road like so many rental homes, and is the last home on the street. The bay is bordered by mangroves, so no other houses opposite to detract from the view of the water. We enjoyed the privacy of the deck as we watched the sunsets on the water. The beaches are only a few miles away; a quick trip with the bicycles provided. We spent several sun filled afternoons at Barefoot Beach Preserve. Everglades National Park is an hour away and also a wonderful place to spend the day. The apartment was larger than expected and very comfortable. No bugs, either. The kitchen is well equipped, very clean, and met all of our cooking needs. It was convenient to have an on- site laundry, too, allowing us to just have a carry-on for the plane trip. Donna was helpful and easily accessible when my husband locked us out (thank you, Donna!). I highly recommend a stay here if you want to have a peaceful, no stress vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so thrilled our guests can enjoy the amenities of the rental as well as the great area! I know I am biased BUT of all of Florida I think this South West corner has the MOST to offer. FIRST- the weather. Since we are semi-tropical we often aviod the 'cold snaps' that even Sarasota and Orlando can experience. Second- we don't have the hussle and bussle of the East Coast from Miami north. I came to Florida to relax NOT BE NERVOUS. AND the east coast does not have our famous sunsets. Third- nature. Whether it's boating the calm Gulf or back waters, the miles of CLEAN uncrowded beaches, exploring Everglades National Park or state and county swamp parks... the wildlife is spectacular. AND FOURTH - the shopping and restaurants. I lived in NE GA for several years - I could not find ONE GOOD RESTAURANT. Here I can't find a bad one. And there is every store imaginable.
No, I'm not biased! I could go on all day.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Super Christmas !!!!!

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

From the moment we opened the door to our sparkling clean abode, we knew we had made the correct choice for our Christmas in Florida. The living area is much larger than we had anticipated from the photos, the fluffy towels, and all those clothes hooks in the bathroom - great!

There is everything that one could possibly need to live there for weeks. As Donna mentions, the place is close to beaches, attractions, etc - and it's all true.

If sipping coffee on the private deck and watching the dawn arrival of various birds is what you like to do, remember to take in the outside chair cushions the night before as the morning dew makes for a wet seat.

A patio below the apartment, in the shade, is great in the heat of the day to watch the fish jumping, laughing at the fishermen.

This place is a thoughtfully equipped home away from home... we will surely return.

Owners response: We really appreciate our international guest and the time they take to do such lovely reviews! It was our pleasure to put a Christmas tree in the rental because a guest can not bring one on the plane! Nor can they bring spices, cleaning supplies, napkins, tea kettles... all the things you need but don't want to buy for a week or so. Also there for our international guests is a scale to weigh purchases before going to the airport.( By the way- Ft Myers International airport- RSW-only 20 convenient miles away is listed as 1 of the 10 LEAST EXPENSIVE airports to fly into.) Whenever possible, if no one is checking in the next day, we try to accomadate requests for late check-out for guests with later international flights.
We're proud that she mentioned how clean it was as we take great pride in the up keep of the property. Neither Mo or myself feel comfortable in an unclean place (actually its a nightmare to be in a dirty place) and would NEVER want any of our guests to experience anything but a pristine place!

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Unendliche Idylle

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2011

Es war unsere zweite Reise nach Florida innerhalb von zwei Jahren und wir entschieden uns diesmal für einen Aufenthalt im südlicher gelegenen Bonita Springs. Nachdem wir schon der Auffassung waren, dass Anna Maria Island kaum zu toppen wäre, ist es Donna und ihrer Schwester Mo mit ihrem an der Bay gelegenen Ferienhaus gelungen, uns eines besseren zu belehren. Noch nie haben wir soviel Ruhe und gleichzeitig eine super Anbindung an viele Ausflugsziele in einer Adresse gefunden. Auch der mit dem Auto nur wenige Minuten entfernt gelegene Strand am Hickory Boulevard hat uns überzeugt. Entweder haben wir den Tag mit ausreichend Lektüre in den Strandstühlen aus unserer Unterkunft verbracht oder waren auf der Suche nach den schönsten unter den unzählgen Muscheln.
Das Quartier selbst war sehr gepflegt und sauber. Donna und Mo haben uns darüberhinaus für alle Fragen rund um die Unterkunft und Umgebung jederzeit gern zur Verfügung gestanden. So hat uns bereits kurz nach unserer Rückkehr nach Deutschland das Fernweh gepackt und wir können es kaum erwarten, noch einmal an dieses ach so erholsame Fleckchen Erde zurückzukehren.

Bis bald in Starfish Bay
Susanne und Oliver

Owners response: Danke schon, Susanne und Oliver!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Had great time. Highly recommend.

Review submitted: December 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 13, 2011

Have relatives in the area but did not want to stay with them. Saw this advert and booked easily. Donna and Mo were most helpful if we needed anything. Had beach to ourselves- it was amazing. Did the parasailing right from Doc's on the beach. made sure we got there everyday and evening loved the fabulous pastel sunsets reflecting in the water as boats went by.There was a big basket of area activities and coupons. We joined the family for tours of big Cypress Swamp, Everglades National Park and the casino in Immokolee.Enjoyed being with the in-laws but so glad we didn't stay with them. I've told friends about it too.Hotel rooms feel so impersonal; this was like home. I'd recommend for a romantic private get away.

Owners response: Mo and I (the Andrews sisters) really appreciate the kind words. We couldn't agree more about what a great beach Bonita has. 6 miles long and only 1 commercial building! And it's a fun restaurant with water sport concession! The rest is just single family homes. Lots of free parking at the beach accesses and a wonder county park called Barefoot Beach Park. It's undeveloped and prestine with a education center, broadway and conession.Bonita Beach- A world away from it all.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

All that was promised and more!

Review submitted: December 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

My husband and got a great air fare for a quick holiday get away and booked with owner last minute! The reserving and payment was fast and easy. Were pleasantly surprised with the accommodations far exceeding - we think- the write up the owners put on the internet. It had everything we needed, bikes, chairs for beach,ice packs for coolers,handy washing machine/dryer, everything in kitchen we could possibly use although we did eat out alot. Owners recommended several restaurants and our favorite was 'Sweet Tomatoes' buffet - fresh salads, homemade soups... and VERY inexpensive. Great location-convenient to 4 diffeernt movie complexes, one of them Imax. Apt had videos and books so we relaxed at home and enjoyed the views and all the wildlife .It was a constant show right out the windows and French doors. It worked out for us because we were looking to relax and get in the sun!

Owners response: We do indeed have a variety of books (some in German), magazines and brocures about local things to do in the area, coupons and menus from local restaurants. Takes a bit of research about activities in the area- so you can completely relax on your holiday. There are some DVDs for the built in DVD player on the flat screen TV. And PLENTY of channels (over 100) on cable TV. Stepping out for entertainment is the Hollywood 20 Plex, The Silverspot ( Luxury seating and in threatre dining), Imax at Gulfcoast Shopping Center, Ft. Myers Beach dining in the theatre, Coconut Mall threatres.... SO MUCH TO DO! But must leave time for the fishing, boating, swimming....

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Sehr schöne Ferienwohnung in angenehmer Umgebung

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 30, 2011

Zweimal, im November 2010 und 2011, haben wir einige Urlaubstage in Bonita Beach verbracht und sehr schöne Tage in der Ferienwohnung gehabt. Standort und Wohnung bieten viele Vorteile: Der Flughafen ist in 20-25 Minuten leicht zu erreichen; die Wohnung liegt sehr hübsch an einem Wasserarm, ist gut eingerichtet und gepflegt; die Vermieterin ist sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit; in nur kurzer Entfernung befindet sich ein wunderbarer Strand; die Umgebung insgesamt ist sehr angenehm und ruhig; gute Einkaufsmöglichkeiten sind nicht weit entfernt, - ein geeigneter Ort also, um erholsame Tage verbringen zu können. Gerne empfehlen wir diese Ferienwohnung weiter!

Dr. Wilhelm Meng und Sabine Thier, Bad Homburg

Helpful votes: 15 / 16

 

Peaceful, Private, Relaxing

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

Landed in Miami with direct flight from UK and had beautiful drive thru the Florida everglades. Arrived at holiday home at sunset - our 1st of 7 glorious evenings. tropical breezes always on our upper and lower decks. Had get cross breeze to remind us we had arrived in the tropics! Enjoyed the boats, marine life and birds from our windows. Place was immaculate and well decorated. Bright and cheerfully decorated. They had just what we needed for our perfect holiday- beach equipment, coolers, folding chairs, bikes, gas grill. Certainly more than we needed in the kitchen! The wife had a bit of office work to do and had easy wifi access for Skype and to keep in touch with home. Did not have to use our cell phones because there is a phone there for all calls. Great price, And we were very pleased. Won't stay in hotels anymore. Was a little leary before we tryed a holiday rental but am sold on it!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Waterfront property

Review submitted: June 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

Excellent area, close to beaches, everything you need to have a good time, relaxing

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 15

 

Beautiful Bay Views

Review submitted: May 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 31, 2010

My family and I had a wonderful vacation at this property! The rental was very spacious, clean, and had beautiful views of the water!! Donna and Mo could not have been more willing to please us and make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Would recommend this property and would love to visit again in the future.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 13

 

Can't wait to stay here again!

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

Truly pet-friendly lodging is hard to find when vacationing so we were truly delighted to have found this rental. It was convenient to our other vacationing family members and our black lab was welcomed, too. Usually "pet friendly" means that only pets under 15 pounds are allowed.

This unit was comfortable, clean, and exactly as we expected. The property is just off a main drag, but it was so quiet you would never know. It was close to one of our favorite restaurants, The Fish House, and convenient to other things, like groceries, that one needs while renting a unit for some time.

The apartment is comfortable and open, with a nice deck off the living room. We ate breakfast and lunch out here, enjoying the view of the mangroves and the bay. We also enjoyed kayaking and fishing on our own terms, with the gear provided with our rental. Having a washer and dryer on site was also very helpful.

As a an avid cook and baker, I found everything I needed in the kitchen. The open floor plan kept things simple for us, with plenty of room (two adults and two dogs). The bathroom has a heavenly deep bathtub, and the bedroom had a lot of storage space to keep our belongings from cluttering up a room that was otherwise just a touch small.

The rental process was seamless and trouble-free. We vacation to this area at least once a year and we hope this property will always be available when we travel. The price was competitive, the owners were communicative (but stayed out of our way during the whole visit!), and the property was better than we had expected.

Convenient to state parks, within a scenic hour of the Everglades and plenty to do right at your fingertips!

Thank you for a great experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 18

 

Privacy and Perfection

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2008

This property was excellent for our 2 week stay. We also recommened it to my parents (in their 80's), for their 30 day stay. They loved it and are returning for a 2nd stay.
The descpition is honest, and the photos current. All features of the apartment were clean and very well kept up.
The sister owner-team is beyond helpful, available when needed, always pleasant, and remember us by name after nearly 3 years of our initial visit.
I would recommended this property to anyone that appreciates a quiet spot, and nature lovers. We saw many herons, egrets, crows, osprey, dolphin, fish, and ducks right from our lanai. The dead-end street location assures even additional solitude.
Beaches, restaurants, grocery stores, and natural areas are all within easy driving.
I hope that you don't book this great spot for the dates that we want!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 12

 

Beautiful, peaceful and fun place

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

I stayed here last November, and it was a wonderful experience. The moment I crossed the entrance I felt the good vibe. I went straight to the balcony and the stunning view of the river took my breath away. I opened the windows and this amazing breeze came thru filling the ambiance with peace… so relaxing! Everything was so clean and I can’t say enough about the confortable bed. I don’t remember the last time I felt so rested in the morning. I also loved the fact that this place is so close to the beach, restaurants, grocery stores, etc. so I used the bike to go almost everywhere. I have to mention all the conveniences that make my life so easy there: wireless internet, cable, phone; I had access to a bike and a kayak. I will definitely go back this year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review