reviews for: listing #80603 - North Topsail Beach, North Carolina House rental

Beyond the Blue
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Ocean Sound Village
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $799 - $2,100 /nt
    $3,995 - $10,500 /wk
    $13,000 - $40,000 /mth

sort by:

A terrific multi-generational property

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

I originally was drawn to the property by the lovely photos and the mention of an elevator. We had rented at Nags Head a few years ago and my father-in-law was showing signs of a progressive disease that affected his balance, so all the stairs of a raised beach home were difficult. He died in the fall, but I thought since his older sister would be with us, an elevator might not be a bad idea and if nothing else, it'd be good for loading groceries. Then one party member broke a hip and another had knee surgery less than two weeks before our dates! So with two people on canes, the elevator was a god send! Everyone loved the kitchen; it was large enough for several to work together cooking or cleaning up. We ate every dinner together and everyone took a turn at the range...terrific! The dining space was awesome as well. We were able to sit 11 adults at the table and the kids at the kitchen bar counter. A mini-stereo with CDs and candle centerpiece made meals special. We had several days of chilly weather or rain, so my son and the knee replacement cousin really enjoyed the theater room.

The second floor bedrooms worked out great and there was room for an extra cousin who hadn't made a hotel reservation: surprise, trundles! The upstairs master worked well for my immediate family, with the side bedroom and its own bath perfect for my teens. Lots of deck and other outdoor space let us spread out when we needed alone time. I enjoyed the pool area (although really only warm enough to get in one day--its heat pump not gas heat ) because the dune protect you from the wind. And the hot tub was a hit!
The star is the beach and we walked it quite a bit. There's a restaurant at the pier to the north and we walked there one morning to earn our breakfast. The proximity to Sneads Ferry was a perk, as one set of relatives wanted a little more space and stayed in a hotel. It was also good for grocery and souvenir runs without treking too far. Wilmington is close enough to explore...we got to the Airlie Gardens on a breezy beach day, but it was warmer there. The azaleas, wisteria, dogwoods and tulips were in full bloom and beautiful!
The sunrises were so lovely and the full moon shining on the water was just breathtaking. Beyond The Blue is a truly lovely property that a family of 13 from age 12 to 80 really enjoyed!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome beach vacation!

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

Love this house. Very clean. Theatre room is awesome. Very comfortable and nicely decorated. Great views from each room in the house. Looking forward to next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beyond Expectation

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

We looked for 2 months at homes on Topsail
that would allowed weddings and finally found Beyond the Blue. I had limited our search due to handicap access needs and the need for a pool for the rehearsal party. This house was perfect. Plenty of room for gathering and lots of outdoor space for everyone to enjoy the ocean air. The house allowed for both of our immediate families to stay over the weekend too! The elevator came in handy when bringing in food, luggage and my elderly grandmother and paralyzed best friend. The one issue here though was some guests including my grandmother became stuck in the elevator on a few occasions. By Saturday we were unable to use the elevator to send down all our supplies, luggage and grandmother because it had stopped working entirely. The kitchen was perfect for our large family to cook in and move around with ease. The large dining area was perfect for the wedding reception as it seated 14 +. The one issue with the kitchen was the refrigerator and its problem keeping its temp. The food was partially cold and it leaked water onto the floor the whole week. Can't say enough about all the balconies and water views. There was even an a small deck off the yet another amazing room, the theater room. This room saved the day when it rained one day-perfect! Plenty of space in the rooms to truly make yourself at home for the week and nicely appointed bathrooms. The top floor shower did leak out of the bottom glass wall out onto the bedroom floor.
As far as the wedding was concerned, this house gave us amazing memories and wowed our guests. No one had a negative comment and couldn't stop talking about how beautiful it was. I was able to use the top floor on my wedding day to get ready and take some memorable photos. The layout allowed people to mingle and move about and enjoy views and comfort at all times. I would recommend this home to anyone and even with the maintenance issues it truly was beyond our expectations!

Owners response: Amanda,
We are ecstatic that we were able to accommodate you, your family and your event. We have made such great memories in this home and it is warming to know that others have as well – especially ones of this magnitude!

As for the maintenance issues, I apologize. The elevator gets inspected regularly for maintenance and safety, but we can never predict when it decides it needs a break. We have been getting it in working order again this week and hope that it doesn’t cause any more inconveniences. After all, it is there to provide such a convenience. I am glad you were able to use it as much as you did before it shut down.

Congratulations again on your wedding and we hope to see you again in the future to celebrate other family milestones, anniversaries, gatherings, etc.
We will see you Beyond the Blue!
The Brashear Family

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Pretty Good

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Overall the house and experience were good, but the house is in need of maintenance. The kitchen and the movie room were awesome.
The top floor second bedroom TV and ceiling fan did not work, the sound system in the main living area had issues and needs to replaced and the furniture around the pool was rusty and in need to some TLC. We could not figure out how to make the sound system work outside so that may have been broken as well. We had a wonderful time and with a little more attention to the maintenance at this property it would have been worth the price.
The property manager was responsive when I called.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you so much for letting us know what we need to attend to. When we prepare for the rental season, we try to make sure that everything is perfect. As the busy weeks progress, however, the salt-laden humidity takes its toll on systems, fixtures and furniture. We are happy to hear that the property manager was responsive, and apologize if repairs and replacements took longer than the length of your stay. We do hope that you will visit again.

The Brashears and Beyond the Blue

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely amazing house

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

This was the first time we have rented a house on the beach as a family. The property was more fabulous than we expected. Location location location!!!! My family of 14 had the best time ever. We had to drag the kids out kicking and screaming at the end of our week. And I am talking about the adults!!! The set up of the house was wonderful and very accomidating for our large group. The only downside was that I couldn't get my grandchildren out of the movie room!!!! With that room off of the living room we always knew where they were but hardly knew they were with us. The 4th floor master was amazing with the perfect little room next to us for my 19 year old niece who came along to help with the children. With the wonderful kitchen and all the extras we hardly left the property. Loved the area and can't wait to go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beyond the Blue- Family vacation

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

Based on the pictures and description of Beyond the Blue, we had optimistically high expectations. As others have reported, the home exceeded these expectations. The photos do not convey the details that have been put into the design and decoration of this home. Recessed lighting, high-quality appliances, beds made upon arrival, beautiful moldings, paint colors that I may replicate in my home, and the personal touches of seeing family photos throughout the home which conveyed that this is a home we had the opportunity to visit rather than a beach house rental.
Both the owner and the property manager were responsive and truly conveyed a feeling that they cared about making our visit perfect. Thank you Diane and Donna for giving our family a week we will always remember.
Slight problem upon our arrival back home. After the 3-year old nieces had watched videos on the 110 inch screen at BTB, they told their Mom that their TV had shrunk while they were on vacation. Also, Rangers did lose both games that we were able to watch in the media room – a win could have improved the vacation, but can’t place that on the owners. I think the kids, and the adults, are now ruined for any rental or home which cannot live up to Beyond the Blue. My husband and I are already discussing how we need a room like the sunroom in any retirement home we purchase. I think the key is that there is no tv- it truly is a reading/relaxation oasis. Many hours were spent in that corner chair reading and napping. From that viewpoint, we were able to see the storms coming in from over the island, and the blue skies over the ocean. I was able to see and photo amazing sunrises and sunsets.
I could go on even longer, but hopefully in my ramblings I conveyed that if you are fortunate enough too visit Diane’s home, I’m pretty sure you won’t want to leave.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great time welcoming home the 22nd MEU

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

Excellent home and location on Topsail. Diane was a pleasure to work with. Was the perfect place to welcome home the 22nd MEU. Would highly recommend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful, with some minor imperfections

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

This vacation home is beautifully decorated. It is jaw-droppingly beautiful and the layout is great for a large group. It's located on a remote part of the beach that isn't so crowded and is a great family atomosphere. The house had every ammenity you could think of. The theater room was about the coolest thing on earth. What you see in the pictures doesn't even begin to explain the awesomeness of the 4th floor of this house. The jacuzzi tub is incredible and built to have the most amazing view and the shower had all sorts of sprayers. When we called about our air conditioning being broken, someone came out that day to fix it.

While the house had every ammenity you could think of, there were flaws. We all would have liked to know ahead of time that the garbage disposal was broken and the parts were "on order," and that the king size bed that I slept in was being held up by books instead of a bed frame (parts were also "on order"). The center of the bed was sunken in due to the broken frame. There were chairs broken, and handles missing from several doors in the house. The house could have also used a good cleaning. There was a heavy layer of dust on the moldings of the doors in our rooms, it seems as though the cleaning crew was just a bit lazy. The beds need to be swept under, and the couches swept under as well. I think in all honesty it just comes down to a property management issue. Little things like checking to make sure there is gas in the grill tank is an example of poor property management. The owner answered us quickly when the property manager was out of town. The owner also made sure that when our gas(for the stove) went out the day before thanksgiving that we had gas. The owner called the gas company to make sure they got our gas fixed.

All in all, it was a nice place to stay. If I had been paying the full price for peak months I would have been upset that certain things had not been fixed properly. When people only get 2 weeks of vacation a year, I think they should be fully informed about where they are staying. A good nights sleep makes all the difference, and that was difficult for us to get on our broken bed. The hot tub was also partially broken, and there was no beach stroller, which my husband and I were depending on with a 25lb baby.

Would I stay here again? Yes. Would I want to be made aware of the flaws so they didn't come a surprise? Yes.

Owners response: Dear Friends,
We cannot tell you how sorry we are that everything was not in top shape when you arrived. The bed, I'm afraid, had been broken and "fixed" by the prior renter and was not reported by those who made the beds. A new one has replaced it, as has a new disposal replaced the dead one in the kitchen. The beach stroller, we have learned, suffered a flat tire and was stowed in owner storage. It, too, will be rehabbed for next season.
We are likewise appalled that you found the house in anything less than top form for your arrival. Of course the later the season progresses and the further removed we are from our annual, complete spring refurbishment, the more likely we are to encounter the annoyances of low fuel levels and dust build-up on doors and baseboards. Thank you so much for calling this to our attention. We will make sure it does not escape our oversight in the future, no matter how late we are in the season.
Again, we apologize to you for your inconvenience, and sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to earn your trust.
The Brashears

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Very satisfied customers

Review submitted: November 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

We were holding a family gathering on Topsail and rented this beautifully furnished and equiped home for some of our family. This house is a dream come true from the charming interior to the beautiful ocean views availalbe from the many decks. We spent lots of time rocking on the porch and taking in the sunrise and sunsets. I would higly recommend this property--the owner clearly loves this home and stays there too.All the bedrooms were nicely furnished and the master on the top floor provides a quiet oasis away from other family members. Hope to come back again soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the review! We like to get feedback from our guests and love it when we know they have enjoyed their stay and the house as much as we do. It truly is our oasis and we’re happy that others can experience it as well.
We hope that you will join us ‘Beyond the Blue’ again in the near future!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This Year Was The First Of (Hopefully) Many

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

This year was the first year I've ever been to Topsail. I've heard many great things about this house, but words didn't justify how amazing the home is.
Our vacation was amazing. Perfect weather with a perfect home.
Days began with breakfast in the gourmet kitchen, and ended with drinks in the hot tub.
If you needed to get out of the sun for a bit, the spacious home theater was a perfect way to spend an hour or two before heading back into the sun and sand.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Rent Now, you won't be disappointed

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We have had the pleasure of vacationing here for several years in a row. We were so impressed the first year that we made immediate mental plans for the next trip! The house is immaculate, from the sustainable/reclaimed wood floors, the quiet and cool media room, the balconies facing the ocean and a perfect view of the sunset, to the hot tub/pool and ocean. It is even more breathtaking than the pictures. Having access to the beach straight from the house is a dream. Be sure to watch for Dolphin in the early morning! The owners are a dream to work with and we could tell they really cared about our stay.

I can honestly say that I would recommend this to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

No disappointments here!

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

This place is everything it is billed up to be & then some. The entire property is first class- from the bedrooms with a personal bathroom for each to the relaxing balconies on every level to enjoy the sun, beaches & breezes coming in off of the ocean. The eating areas & kitchen are spacious & plenty of room for cooking by our group as well as eating together. The TV/AV room is unbelievable with a massive screen & leather lounge chairs- what a fabulous relaxing/viewing area. Then the beach is just over the berms from the house with pristine sand & miles to walk up & down the ocean! It was like staying at a five star resort on an island!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A WONDERFUL FAMILY CHRISTMAS

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 21, 2010

While a beach vacation is normally reserved for summer months, our family could only manage our schedules to be together in North Topsail Beach for Christmas. And what a delightful week we had !
The accommodations for all our adult children and grandchildren made our stay so comfortable. We loved cooking together in this glorious kitchen; watching movies together in the theatre room; and enjoying our Christmas traditions in this lovely home. Walks on the beach were delightful ~ yes, sweatshirts were needed, but the ocean was beautiful and the sun was warming. Our adults sons even ventured into the ocean wearing wet-suits ... into the pool, as well. The entire family departed this wonderful home with fond memories and we look forward to another visit in the years to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dream House

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

This property offers a week of feeling like you're living in your dream house! Aside from the great attributes like home theater, huge ocean view master bedroom, beach access and heated pool, the house feels like home when you're there. There's no better vacation spot. I love it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Late July Stay

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

I stayed at this property with around 9-10 other people, and it was absolutely amazing. The home itself is fabulous. It is large enough to accomodate everyone and other friends that came over to hang out. We loved the theater, which also served as a business work room for many of the people that needed to find a quiet place to do occasional work. The bedrooms were beautifully decorated, and well kept. It was very nice that they all had their own personal bath. The laundry room was nicely located on the level off the lower deck, so you wouldn't have to track sand all over the house. We all loved relaxing in the hot tub after dinner, and the sunsets are amazing. The pool was wonderful, and a great change from the salt of the ocean. However, most days were spent out on the beach. We were lucky enough to enjoy some waves at the beginning of our stay, because most of the time the waters were very calm. I would absolutely return to this house and Topsail Island, and I highly recommend it to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It wouldn't be summer without a trip to Topsail!

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

We have been going to Topsail for the last 5 summers now (2011 will be the 6th year) and have stayed at this home each time. It is well appointed and has a wonderful floor plan that is function, elegant and effortlessly accommodates large groups. The kitchen is spectacular; great for cooking and serving large meals. The Master Bedroom is stunning and all the secondary bedrooms are comfortable and have in-suite bathrooms, a definite plus! The pool, hot tub and movie room are just a few of the other amazing features that truly make you not want to leave the house when you are there! I could not recommend this home more highly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Time Had By All

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

A group of friends and I went for a summer trip one year, and have been coming back ever since. It has become the thing we all look forward to the most each year. The place is perfect, and each visit I find something new to love. From meeting at the gourmet kitchen for breakfast, to heading down to the pool or beach to cool off, to ending the day watching the sunset from the front porch and finally relaxing in the movie room after a hard days vacation. I definitely have incredibly fond memories of topsail island now and I am sure that anyone who visits will too.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Time of my life

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

This house is absolutely beautiful. I have visited Topsail Island every year for past 5+ years and I stay here. Family and friends have joined me each year and also rave how perfect the house is. Great for families large and small with so many amenities and beautiful ocean view. The house is very clean and well kept. Whether you like to play in the pool with the kids, read a book on the beach, or boogie board in the ocean; this house really tailors to your vacation needs. Our group loves the large theater room to wind down the day with a movie. I can not say enough about this house and we recommend this to anyone and everyone. It even has a elevator for those with troubles going up and down stairs (quite unique). Every year we count the days until we can return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything we were looking for.

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

If you asked me, and you are, finding the right home is the most challenging part of planning a beach vacation. Beyond-the-Blue was everything we were looking for, and I suppose that's probably why we keep coming back. There's something untouched about the beaches here, despite the ways Carolina has recently trended with vacationers. The views from the porch will make you a believer. And there's room for company. We reserve two years out, so think ahead. I recommend getting time while you still can. There's already so little of it to waste.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My favorite place in the world.

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 29, 2010

I have been travelling to the Outer Banks of North Carolina for several years now and from my first visit to your residence on North Top Sail, I have been addicteded to this perfect little corner of the world.

It is the fantastic getaway that has something to offer all ages no matter if you are looking for a relaxing retreat or the opportunity to reunite old friends. It is the perfect location to offer both privacy with access to local restaurants, bars and golfing etc.

Thank you for creating this perfect corner of heaven. I will continue to frequent the beach for many years to come.

Grant

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review