reviews for: listing #8065 - Newport Beach, California House rental

Beachfront & Boardwalk
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $229 - $258 /nt
    $1,600 - $1,800 /wk
    $3,200 - $3,600 /mth

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 31, 2005   Date of arrival: May 1, 2005

Dear Debbie and Jeremy,

Debbie we had such a fantastic time at your beachhouse. It is so perfect and location is awesome. Your amenities show how you care for your renters.
Jeremy was awesome in handling situations beyond our control. We were happy to have him to count on.

Not so happy to leave.

Love Dave and Rene Tinsman

Helpful votes: 12 / 18

 

Fantastic!!

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the upper unit. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the unit as I am a clean freak. The patio is nice and big, and gets lots of sun. The sunsets were amazing!
There are so many restaurants, bars and a grocery store within walking distance. It was the best vacation we have ever had! We cannot wait to come back with the kids!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location, Great for families

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our two young children in February. The property was very clean and the location was excellent! We have a two year old and six month old which makes dining out sometimes difficult, but there were so many great restaurants within walking distance. We were able to walk to a spot to pick up food and enjoy it on the lovely, large patio. Great location for people watching and we saw dolphins from our patio almost every day! The beach was fantastic and we took long walks on the boardwalk every morning. The first night of our stay the furnace was not working and it got chilly, but we called the next morning and they sent maintenance to fix it within a couple hours. Only complaint was there was construction being done on the pier just outside the property. Not disturbing, just not pretty to look at. Overall we had an excellent stay and highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We'll Be Back!!

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

What a wonderful condo! We stayed in the upstairs unit with a fabulous oceanfront view! Drinking my morning coffee on the large deck while the dolphin swam past...who could ask for a more relaxing setting? The unit was extremely clean and had every amenity you could wish for...and some! There was no need for a car, as activities and restaurants are plentiful. I recommend Rockin' Baja Lobster. When we didn't eat out, we bbq'd on the deck. The owner even supplied the charcoal. They truly thought of everything you could need. Next door you can rent bicycles - which of course we did! The weather was perfect as well, just for my birthday weekend. ;p Thank you so much for allowing my family to stay here. We will surely return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

I want to thank you so much! We had an amazing time. This is our fist time staying in your unit and it was so much more than we could have imagined. You supplied everything we needed for a wonderful stay. So many amenities that there are too many to list. The unit is beautiful. We stayed upstairs and the balcony is amazing. The view and the privacy is great. We will definitely stay again. It is obvious that the owner takes pride in this location as it is decorated beautifully and is extremely clean. We loved it and will definitely come again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Beach Vacation

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

What a FABULOUS time we had in your condo. What a wonderful unit - just the perfect accommodations for our family of four. And, the kitchen was wonderfully appointed! So
easy to throw some steak or seafood on the grill, or whip up some guacamole
for snacking. The location was excellent for people watching and the all too frequent
trip to the Pipeline for an afternoon ice cream treat :) We will definitely consider returning
for future visits.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very clean and great view

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

This is a beautiful property very clean and a fully updated home. It has the best location walk straight on to the beach and close to all the shops and restaurants. Will certainly be back we had the best time.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

5 out of 5

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

Just getting back from the vacation and wanted to share with you how much fun we had. Hope to use the place again at some point in the future. Perfect location, and very convenient to food, fun and relaxation!! 5 out of 5!! We actually have a huge family (5 kids) and it accommodated all of us very well. Located right next to a place to rent surfboards and boogie boards. Hope to do it again soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Unexpected/Unwanted Tenants...

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

What seemed like a dream vacation turned bad fast... Just as we all got there and started to get unpacked and settled in, we found out that the beach house was infested with cockroaches! By the time we ran to the store, got Raid and sprayed the house down, the asthmatics could hardly breathe. Luggage was put back in the cars and a few of us slept outside on the patio in lounge chairs. The owner was more than gracious though. They were there first thing in the morning, refunded 100% of our payment and away we went!!! Beach house was absolutely gorgeous though and yes, in the perfect prime location! We were in the downstairs unit, the people upstairs hadn't seen any of the "unwanted tenants" in their unit. Booking beach houses, I now ask and inspect, to make sure there are no unwanted guests!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: In all our years presenting this property for rent we had never received such a complaint. We did have a problem last September, promptly fixed it and took very strong measures to insure it won't happen again. We take great pride in our property, attending to every detail and tenant request to provide the very best vacation experience.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Best view

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Had a great time !!! The view/deck from the upper unit were the BEST !!! I did not even mind cleaning the kitchen because of the view. Bedrooms where very comfortable and loved that there was a washer/dryer in the unit. Towels and bedding were very nice. Just steps to the beach, the pier and shops . There is a take out food place right next door. The clam chowder from the take out window at the end of the pier is very good and it is a nice walk. Saw dolphins playing in the water while sitting on the deck enjoying a cup of hot tea one morning-:) Parking was a little tight but it is the beach and the only time needed to drive was to the store. There is a 7-11 across the street if you need to grab milk or bread, and they have a red box too . ( if you could take your eyes off of the view long enough to watch a movie-i could not !!) We arrived around 2-2:30 and the cleaning crew had not even started to clean our unit-it was 4:30 before we got into it-which was very disappointing-they did clean the deck first so we could bring all of are stuff up there and enjoy the view. If planning on cooking be sure to bring all of your spices and if making breakfast you might want to bring a large skillet or frying pan otherwise the kitchen is well stocked. I would RECOMMEND this unit and hope to return myself !!! We had a great time .....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A great stay! Wish it was longer!

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

Everything was just as described and pictured at this wonderful beach location. We were in the upper unit.

We had everything we needed from muffin tins to beach towels, wine glasses to laundry soap. The beds were comfortable, and if you sleep on the futon with the door open you can enjoy the ocean as you sleep. The only concern I had was my five year old on the top bunk without a railing. It was clearly pictured with no railing, I just never noticed. This was easily solved by the convenient full bed on the bottom bunk, I just put the two boys in the one bed. I also want to mention how dark and quiet the master bedroom is. Seriously, I could have slept forever if it weren't for the kids!

The view was amazing- ocean, pier, palms, DOLPHINS, sailboats - all wonderful! There is even a little patch of grass out front. The public shower was right off the boardwalk which made it easy to wash off a majority of the sand, and a hose on the deck to wash off the rest. It was a sand free house! YAY! There were plenty of shells on the beach for the kids (and us) and considering the season, there were barely any people there.

Everything was within walking distance, except the grocery store (which is Pavillions even though google maps says Von's. Same company though). The surrounding area had plenty of shops and restaurants with food in every price range. While we brought most of our food, we did stop at al farro for dinner and we were pleased with the waiter and the food. We parked the car and except for a trip to the store for forgotten items, we didn't get in it again until we were ready to leave!

We left with great memories, being the first time the kids have seen the ocean, happy bellies, and a nice tan!

Overall a five star stay, and we hope to have the privilege of staying here again.

Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect getaway!!!!

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

My business partner and I have been renting this house for several years now for a trade show in the area, and while the trade show is exhausting, I always look forward to it because we're able to escape to this house in the evening. The view is amazing, and the restaurants nearby are great too. The kitchen is also really usable. Some VRBOs have terrible kitchens, but this one is nice and you have a view of the waves while you cook. If you like to surf, you're right in front of a great surf break. It makes the trade show we do much bearable to be able to surf for 45 minutes in the morning before we go to work!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family of 5

Review submitted: September 30, 2011   Date of arrival: September 14, 2011

LOVED it! I would bring my family to this very house (bottom unit) again in a heartbeat. I loved that I could see my kids at the beach from the kitchen window while I made meals. The public shower to rinse off sand is 30 feet from the patio. The boardwalk is clean and beach rental shop (sand toys, umbrellas, boogie boards, bikes) is right next door. The area feels very safe, maybe due to the fact that the lifeguard office is right on the pier outside the patio door.
Newport Beach is clean and family-friendly - no transients, etc. The area as a whole was a bit more uppity and expensive than I'd prefer, but the location of this house was so absolutely perfect. The kitchen was well-stocked, there were plenty of bath towels, and the clothes dryer actually dried the clothes in one cycle! You just can't get more convenient. Balboa Pier is just a quick ride/jog/walk south down the boardwalk. Each morning we saw stingray at the base of the pier. A few times we spotted dolpins swimming by. A local fisherman on the pier allowed my 9 year old to reel in one of his fish.
Lastly, I'd do business with Rosemary any time. Any time. She was so friendly and always accomodating, more than expected. Thank you Rosemary. My kids (9,7,5) want to return to the house and beach. 5 days was not enough for them.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great location

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

This house is perfect! Right on the sand with a small park to play in. Just steps from the pier, restaurants and shops. We loved it!!
Parking for visitors is a challenge which is normal for beaches. This house has it all.
Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

1st time beach vacation best experience

Review submitted: September 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

This was our 1st beach house vacation rental. It was an awesome experience for our whole family. Rosemary was the best to work with, she was very quick to respond and thoughtful during our stay. She called several times during our stay to ensure all was going well.I was pleasantly surprised how smooth everything went. The location was perfect for our family and needs.Being so close to the water, shops and boardwalk was absolutely the best. The house was in good condition and provided everything we needed.It was very cozy yet roomy for our family. We all agreed the week went by too fast and definitely plan on returning next year, maybe even do a few days during the winter.Thanks Rosemary for making our 1st experience at the beach an awesome one. We look forward to doing this again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exciting location!

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

If you love action this is the place for you! Right in the heart of Newport, minutes from Restaurants, Bars and Shops. The owner/agent was very flexible and accomadating. We could not have asked for more.

Thanks Rosemary, see you next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

great location, right at the heart of the boardwalk. Manager was always available and responsive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Fantastic Family Summer Vacation!!!

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Thank you for a fantastic Family Summer Vacation!!! We had a fabulous time at your "beach house". What an incredible view, great balcony, wonderful amenities and very comfortable beds!!!

Thank you for a great time!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation ever!!

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

Rosemary, THANK YOU!! It was great working with you. You're so sweet. The house and amenities were more than we expected. It was amazingly comfortable. Close to everything. We didn't have to get in our car unless we wanted to. We had the most wonderful time, everything we had our hearts set on. Great view. Perfect for relaxing or staying busy. Loved the people wathcing =) I recommend this place and will be referring to family and friends. What a treat for both my sister-in-law and me.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing location

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

This place is great! It's located right next to the Newport Pier and near tons of restaurants and local shops. The rental was very clean and had everything we needed. The view is amazing, I can't say enough about this place, you will not be disappointed, I didn't want to leave. Thank you Rosemary for everything and for being available to answer all our questions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

vacation

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 19, 2010

Fantastic location, we had the upper deck and enjoyed the view.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Life above the ocean!

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

Property was clean & well maintained ... had a charcoal bbq (not gas) ... we really enjoyed hanging out on the deck. Beautiful! If you go during summer (in season), it may be too busy -- the house is right off the pier.
This activity was fun for us, though, as we went in October. Just enough activity to be fun & interesting!
Funky shops, good food (absolutely go to Blue Water Grill!) & plenty to do -- rent a bike! walk the beach! shop! Our teen children were thrilled.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Place

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: April 19, 2009

We had such a fantastic time at your lovely beach apartment and we really felt like we were at home, with every possible amenity and thoughtful thing provided for us.

You took care of us in every way and we are so happy that we have recommended you to all our friends and family!

The location is perfect and my children had the time of their lives. We will be back again soon, and if you are reading this review, I strongly recommended this clean, well kept property and the lovely team that look after it. Great service and a comfortable, carefree stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 29, 2004   Date of arrival: July 29, 2004

Fabulous! We have booked for the same time next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review