reviews for: listing #80654 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

Luxury home on 20 private acres, ocean view, streams
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $285 - $425 /nt
    $1,995 - $2,975 /wk

sort by:

Excellent stay

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

Me and my family (7 people from 70+ year old parents to 6 and 8 year old kids) loved the place. They all raved about it the whole time. There were a few minor issues which I discussed with the owner, but nothing that ruined the stay. Having such a huge living room and kitchen were very convenient for our family. My mom (who doesn't walk very well) didn't have any problem with this property which was great.

I had a few conversations with Marcy and she was great to work with. You can tell she really cares about the place and wants you to have a nice stay. We have stayed at a few places, but she had the most interest by far in our stay.

We had a great time. It was a beautiful house in a great location. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Oh my, words fail!

Review submitted: May 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 28, 2014

Our jaws did drop upon arrival! The pictures are right on; this is such an exquisite home, with the grounds being beauty and balm. Having breakfast or dinner on the lanai looking over beautifully manicured acres at the ocean view--couldn't be better. We loved the sound of the stream and having the darling little waterfall to visit. Be sure and check out the owner's website complete with even more beautiful pictures and interesting information. We really do recommend the Hawaiian Tropical Botanical Garden which is right nearby, and the beautiful parks on the ocean as you drive north, particularly the park with the monument to tsunami victims. As a bonus, the owner and her lovely manager who welcome you with such an aloha spirit make the experience even better. One warning: you may really be wanting to remodel after your visit! Mahalo for a lovely stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An unforgetable vacation at this beautiful place

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

This is the second time that we visited the Big Island. The first time, like most tourists, we only stayed on the west side of the island, and had two days of long drive to visit the east side. This time, my husband insisted on staying for two weeks, with one week on the east side and one week on the west. I thought it'd be too long of a vacation on one island. But I'm so happy that he insisted on it, and even happier that he found the Kapehu house! The place is just amazing, inside and outside. The house itself is very spacious, and beautifully built. I even told my husband that if we built our own house one day, I'd like to copy some of the interior design. The lanai is very large with a serene view of the hills and ocean. The kids were very interested by the papaya trees and pineapple plants growing on the property. Since the place is on large parcel, it feels so special to take a stroll on the backyard, go to the waterfall and walk through the Eucalyptus forest with no one else around.

I think the only problem with this experience is that I'm spoiled by it. Now I have a high expectation of vacation homes that we'll rent for our next trip elsewhere!

And last but not the least, Marci is a wonderful owner to deal with. She's very nice.

Thank you for the wondering experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for capturing the feel of this wondrous place. I've long thought the magic of East Hawaii (Hilo side) is a well-kept secret. We traveled to Hawaii many times over many years and stayed at many different places, before purchasing a home on the Big Island - and we chose this particular location because it's the best location on the island to be! All the best sights and activities are within a short drive of the Kapehu Retreat.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay on our estate. Yes, we chose this particular home because of its extraordinary beauty and serenity (even though we can't quite afford it). Once we saw Kapehu, we knew we'd never settle for a less beautiful home. Our property manager Kealani is awesome, too.

And yes, 2 weeks is not too long on one island - if the island is the Big Island. Of course, Maui is beautiful, so is Kauai, and so are parts of Oahu, but you can explore each of them in a few days. The Big Island, though, is BIG. If you add up the square feet of all the other 7 Hawaiian islands, then multiply that total by 3, you can fit it all into the Big Island and have many square miles left over. Plus the Big Island is fantastically varied: from snowy mountains, to desert wilderness, to sunny beaches, to tropical rain forests, to an active volcano!

I'm sure you'll return. Mahalo and malama pono.

Marcy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolute Magic

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in November 2011 for a week, and I have to say that it was the best place I have ever stayed (and I have stayed in some pretty nice places around the world). Yet here I am almost 14 months after we stayed, and if I close my eyes I can still feel the breezes, see the lush landscape, hear the sound of the waterfalls and the nightly frog chorus - just utter perfection. Each day I had to be dragged away to explore the island because I just wanted to stay in my own personal paradise. Picking fresh fruit every day and wandering down the lawn to lie in the hammock with the ocean in the distance was just spectacular. Mere words cannot do this place justice -- Kapehu House is truly a piece of heaven on earth.The sunken hot tub on the wrap-around lanai was the perfect remedy for muscles tired from day-tripping. The kitchen (with its spectacular view down the slope to the Pacific) made it difficult to decide whether to go out or dine in! Marcy was lovely to deal with -- she answered all questions promptly and accommodated each request.
I wish I was there right now! I truly cannot express just how in love we fell with this property! Thank you!

Owners response: Aloha Lish - You are someone who really "gets it" - you understand why we ourselves are so enchanted with this special place, because you were open to experiencing the quiet and subtle magic. Mahalo for sharing your perceptions. I do hope you'll return. - Marcy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

More lovely than advertised

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

We first fell in love with this beautiful home from the pictures. When we finally arrived, we were happy to discover it's far lovelier than the pictures expressed. It really has to be experienced to be appreciated -- the elegance of the home, the lush beauty of the surroundings, the quiet serenity like a temple, the immaculate cleanliness.
We're city kids, so we were shocked to find there were no curtains in the master bedroom or master bath! It took us two days to understand why the owners didn't put up curtains -- there is no one around. No one. No roads, no houses, no neighbors, no lights. From the master bath you have views in two directions of green rolling hills and pastures. From the master bedroom you have green hills in one direction and the stunning ocean view in the other. Btw, if you like to sleep late, choose one of the west-facing bedrooms, because in the master bedroom when the sun rises over the ocean it hits you right in the face. But we loved that.
The location couldn't be better - it's central to all the sights in East Hawaii. We had a great time at the zipline a couple of miles away in Honomu, and the Onomea botanical gardens, and snorkeling at the tide pools in Kapoho, and spent two full days exploring Hawaii Volcanoes Park. Our sons went surfing at a nearby beach I think was called Honolii and said the surfing was as good as any in CA. We did make one day-trip over to the Kona side, and decided we like the Hilo side much better.
The owner pleasantly answered all our many questions before we booked. The manager Chris met us at the house when we arrived and showed around and answered more questions.
We'd definitely recommend the kapehu house, and we hope to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm glad you had such a good time and enjoyed our home so much. -Marcy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Moe'uhane

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

Moe'uhane.....that's "dream" in Hawaiian. Just what Kapehu Wailele is............truly a dream come true. You plan a vacation in Hawaii and you think you're going to eat at wonderful restaurants and mingle with the locals every night. Think again. This property is so wonderful you'll never want to leave. Marcy was so lovely and helpful; she gave many suggestions of great things to do. We drove to Volcanoes National Park and spent a day there (plan to stay for hours hiking and ending after dark so you can see the glow). Local snorkeling is great; I'd recommend purchasing a pair of tabis from S. Tokunaga Store, wonderful felt bottom shoes that give great traction on the shoreline's volcanic rocks. When you leave the tidepools stop at Suisan in Hilo and purchase some fresh ahi to sear on the stove when you get home.....and be back early enough to sit in the hot tub to watch the cruise ship leaving the island (about 5-6 pm). Be sure to rent a 4-wheel drive jeep so you can go everywhere, such as Waipeo Valley. After leaving there, drive to JJ Market (best price in the area for beef) in Honokaa and pick up a delicious locally raised grass-fed beef steak to cook when you get back to the house. Add some wonderful fresh organic arugula from one of the local farmer's markets and you'll have a special meal as you sit on the beautiful lanai at Kapehu Wailele. Don't miss the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden. Stop by What's Shakin for a Peanut Bruddah or Lava Java smoothie after you leave the garden and are making your way to Akaka Falls. Plan to spend a day just lounging and walking the retreat property, as it is incredibly beautiful, quiet and peaceful. You'll have the best sleep of your life with the windows cracked open and the gentle sounds of the coqui to lull you to sleep. Mornings are especially wonderful. We awoke to gentle showers and an incredibly perfect rainbow one morning. We enjoyed fresh papayas from the trees on the property for breakfast along with delicious Kona coffee. Many colorful birds will be fluttering around the lanai and the air is so fresh you won't want to leave. Inside, the home is beautiful--with granite counters, gorgeous wood floors, luxurious bathrooms, spacious living areas, and a fireplace in case you get chilly. Thanks Marcy and Tom.....it was the best!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxation in luxury

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

We just returned from a two and a half week stay on the Big Island and were blessed to spend a week at Marcy's fabulous home. From the moment we met Kelly who met us at the property to the last day, everything was perfect. The temps at this location were comfortable even through the evening (compared to a stay prior to this week that was at a 1500 ft elevation). The only complaint would be that we didn't spend enough time relaxing and enjoying the peace and quiet. It was great to sit in the hot tub and enjoy the rain and tropical breezes. We were there during a rainy time so we were able to see the waterfall and listen to the calming cascade. If you plan on staying here, you can't go wrong.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

So much beauty!

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 6, 2012

We visited from Japan, my father and mother, my husband baby and I. We all have beautiful memories at Kapehu Retreat House. My father and mother said it was like a dream, so much beauty and luxury, so big. And for me, I could spend amazing days with the sound of winds in trees, streams, and the beautiful nature scenery! The property manager were very kind very sweet.
My baby was sick with fever, so we stayed at the house and not see many sights. We picked fruit and sit in the spa tub, and I cooked meals for my family in the big kitchen. We were very happy we stayed at such a beautiful place.
I hope I will come back again this house.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

So much beauty!

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 6, 2012

We visited from Japan, my father and mother, my husband baby and I. We all have beautiful memories at Kapehu Retreat House. My father and mother said it was like a dream, so much beauty and luxury, so big. And for me, I could spend amazing days with the sound of winds in trees, streams, and the beautiful nature scenery! The property manager were very kind very sweet.
My baby was sick with fever, so we stayed at the house and not see many sights. We picked fruit and sit in the spa tub, and I cooked meals for my family in the big kitchen. We were very happy we were at such a beautiful place.
I hope I will come back again this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Magical Place

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

This was our first time in Hawaii and we were told the Big Island had everything the other islands had and more and they were so right. The Hilo side of the island is lush and quiet and real - you feel like you are in paradise and not a theme park. This house and property are only 10 minutes away from town and quite convenient to Volcanoes National Park, Akaka Falls, and adventurous activities like ziplining. But it's also nice to enjoy the peacefulness of the house with with its expansive views of the ocean from the lanai, the sound of a waterfall to lull you to sleep, and a wonderful gourmet kitchen. We shopped at the Hilo Farmer's Market and would cook fresh meals which we'd eat on the lanai watching the sunset. It was all just magical.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Warmth and charm

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

Amazing. We stayed here last July and didn’t write a review, but I just now looked at the site for our 2012 travel plans, and I was Shocked by the 3-star review from the person who couldn’t figure out the light switches & sliding doors. Hard to believe anyone could miss the awe-inspiring beauty of this place by getting so focused on “onopihipihi” (Hawaiian for trifling unimportant stuff). So I just have to write a more relevant review.
We totally loved it! Kapehu is an utterly charming plantation-era home, filled with beautiful touches like old-fashioned wainscoting, or boxcar siding or whatever you call the style of paneling. No ordinary dry-wall anywhere in the house. Even the ceilings are paneled. It feels like your great-grandmother’s house, if your great-grandmother were a duchess. And so sweet and homey and welcoming and warm. The style of the place seems to foster congeniality and family closeness.
If you live in the city, you just can’t imagine how wonderful it is to lay your head on your pillow and be immersed in the sounds of nature and teeming life. It’s like sleeping outdoors deep in the wilderness - except you’re under a roof and between soft sheets instead of on the hard ground. Right outside your open window is the rumbling rushing stream, the singing coqui frogs, and the steady cheep-cheep of crickets keeping the rhythm. Magical.
That reviewer never mentioned the fresh fruits from the trees on the property. The grand sweeping views. The silver shimmering ocean in the moonlight. The CD player that pipes Hawaiian music out to the lanai. The total privacy: no cars in view, no traffic sounds. And there are No Lights to light the sky and dim the stars and moon!
Too bad the spa didn’t work for that guest - we found it very soothing after a hard day of sightseeing. But, there’s a huge sunken bathtub they could have used - big enough for 2 or 3 people at once.
Yes, it’s the rainy side of the island, and chances are you’ll get your feet wet. Yes, the east side of the island isn’t hot like the Kona side. But we found the Kona side too touristy for us and completely lacking in the small town charm you find on the Hilo side.
Kapehu is such a special place. It should probably be priced a lot higher, but we hope the owners keep the rates low enough for us to afford, because we plan to go back. And we’ll never settle for an ordinary vacation home after staying at Kapehu. If you can find an available time slot, don’t pass this one up!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for capturing the feel of our Kapehu Retreat House. We, the owners, just spent 2 weeks at the place ourselves, with extended family. We certainly agree it's a warm and homey environment that encourages closeness and congeniality.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fall 2011 1 week stay

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 12, 2011

House was cold no source of heat. No wireless internet connection
Spa did not work. unlocking gate in the rain was difficult. Beautiful location
And nice view of the sea. Light switches were confusing
and not labeled. house was spacious and clean.
Carport didn't drain well so feet got wet entering/exiting car.
Patio doors hard to open. Kitchen well equipped and spacious.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: 1. We have a large beautiful fireplace that guests are welcome to use if the weather is chilly, and we provide firewood. It's true we don't have central heat, but no one on the island does. Central heating systems are unheard of in Hawaii. Even at high elevations in chilly towns like Volcano and Waimea, no one has central heating, though fireplaces are common. At our elevation near Hilo, it rarely gets chilly enough to use the fireplace, and no guests have used the fireplace yet this winter. 2. Our hot tub works perfectly. We did get a complaint from one guest who said the hot tub wouldn't heat properly, but when we sent a repairman, he could find nothing wrong and the water in the hot tub was 103 degrees. We do have instructions posted next to the hot tub, clearly stating that if you turn the jets on high the heating element turns off, so possibly that guest turned the jets on high and caused it to stop heating temporarily. 3. It's true we had no internet connection until December 2011, but we specified that clearly in all our ads, so if internet were a requirement, guests knew in advance to choose a different rental. It's no longer an issue, though, since we now have high speed internet via both modem and WiFi. 4. Guests are never inconvenineced by our gate lock system, because we have two options for unlocking the gate: guests have the combination to the combination lock as well as a key to the key-lock, so if one of the locks gets sticky from wet weather, they can use the other lock until the property manager can give the sticky one a squirt of WD-40.
Could this reviewer be confusing the Kapehu Retreat House with a different rental? He/she also said it's pet-friendly, but we clearly state in all our ads and on our own site that no pets are allowed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kapehu Wailele

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 30, 2011

Kapehu Wailele is a very charming home styled as an old plantation home. It is very comfortable and the surroundings are idyllic! Enjoyed a good night sleep every night to the sounds of the rain, stream and coquis. We had a lovely time at Kapehu!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best ever!

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

What a beautiful place!
We have visited Hawaii many times and stayed at a number of vacation rental homes, and paid much more, but we've never stayed any place as gorgeous and tasteful as this. It's far more beautiful than you can tell from the pictures, and it greatly exceeded our expectations. Next time we visit Hawaii, we'll first find out when the Kapehu house is available before booking our flights, because we wouldn't want to have to stay any place else.
The location was perfect for us - we could check out the sights on the Hamakua Coast, go volcano-watching, and go snorkeling at the tide pools on the eastern point - all within a short drive.
The quiet and the privacy were very important, too - we are tired of crowded resorts and thin-walled hotels.
The place appears to be brand new, and so clean you can eat off the floor. And it's a large and roomy house - much larger than we required.
The only problem: we are envious of the owners. We just wish we could afford to live at the Kapehu house.
We HIGHLY recommend it.
Note: the airlines have now added more non-stop flights to Hilo. That means there is no reason to bother with the over-touristed, vog-choked Kona side of the island. You can head straight for the lush and soulful beauty of East Hawaii.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So happy to know you enjoyed your visit so much.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best ever!

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

What a beautiful place!
We have visited Hawaii many times and stayed at a number of vacation rental homes, and paid much more, but we've never stayed any place as gorgeous and tasteful as this. It's far more beautiful than you can tell from the pictures, and it greatly exceeded our expectations. Next time we visit Hawaii, we'll first find out when the Kapehu house is available before booking our flights, because we wouldn't want to have to stay any place else.
The location was perfect for us - we could check out the sights on the Hamakua Coast, go volcano-watching, and go snorkeling at the tide pools on the eastern point - all within a short drive.
The quiet and the privacy were very important, too - we are tired of crowded resorts and thin-walled hotels.
The place appears to be brand new, and so clean you can eat off the floor. And it's a large and roomy house - much larger than we required.
The only problem: we are envious of the owners. We just wish we could afford to live at the Kapehu house.
We HIGHLY recommend it.
Note: the airlines have now added more non-stop flights to Hilo. That means there is no reason to bother with the over-touristed, vog-choked Kona side of the island. You can head straight for the lush and soulful beauty of East Hawaii.

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay at our Kapehu home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kapehu Retreat House, the ultimate rental

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2011

This home is the perfect get-a-way. We found its location to be ideal for enjoying all the Big Island has to offer. It is secluded, elegant, and complete. The attention to detail is impeccable, from the fresh fruit picked on the property, to the cut flower arrangements that greet you when you arrive. You will find fine linen and bath amenities, a well-appointed gourmet kitchen; even the impeccably maintained landscaping will please you. The photos do not do this beautiful home justice. The owner and property manager are the ultimate example of the Aloha Spirit.
We enjoyed watching the sunrise and sunset from the lanai, as we listened to the birds and waterfalls serenade us. We found the hot tub very enjoyable as their collection of Hawaiian music played for our enjoyment. At times like this we could not help coming to the realization that we made the perfect choice for our vacation rental. We have stayed in several Hawaii vacation rental homes, but this jewel is far and away our favorite.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your time in our Kapehu home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

More beautiful than we even expected

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

We had a wonderful time. The property is beautiful and very well maintained - even nicer than the pictures, even better than we expected. The house is very homey, relaxing and private, decor is contemporary and very comfortable. We both just loved it, and feel a bit jealous - wish we could live in such a lovely place. We actually didn't spend a ton of time in the house, as we used it as a jumping off point for area activities, but next time we'll come back and spend some time just sitting on that lovely deck enjoying the views.
We'd definitely recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a wonderful place!

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

As lovely and impeccably-maintained as any $500/night 5-star luxury hotel. But so much nicer because of the privacy and peaceful surroundings. The little matter-of-fact write-up in this listing doesn't capture the feeling of grace and elegance you get from visiting this place.

We loved being able to hear the stream from our bedroom window at night - magical. We loved sitting out on that huge veranda sipping coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening, looking at the endless ocean beyond the expanse of green. And we had a great time cooking dinner in that huge kitchen.

The property manager lives in a little cottage across the creek from the main house, and though she works in Hilo-town during the day, she's easy to get hold of if you need anything. She was very gracious and helpful.

We've been coming to the islands for many years, stayed in many different places of lodging, and we always try to keep our costs down - and I can honestly say we've never stayed anywhere half as nice as this. Such a spacious, beautiful, upscale place would normally be priced far out of our range. I think the reason the rates are so low, must be because the owners (whom we met - really sweet folks) are new to the vacation rental business. They had just purchased the home (empty) a few weeks before we rented it, and they were still rushing to buy furniture and appliances, etc., when we arrived. That was in March, so by now I expect they have it completely furinshed and decorated.

My guess is that as word gets around and their booking calendar fills up, they will very likely raise their rates. But even if they do, we love it so much we plan on staying there again next year.

If you're new to Hawaii, the property owners have a helpful page on their website with suggestions about what to bring and things to do in East Hawaii.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review