reviews for: listing #80674 - Maggie Valley, North Carolina House rental

Serenity Ridge Cabin
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Cranberry Falls
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $150 /nt
    $695 - $995 /wk
    $2,400 - $3,200 /mth

sort by:

Maggie Valley Vacation - Fall 2009

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

This is our family's eleventh visit to Maggie Valley, NC. Our family of four, typically spends two to three nights in Maggie Valley in the latter half of October. Our youngest daughter competes in a clogging competition at the Stompin Grounds in downtown Maggie Valley so we try to make a family trip out of the event.

We've found mid-to-late October to be the best time to observe the Fall colors and especially enjoy the way the town decorates for the season.

This was our first time staying at the mountain cabin and I would highly recommend it to others. The cabin is located several miles west of downtown Maggie Valley and about a mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway. The road leading to the cabin is unpaved and somewhat steep but easily drivable. The setting is very tranquil and relaxing. We found the cabin to be clean both inside and out and just as described online. It easily sleeps six and the beds, including the sleeper sofa, were comfortable. There were plenty of blankets if needed. The gas heater kept the cabin comfortable throughout the night. The appliances were like new and in working order and there were plenty of plates, glasses and silverware for six persons.

Cell phone reception was suprisingly good given the location. The two LED TVs and wide selection of DVDs kept the kids entertained at night. The kids spent an afternoon at the Ghost Town in the Sky amusement park and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We all enjoyed strolling through the myriad of shops in the downtown area.

All in all, this was our most enjoyable vacation in the Maggie Valley area. This cabin is the perfect combination of mountain solitude and easy access to downtown Maggie Valley and the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Your review really means a lot to us since you have stayed in Maggie Valley so many times. I am so glad you and your family had a great time! You left the cabin very clean and were very generous with the cleaning lady. I hope you will come again to Serenity Ridge. We would love to see your daughter in the clogging competition!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Serenity Gem

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

I stayed at Serenity Ridge for two weeks in July 2013.. I relaxed just walking in the front door. It looked brand new and looked like a Pottery Barn designer had decorated. Everything was not only tasteful but had an authentic modern mountain cabin feel from the furniture to the linens. The kitchen was stocked with everything you could need and the appliances looked new. It is surrounded by trees with views through to the mountains and an occasional cloud would drop down and float through the trees. I didn't use the deck as it was pretty rainy, but sitting at the long, rustic dining room table looking out over the view was just as relaxing.

It was a quiet little hideaway. Yet it was close to so many areas to explore-just off the Blue Ridge Pkwy and near the Smoky National Forest. There are lots of quaint little towns to visit with nice shops and restaurants. There are lakes and waterfalls galore!

All in all it was a delightful 2 weeks . I have stayed at three other cabins in the mountains, but am returning to my favorite spot, Serenity Ridge, for July 2014. Thanks, Ana. You and Serenity are a gem!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Charming House and Pleasant Stay!

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

We loved the open kitchen, view, cleanliness, natural fiber bedding, 2 bathrooms. Master bed very comfortable!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So happy to be back at Serenity Ridge Cabin!

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

We were very happy to be able to spend time at Serenity Ridge cabin again! This is our 4th time here and wish we could come more often! Happy you got a telescope to view the spectacular stars at night! Even though the fireplace heats up the entire cabin, it was nice you got two brand new infra red heaters for the bedrooms. This way I could close the door to the room and still keep warm and cozy! Loved all the new movies and the new Bose stereo system! Can't wait to be back when you have WIFI in the spring! Thanks again for letting us stay at Serenity Ridge Cabin!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

What a wonderful experience! This was my first trip back to the Smokey Mountains in over eight years, and it was just as beautiful as I remember. The home was extremely clean and welcoming, and the owners were friendly and communicated well with us before and after our stay in Maggie Valley. I highly recommend this property for rental. It’s a great value for the money, and the views and cozy feel are unsurpassable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Smokey Mountain National Park Retreat

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 2, 2013

Great cabin, very clean! Private, near top of the mountain on a gravel road. Kitchen has new appliances, gas stove, also new gas fireplace. Nice deck at back of house. Air purifier, so good for people with allergies who cannot tolerate smoke or animal dander.
Very nice! We had a great visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks, Ana. You and Serenity are a gem!

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

I stayed at Serenity Ridge for two weeks in July. I relaxed just walking in the front door. It looked brand new and looked like a Pottery Barn designer had decorated. Everything was not only tasteful but had an authentic modern mountain cabin feel from the furniture to the linens. The kitchen was stocked with everything you could need and the appliances looked new. It is surrounded by trees with views through to the mountains and an occasional cloud would drop down and float through the trees. I didn't use the deck as it was pretty rainy, but sitting at the long, rustic dining room table looking out over the view was just as relaxing.
The cabin is up a steep road, but even with the rain I didn't have any problem driving a Honda van. Although an occasional neighbor drove by and waved, it was a quiet little hideaway. Yet it was close to so many areas to explore-just off the Blue Ridge Pkwy and near the Smoky National Forest. There are lots of quaint little towns to visit with nice shops and restaurants. There are lakes and waterfalls galore!
All in all it was a delightful 2 weeks and Ana, the owner, was very helpful in every way possible from the welcome gift of wine and a candle to the speedy return of the security deposit. I have no doubt I will be returning in the future to soak in a little more Serenity. Thanks, Ana. You and Serenity are a gem!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for opening your cottage to us!

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

Thank you for the wine and candle-it was a much appreciated surprise!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our stay very much!

Review submitted: September 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

Ana, we enjoyed our stay very much. Everything was wonderful.... the view was ouststanding... the location, although a bit hard to find in the dark, was very nice... everything about the house was great, the beds were comfy, the grill worked great, the baths were very clean and showers worked well...in short we all wished we were staying there longer! We had a great trip all the way around. Thanks so much for letting us stay in your home!

Ruth

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a great stay at Serenity Ridge!

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in a lovely cabin. The VRBO description was accurate, photos were spot on. We rented at the very last minute and the owners were very accomodating and so nice to us. Cabin was decorated very nicely and had everything we needed. New flooring in dining room was beautiful and the furniture was lovely throughout the cabin. Beautiful views, quiet, so many birds and plants; wild turkeys walked through the yard daily. The gas grill was a fun way to fix our dinner and so convenient. Our teenagers loved their room and bath. It was very nice to not worry about smoke or pet dander as the owners are very strict that neither is allowed. Our allergies can ruin a vacation when the rental property has not followed these restrictions. Our thanks to the owners for making their cabin available to us and for the restrictions which made the environment friendly to our needs. We had a very nice vacation in Maggie Valley!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Location - I will be back Next Year!

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

This was my first visit to Western NC in over 20 years, and I can tell you that I certainly will be going back. The cabin's location was nestled in the mountains of NC in Maggieville. The location is great, withing one hour, you have the Biltomore Estate of Asheville, an amazing train ride in Bryson City, and hiking trails all around. The cabin itself is very pretty, clean, and beautiful view of the Smokey Mountains. Without getting into your car, there is hiking everywhere. I would highly recommend this cabin for families and/or couples. There are plenty of activiities to do everywhere and nobody will be bored. As for the interior of the cabin, everything was in great working order and looked new or in excellent condition. I will definately recommend this cabin and this area to a friend, both younger couples, older couples and families. You will not be disappointed at all. That is why I give it 5 stars.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We made it and LOVE it!!!

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

So beautiful Thanks!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The open plan was very comfortable!

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

Our overall stay was excellent! The beds were very comfortable and the house was very clean. Really a great place that we would love to rent again!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Relaxing Week at Serenity Ridge!

Review submitted: December 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We especially enjoyed the cool evenings and spectacular views from the deck! Also the number of stars we could see was amazing! The location was great and enabled us to visit Waynesville, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Smoky Mountains National Park, where we saw elk, a wild turkey and a black bear! Very exciting! We also spent one day in Asheville and enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the market place. But, mostly, we enjoyed sitting on the deck in the evenings and watching the spectacular sunsets with wine glass in hand. Thanks for a great stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The view was awesome and the setting peaceful!

Review submitted: December 1, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

It felt like home! The cabin is perfect as is! Overall rating of 5 out of 5 stars! Five stars for cleanliness! Everything was in working order.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Serenity Ridge was Postcard Perfect!

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

The cozy and rustic chic gas log heater in the cabin made evenings feel comforting and inviting to settle into the sofa and just relax after our full days spent out in the surrounding beauty! This cabin is gorgeous, personal and a treasure for all thoses who discover it. We will be back! Thanks for sharing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House was very clean and the views were beautiful!

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

We enjoyed our stay! The house was very clean and the views were beautiful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kitchen was heaven!

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

We had a great stay! Lovely home. Kitchen was heaven. Thanks for your help.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to return to Serenity Ridge Cabin!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

This was our first visit to Maggie Valley and Serenity Ridge Cabin. The location is beautiful and the cabin provided everything we needed. We loved sleeping with the windows open and sitting out on the deck at night watching the lightening in the distance and listening to an owl. We were blessed one night when the owl decided to land on a tree limb right in front of the deck. We were able to get pictures of it without the flash scaring it away.

The cabin is located near several great sight seeing places and access roads to many other great sights. We were only able to stay for five days which didn't allow us to see as many places as we would have liked. Our hope is to return to Maggie Valley in the future and stay at Serenity Ridge Cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Maggie Valley

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Nice mountain home,spacious clean. quiet.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

View was wonderful!

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

The view was wonderful, just what we were looking for. Easy access to the property, much appreciated as well. We very much enjoyed our stay! Cabin very clean, bed was excellent and all appliances were in working order.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another wonderful time at Serenity Ridge!

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Thank you for allowing me to stay at your cabin again! I love coming back because the cabin is so cozy and comfortable and I love the location! I hope to come back again this summer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We very much enjoyed our stay over MLK JR weekend!

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

We were fortunate enough to have snow and a 4 wd! The purpose of our trip was to ski Catalooche (which was great).We chose your cabin because it was smoke free and pet free, which is very important to us due to family allergies. We were very happy with the cabin and it met all of our needs. Thank you for making your cabin available to us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Enjoyed Our Time At Serenity Ridge!

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

We had a very comfortable stay at your cabin. It was clean and cozy. Kitchen is well stocked, made it easy to cook. The book you have in the cabin on hiking trails on the Blue Ridge was very helpful! We enjoyed watching the movies you provided and books. Thank you for the wine and candle, it was a nice touch. We enjoyed our time at Serenity Ridge!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Serenity Ridge

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Clean, Great Location, in just one weekend we went fly fishing, snow skiing, ice skating and visited Ober Gatlinburg while taking a senic drive through the Smokey Mountains. I would recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed our stay at the cabin!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

It was perfect for the two of us. All the appliances were in working order. The beds were comfortable. The cabin was very clean. What I liked the most was the open floor plan.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Cozy and Tastefully Decorated!

Review submitted: October 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

We had a nice relaxing time. What we enjoyed the most about Serenity Ridge was the views, location and price! Very cozy and tastefully decorated. We didn't do much just hung out on the deck and enjoyed the views. Thanks for the wine. Very good experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful and Restful

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We want to share with others what a wonderful time we had at Serenity Ridge. It was not hard to find your cabin and it had easy access for us. This was the first time we rented a cabin out of Maggie Valley and we were happy to find out how wonderful the extra short distance brought us the peace and quiet we were looking for.

Each morning we enjoyed our coffee on the porch enjoying the cool air and nice view. Being at the level the cabin was at, we always had the coolness we were looking for. No matter how hot the day got when we returned to the cabin it was cool.

The size of the cabin was great for the two of us. We enjoyed alot of Bar-b-q and the set up of the kitchen helped us to enjoy doing this. At night we would look up at the 1,000's of stars and then go inside to enjoy one of your many movies you provide.

With the many trees that surround the cabin, someday we hope to enjoy using it to see all of the colors. We hope to go back next year. Thank you so very very much for sharing your cabin with us. God Bless.

Recommended for Ages 55+, Romantic Getaway, Girls Getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Third time around! Still as great as ever!

Review submitted: August 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

Dear Ana And Lee,
Thank you for allowing us to stay at Serenity Ridge for the third time! We love your cabin because it is so comfortable and clean. The views are incredible and as a photographer we like the area very much. The location is perfect, close to everthing especially the Blue Ridge Parkway. We enjoyed the new restaurant in town "Frankies". We hope to be able to go again next year. Again thanks for sharing your lovely cabin with us.

Sincerely,
J.P

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent! So Glad We Went!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a last minute getaway on a budget; we found Serenity Ridge by researching on the internet and the owners were the only ones to respond to our inquiry in a timely way, both by email and a phone call.

We enjoyed our five night stay very much. We found the property to be very clean, organized, orderly, and well supplied for renters. The bed was very comfortable, as well as the other furniture, and the kitchen was great! Everything we needed was there to prepare meals, making the meals we ate in the cabin just as good, better really, than the meals we ate out.

This cabin is great for a couple needing to get away, and would also be great for families with kids/teens. It would also be a good retreat for a girl's weekend!

We picked the hottest week of the summer to visit the mountain, but that's a chance you take in July. The fans all work great in the cabin and the windows open easily; it was difficult to keep it cool in the cabin but only because it was an unusually hot week for the area. It did not keep us from enjoying ourselves. The road to the cabin is a little tricky in places, especially the last little stretch. A front wheel drive vehicle is a must, and a 4wd would be great. It added to the adventure of being in the mountains and was worth it to get the great view!

I am a quilter and we had planned to visit a quilt store in Franklin, NC during our stay. We found Quilter's Quarters right there at Maggie Valley on Hwy 19 and it was a lovely quilt shop with a great fabric selection!! Also visited J Creek Fabrics, which was a cute and well-organized bargain fabric store. Never made it to the Franklin store but didn't miss it because we made some great purchases right there at the Valley!

This was our first visit to Maggie Valley, and the owners of the cabin did a wonderful job of giving recommendations for places to eat. Their descriptions and reviews of the restaurants were perfectly accurate every time. Our favorites were J.Arthur's and Joey's Pancake House!

I am very impressed with how accurately the photos and descriptions tell the story of Serenity Ridge. Thank you for doing such a good job at representing your property, as well as maintaining it. We will highly recommend it to family and friends. We came away so renewed and refreshed! Overall Serenity Ridge is an excellent choice! We would definitely return there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Serenity

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

Although we had traveled through Maggie several times on motorcycles, this was our first time to rent a cabin. The cabin is located just about a mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway and is an excellent place to base your bike rides.

Serenity Ridge is aptly named. After busy days exploring the area, the cabin provided the perrfect place to rest and unwind in the peace and calm. Sunsets on the deck offer only the occasional sound of wildlife although Highway 19 is not that far away.

Accomodations in the cabin are exactly as depicted in the Home Away description and photos with no surprises. The Direct TV had many viewing options, but Wifi service would be helpful in gathering information about the area. AT&T service was good to intermittent, but Nextel was nil.

Ana was exceptionally good to work with and I'd recommend this cabin to those looking to get away from the hustle & bustle.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so gald you both had a restful vacation at our cabin! The reason we do not have WiFi is because we really want our renters to relax and get away from it all. We do provide 2 nice flat screen T.V.'s as well as over 100 movies for your viewing pleasure, but we feel that if you are always connected to the Internet or on the phone you will not be as relaxed. Most of the restaurants in town have WiFi so it really is not a problem if you need to use the Internet. As for the phone we have both Sprint and AT&T and they work without a problem. I give as much information on the cabin and the surrounding areas as possible before the renters arrive as well a tons of brochures on things to do, so renters have as much information as possible. I am glad you enjoyed staying at Serenity Ridge and hope to see you in the near future!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent!! So Glad We Went!

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a last minute getaway on a budget; we found Serenity Ridge by researching on the internet and the owners were the only ones to respond to our inquiry in a timely way, both by email and a phone call.

We enjoyed our five night stay very much. We found the property to be very clean, organized, orderly, and well supplied for renters. The bed was very comfortable, as well as the other furniture, and the kitchen was great! Everything we needed was there to prepare meals, making the meals we ate in the cabin just as good, better really, than the meals we ate out.

This cabin is great for a couple needing to get away, and would also be great for families with kids/teens. It would also be a good retreat for a girl's weekend!

We picked the hottest week of the summer to visit the mountain, but that's a chance you take in July. The fans all work great in the cabin and the windows open easily; it was difficult to keep it cool in the cabin but only because it was an unusually hot week for the area. It did not keep us from enjoying ourselves.

The road to the cabin is a little tricky in places, especially the last little stretch. A front wheel drive vehicle is a must, and a 4wd would be great. It added to the adventure of being in the mountains and was worth it to get the great view!

I am a quilter and we had planned to visit a quilt store in Franklin, NC during our stay. We found Quilter's Quarters right there at Maggie Valley on Hwy 19 and it was a lovely quilt shop with a great fabric selection!! Also visited J Creek Fabrics, which was a cute and well-organized bargain fabric store. Never made it to the Franklin store but didn't miss it because we made some great purchases right there at the Valley!

This was our first visit to Maggie Valley, and the owners of the cabin did a wonderful job of giving recommendations for places to eat. Their descriptions and reviews of the restaurants were perfectly accurate every time. Our favorites were J.Arthur's and Joey's Pancake House!

I am very impressed with how accurately the photos and descriptions tell the story of Serenity Ridge. Thank you for doing such a good job at representing your property, as well as maintaining it. We will highly recommend it to family and friends.

We came away so renewed and refreshed!

Overall Serenity Ridge is an excellent choice! We would definitely return there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy you and your husband had such a great stay at Serenity Ridge! Thank you for such a nice and thorough review:) It was a pleasure having both of you stay at the cabin. I thought it was great that you e-mailed us a photo and told us a little about yourselves before your arrival. I really appreciate all the information you gave us on the places you visited while at Serenity Ridge. I will pass this information on to future renters. We hope you will return to Serenity Ridge in the near future!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time!!!

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

We had a great time! Neither one of us expected quite so much snow! I had not seen snow in almost a decade, so it was a treat! The view from you cabin is great! Of course you already know that:)

A.G.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so much Ana!

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 30, 2010

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving Day and we were very comfortable. The cabin is beautiful, we had wonderful unforgetable moments there! God bless you.

C.M.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Place!

Review submitted: November 13, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

The location and views are great! We also appreciated the guidebooks in the house. The clean linens including bath linens were a real plus! The lock box for the key was nice. All the appliances were in working order. We appreciated the ease of contacting the owners. The cleanliness of the cabin upon arrival was excellent! Our overall stay was very good! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Location, location, location ...

Review submitted: November 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 11, 2010

... this cabin has it. Just five minutes from the BRP, twenty scenic minutes from Cherokee and the national park, forty minutes from downtown Asheville - and all from a perch not just close to, but in the mountains. Great views, especially at sunset.

Serenity Ridge was more than the two of us needed, but having lots of room is always nice. My wife, a chef, especially enjoyed the kitchen, and I enjoyed the "reading room". We had some adventures with the fireplace, but with Lee's help and a little experimenting, we figured out how to overcome them and were surprised that it was more than capable of keeping the whole place warm.

Don't forget to check out the Farmer's Market in west Asheville. We always leave Carolina with more produce than souvenirs. The apples are great in Oct.

The only drawback, for an internet junkie like myself, is the lack of internet access (hint, hint, Ana and Lee). I was getting twitchy by the fourth day, obviously in withdrawal. But that won't be a problem for most people, those that are more normal than I am.

All in all, a very nice week in the mountains for some city folk.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another wonderful experience at Serenity Ridge

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 20, 2010

I just wanted to let you know what a wonderful time we had at your cabin. We took some beautful photos of the great Fall colors. This year was especially nice. I really appreciate all the little things you did for us, like the welcome gift bag and bottle of wine. I love the new fireplace and it kept us very warm. I enjoyed sitting in the library reading a good book and looking at the view of the mountains. We hope to come back next year.

Sincerely,
A.W.P.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Serenity Ridge-Cozy feeling of being at home!

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

Overall rating was excellent. All appliances were in working order. Cabin was very clean! My children enjoyed your collection of great family night movies!! We had a great time! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The location and views were great!

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

Overall rating for Serenity Ridge was a 5. All the appliances were in working order. The cleanliness of the house upon arrival was excellent. The kitchen, bathrooms and bedrooms were very nice. All were nicer than I had expected. Nothing would prevent me from renting Serenity Ridge again, I loved it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

Great cabin in the mountains! Very cozy and welcoming. Our family visited the mountains in August 2010 and truly enjoyed our time relaxing in the rocking chairs with such beautiful views. Thank you for opening up your home to us.
While in Maggie Valley...be sure to eat at Garlic Knots-AWESOME!!!, and if you are adventurous we recommend www.climbworks.com to Zip-Line.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location and adorable cabin.

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

We stayed in October and fell in love with Maggie Valley and Serenity Ridge. We decided to come again this summer and plan to return in the fall.
The cabin is extremely comfortable and very clean with amazing views ot the mountains. The sunsets are stunning. The owners have just installed a brand new fireplace and the decor is beatiful.
This summer we discovered they have plum and peach trees and blueberry bushes. Bring your binoculars, the cabin has hummingbird food as well as bird seeds and deer food.
We were lucky to come across and elk at the entrance of the Blue Ridge Parkway which is less tan 5 minutes away from the cabin.
I sincerely recommend it. Can't wait to return in the fall!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice place, wonderful owners

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

My family of five stayed at this cabin during the week after the fourth of July. The cabin is very nice -- the cathedral ceilings and separated bedrooms make it seem much more spacious than the actual square footage. Everything was clean and the owners were among the nicest people ever. The cabin does not have air-conditioning, but the elevation and screened windows allow plenty of airflow.

The cabin is in a small development that maintains the gravel road up to the cabin. While we were there, a large tree limb fell (partially blocking the roadway). My husband moved it to the side of the road when we left, by the time we returned, a few chainsawed pieces were all that remained.

The cabin is very near the entrance to the Cherokee reservation one way and is about a 15 minute ride back to Maggie Valley the other way. There is a small convenience store just as you enter the paved highway.

We enjoyed whitewater rafting and visits to the reservation. Ghost Town amusement park seems to be indefinitely closed.

It's a great place to spend time with family -- relaxing and enjoying the mountains.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

We enjoyed a quiet 4th of July holiday weekend at this mountain home. The pictures were just as it really is. VERY clean and well stocked. We spent time on the porch in the rocking chairs. The location was good for us-very near Cherokee and the other places we planned to visit. Our family of four fit comfortably. Thank you Ana for sharing your mountain home with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Serenity Ridge

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: October 11, 2009

We had a wonderful time at Serenity Ridge. This cabin is very cozy and comfortable with plenty of room for two couples or a family. The mountain views are great and sitting on the porch at sunset was absolutely breathtaking. We had everything we could possibly want for a wonderful week in the mountains. While the cabin is very private and secluded at its 4500 foot elevation, it is only five minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway and less than ten minutes from the shops in Maggie Valley... Perfect location. This is a cabin we will look forward to visiting again, beautifully decorated, well equipped, clean, comfortable, great location, it's got it all!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Will and Donna,
It was a pleasure having you stay at Serenity Ridge. I enjoyed talking to you and feel like I have known both you and Donna for a long time. I hope we can meet in the future and that you will come back to Serenity Ridge. Thank you for making my first rental experience so great. You left the place immaculate! Thanks again.

Ana

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

Serenity Ridge

Review submitted: October 26, 2009   Date of arrival: October 18, 2009

My husband and I really loved Serenity Ridge. We are both photographers and took gorgeous pictures of the surrounding area. The cabin exceeded our expectations. It is beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. It was very clean and well stocked with everything we needed. The views were fantastic. Great location, close to everything. The owners left written instructions covering every possible eventuality. We can not say enough good things about Serenity Ridge. We will definitely be back next summer.
Miami,Florida

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi,
Very glad to hear your vacation experience at Serenity Rdige was so enjoyable. We look forward to having you stay in the near future. Thanks again for taking such good care of the place.

Ana

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great location to enjoy the Smoky Mountains

Review submitted: October 25, 2009   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

This is a great location with fantastic views of the mountains. The property was clean and very well maintained. It is convenient to
activities in Cherokee and their casino as well as all attractions in
Maggie Valley. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return
next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to having you stay at Serenity Ridge next year. Thank you for taking such good care of the cabin.

Ana

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review