reviews for: listing #80716 - Chicago, Illinois Condo rental

ONE BLOCK from Millennium Park! HUGE 1750 sq ft 3 BR 2 BA
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  The Loop
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $3,000 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Great place, great location, great owner

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2011

We stayed here in June 2011 and were trying to plan a return trip as soon as we left! We were traveling with two young children and two grandparents, and Amy could not have been more welcoming or accommodating. The layout was great for us; those that wanted to go and explore could and those that wanted to relax in the condo could do that in comfort. We felt like we were part of the city and had a great time walking/busing around. The condo was comfortable, clean, easy to find and felt very safe. I heartily recommend this condo to anyone wanting a nice place to stay in Chicago!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thorough and hospitable

Review submitted: October 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

This newly renovated condo was the perfect spot for a family meetup weekend. The professional and organized policies from the owner were comforting when you're traveling across the country to a stranger's rental unit.

The owner thought of EVERYTHING, even several umbrellas that came in handy. She even added the sweetest warm touches, like surprising us with fresh coffee beans, and all the goodies to make a couple of hearty breakfasts! What a treat.

I would rent from many times over, and may be utilizing this condo again in the near future. I'll have several visits to go job hunting, as our summer getaway convinced us that it's time to move back home to Chicago.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Top Marks for Integrity

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 24, 2011

I didn't get to meet Amy in person, nor stay in her condo with my group as we planned. Amy's unit sustained a major plumbing accident, and my group has had to find another place to stay. I had paid in full, and Amy refunded my full balance immediately. This speaks to her integrity as an owner, and her character in general. Thanks Amy, and best wishes repairing your condo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Place to Stay In Chicago!

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

Amy and her condo completely exceeded our accommodations! We would have gladly paid more to have the pleasure to stay in Amy's condo!

The Condo was exceptionally clean, well furnished, amazing location, and spacious! Three bedrooms, large gathering spaces, steps from the Loop 'L" trains, Millennium Park, Museum Campus, Michigan Avenue... you name it this condo is in the middle of it all!

Amy provided us with well detailed directions, tourist information, and was always a phone call away! The condo was extremely comfortable for the group of us, nicely decorated, and was a terrific "home away from home" for the five days we stayed. It is perfect for a family or two (or even three small families!), a group of friends, really anyone! The weather was a little rainy but no problem Amy had half a dozen umbrellas in the closet for us! She even had nice little touches such as Starbucks coffee and chilled filtered water, pens, dish and laundry detergent, individual soaps/shampoos, maps and visitors guides on hand.

Dealing with Amy was a pleasure. From the financial transaction to departure, Amy was very easy and straightforward to deal with. She clearly views herself as a host and was always willing to bend over backwards to make sure we had a terrific time... and we did!

I certainly hope to stay at one of Amy's condos in the future, the next time I'm in Chicago!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Weekend in the City

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

We visited Chicago for a Bachelorette party as well and had heard of Amy's condo through a previous visitor. We were a large group of girls looking to find a place where we could all stay together. Amy's condo was perfect for this as we were able to hang out and get ready without having to run between hotel rooms. The living room and kitchen are huge and provides a great place to gather and talk.

The condo is conviniently located to everything we wanted to do. The Mag Mile is literally one block north and shopping is a few blocks to the west. Garrett's popcorn is right around the corner, and who can resist the Chicago Mix? Plenty of coffee shops and restaurants right next door provide easy menu options. Although we didn't use the train, it is right outside the condo, so it would be super easy to get here from the airport and other spots in the city.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enjoyable condo in a beautiful town!!!

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2010

The condo was better than advertised: detailed info, large and lightful rooms with high ceilings, fully equipped laundry and kitchen (some problems with the coffe maker, since we're much more accustomed to caffettiera*...). The place was clean and well maintained. The owner was very nice and she promptly satisfied all our requests.
We spent our stay in Chicago sight-seeing: The Art Institute, concerts at the Pavillion, the Bean, the T-Rex, Navy Pier, the Hancock Observatory, the Tower Sky Deck etc.
Should we find any condo defect? The noise of the loop, and the matressess (a little too soft). Taken together, an enjoyable experience and a way to feel more chicaghian than just turists!!


* Italian term for coffee machine (yes, we're Italians)

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded expectations!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 11, 2011

I was planning my sister's bachelorette party in Chicago for 6 ladies and it took me a looooooong time to find a rental that felt right.....well I'm glad I chose this one because it was AMAZING. Amy (the owner) had everything you needed to feel comfortable and as close as possible to your being in your own home, i have to say even better! Washer and Dryer, dishwasher (which we used a lot, lots of wine and champagne!!!), pots, pans, plates and cutlery and even knives and a cutting bored everything you need to make yourself at home. We even stayed in one of the nights and bought a bunch of cheese, veggies and snacks from Trader Joe's, which is in city, and just enjoyed the space and each other, that's how comfortable you will be at this condo!!! The location is perfect, the big silver Bean and Millennium Park is about a block or so away if that gives you an idea of where you're at in the city. You can cab it anywhere, or walk, depending on where you need to go.
We had a wonderful time, and I will definitely rent here again when I come back to Chicago....all the ladies I was with were very impressed and are thinking of doing the same!!!!
Thanks so much Amy!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Girls Getaway!

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

What a perfect location this was for our Girls Weekend Getaway! It was close to everything to make the weekend perfect...shopping, dining, and pubclic transportation. The condo was very well maintained and had plenty of room for our group of 7. We felt like we were at home! Amy gave very great details on public transportation, shopping and dining. The pictures and descriptions don't do it justice. You have to experience it for yourself. We will definitely come back and share this place with our friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Chicago Pride 2011

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2011

Property was outstanding. Everything the description says and more. The location / views are greater than described. This place is close to everything downtown Chicago and very short walk to the train if you're doing stuff outside of downtown. No need to rent a car. Property was large and spacious for five of us to move about and not run into each other. Owner provided a lot of instruction and amenities that made the stay even more enjoyable. If you're looking for a place to stay - this is it. Stop looking.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Chicago Pride 2011

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2011

Property was outstanding. Everything the description says and more.
The location / views are greater than described. This place is close to everything downtown Chicago and very short walk to the train if you're doing stuff outside of downtown. No need to rent a car.
Property was large and spacious for five of us to move about and not run into each other.
Owner provided a lot of instruction and amenities that made the stay even more enjoyable.
If you're looking for a place to stay - this is it. Stop looking.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Downtown Chicago Condo

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

We had an excellent stay at this condo. It is in an ideal location, was exceptionally clean and well-cared for and the accomodations were fantastic. We would highly recommend this condo for anyone who loves to be in the heart of the city.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Chicago 5 N. Wabash

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

This was the nicest place I've stayed at in Chicago. Plenty of room, the cleanest place I've ever stayed any where, and a perfect location for downtown Chicago. No car needed. We hope to go back again with our young kids & I might plan a girls weekend here too. Perfect property for either!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Spot When Visiting Chicago

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

The condo was outstanding-perfect location (steps from the "EL, brief walk to Art Institute/Millennium Park/Grant Park and abundant shopping in Loop)",perfect size (easily handle 8 people), beautifully appointed and outfitted, very comfortable. The pics and description undersell the condo-you do not get the true size of the condo from the pics and its proximity to virtually anything one would want to do in Chicago is difficult to appreciate until you are there. This is a place that we highly recommend and we will certainly rent it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Condo in Chicago!

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

This was my first time in Chicago, and staying at this vacation condo was truly the highlight of our experience. Everything about the condo far exceeded our expectations. The moment we walked in, we really felt welcomed. When we first arrived, one of the cleaning staff was just leaving - she was warm, friendly and left the place spotless. We were truly impressed by all the rooms. Both bedrooms were tastefully decorated and made us feel right at home. Our interactions with the owner were always positive. Amy was accessible by e-mail and by phone and promptly replied to any questions we had. She was extremely professional and exceptionally committed to making our stay the best it could possibly be. She even left a thoughtful gift for our son, knowing that we were traveling with a 7 month old. We absolutely loved the location and would definitely come back again the next time we are in Chicago! We really can't say enough about this place. We've already been telling our friends about it. Thank you!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

No need to look anywhere else!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Thank you so much for offering your wonderful condo as our home base during our memorable Chicago trip! The entire apartment is lovely and we kept exclaiming what great taste you have. I think some of us even took home decorating ideas! The location is fantastic- steps off the Loop El Lines and walkable to hundreds of Chicago attractions. The provisions are better than you'd find in any hotel. From the little touches like biscotti and fluffy towels, to the quality hair dryers and fun kitchen gadgets, we had everything we could possibly need to enjoy our weekend! I will no longer look for a hotel when I'm visiting Chicago. This condo is the ONLY place you need! With room to spread out for larger groups to an intimate weekend for two, this awesome place just can't be beat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent all around

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

Cannot say enough positive things about our experience....with the owner, the apartment, the location and the City. All first class! I have already recommended this property to numerous friends and family and plan on returning with my family again soon.
A "cannot go wrong" investment of valuable vacation time....ideally suited for families who want a real taste of Chicago. Nice job, Amy. Thank you!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wish I OWNED this place!

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

This is a great place, super clean, excellent location, safe well maintained building - everyone we met was helpful and nice. Amy is a great manager/owner! Condo is very well stocked generally and especially in the kitchen and we were able to actually COOK every meal we wanted to, we were not limited in any way! Easy access to all of the sights any tourist wants to see and easy walk to shopping, theater, short taxi to convention center. My stay was mixed business/pleasure and I will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Chicago apartment stay

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

Excellent apartment stay in Chicago - have no hesitation recommending to friends or fellow travellers!
Great location, spacious apartment which was well maintained and spotlessly clean for our visit.
The owner provided a quick timely response to all our queries which helped greatly in advance of our stay.
Excellent location for Loop, Mich Ave and convention at McCormick Place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Two-Bedroom Condo Steps Away from Michigan Ave/MillenniumPark

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

You cannot beat the location - the El is right outside your door, Michigan Ave is literally a 1/2 block away, we ate pizza from Pizano's one night that was right across the street. The condo was better than advertised - 12 foot ceilings, large great room connecting the kitchen and TV room, big kitchen table and plenty of seating for everyone. The place was very clean and well maintained. Our landlord could not have been more accommodating as she was nice enough to blow up an air mattress for us with extra pillows and sheets so we all had another bed for my brother to sleep in. She even called us on Saturday afternoon to make sure everything was as expected. We spent the weekend sight-seeing: The Bean at Millennium Park, Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, a water taxi ride to Navy Pier, Hancock Observatory, Willis Tower Sky Deck and Old Saint Pat's for Church. If these places are on your list to see while in Chicago, the City Pass is a MUST HAVE! For $79 per person (it was cheaper for kids), you get access to the front of every line at up to 5 major attractions in Chicago. Everywhere we went over Memorial Day Weekend was a zoo but we got the VIP treatment by not waiting in any lines which was just awesome! I would absolutely recommend staying at this beautiful condo and will try to make this place a part of our future annual gatherings in Chicago.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

If I had to choose one word to best describe my experience with this listing and owner, I would have to say "Excellent".

I searched a lot of sites (tons), looked at hundreds of photos and spoke to dozens of owners. But this owner (Amy) was by far the nicest and most personable.

She went above and beyond the call of duty. Not only did she accommodate my tight schedule and embarrassing budget, but she also shared a plethora of information about the city itself, which made my first visit to a big city far less intimidating. Thanks a million Amy !

As for the unit itself, let's just say; "The pictures do not do it justice". It was much larger, cleaner and newer than I expected. It had everything you could ask for.

And the best part was the location. WOW... We only had to walk a block and we were at "The Bean". Awesome.

For those who wanna enjoy downtown Chicago. This is the best condo in town.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Business/family trip to Chicago

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

Our family had a wonderful time at the Loft. The listing including photos adequately described the space so there were no surprises when we arrived. The loft was furnished tastefully and was well maintained. There was plenty of seating in the main area including couches, side chairs, bar stools, and seating at the dinner table. The beds were very comfortable. We also found that the loft had everything we needed from towels to kitchen utensils. The location was fantastic - so close to Millennium Park and close to many restaurants. I was attending a conference at McCormick Center and the metra was a short walk from the loft. Finally the owner provided very detailed instructions on the "workings of the loft" (getting the keys, parking etc). She also went out of her way to make sure our trip went smoothly as we were traveling with a small child.
Great place to stay especially to explore Grant Park, Millennium Park, Museum Campus, Michigan Avenue. Very close to public transportation. Easy to get a taxi as well. Quick trip down to McCormick Center.
Disadvantage would include limited street parking if you have multiple cars but its downtown Chicago. Plenty of lots to park your car in though.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Near-perfection

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Great property owner. First class property (actually looks as good as the pictures). Highly, highly recommended. Only minor gripe is that it's a little bit away from the action (the Loop, unbeknowst to me at the time of booking is the business district), but the L is literally a ten foot walk from your front door and cabs run by the flat at all times of day and night (even managed to get one at 6:45am on a Sunday). Great overall experience (better than a hotel) and would be a dream spot for Taste of Chicago.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded Expectations!

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

This condo has it all: prime location, plenty of space, tasteful and modern decor, a full range of amenities, and privacy. We had pretty high expectations from the description and photos in the VRBO listing, but the condo exceeded them all. Amy is an excellent host, and pulled out all the stops to welcome us to Chicago. If we come back to Chicago, Amy's condo will be our first choice for accommodations.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful experience!

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2011

What an amazing condo! Great location, close to everything with a wonderful view of the park from the 10th floor. We have stayed with a family for almost one week and we didn't want to leave! Beautiful decor, open airy space, nice linens, upgrades and top notch bathrooms. Amy (the owner) accommodated our every request and she was just a pleasure to deal with! We are looking forward to coming back some day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Spot for fun and business!

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 7, 2011

My "children" and I came to Chicago to visit a school located a mile from this home. We were initially looking at staying at a hotel in downtown or on the outskirts of Chi-town but what a mistake that would have been. This home was centrally located to everything we needed and anything we wanted was just a hop skip and trainride away. The home was cleaned to the nines and all of couldn't believe how comfortable the beds were! And we needed the good night's sleep staying up at night playing board games and watching movies! We cooked breakfast and dinner together every day and had nothing missing. Whenever I'm in Chicago, either on business or for pleasure, this home will be the first I check with!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place!

Review submitted: April 23, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

This condo is 'excellent' on so many levels: location, view, size, amenities, furnishings . . . The owner has done a wonderful job and provides many extrras: high quality linens, towels, furnishings, artwork, soaps, coffee etc. We loved this place and will go back. You really need look no further for the best place to stay in Chicago!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location with attention to detail!

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

We were excited to see the cleaning crew leaving as we were arriving. The owner mentioned they only use eco-friendly cleaning products and we were able to verify that. Nothing beats arriving to a fresh and clean apartment. We were close to everything and anything including the famous "L" train system. Given the size of the apartment we got a steal. I travel a lot for work and being stuck in small hotel roooms is not my idea of a dream vacation. Having the whole family in a spacious newly remodeled apartment is what I call ideal! All the money I saved versus staying at a hotel went into what we coined the "family fun pool". One of the few extravanganzas was a helicopter trip around downtown Chicago with the money we saved.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thank you

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

There really isn't enough I can say about this place, its simply beautiful and oh so serene. The decor is minimal, modern and tasteful. The unit is fully stocked with everything you could ever need, nothing has been overlooked! The location is ideal for either business or shopping. You're a short walk to everything the city has to offer with many local attractions at your fingertips. Amy (the owner) is considerate and professional and I can't wait to return to her little hideaway.


p.s. the square footage is a huge bonus!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely condo in great location!

Review submitted: March 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

I stayed at this condo and it is wonderful! The inside is immaculate and just as the pictures show on the website. I am staying here for a month this summer and the location could not be more perfect! The owner has been easy to work with and prompt. I highly recommend this property!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely condo in great location!

Review submitted: March 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

I stayed at this condo and it is wonderful! The inside is immaculate and just as the pictures show on the website. I am staying here for a month this summer and the location could not be more perfect! The owner has been easy to work with and prompt. I highly recommend this property!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: March 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

The apartment is gorgeous, tastefully decorated and furnished. So chic. Clean and brand new. It lacked nothing: kitchen fully loaded and a washer/dryer with supplies, which is great if you're staying for a month like I did. The view: terrific. I LOVE all the windows especially. Plus, 5 N. Wabash is in the heart of the Loop, within walking distance to most anything you might want to see. And Amy is friendly and easy to work with. She helped me get a parking pass and gave me good directions. Finally, the building is super safe, with a double key entrance so you don't have to worry about strangers being in the building. Really, all of it, so lovely! Thanks, Amy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review