reviews for: listing #80732 - New Smyrna Beach, Florida House rental

Beautiful A- Frame Directly On The Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,750 - $3,000 /wk
    $6,000 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

LOVE this place.....

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

My husband and I were in town from the Midwest for a few days of work followed by some vacation time to escape the winter back home.

We arrived very late and immediately were taken by the location of this great little beach home. It's at the end of the road (almost!) which means it's very quiet and no beach traffic at all. The house is is well maintained and still has the look/feel of an old fashion beach home....loved it!!! The ocean is literally steps away from the deck, the elevated deck with hammock was made worked perfect as my "conference room". This was the perfect choice for us to stay. Easy access to wherever we needed to be for work and close enough to take a few days trips north and south to enjoy the Atlantic Ocean.

Hot tub was wonderful to relax in and the ocean was the perfect background noise to help you fall asleep. All the conveniences one could ask for. We have shared your details with several people we know and we are definitely coming back again!!!!! Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves in our little piece of paradise. We look forward to hearing from your friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Beach House is Cute, quaint, perfect location

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

This was a last minute booking and Mike was awesome. We were looking forward to the hot tub, a hammock and falling asleep to the roaring sounds of the ocean. That's exactly what we got. A charming little house directly on the beach within walking distance of Canaveral National State Park! Although we had a plumbing issue midway through our nearly month-long stay, Mike was on top of it. We were back in business within hours. The pool guy comes weekly so the hot tub is sublime. A few jets are out, but it still paid off for some great star gazing at night. The balcony off the Master Bedroom is perfect for watching the sun rise. However, you can actually watch the sun rise from bed. Oh, and the bed is heavenly...a nice pillow-top mattress! There's a cute half bath upstairs--perfect for those late night potty calls. :) The hot water in the house is very hot! Perfect for a good shower and white whites in the laundry. Love it! The neutral colored furniture throughout is comfy and durable. The King bed in the bedroom on the first floor is firmer than the upstairs queen and has a lovely view of the sunset and nice bench seating. This room is used to store the extra towels and paper goods. It's neat and tidy though. The 3rd bedroom, upstairs, has two twin beds hanging from chains. Comfy mattresses and lots of "kid" graffiti carved into the wooden walls. The kitchen has just about anything you need to cook a meal to feed your crew. The big screen TV is a plus in the cozy living room. I have never been in an A-frame house before and was amazed with how spacious it is. Walking from your back door across the deck, down the stairs onto the beach is what this place is all about! And when you're done, climb the stairs, rinse your feet (or take a shower) right at the top of the stairs. The house has four chaise lounge chairs on the deck and a couple chairs on the separate raised deck. I personally loved the chairs on the upstairs balcony…best spot to close your eyes and listen to the rolling waves crashing on the shore to a thunderous applause. If you're thinking about renting this little house, and you're a small group (2-6), you'll have a blast here! But be sure to check out the beach side of downtown…a nice Farmer's Market every Saturday 8-1 and plenty of shops and restaurants. There are 4 palm trees out front which make for a great photo when the sun sets on the intracoastal waterway that's only 300 feet from the front door. Looking forward to coming back next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We can't express our gratitude enough for your kind words. Being a beach house brings with it the usual issues attributed to the salt air, but we try and stay on top of any repairs that need to be done. If we could have all our guests as accommodating and nice as you folks,it would make being a landlord a pleasure. Thank you again for your lovely comments and we hope to see you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous time at a Fabulous House

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

We spent December at this lovely beach cottage and had a great time. It was the perfect setting for sunrises over the ocean and sunsets over the intercoastal waterway. We walked daily on the beach, rode bikes, ate rock shrimp and enjoyed the amazing hottub located right on the deck! The house is small but has everything you could need. It was comfortable, well stocked and fit our family of 4 perfectly. We hope to return again next winter.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: We are very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. It's always nice when a tenant takes the time to submit a review. We hope to see you again next year. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Saint Nick's At The Top Of Our Vacation List

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

Hi Michael and Richard,
Rick and I just wanted to email you and tell you what a wonderful time we had at Saint Nick! It was such a nice little bungalow and had everything we could have possibly needed, for the week! It is the perfect spot on the beach! We loved the nice deck and how close to the ocean it sits! We enjoyed walking on the beach and looking for seaglass. We found 19 pieces total! The family room was great and we loved keeping the window open and listening to the ocean. Thank you for your help with operating the t.v. We also enjoyed the picnic table outside and eating our take out from J. B.'s! The hottub was nice and the weather was perfect. We love windy, cloudy cool days at the beach and love walking on the beach in jeans and sweatshirts! Our friends laugh at us for liking weather like that at the beach! :) Thank you so much for sharing your sweet little beach house with us! We try to get away once a year and will definitely make Saint Nick at the top of our vacation list, in the future! If we could have won the lottery while we were there we would have stayed on for a couple of months!!! We wish you and your families and very nice Thanksgiving!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

DO NOT rent this house

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

The view/deck was great. The house was dirty. The furniture was worn out, ripped and dirty. Grass was growing up through the door stoop. A towel was stuck into the skylight...I guess to prevent leaking. The hot tub didn't work. Food was left in the refrigerator/cupbord. Several lamps did not work. Dead bugs were smeared on the wall paper in bathroom. Dead bugs were in hall light. Live bugs were everywhere, including a black widow spider. This house is a nightmare!!! To the owner...SHAME ON YOU!!!

Owners response: First of all, let's get something understod. This is Fl. and this is a beach house, which inevitably will attract certain varieties of insects. Even though we have an exterminator treat the house on a regular basis, bugs will still get in. The furniture is about 2 years old,and with the number of bodies sitting on it, it may, over time, require steam cleaning ( which wil be attended to this coming week). Our hot tub maintenance company informed us that the tub was working when he arrived the day after these people's departure, which indicates to us that they didn't read the printed instructions we provide for all tenants. In addition to the instruction page, another page lists the names and phone numbers of all the companies that service the house. This fact begs the question of, if the house wasn't cleaned to their satisfaction on arrival, and the hot tub wouldn't function, why did they not either notify us or call the service companies to remedy the situation? Why would a tenant wait to bring these matters to our attention after they have left? As far as the food is concerned, we instruct the cleaning crew to leave any non-perishable items ( cans of soup, spaghetti sauce, etc.) for the incoming tenants, should they wish to use it. We have had over 100 tenants visit the house with very few compaints ( see other reviews), and our response to this undeserved criticism, is to simply say that if you want to stay in a hotel, feel free to do so, but if you want a week on the beach,try and understand that this is what we claim it is.... a beach house and not a Hilton.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beach family reunion

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2012

We used to vacation in baja mexico years ago ago when our kids were young. It was always out best time. So we decided we had better get together at the beach one more time. Bottom line, this place is perfect...we rode waves, surf fished, biked the national park, hit the hot tub, grilled, walked to the oyster bar,saw the manatees at blue springs, etc, etc etc. The waves put you to sleep every night. I never thought the east coast could be this good..we will be back next year for sure. Nothing but thumbs up for the A frame beach house!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved every minute at St. Nicks

Review submitted: July 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Awesome A-Frame on the very end of New Smyrna Beach right next door to Canaveral National Seashore. My family enjoyed our week long stay in the beginning of June 2011, wish that the week never ended. Nice spacious deck with hot tub and hammock on a raised deck for enjoying the evenings on. Terrific views of the ocean and Indian river from the upstairs master bedroom (nice covered deck off of the bedroom as well) and second bedroom. We enjoyed swimming in the ocean every day and lounging in the hot tub at night. The private beach walkway has a nice shower and fish cleaning station on it to clean off. Watched Dolphins swimming in the ocean and Indian river from the deck and second raised deck. On the last night there we even saw a sea turtle come up right in front of the house to "nest". I definitely would recommend you stay at St. Nicks!!!! I will be next time I visit New Smyrna Beach!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: That just about says it all. Virtually every tenant has already booked another week in 2012. Everything a beach house should be and more. Book a week and see why for yourselves. Michael

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review