reviews for: listing #80835 - Montecito, California House rental

"Beach Paradise"
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $425 /nt
    $1,975 - $2,474 /wk
    $7,475 - $8,775 /mth

sort by:

Traveler beware!

Review submitted: November 8, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We rented this home based on the description. The description is not right. The walkway to the beach is a railroad track which is right behind the house. Trains come by all day & night!
The most troubling part of our stay was that Alexy the owner stays in the shed in the back yard! Very troubling and a complete invasion of privacy! He is so close to house he uses the Internet from the house.
If I would have been there without my husband I would have called the police!
The kitchen was not clean, cabinets were gross inside.
No coffee maker & when I asked him about it he said there was a coffee shop a few blocks away.
The carpet in living room was very dirty.
I wouldn't recommend to anyone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We Love this place

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

“We've rented the "Serene Beach Bungalow" several time. We are repeat customers and the place always lives up to its name. My wife loves the kitchen because its open and easy to cook large meals in it; the house is roomy and comfortable. It has a great backyard, close to the beach and restaurants: it's a lovely place to stay. We always look forward to staying there each year.

Mike B.

Owners response: It's been a pleasure having you all!!
Cheers,

Alexi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Montecito bungalo

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

What a fabulous time we had in Montecito. We have stayed in Santa Barbara before but this place takes the cake! It is very private with good beach access. For the athletic enthusiasts...the running and cycling is tremendous from this location. The home is tidy and well appointed and the yard is wonderful with space to move and play. The hot tub is well maintained. There is ample shopping and dining nearby and the home is a hop skip and a jump from downtown State Street shops and dining. The kitchen is up to date with granite and stainless steel and the bathrooms and bedrooms are very nice. Alexis is a gracious host and is very prompt with responses and needs as well as deposit refunds following the stay. He welcomed our pet boxer and with the nice yard it was like a home away from home.
I would certainly come back to this lovely bungalo...it has all the conveniences of home including a great tv system and music system (we just never spent much time in front of the tv with the beach access and the lovely kitchen and yard!). Thank you again, Alexis. It really was one of our best getaways and your home was an integral part of our comfort and relaxation!

Owners response: Your so very welcome and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful and Easy

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

My husband and I and our 3-year-old son stayed here recently as a relaxing family getaway. We were pleased to find the place very clean and ready for our stay -- from an empty refrigerator to newly made beds. The kitchen had nice, updated appliances and was adequately stocked with cooking tools for most needs. Both bathrooms were nicely updated and sparkling clean. As a side note, we appreciated that there was no “refundable” cleaning deposit, which tends to be subjective and can be a point of contention upon exit. There was simply a reasonable cleaning fee, which de-stressed the process.

The home was furnished with a modest decor that was very tasteful yet comfortable. I wasn’t in constant fear of breakage or staining, though we did put up a couple items due to the boy. The photos of the house and yard accurately depict the home and its pleasing esthetics: granite and light woods, paired with prudent use of decorative objects, resulting in a nice airy feel.

Our son enjoyed looking at the impressive array of plants in the back yard. We loved the abundant greenery and the sound of the fountain. It’s very well set up for back yard living in a beautiful, tranquil garden-like setting.

We also happened to like the sound of the train, which runs below a little path just beyond the back gate. This may bother some, but if you want to stay near the beach in Montecito you will be near the train, as the tracks run right along the coastline (I checked a map). The train does not seem to run much past 10 or 11pm, and when our son wasn't squealing with anticipation of it, he generally slept through it. I did not at first, but ear plugs were an instant fix for me.

As for location, it just about can't be beat. The closest beach is the one near the Biltmore with a very short trip along sidewalks. There is also access out the back gate to Hammonds and Miramar beaches. Those require slightly more of a trek over river rocks and along dirt paths, but they are more secluded beaches.

We truly enjoyed our time here – it has a pleasing atmosphere that made it easy to relax. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great house in a great location

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

The house worked beautifully and very comfortably for our family's visit. Great and complete kitchen and wonderful yard with jacuzzi and outdoor shower. The beds were quite comfortable with plenty of parking. The kitchen and dining room easily served our family meals, along with a great picnic table outside. The property was clean and accessible when promised and the landlord was very communicative in responding to our queries. I would recommend this to a friend as it's location is quite central, with easy walking to town and to the beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Glad it worked out so conveniently and that you all had a great time.
Thanks again,

A

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

We rented this house and it worked out perfectly for a wedding we attended at The Biltmore. Great location with walking distance to town and beach.

Owners response: Thank you. It was a pleasure to have tenants like you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a great house

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

What a great house. Near the ocean, near town, perfect location.
Hot tub, gril, wonderful yard. Could not have been better.
It was a treat to be there.
I would highly recommend this house, this location

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's always nice to hear when visitors have such a pleasant stay at the bungalow by the beach.
Thank you and come again,

-A

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming and peaceful.

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

We stayed here for our 10 year anniversary trip and were not disappointed. It is in an excellent location close to the beach,restaurants, and a quick drive to S.B. It was very clean and upgraded and had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and we slept peacefully. The best part for us was the backyard and the jacuzzi. It was like a tropical oassis. We would love to come back again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you and Happy Anniversary!!! It would be great to have you back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Truly A Little Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

We had a delightful time at this Montecito bungalow/cottage.
Every feature was outstanding, both inside and out, really luxurious.
We especially enjoyed daily walks on the beach. We certainly want to stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you had a wonderful time at the Bungalow in Montecito, see you again soon.
All the best,

-A

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review