reviews for: listing #80871 - Door County, Wisconsin House rental

Gray Gull Cottage-Waterfront Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $240 - $240 /nt
    $1,550 - $1,550 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful vacation destination!

Review submitted: July 19, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

Our family takes an annual trip to Door County and have stayed in multiple locations. We have to say that Gray Gull Cottage has moved to our favorite rental to date. We traveled with a total of 6 adults. The house is very roomy with plenty of seating in the living room, screen porch and bay side deck. We enjoyed waking up to a beautiful view from the master bedroom deck and sound of waves. The house is very private and has all the comforts of home including air conditioning, wireless internet, dishwasher, grill and a well equipped kitchen. We enjoyed a group campfire and s'mores using the large fire pit and a more intimate fire using the smaller clay fireplace on the deck. There was plenty of dry firewood to use. Bikes rides were a favorite morning activity as we biked into Egg Harbor for coffee at the Chocolate Chicken. The side deck was the perfect shelter for them. Great location and cottage. Thank you for sharing it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

I highly recommend the Gray Gull. The booking process with the owner was quick and without a hassle. The cottage itself was very good. Large, clean and comfortable. The kitchen was better than expected. I was surprised how private the cottage is. You are not able to see any neighbors from the house at all, at least in the summer. We had a minor problem while we are at the cottage when we found a good size yellow jacket nest. I e-mailed the the owner and within a few hours they had someone out and the problem was taken care of. All in all my experience was a great cottage and good to deal with owners! I will be back with out a doubt.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice getaway to celebrate your wedding anniversary

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

It has been some years ago since we stayed at the Gray Gull. We were very impressed with the renovations to the home. The kitchen had all new appliances including a dishwasher. The addition of the half bath upstairs was an excellent addition since the bedrooms are upstairs. Didn't bother us that there was not cable TV, internet connection is more important! Local TV stations sufficed. Besides we were too tired in the evening from all the shopping, site seeing, walking & climbing. We really liked the deck down by the water to have cocktails and watch the sunset. We were fortunate that the weather was wonderful Fri, Sat & Sun. It rained Monday on the drive home, but didn't care then. It is really important to us to find a place that accepts pets so we could bring along the dog, our 'fur child'. It was nice to sit on the screened deck off of the kitchen to have morning coffee. At night you can see the lights of Michigan and can watch the big ships come in to Sturgeon Bay. There is a nice deck off of the main bedroom which is nice to sit & relax. You need at least 3 days to see everything in Door County and then some if you decide to go over to Washington Island. Go for a visit - you'll love it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

GReat improvements, pet friendly, reasonable price

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Wow! What a difference the major remodel and upgrade to the property since our last stay at the Gray Gull. New frigidare gallery stainless steel refrigerator, dishwasher, oven, and microwave along with beautiful cabinets in the rennovated kitchen. Also great updates to the main bathroom. Our Bedroom had newer mattress and pillows - very comfortable! However, you do need to bring your own sheets and towels.
Wonderful to have access to both a charcoal and gas grill as well as kitchen utensils, pots and pans, paper towels, etc - everything for making breakast/dinner at home.

Beautiful hiking at CAve Point Cty Park and Whitefish Dunes State Park.

A bit windy for our kayaks on this trip, but we enjoyed a beautiful day on the Alpine golf course just down the road b/4 Egg Harbor. Great views if you golf the "blue" course.

The one issue we had was that we could not get Fox TV which happened to have the Packer Opener that week. Also, no Wi Fi at the home, however, access was available right up the road in Carlsville. (I was able to go without the internet for the short stay, but we had to stop at the Roadhouse up the bluff in Carlsville to watch the Packer game.)

I was very impresesed with the significant upgrades to the home. Even with all the improvements, the price is quite reasonable, especially since the are dog friendly. Our yellow lab, Stella was in "doggy heaven" swimming in the bay and "fetching" rocks.

We enjoyed the sauna and traditional scandinavian plunge into the bay. Quite refreshing if you are the adventuresome sort.

Of course, I enjoyed the unique shops and establishments in nearby Egg Harbor Fish Creek, etc.

Hope to go back in the fall. Beautiful time to golf at Peninsula State Park and the end of season sales.

Would recommend to friends who enjoy the beauty of Door CTy. Not recommended for folks looking for a "spa-like" resort.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We discovered the Bay side of Door County

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We had never stayed on the Bayside of the Penninsula; We love it. Much warmer water, great swimming and fishing; but our best memories are the susets over the bay...Glorious . We enjoyed sitting on the screen porch over looking the water and having dinner. The cabin has 3 porches overlooking the bay! The interior is very nice with three bedrooms and a sleeping loft where our 5 and 7 year old boys played and slept during our stay. The bedding is and billows are a bit worn and they could stand to be replaced. The house is air conditioned and that was a vacation saver, with temperatures in the 90s.

All and all, we would come back again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great time at the Gray Gull!

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Wow! What a great location and beautiful and unique cottage. We have an old Cocker Spaniel who is house trained and we were happy to find a place on the bay that would allow pets :) You have to pay alittle more for pets, but it is well worth it and Old Buffy had as good a time as we did. The cottage is a unique house design with a large glass wall on the south. My husband is an architect and he said that the house was ahead of its' time with a large solar collector and thicker walls, really a striking piece of modern architecture. I was surprised at how clean and modern the interiors were for what we thought was a "cottage" It even has fireplace and we are already thinking of coming back this fall to enjoy this place when the weather turns colder.

The cottage is very close to the water, which was a little cold, but the sunsets over the water made up for up for it and we enjoyed the deck down by the cobblestone beach.

I think this place is great value for dog lovers, three bedrooms with a loft and a wonderful, private setting. We highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Sunsets

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We have been renting the Gray Gull cabin annually for 15 years. Our family always looks forward to our time at the Gray Gull in Door County. The cabin was nicely remodeled recently & the pictures shown above are very recent - not old as the other review states. We love having camp fires, watching the “best” sunsets & kayaking off of the beautiful stone shore. A great sand beach is close by (at Murphy Park) where we all tried our hand at paddle boarding this year…it was a blast! We enjoy the privacy of the cabin’s surrounding woods. Door County has something to offer for everyone which is exactly why we keep coming back year after year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

very poor condition

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

this "cottage" is more like a chicken coop or grain bin. it is made of corrugated tin and very old and in a state of disrepair. the pictures on this web site were taken a very long time ago. the interior smell is horrible and there are many, many bugs, alive and dead, all over the house. the air conditioner does not work and blows hot air along with dust and dirt. my eyes and breathing immediately became irritated and there is animal hair/fur all over the house. the septic system is in poor state because a sign above the commode states not to flush unless it was important to do so and a number given to call if there is a back up. this might account for the smell. there is no beach and no swimming. the water line is all large rocks and boulders and a broken ankle waiting to happen. these rocks extend many feet out in the lake. the lack of landscaping is appalling and consists of weeds as tall as me. there is only one queen bed and the other is a double bed along with 3 twins. the mattress pads were stained and dirty and one twin bed looked down right scary with stains. we stayed one hour and left and the owner will not return my emails.

Helpful votes: 1 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review