reviews for: listing #80882 - Lubec, Maine House rental

Beach Glass Cottage - on sandy beach; incredible water view!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $900 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Amazing Views

Review submitted: August 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

This was our eighth year at the SummerKeys music program. Lubec is a very special place to relax and to work hard at our music. This, our first stay at Beach Glass Cottage, was absolutely perfect - the best views, most private, most well equipped, most homey, most relaxing place we have rented. The pictures of this house and its views cannot substitute for the experience. I especially liked the constant changes in clouds, tide, fog, wind and rain. Couldn't stop taking pictures. In addition to music classes, and just enjoying the view from the cottage, we managed to cook a few meals in the very well-appointed kitchen, and travel to Eastport, West Quoddy, and our favorite bog walk on Campobello Island. We hope to come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Totally Spectacular

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

Our family of six thoroughly enjoyed our time at Beach Glass Cottage. The views were nothing but spectacular! Sunrises are gorgeous, and we happened to have a full moon, on a clear night, with high tide! Just lovely! And waking up to look out on the ocean was so refreshing!!!

The kitchen is stocked with high quality cookware, so cooking with the family was great fun! The relaxing breeze while on the deck made even a warm day lovely. Everyone had a cozy place to sleep and space to relax. The amenities are accurately listed, and the cottage is clean and well maintained.

We walked the beach, built sandcastles, walked out to the lighthouse at low tide, and saw crabs, clams, jellyfish, sand dollars. Another adventure out to a different peninsula that appeared at low tide took us out to see seals!
We stayed close by to thoroughly enjoy the vast beach just outside the cottage, and then we ventured to Campobello Island for a day, West Quoddy is great fun at low and high tide, went inland Kayaking, and downtown Lubec is quaint and enjoyable. The restaurants were all delicious.

We would highly recommend Beach Glass Cottage as a place to rest, relax, enjoy some great outdoors and see some truly beautiful views!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Handicap Accessible Oceanfront Cottage -- WOW!

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

We enjoyed 2 relaxing weeks in this delightful cottage home at the end of the season. October had some bright sunny days which allowed us to enjoy the spacious deck overlooking the water. I enjoyed walking the beach at low tide. I wore my rain boots so I could splash through the wet sand with abandon. My husband could easily get out to the deck in his wheelchair, thanks to the ramp at the deck door.
The kitchen is wonderful! Jody has provided every utensil and appliance anyone would need, and more! I think my own kitchen at home seems lacking by comparison. It was a joy preparing meals there.
My husband is in a wheelchair and he was thrilled he could easily maneuver throughout the beautiful first floor unassisted. The accessible bathroom was a real plus as well -- a rare amenity in a cottage rental. While we didn't use the upstairs at all, it was beautiful. The view from the upstairs bedroom is awesome!
As an artist my main goal for this getaway was to gather photos for future painting references. We took many day trips throughout the region, enjoying Mount Katahdin vistas, quaint fishing villages, Acadia's Schoodic Peninsula, Campobello Island, lighthouses, and fun restaurants. We enjoyed two meals at Uncle Kippy's in Lubec (a great lobster stew!) I liked shopping at the Northern Tide Gallery and Gift Shop in town. Deb is great.
It was a joy to "come home" after a day of site seeing and relax in a most delightful space. We were thrilled to watch the Red Sox win the World Series while on vacation! So glad for the cable TV.
Thank you, Jody, for all you've done to make the Beach Glass Cottage such a memory maker!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quiet, calmness and great views

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

We spent a wonderful week at Beach Glass Cottage. The views of the Bay of Fundy were spectacular with sunrises like you never have seen before and star struck skies at night. We were there during Harvest Moon which provided dramatic changes in the tides. We were able to walk along the beach at low tide and collect beach glass. The cottage itself provides high end kitchen appliances, washing machine and dryer, cable t.v., very accessible bathrooms, king sized beds, and much more. The surroundings are very quiet and conducive for a good nights sleep. The location is only minutes to the Canadian border bridge to Campobello Island, FDR's summer home and also a treat. Would highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven On Earth. Who could ask for more?

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Beach Glass Cottage is located on the most idyllic, picturesque spot. Our approach to the property from the road took our breath away . The magnificence of this special, peaceful home will only bring smiles when you arrive and stay, frowns and tears when you have to leave. Jody's cottage is absolutely precious and meticulously kept . So thoughtful of Jody to include wheelchair accessibility. The kitchen is beyond anyone's dreams, complete with the latest appliances and any cooking device one could imagine. My husband and I awoke each morning to first light and breathtaking sunrises from the upstairs master bedroom.Our teenage son was thoroughly happy being in the master bedroom suite on the main floor. The evening skies felt as though we were in a planetarium. This home was so perfect. We loved the entire area of Lubec. The area's local residents are very warm and friendly. Imagine us, New Yorkers forgetting what date and time it was! Jody, thank you so much for your enchanting home on the beach. We were indeed privileged to have been there.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A perfect place

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Beach Glass Cottage is a very special place. I’ve been renting vacation homes for years now, and I’ve never found a home as beautiful and as well-equipped as this one. I always look for a house that has beach access, and this one delivers! It’s only a few steps to a fascinating beach that you will think is your very own, even though it is shared with a few other houses. The extremely high and low tides will keep you interested day after day. Indoors, all your needs are taken care of including books and puzzles, just in case you should happen to have a rainy day during your stay. The town of Lubec has very good restaurants, craft stores and galleries, and very friendly people wherever you go. I liked this place so much that I plan to go again next year, which is probably the highest recommendation I can give you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect place

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Beach Glass Cottage is a very special place. I’ve been renting vacation homes for years now, and I’ve never found a home as beautiful and as well-equipped as this one. I always look for a house that has beach access, and this one delivers! It’s only a few steps to a fascinating beach that you will think is your very own, even though it is shared with a few other houses. The extremely high and low tides will keep you interested day after day. Indoors, all your needs are taken care of including books and puzzles, just in case you should happen to have a rainy day during your stay. The town of Lubec has very good restaurants, craft stores and galleries, and very friendly people wherever you go. I liked this place so much that I plan to go again next year, which is probably the highest recommendation I can give you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect place

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Beach Glass Cottage is a very special place. I’ve been renting vacation homes for years now, and I’ve never found a home as beautiful and as well-equipped as this one. I always look for a house that has beach access, and this one delivers! It’s only a few steps to a fascinating beach that you will think is your very own, even though it is shared with a few other houses. The extremely high and low tides will keep you interested day after day. Indoors, all your needs are taken care of including books and puzzles, just in case you should happen to have a rainy day during your stay. The town of Lubec has very good restaurants, craft stores and galleries, and very friendly people wherever you go. I liked this place so much that I plan to go again next year, which is probably the highest recommendation I can give you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Everything was perfect. The views were great. The bedrooms were very comfortable. My family had a great time. The kitchen was very complete, making meals a pleasure.I would highly recommend the Beach Glass Cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect place to spend a rainy week in Maine,

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. Beach Glass Cottage has everything you could want to live there for a year! -- right down to a coffee-grinder and cake mixer! It is beautifully appointed and cozy, yet spacious and very easy to negotiate in a wheelchair. It has wonderful and wide views that even look great in the rain. We spent a very rainy week in Lubec and couldn't have asked for a more comfortable place in which to do it. It's like a home away from home, not just a cottage or hotel room.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Retreat

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Our stay at the Beach Glass Cottage was a perfect retreat from our busy lives in southern Maine. The morning sunrises each day were beautiful, and walking the beach several times a day was magnificent. Our many hours spent relaxing on the large deck while listening to the ocean waves and sea gulls, or in the comfortable living room while listening to the terrific stereo system (we never turned on the TV), or touring around and hiking in the gorgeous scenic area were indescribable. And since we are both vegetarians, the very-well equipped and oriented kitchen, coupled with a dining area that offers great views from every angle, lended themselves to a wonderful culinary adventure without having to dine elsewhere.

Over the last 11 years, we have always stayed a week on Campobello Island; this was our seventh trip to the area. Our stay at the Beach Glass Cottage, however, was far more private and peaceful, and the convenience of its location made it so much easier to be out and about. Jody's attention to detail and to us was so much more (significantly more) than we had ever experienced renting from the agency on Campobello Island. Lubec is a wonderful and quaint waterfront community with so much to offer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Texas to Glass Beach Cottage in Lubec,ME

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

Glass Beach Cottage is a wonderful vacation home. I spent 2 weeks and enjoyed every minute of it. I have been renting in Maine for many years Glass Beach is at the top of my list . The house is furnished (and clean) with anything you need and is very comfortable. I would recommend Glass Beach Cottage and plan to visit again real soon. Patti

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Magical location, fully furnished and equipped cot

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

The Beach Glass Cottage is located right on the water in Lubec. It is on a very private beach area. You can see the effects of the Bay of Fundy on the tide which can go far out. You can enjoy watching the water and seabirds all day, if you want to. When the tide went out, we walked onto the flats and collected about 100 mussels, which we cooked for dinner one night. The cottage is exceptionally commodious and the kitchen is fully equipped. We cooked freshly caught lobster and fish several nights. This is a magical location, within sight of Campobello Island, and within a 5 minute drive of the eastern most point in the US with fabulous walking trails at West Quoddy State Park. An unforgettable experience. The owner was nice and helpful, the property was very clean and nicely renovated and maintained.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

The Beach Glass Cottage lives up to it's name. From the wondeful glass windows with many angles to view the beach to the "sea glass" located on the beach. This cottage is filled with everything a person could possibly need -- from a fully-equipped kitchen to the washer and dryer. For us, we were happy to have free long-distance phone service since our PA cell phones would not work in the area. The TV had many channels if one has to stay in for any reason (we had a rainy day or two). There is much to do.........whale-watching tours, lighthouses nearby, cross over to Canada......even a local chocolate store. Just watching the seals as they played and basked in the sun was amusing......and the ebb & flow of the tides. Jody herself was very pleasant and "hands on" if you had any questions or needed her in any way. We had our Friday night fish fry at a local place called Uncle Kippy's; we felt as though we were part of one big family and had known these people all our lives. And even the thought that went in to making the cottage handicap-accessible was also a big plus. It was good having everything on the main level..........even if you aren't handicapped. Only difficulty I had was in actually getting to the beach because you must step down a slight bank. But the upstairs bedroom has a bathtub, which I prefer so the cottage can be used by anyone. Hopefully we can return again in the future.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

The Beach Glass Cottage lives up to it's name. Not only is the cottage very bright and cheerful with the many wonderful "glass" windows............but my husband and I were able to locate "sea glass" on the beach and think we've developed a "new hobby"; thanks, Jody :). First of all the cottage is "loaded"; if there is anything you are missing, then you don't need it. From a fully-equipped kitchen to the washer & dryer, it's all there. Also a great plus is free long-distance phone calls. We were not able to get cell service in the area with our PA cell phones so we were grateful to have unlimited long-distance service. Television reception was good and I was surprised to have so many channels........good for the couple of rainy days we experienced. As they say in Real Estate, "location, location, location". If you want peace and quiet, this is the place. You are close to everything you need; yet, one might think they are at the "top of the world", being at the NorthEastern most part of USA. And so many nearby activities.....from whale-watch tours, lighthouses, "chocolate" made right there in Lubec (can you ask for more?) as well as the Ganong Chocolate Museum in St. Stephens in New Brunswick, and the seals basking in the sun just off shore. The local people are extremely friendly as my husband had coffee with several of "the guys" every morning. We also had dinner at Uncle Kippy's on Fri. evening and you felt like you were part of one big family. Jody's attention to detail in making the cottage handicap-accesible is also a big plus. Would only suggest some way to make it easier for a handicapped person to actually get to the beach. Hope we can return soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great cottage & view, quiet & relaxing vacation

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

My husband & I rented Beach Glass Cottage for one week and were so sorry to leave at the end of the week. The cottage is lovely, clean and comfortable, almost 100% remodeled. Thoughtfully set up for both handicapped and fully able persons. Wonderful views from every window, just a few hundred feet from the shore. A ten minute drive to Lubec village which is quite small and has friendly business owners, several good eating establishments, a quiet and earnest community. A number of walking trails and strolling beaches within short drive, a nature lover's delight. We would definitely rent from this owner again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Comfortable, clean and secluded

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Jody had everything we needed to feel at home. The beds were comfortable, very nice new washer and dryer! Everything you could think of. We loved the secluded beach. We watched seals playing in the ocean one morning. We found teal, pink and other colors of sea glass right outside the cottage on the beach.We would love to come back! Next time we will fly! 26 hours was a long drive!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review