reviews for: listing #80921 - Folly Beach, South Carolina House rental

Foose's Folly
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $250 /nt
    $1,225 - $2,000 /wk
    $1,500 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

Excellent owners, lovely home, highly recommended!

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2013

We had a lovely stay for our family of six at this home right across the road from the beach. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch and watching the surfers and the dolphins in the morning. We made good use of the large back porch for meals outside and made good use of the hammocks and beach chairs. We had everything we needed for a great family week of rest and relaxation, along with great seafood recommendations from the owners of the property. The location was perfect, and the owners were most accommodating and quick to respond to emails and phone calls before and after our stay. The house could not have been nicer or more well set-up for a family gathering. The property was immaculate and so very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Folly Beach in this beautiful home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great House!

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

Our family stayed at Foose's Folly for three nights, and we couldn't have asked for a better place! The pictures and description here just don't do it justice, as it was much better than we expected. Margie is a pleasure to communicate with, and is very accommodating! The house was very, very clean and so comfortable, it felt like we were at home. The front porch sittin' (and back porch) is amazing with a wonderful view of the ocean, a great place to enjoy a cup of coffee, or a nice drink. The house felt very roomy and well equipped with a lot of amenities, complimentary wi-fi, and a lot of spots to sit and relax, (and there is a TV in every room). It is a very quiet area, and in a convenient location (Charleston is just a short drive). The road was never busy, which made our morning jogs more enjoyable. There are also a lot of good restaurants and shopping nearby, which is always nice.. We highly recommend this beach house, and thank you Margie and Ed for sharing your lovely home! We can't wait to come back!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Beach house!

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

This was a wonderful vacation house! We had a mini beach vacation in the middle of our week and we could not have asked for more. The house had all we needed, and it was clean and comfortable. The location of the house was perfect - walk across the street to the beach - gorgeous view from the porch - we spent a lot of time on the beach and on the porch. We saw dolphins swimming by, surfers, boats, ships and birds. The front porch, sitting in the rocking chairs, was great to watch the sunrise and the back deck was great to watch the sunset. Very relaxing area away from the busy beach in town. The town of Folly Beach was great for shopping and local dining was great. The drive into Charleston was easy too - a quick 20 minute drive from the house.

We would recomend bringing your bikes because the distance to the lighthouse and into the town of Folly Beach was perfect for biking!

Thank you for a great place to stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Welcomed Respite

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

We stayed at Foose's Folly for three months and everyday as I came home to the portion of the beach locally known as "The Washout" the tension in my shoulders relaxed and I'd take in a deep breath of the ocean breeze. We enjoyed lazy mornings with a cup of coffee in the rocking chairs on the porch as we watched the surfers. When the tide is low you can walk the beach the entire distance (1.5mi) to the lighthouse or in the other direction (2 mi) to the Folly beach pier. We enjoyed the restaurants nearby including Bowen's Island Restaurant, Taco Boy & The Lost Dog Cafe. There's often live music at some of the places on Folly Road but I usually preferred the quiet of the house. There are three bedrooms but if you wanted a relaxing girls weekend there are a total of 8 spots on beds & a couch, not to mention two hammocks and a great outside picnic table. Surfers, families, girls beach week... this would be a good place and the price is a deal! (But if you're looking for a party weekend, this is probably not the place for you.) The home is clean, cozy & comfortable. The landlords are a pleasure. Hope you enjoy, we did!
-Jennie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relax - you're in Folly!

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

Awesome, awesome, awesome - one of the best rental houses we have stayed in - and we've stayed in a lot of them. First time on Folly Beach and what a delightful place (despite Hurricane Sandy). Margie and Ed have everything (and more) you could possibly need for a perfect vacation. The brand new coffee pot was a plus for us and the kitchen is totally stocked. Some vacation rentals just have a minimum of towels, kitchen utensils - but not Fosse's Folly - it is more than WELL EQUIPPED for anything you would need. Very spacious and you can choose where you want to be outside. There is a wonderful downstairs area with a hanging swing, and table, chairs, and grill. Upstairs hammock with more adirondeck chairs and the front deck of the house overlooking the ocean - incredible views - we got to watch (we counted 76) surfers for a few days and an occasional dolphin passing.
If there is a negative to Folly Beach - it would be the samll beach area. Not the best place to surf fish. But there is a wonderful pier very close by.
The food was also better than average. Bowen's Island was a unique experience, and the Crab Shack was very good as well.
I would highly recommend this house and this area for a relaxing vacation. not too crowded and the people were just so nice and helpful. I can't say enough about Foose's Folly - it's just the best.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relax - you're in Folly!

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

Awesome, awesome, awesome - one of the best rental houses we have stayed in - and we've stayed in a lot of them. First time on Folly Beach and what a delightful place (despite Hurricane Sandy). Margie and Ed have everything (and more) you could possibly need for a perfect vacation. The brand new coffee pot was a plus for us and the kitchen is totally stocked. Some vacation rentals just have a minimum of towels, kitchen utensils - but not Fosse's Folly - it is more than WELL EQUIPPED for anything you would need. Very spacious and you can choose where you want to be outside. There is a wonderful downstairs area with a hanging swing, and table, chairs, and grill. Upstairs hammock with more adirondeck chairs and the front deck of the house overlooking the ocean - incredible views - we got to watch (we counted 76) surfers for a few days and an occasional dolphin passing.
If there is a negative to Folly Beach - it would be the samll beach area. Not the best place to surf fish. But there is a wonderful pier very close by.
The food was also better than average. Bowen's Island was a unique experience, and the Crab Shack was very good as well.
I would highly recommend this house and this area for a relaxing vacation. not too crowded and the people were just so nice and helpful. I can't say enough about Foose's Folly - it's just the best.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sparkling waters out front porch!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

We had a wonderful time during our visit to Folly Beach for an October wedding. Beautiful water views, excellent seafood, impressive Charleston and a comfortable bed to recover for the next day. What more can you ask?

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Foose's Folly is Fantastic

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

Our family plus two rented Foose's Folly in late Summer 2012 -- what a gem! We had plenty of space and all the amenities were available that made our week a really relaxing beach getaway. Charleston was only a short ride away for day trips as well. Margie and Ed have made this beach house a wonderful place for families to make lasting vacation memories. The view of the ocean and the beach access were fantastic! Thank you for opening your lovely home to us.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun at Folly Beach

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Just spent a fabulous week at Foose's Folley. The house was beautiful and the beach is amazing. We spent the week playing in the waves and exploring the Carolina's. The house was spotless and met all our needs. We have been to many beaches and would definitely rate this one the best. We look forward to coming back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

seaside treasure!

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

Hubby and I have stayed various cottages , condos and hotels on Folly since our first yearly visit in 1993 but this wonderful cottage is by far the best! Came with our daughter, her husband and 2 year old daughter....my other daughter and her husband and 13 year old son stopped by for one night and we all had quite enough room and just a great time! The cottage is ultimate in cleanliness , which I am very cautious about....no odors , smells or other displeasing scents which I have found in all other places we have stayed. Plenty of towels, blankets and necessities to keep you from wanting to leave even to visit the Pier! Beds ultimately comfy, clean and cozy which is a major focal point for me! Nights on the decks were beautiful, we saw fireworks the last night there, very quiet neighborhood otherwise, people friendly and atmosphere best on Folly! I absolutely will book early next year as I see it is always booked, we simply were blessed to be able to find Foose's Folly this time:)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review