reviews for: listing #80951 - US Virgin Islands, Caribbean Studio rental

Awesome Sapphire Village Condo with Amazing Ocean Views!
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sapphire Village
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $90 - $150 /nt
    $630 - $980 /wk
    $2,380 - $3,080 /mth

sort by:

Sapphire Beach

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 23, 2014

My husband and I once again enjoyed everything that Sapphire Beach had to offer. Toms villa had everything to make our 10 day stay wonderful. We brought friends this year and they are ready to come back. Red Hook is close and has great restaraunts, shopping and the Ferry to travel to other islands. We seen donkyes, whales, sea urchins, parrot fish, sea turtles, stingrays, ducks, iguanas and many others. What a wonderful view from our patio-deck every morning. Hummingbirds every morning. Wonderful!! Thanks Tom
Doug & Shawn Hunt

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow, Birthday surprise of the Century!

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Let me start by saying our trip to St.Thomas was a surprise __ birthday gift for my Incredible wife. No numbers are allowed to be mentioned. I studied the Condo's represented by VRBO and Tom's studio caught my eye. I emailed him expressing my interest for the dates that included her Birthday and he responded to me in a matter of minutes. Once I determined to rent, Tom helped me every step of the way. Contracts, payment options, emails with all sorts of useful info flowed forth. In a matter of days everything was taken care of and all I had to do was keep this trip a secret for what seemed like an eternity. Enough about us.
Tom's condo was everything that was represented on his property sheet. First, the view. Can you spell amazing! Neither my wife or I had ever been to the Caribbean and we were in awe. We spent every morning and evening on the balcony. The condo was clean and everything was in order. All the amenities and beach items that were promised were there and in working order. We had no issues our entire week and if we would have, I'm sure Tom would have done everything he could to resolve them. The pool and the Bar and Grill were very close. Sapphire beach was wonderful and only a short 5 minute walk.
We rented a car, which I recommend, and drove to popular spots like Magen's Bay, Coki Beach, Red Hook, a day trip to St John and lots of other fun stuff. We went on a daysail on my wife's birthday, departing from Red Hook, only a 1/2 mile away. We both had the time of our lives. Also did a sunset dinner cruise which set sail from the Marina which was right in front of our balcony, literally a 2 minute walk.
Finally, my wife had mentioned on numerous occasions that she would someday like to visit St Thomas. I'm not sure she knew alot about St Thomas, she just wanted to go there. I am so glad she picked this Island. Everyone we encountered was helpful and cheerful. Thank You Tom for all your help in Making this trip one we will remember forever. We will return in the future and I will be contacting Tom with my fingers crossed that we can stay at his condo.
PS. I was able to keep this celebration a total surprise til the evening before we left. Yahooo!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: January 12, 2014   Date of arrival: December 25, 2013

Excellent condo! Very clean and was perfect for what it was! Beautiful view, right by a harbor, and so close to Red Hook it made nights out very easy and safe. And the food truck right outside the condos is some of the best BQ you'll ever have! I would highly recommend this to anyone who plans on spending some time on sT. tHOMAS!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Condo in Paradise

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Tom's condo for a week in June. I can't say enough good things about Tom's condo. You have a spectacular view from the balcony, access to the most gorgeous beach on St Thomas, Marina access for tours right down the hill from the condo, and everything you could possibly need inside his condo for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. As big coffee drinkers, my husband and I would have loved to have a bigger coffee maker to brew larger amounts of coffee at a time but we were still able to utilize the coffee maker provided in the condo with no problem at all. You also are very close to some great restaurants in Red Hook as well as the ferry dock in Red Hook where you can take a trip over to St John to explore their beautiful beaches too. Trunk Bay in St John is most definitely one of the most beautiful beaches ever! Although you are close to Red Hook restaurants, you also have access to a very good restaurant right on the property, Sapphire Bar and Grill. We would definitely revisit St Thomas in the future and when we do we will stay in Tom's condo! Tom provided very helpful information about the island and condo prior to our visit and was very quick to respond to any questions we had regarding the condo or the islands in general. Everything about this condo was perfect for our visit and the price made it even better! Thank you Tom for making our vacation a very memorable one!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best deal in the Caribbean!!

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

My mom and I stayed at Tom's place for a week this January. It was absolutely amazing and beautiful. Everything was very clean, well maintained and did I say Gorgeous!! We cannot wait to go back. It was in close proximity to the beaches, grocery stores, restaurants and ferry to St. John. I wouldn't waste my time looking at the overpriced hotels. This place is the best deal for your money. Condo was well stocked with bath towels, soap, beach towels, beach chairs, a great hair dryer (important for ladies) and a super comfortable king size mattress. Of course the most important part...the view!! There is a restaurant with entertainment right on the property which was awesome!! Tom's condo is my rental of choice on St. Thomas. One thing I recommend, before you go study a road map if you intend to rent a car, also take a day trip to the BVI, Jost Van Dyke was amazing!!!

Ashley C.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Wonderful Location with Excellently Attentive Owner

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

Thanks very much for your great service and attention throughout our booking process and our stay at your condo. We really enjoyed the condo, as well as the great location (a three-minute walk to Sapphire Bay Beach, and on the east end, near the ferry to St. John)! What a wonderful asset you have there in that property! We didn't have any problems at the condo and found it well maintained and safe. I loved the view from the balcony and how close the place is to the water. The oh-so-nearby Sapphire Bay snorkeling was the best of the three snorkeling stops we made--I only wish I’d tried it first rather than last! If we are ever able to come back to the Virgin Islands, I am bringing my own snorkeling gear and spending a lot of time right down there on that beach! And we will be sure to look you up and would be happy to stay at your rental again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Amazing time!!

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

We stayed at the sapphire village for 2 weeks and it was great! The place was clean and close by the beach and marina. The balcony had an amazing view! Tom was extremely helpful, he provided great info to ensure our trip went well! We can't imagine staying anywhere else, it was walking distance to red hook for great food and ferries to St.John. Thanks Tom for making our vacation unforgettable! Will come back for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breathtaking!

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

Wowie! What a fantastic time we had here staying in your condo! The view was just breath taking! We took enough pictures to look at every day for at least two years; it was so beautiful. The beach was so pretty. The water was warm and bright blue; and the sand was soft and white just like the clouds in the sky! Thank you very much for putting activities and restaurants in the binder. It was very helpful! Thank you for the hospitality! You made sure we had a truly terrific time! God Bless, Kaylee & Christie

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
Recommended for: Romantic, Families

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of the Best Vacations Ever!

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

My husband and I were looking to relax in the warm sun and chose St. Thomas. Having stayed at hotels in the Caribbean we wanted to try something different. We found Tom’s condo and decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. The first thing you notice about the condo is that it is CLEAN. The view is awesome and we had breakfast every day on the balcony. The bed was comfy and there was plenty of room to stretch out.

The location is ideal. We were very close to Sapphire Beach, Coral World and Red Hook. Tom had everything we needed for the beach trips. He had beach chairs, towels, a cooler and even a noodle flotation toy (ideal, since I can’t swim)! Parking was free and it was steps away from our front door. The pool was really close and be sure to try the chicken fingers at the Sapphire Grill (yummy!) We also loved the food at the Mexican restaurant in Red Hook.

Also, feel free to travel light when you go. Sapphire Village has a laundry facility, so you can do a load of wash while lounging at the beach. The office has a wide array of books that you can peruse and a pretty good list of DVD rentals for free! The staff was very friendly and gave good advice about getting around town.

Best of all, the beach sand was soft as silk. The water was clear blue and tropical fish swam around us in just 4 feet of water. The iguanas were cute and didn’t mind posing for pictures. We have been to other tropical islands, but this is by far the most beautiful.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes
Recommended for: Travelers, Romantic

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing time at sapphire village

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

We stayed at the sapphire village for 2 weeks and it was great! The place was clean and close by the beach and marina. The balcony had an amazing view! Tom was extremely helpful, he provided great info to ensure our trip went well! We can't imagine staying anywhere else, it was walking distance to red hook for great food and ferries to St.John. Thanks Tom for making our vacation unforgettable! Will come back for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, nice view of the harbor!

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

My first impression of Tom when he called us was that he was helpful and willing to share his knowledge about St. Thomas and St. John with people like us that are more "do-it-yourself" travellers. He sent us useful information about restaurants, entertainment, hiking trails and other odds and ends and let us know he was willing to answer questions if we e-mailed or called. When we arrived at the condo, it was clean and had plenty of towels for both bath and beach. The bed was comfortable, and the kitchen was big enough to make simple meals (buy milk in half gallons, not gallons). Our favorite place in the condo was the small porch overlooking the harbor and a corner of the beach. The AC worked well too.

Our only negatives were that two chairs in the dining room were broken, but we never had need of the chairs, and the "soccer" chairs that we could take with us might need to be replaced--some sharp edges where the plastic pieces were broken, but knowing Tom, he'll take care of those issues the next time he's there.

Thanks for sharing your home away from home with us, Tom!

Owners response: I am very happy that you two found all if the information helpful and useful. I’m delighted that you found my condo was clean and comfortable, with plenty of towels and a good-working air conditioner. It’s great that you made use of the beach towels and chairs, and that you enjoyed the new king-size bed.

Sorry about the dining room chairs. Apparently, previous guests had damaged the chairs prior to your arrival. Since there was no possibility of repairing them before your arrival, a note was placed on the chairs to make you aware, so that no one would get hurt. This is the first time I was notified about the beach chairs, so I was very surprised to hear about them. I suppose all of my guests have been making very good use of the camping beach chairs. In addition to the camping chairs, there’s also two chaise lounge chairs available for my guests. Since I always maintain the highest standards, if you had notified me and/or my property manager about the beach chairs during your stay, the issue would’ve been resolved immediately. I take comfort and cleanliness very seriously.

I am delighted that you appreciated the convenient location, with the beach, marina, and nightlife so close by. I’m glad that you enjoyed the beautiful ocean views from the balcony, and that you both enjoyed your vacation. Thank you again for staying!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise found!

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

What a great spot! This without a doubt was a perfect decision for my cousin and I to take our annual vacation this April. We were looking for a space that would give us privacy, the freedom to cook in or go out nearby, walk to the beach, and relax at a pool. We also were hoping to find a place on the eastern side of the island so that we could hop on the ferry easily to check out St. John. This was exactly what we needed! Just a few minutes from Red Hook, too, where we went for Happy Hour, dinner, and some groceries.

Tom was VERY accommodating and responded promptly to travel questions that I had. This place has a gorgeous view and is close to everything that was important to us. We even decided to walk down to the marina one morning, and we took a charter out to the British Virgin Islands! Everyone we ran into was very nice and helpful... we got the best out of our trip! The one day it was sprinkling on and off, we took the beach chairs, towels and cooler down to the beach and went from the beach and pool in the sunshine,... to the Sapphire Bar and Grill when it rained. The condo had everything we needed!

I've traveled the world and this is one of my favorite vacations yet. Couldn't be happier with our decision and all the help that Tom provided. Looking forward to going back soon! Very soon!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A week in paradise

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

For a week, this was home.

The location was everything advertised, and more. The view, the sea breeze and the beach just a minute's walk away (O.K., maybe two). The Sapphire Bar and Grill had some of the best food I ate while on the island. Three minutes to Red Hook, maybe 15 to Charlotte Amalie.

If ever I come back to Saint Thomas I will be looking Tom up to rent his condo again.
This unit and its owner are to be recommended to anyone staying on the island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful, clean little apartment with great views

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

This apartment is great for a holiday in the Virgin Islands, just the right size for a couple which includes many amenities. The views are spectacular from the balcony, the owner left some useful items for us to use (including a bottle of local rum!), enough closet space, aircon works brilliantly, free wifi in the pool bar was great, location of this property is also really convenient to the best beaches in the island and some tasty restaurants/decent nightlife.
Thanks for such a memorable stay! We will be back :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great view, great stay!

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

This cozy condo was just right for our party of two. A beautiful view from the balcony, and a short walk to the beach for great snorkeling. Definitely enjoyed our stay and owner Tom is a gem.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Nice Place to Stay!

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

My mom and I stayed at Tom's condo for a week and both felt like it was a great value. Although we wanted to save some money by staying in a condo as opposed to a hotel, we weren't really prepared to sacrifice comfort to save a few bucks. And this place turned out to be perfect. It was clean, efficient and conveniently located -- everything you really need from a vacation rental. The view from the balcony is also a nice bonus! The beach, the marina and the sapphire beach resort office where you can rent a car, catch a cab or book a boat trip to the Bvis (which leaves from the marina right in front of your building) are all within a 5 minute walk from the condo. Tom was very accomodating, provided us with a tonne of information on the island, and even left us a bottle of rum to enjoy when we got there :-) Overall, our trip was enhanced by staying at this condo and we'll definitely be back. Thanks, Tom!

Rita

· By Rita from St Louis on 5/27/2011 for a stay in 5/1/2011

Recommended for: Young singles, Friends getaway, Tourists

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

WOW

Review submitted: May 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

Upon arrival everything went smooth, vacation from April 23rd thru 30th,2011
When we started driving to the Condo, my spouse said "wow" j'aime ca ici...

We very much enjoyed our stay in St-Thomas and we found that we were very well located to many of the beaches ( enjoyed Coki and Megans Bay ) and of course RedHook that we enjoyed very much - St-Thomas is one of the first islands we can say that we liked upon arrival. we said that it is a must to return .
Condo - clean, comfortable, and very well situated.And a perfect view of the islands...and of Sapphire Village Marina - we were not disappointed it was exactly the way we pictured it would be...
Tom the owner was very helpful, sent me information which helped us very much!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Comfortable and Affordable!

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

My sister and I stayed five nights (March 31-April 5, 2011) in this condo and we loved it. It was a very short 5 minute walk to the beach down a pathway located on the actual site. We were two female travelers visiting the island for the first time so we did not know what to expect. We felt very safe at this location and it is very close to a small town with a grocery store. Restaurants are very pricey so staying at the condo saved us a lot of money because we could prepare meals in the small kitchen. The ocean side view from the balcony was beautiful and so was the beach. The beach has a dive shop right on site, as well as reefs with plenty of fish for snorkeling. The water at the beach is crystal clear, just like looking into a bathtub. Everything you need is located within the area so you never have to travel far if you don't want to. The condo is very comfortable and one of the best priced allowing us to save money for duty free shopping! Thanks again Tom we hope to visit again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 29, 2011

Great stay, lovely view

We had a wonderful stay at Tom's adorable studio in Sapphire Village. The view from the balcony is beautiful and we loved watching the seas and sky change from dawn to dusk. The studio had everything we needed and wifi access via ADM (paid) was fine.

We really appreciate the quick responsiveness of Tom (and Joy, the property manager) to our queries and requests. That was so important in making our vacation smooth, enjoyable and hassle-free. For example, the king bed was 2 twin beds pushed together, but Tom sent a bed joiner that Joy promptly installed (and she even changed our sheets :-)

The studio's location is great - a pretty, quick stroll to gorgeous Sapphire Beach and very near Red Hook, with restaurants and where ferries to St. John leave.

All in, great value for our wonderful stay!

· By Ziggy from New York City on 3/29/2011 for a stay in 3/1/2011

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review