reviews for: listing #80981 - Palm Springs, California House rental

Artsy Escape ~
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sunmor
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $2,550 /wk

sort by:

Perfect place for two couples!

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

We just spent a week at this house with another couple and very much enjoyed the experience. The house was clean and tidy, extremely well decorated/appointed, and very functional. Acme was very good to deal with. We would definitely stay there again. Some caveats for prospective renters would include the airport noise (we knew about this beforehand thanks to these reviews and it didn't bother us) and the distance from the downtown core (again we knew we needed a car but being within walking distance might be a choice for some folks).

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Labor day weekend at the Artsy Escape

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We had such a wonderful time celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary at the Artsy Escape! The house and grounds were beautiful, the owners have fantastic taste and design aesthetic. We were very comfortable and appreciated all the amenities. Cooked great meals, enjoyed the pool and all the areas of living space. Thanks for sharing your home, we plan to visit again!

Value: 5/5
Experience: 5/5
Property: 5/5
Overall: 5.00/5.00

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 2013 Stay

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2013

I chose ACME everytine i stay in Palm Springs. Great people, great service, and great homes!

Value: 4/5
Experience: 5/5
Property: 5/5
Overall: 4.75/5.00

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation house escape

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We went to Palm Springs for 8 days and the house was a great place for all of us.

It was spotlessly clean and had all we needed for a relaxing break.

Checking in was easy and the pool and spa worked well.

Only issue and a minor one was proximity to Palm Springs airport you do hear the planes taking off first thing in the mornings.

Overall though a beautiful house well presented and fully equipped.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My family spent a week at this house and had a fantastic time! The house is beautiful and furnishings very comfortable. However, the walls are looking a little beat up with nail holes and black marks etc. The house was very clean except for the kitchen which looked as though only the bare minimum was done to clean it up. i.e. greasy prints all over the cabinets and some kind of sticky spots on the floor as well as a very dirty window covering over the window in the kitchen. The dish washer was also out of order which meant we were hand washing all of our dishes, although I understand that sometimes appliances break down. The patio furniture also looks like it has seen better days. Overall we had a great time and despite these few issues we would definitely come back again!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We hoped for the best

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was very unhelpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
I waited a week to write this, hoping the Property Manager, Lisa P., would respond to our problems with the house, but she didn't. On our first night, it was very cold, so we put on the gas fireplace and then the furnace. When we went to bed, we turned everything off but the carbon monoxide sensors started to ring and wouldn't stop. We called Acme and were told that no one could come that night so we were asked to move to another vacant property which we had to find by ourselves in the middle of the night. In the morning we returned to our rental and I called Acme and asked to speak to the Manager on Duty. The Receptionist said she would call us back and that a maintenance person was on his way. He discovered the fumes from the chimney had been trapped in the fine mesh over the top of the chimney and was pushing these fumes back into the house (dangerous) and did rectify the problem. We also discovered the dishwasher was broken and wouldn't be fixed during our stay, though we had not been told this and Acme knew we rented this property to host a birthday party for 12 people on one of our nights. We felt these 2 issues warranted a reimbursement of some of our rental cost as we had been very inconvenienced. We did not hear from Lisa about this, though I left a message saying we wanted to discuss some reimbursement. On arriving home, I wrote to her twice and did not get a response. Very unfortunate and poor client service. Other minor issues: carpet in master bathroom dirty on arrival and torn, gas knob on stove broken and inoperable, lights over stove not working, espresso machine featured in all kitchen pictures not there, can opener broken which we had to run out and replace during our dinner party. Obviously this vacation was anything but.

Owners response: Unfortunately, the carbon monoxide sensor alarms did go off during the renter's stay after 11 p.m. at night. Because it was so late at night, we felt the best resolution would be to move the renter to another property to ensure everyone's safety. Although we do mobilize to solve any issue during a renter's stay, there can be issues that no one can forsee such as this, and our rental contracts clearly states that we will do our best to resolve any issue within our power to do so.

The next morning our Maintenance Manager and also the Owner of ACME House Co. visited the property to check the carbon monoxide issue. The problem was fixed and resolved within a couple of hours and the renters returned to their vacation home safely.

The dishwasher did break down and we responded immediately by ordering a new part to replace the broken one. This did result in the dishwasher being out of service until the new part arrived, and we apologize if not having the convenience of a dishwasher made for a stressful vacation.

Regarding the renter's request for reimbursement, we did correspond with the renter and offer a reimbursement solution, which was ultimately declined by the renter.

We do thank each reviewer for their feedback as we strive to make every vacation a perfect stay for our clients.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Winter getaway

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was our first trip to Palm Springs. We enjoyed our stay at the Artsy Escape. It was a great location for getting to downtown PS. The house had everything we need to make it a great stay. We loved using the spa every night to look at the stars. Can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Palm Springs 2012

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We would rent this property again. Everything was perfect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect 1st vacation with our baby

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
As a first vacation with our 7 month old we were looking for a clean, comfortable and quiet place.
This house more than exceeded our expectations! Not only was it all of the above, but we were extremely impressed with the well stocked, easy to work in, spotless kitchen. As a cook i was very appreciative of the top of the line appliances (it even had a food processor for my baby's food), dishes, pots and pans and cloth napkins! We also loved that the beds were SUPER comfortable and that there was more than enough bed linens and towels. The layout was ideal and we enjoyed long days by the pool. Our friends visited us from L.A for a couple of days they commented how great the house was set up for entertaining.
There really isn't much negative to say about this property, it was truly great although as someone who is perfume and scent sensitive, i would have appreciated less or unscented cleaning products be used by housekeeping.
We would definitely recommend this property and look forward to renting from Acme House Co. again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great weekend getaway

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We really enjoyed our stay at the "Artsy Escape"! The home was beautifully decorated and so well stocked that I didn't need half the stuff I brought. Had all the necessities you could think of. All the appliances, furniture & bathroom facilities were top of the line and far above other vacation homes I've rented in the past. The pool and deck area were great and the water cool enough to still be refreshing. Even though close to the airport, we only heard a few planes and the neighborhood was very quiet. Great location to downtown and everything. We would definetly stay at this beautiful home again and appreciated all the "extra" touches like bathrobes and toiletries. Renting with Acme was a breeze and they were quick to respond with any inquires I had.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing home - so perfect!

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This home is beautiful! The furniture is comfortable and inviting, the pool and grounds very relaxing, location is central. Most comfortable beds we ever slept in!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Artsy Escape

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Rented this property last minute for me and girl friends as a girls only escape. It was beyond perfect. Elegantly appointed, great amenities, including stocked kitchen appliances, plenty of pots and pans, etc. My only complaint would be that no one has contacted me about getting my deposit back. I guess if it's a problem I'll amend this but was a great experience overall.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Palm springs-loved it!

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great standard of accomodation,kitchen had all the spices,coffee,bin bags,dishwasher detergent etc etc.I know this is not a big deal but the last thing you want to do when you arrive is to go back out and buy the domestic essentials,(it also showed an appreciation of what people want and that shone through with the rest of the house.)
The standard of furnishing was first class, including large screen tvs in all rooms,huge beds and spacious dinning area.The Pool area as a first impression was a bit disapointing because some of the small tiles had fallen off - but not really a big deal.-loved it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

relaxing comfort

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
our second time in this lovely mid century home. beautiful interior decor. we'll be back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Never Again

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very unhappy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was very unhelpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We were all very excited to repeat what has a become a tradition: our annual "do nothing" vacation in Palm Springs. Sadly, each year we have had to stay at a new house, but until now, we have never experienced such disappointment. The house itself is beautifully done. The location is horrible! Whoever said (in their review) that you can't tell you are by the airport is either deaf or clueless. Worst of all was the management company handling the rental. Everything from booking until the partial deposit refund was arduous and impersonal. We have never experienced such lack of care, personality, or joy from working with other homeowners. Additionally, Acme (yes, that's their name - beep, beep!) set out rules and threats against our deposit that left our group of responsible adults wondering if we could even breathe without breaking something, getting arrested, or taking a hit on our very expensive deposit. Never again will we stay at this place, and the next time that one of our inquiries yields Acme as the management company, we will - like the road runner - bolt in the opposite direction.

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us. We agree the house is beautifully done and decorated, Artsy Escape is great place to relax in Palm Springs. If you ever need to know more about the neighborhood please contact us and we are more than happy to describe the neighborhood for you.

Acme takes very great care of ensuring each guest enjoys their stay with us. The booking process is easy - simply log onto our website and book the home directly on the website or call our reservations team and they will gladly walk you through the process. ACME has integrated new policies that will make booking a home much easier and ease any pressure you might have while staying in the home. Instead of paying a damage deposit, you have the choice to purchase damage insurance for $69.99 that protects guests up to $3,000 of accidental damage. I’m sorry you feel the way you do, but we strive to improve the stay of each guest and respond promptly to each concern.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

amazing and relaxing

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This was a great place. I did not want to leave! We had some technical issues with the AC for the first 2 days, however, maintenance installed a new thermostat while we were there so we could control our temperature better. I will definitely go back as this was such a peaceful property!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location in Palm Springs

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We absolutely loved the house it was in very good condition. Very close to the airport, restaurants and shopping. Pool was a little dirty the water looked a little oily and the TV wouldn't work in one of the bedrooms but other than that we were very happy with everything it had to offer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful week in Palm Springs

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Our stay in the "Artsy Escape" could not have been more enjoyable. The house is very comfortable,(especially the beds) clean, and very well equipped. Everything was spotless upon our arrival. There was a bit of difficulty with the entertainment system which was quickly resolved by Lisa from Acme Rentals. The neighborhood was very quiet and the house's outdoor space is completely private. We loved the fact there was always shade available in the pool area throughout the day. We enjoyed the outdoor fire pit in the evenings and also took advantage of the gas grill for a few casual dinners at home. We would not hesitate to return to this home and strongly recommend it to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Hip, Clean, Comfortable, Relaxing Place to Stay"

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2011

Very comfortable place to spend time in the heat of Palm Springs. Property Management Co. was very attentive. We had tech issues with internet and TV that were resolved quickly. Very well stocked kitchen for cooking in, the espresso machine is a nice touch. The pool is well kept and was serviced regularly during our stay. We brought our two kids, ages 7 and 11 and had a blast swimming and relaxing in the hot tub.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great House"

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

The house was very relaxing and perfect for our vacations. We had a great time. It has everything you can possibly ask for. Great indoor and outdoor. Everything inside is clean and ready for use. Spoke with acme House Co to rent the place, they very friendly and qualitative. I would recommend this house and renting company to everyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

Incredible House

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 18, 2011

This house lived up to all the great reviews. The inside and outside is incredible. Every detail is absolutely perfect. The rental agent was easy to work with and even gave me a great last minute deal. With all of that said, here is what I did not care for: The utilities, although calculated only for my stay, were higher than I have ever paid in palm springs while renting a house, the instruction manual for the eltronics in the house needs to be a little more indepth, a few lines just does not cut it, and I expected the pool to be heated upon arrival and instead it was very cold and took 24 hours to heat and I got to pay to heat it up to that temp...lucky me. I have rented numerous houses in Palm Springs and all over the western United States, this is the first house I have come across that I will not be renting again....mainly because of the utilities being so darn high and the pool not ready to enjoy for a whole day. I will say that the house is beautiful beyond words.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pride shows in this Palm Springs Rental

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

We come to Palm Springs every year and this has been the best house ever. The house is large and very clean. My dog enjoyed the yard and we enjoyed the pool. It is close to the airport but the noise was not very noticeable. Two thing that I wish the house had was ceiling fans and better lighting in the kitchen. Otherwise it was wonderful.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

In a word, WOW!

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

I rented this home for a 10 day period in March, 2011 and found it to be one of those rare finds in the vacation rental market.

I first hesitated writing this review thinking that I would like to keep this place a secret, but then had a change of heart. Instead I am writing this as a thank you to them for creating an immensely comfortable and relaxing vacation environment.

The house itself is clean, spacious, designed for entertaining, and beautifully decorated. It is a recent remodel of a mid century classic by someone who has a keen eye for preserving its character while updating and modernizing it to today's standards. The home was clearly decorated by a professional who created a modern, hip and sexy interior. From the terrazzo floors to the furnishings and original artwork, the house is right out of a design magazine. Every imaginable accessory is there, from the 3 flat screens to the gourmet cooking tools. The beds were even more comfortable than the custom made mattress that I have at home. It was like staying in a first rate hotel with all the amenities of a private home!

Outside, there are several patios. One even has a great little gas fire pit and a nice outdoor sofa. I appreciated this when the sun went down and the evenings turned cooler. The yard with the gorgeous pool has postcard views of the mountains. There is total privacy and I was able to enjoy the hot tub almost every evening and enjoy
the sexy lighting, sound system, and the whirlpool. It was soooo relaxing and quiet. I was surprised to learn that the PS airport was so nearby as I did not hear any noise.

The neighborhood itself is interesting, particularly for those who enjoy mid century design. The street is blocked to through traffic and is very quiet. It was nice to walk my dog through the neighborhood and look at all the cool homes without worrying about traffic. I even found the neighbors who I met to be friendly and eager to share their stories about the neighborhood. They even gave me tips on finding other local "mid century gem" neighborhoods which I was able to tour during my stay.

Shopping, movies, restaurants, tennis and golf are all nearby, yet in a quiet non-touristy neighborhood. I used Ruth Hardy Park daily for tennis- only a few blocks away.

You get the picture- great find for a relaxing PS stay with privacy and all the bells and whistles. Thanks again to the owners!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review