reviews for: listing #81018 - Poipu Beach, Hawaii House rental

Poipu Vacation Home - Walk to Beaches
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $205 /nt
    $1,295 - $1,435 /wk

sort by:

great location for the area

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

the house was very clean, maintained well and had everything we needed. Bikes, chairs, and flippers for snorkeling. Centerally located so that you could walk to the beach or out for dinner if you wanted to. We had lots of space with 5 adults and really appreciated having free wifi. Very convenient overall.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Didn't want to leave!

Review submitted: May 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 28, 2014

Thank you for sharing your home so we could enjoy a long awaited Hawaiian vacation with our kids (20's)! The location was great, the amenities were great, we enjoyed being able to cruze down to the beach on the bikes, the boogie boards were fun, and we even got a fresh papaya off the tree out back! I do have to echo some of the other comments, the floors are very creaky! That wouldn't stop us from staying there again though. We had a wonderful time and fell in love with Kauai! Can't wait to go back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location in South Kauai!

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

Great central location, close to beaches, restaurants and shopping. There were 7 of us at this house over Spring Break. We loved it! As previous reviewers have stated the floors are squeaky and there are some noisy birds, but with everybody going and coming at different times we didn't notice it too much. It is to bad the pool is not available, but, the beaches are way better than the pool. The boogie boards and the bikes were great and were used a lot. The lanai and the BBQ were also a wonderful convenience.. Very nicely maintained and stocked. Overall, well worth it and a very nice vacation home! Thank You, Michele!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location!!!

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 23, 2014

we really liked how close to the beach were were. It was easily within walking distance. The neighborhood was fairly quite. The house is good sized and the Lani was fantastic!! The only thing I would say was if you are staying with more than one couple you will all wake up at the same time because the wood floors really squeek! We finally got use to them so it wasn't bad. I tried to book for next year but the owner said they didn't think they were going to rent.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good place to stay in Poipu

Review submitted: January 18, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

Was a nice, well maintained house to stay in Poipu. The kitchen was well stocked and everything was as advertised. The property owner & manager were both helpful. The location was a bit far for walking to the beach for kids, but it was only a 2 minute drive, so it didn't bother us. Interestingly, it can get quite noisy at night and early morning due to the roosters, garbage trucks, neighbors, so I'd recommend ear plugs. It was unfortunate the house no longer has access to the community pool due to the pool's closing, but hopefully that can be fixed someday.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Christmas Getaway - The location could not be better!

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

This is the first Christmas we did not do the boring traditional Christmas. This was our second time to Kauai but this time with 3 grandparents and our little girl. We had plenty of space to spread out in this house. Everything was top notch. The kitchen was a favorite. Out of the 11 days we where on the island we ate in and saved us some major dollars and only went out twice to dinner. We went to the beach nearly every morning for the sunrise. Poipu beach was fantastic and was about a 10-15 walk down the street which nearly had zero traffic. We snorkeled every single day and saw a ton of fish. The Wifi worked well. Everyone was able to use it at once. I would highly recommend this place as it was a great location and the closeness to the beach was really nice for those who didn't want to get out for the day. Also the service level of Michele was excellent. Thanks for letting us stay at your beautiful home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Thanksgiving week at Poipu

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

We were a party of five adults and one child and looking for a place to spend a week away from rainy Oregon. The house is great, very well maintained and equipped with everything you would need. Great location, close to the beach, local restaurants and grocery shopping . The house guide manual is very well written with lot of handy information and useful hints where to go. The manager and owners are very helpful and responsive. We had a problem with the barbecue ignition and it was fixed next day.
Definitely, I would recommend it for families of all ages.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: November 27, 2013   Date of arrival: November 16, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Kauai. The sun shone all week. Thank you for sharing your house with us. House was set up well for 3 ladies. It is so great to be within an easy walking distance of the beach. Central location and we were able to drive easily to all the sight seeing locations on the island.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent home

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

This was a great house for our 2 couple vacation. Good walks (to the beach and beyond) and safe running routes. Loved the quiet neighborhood feel. House felt like home with all we needed to cook most every night. Would definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for relaxing and getting away from the city!

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

What an amazing house in a quiet neighborhood on a beautiful island. After working on the big Island coming to Kauai and spending a long weekend at Rich and Michele's home was the best! The neighborhood is quiet and friendly you can walk, ride bikes or sit on the lanai and enjoy fresh mango from their tree. Michele is a lovely owner who is very easy to work with. The beach, restaurants, and Starbucks are all close by so relaxing or going out are all an option. We can't wait to go back and maybe we will bring our kids next time or not:). Thanks for an incredible stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Home

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

We, had a great time, excellent location walking distance to the beach. Great snorkeling and beautiful Kauai! The home had squeaky wooden so no one (teenager) could sneak out LOL.Thanks for providing the beach chairs and beach toys esp. boogie boards. We did leave an extra chair for you cause Grandpa has bad knees and needed a higher seat :). We all loved the home it was comfortable and relaxing especially the lanai. The only few things we would recommend is new pillows and a better mattress for the queen bed in the back room.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Had a great stay and would stay here again

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

We just returned from a week at your Kauai vacation home and had a great time. The home was spacious and clean for our family of 2 adults and 4 girls. The weather was great and the cool breezes at night made the house comfortable. The chickens crowing at 2, 3 and 4am were another story but that is normal on this island. Our girls made good use out of the snorkeling and boogie board equipment and we enjoyed the beach chairs that were provided. We loved having Poipu and Brenneke beach so close and ended up being our favorites. We got to see a couple of monk seals and sea turtles while we were there. It also turned out to be a great place to see the tropical fish while snorkeling. We were able to visit Waimea Canyon on a beautifully clear day and the north shore area and had a great time.We loved the deck and had mornig coffee out there every day. The washer and dryer were also a life saver and the large grill was a bonus. Overall this house is a great value. We also really appreciate Michele working with us on the late check out

The only negative was that we found out the Kiahuna Swim and Tennis Club closed about a month ago so you may want to remove that from your listing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

2 weeks in Heaven

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 17, 2013

We loved staying in this charming home for two weeks when visiting Poipu Beach for our son's wedding. The house seemed very spacious because of its high ceilings, cooled by ceiling fans in nearly every room and its large deck where we spent most evenings. The ample, remodeled kitchen was large enough for two cooks and was very well stocked. Its high powered blender was handy and in frequent use for making mai tais and pina coladas. Away from the condo congestion, on a quiet street and neighborhood, the home was only a ten minute walk to the beach. Our friends, who opted to stay in condos for about the same price, were jealous of our terrific find! We plan to return sometime soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved your Poipu Vacation Home

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

Thank you, Michelle for sharing your home with us. You have a beautiful home in Hawaii. The property was extremely clean and well maintained. Loved the deck and the barbecue we barbecued every night. The information you provided before and at the house was great customer service. Everything we needed was there... It was like our home away from home. The location was excellent to the beach. It was awesome being walking distance. Having the bikes was great, the kids used them all the time and the boogie boards were awesome to have and the beach chairs. We loved Poipu beach! Boogie boarding was great and the snorkeling was amazing as well. The tennis club was such a bonus too! We went there several times to play tennis and lounge at the pool. I would definitely recommend your property to family and friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

two couples celebrating 45th anniversaries, birthday & valentines day

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

Loved the large open house and yard. We had everything we needed for cooking & relaxing. We did take advantage of some of the local restaurants but most of the time we cooked or packed our lunch to enjoy on the beach. Appreciated the snorkel & beach equipment, cooler & towels. We loved this place. Very comfortable, clean & secure. (We also had a mother hen who strolled through our yard each morning with her 8 baby chicks.) We would recommend this house & area to everyone. We were there for 2 weeks & had no desire to ever leave the island. So much to do. I know we never got to all the beaches but visited many- all beautiful! We snorkeled, rented kayaks, helicopter tour, sunset cruise on the ocean & did an ATV plantation tour. All awesome. Thank you for sharing your home with us. SO much better than staying in a hotel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for our family, ages 2-62

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

This felt just like home! We loved being able to get up when we pleased and not bother those in our party who slept later. Our two-year-old granddaughter especially liked exploring the yard with its chickens and lizards. The lanai offered a great view of the New Years Eve fireworks. And the assorted beach toys and bikes provided were a great convenience. Quiet neighborhood, close enough to everything we needed. Great communication with owner too. All questions were answered before we signed the deal. Thank you for a memorable family vacation. Would definitely consider staying here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing house really feels like home!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

This is such a wonderful place to stay the house is spacious and beautiful. It's in a quite and safe neighborhood and it's super close to the beach you could walk or take a relaxing bike ride. Michele thinks of everything from boogie boards, beach toys and even BBQ essentials. This is the perfect place to stay if you have little ones (we have 3) I would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

We had 2 young families with small children. The house was perfect for us. Very nice location and the beach toys and other items added to our enjoyment. The pool and tennis club is awesome and our only regret is that I wished we checked out the pool sooner. We would spent more time there.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nowicki house great for 2 families

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

Enjoyed the space & location! short walk( or ride) to beach. Great amenities in house! Thanks to our hosts for providing a comfortable home ! We liked Kalapaki Joes also to watch Hockey games..good food & service with lovely views of Brenneke beach. Excellent waves for the teenagers!Thanks for the boogie boards!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely, spacious, island home

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

We loved our stay in this large comfortable home close to Poipu beach. The home and kitchen were well equipped and had everything we needed for a relaxing vacation. There is plenty of room for a family to spread out. Large windows and fans in every room insured our comfort. We especially loved the outside gas grill and table. Instead of eating at pricey restaurants we bought fresh fish and vegetables every day from nearby stores and farmers markets. The neighborhood was quiet and we felt quite safe. Poipu beach is an easy walk and we spent most of our mornings snorkeling there before touring the island. The owners and property manager are terrific. They kept in touch and were more than helpful. They truly wanted to make our stay comfortable. We had plenty of linens and towels and made good use of the washer and dryer! Having internet access and a DVD player were added bonuses. We recommend this home to anyone who wants a relaxing, laid back, and fun stay on Kauai.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Mother and grandmother

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

This was a great home for the five of us (three adults and two small children). We were for want of nothing as the home is so well equipped. The washer and dryer were lifesavers. There was plenty of room for everything and everyone. Its proximity to the beaches is a bonus - definitely walkable, however, we drove as we had small children. We want to rent this home again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Poipu Home

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

We highly recommend this rental! Our family stayed one week and had an amazing time exploring and experiencing Kauai. The home is very comfortable and on a quiet street. It is in excellent condition and is fully equipped with everything you will need. Including all beach and cooking accessories. Everything you need for the beach is provided, including beach chairs, snorkel gear, floats, cooler, boogie boards, beach towels etc. Many nights we grilled/cooked at the house and ate out on the lanai. So nice with a great breeze and privacy. With a 3 year old and 6 year old being close to Poipu beach was perfect. This ended up being our favorite beach because it was great for the little ones and great snorkeling for us. Being so close made it easy for quick visits after being out all day, just a ten minute walk or one minute drive. There was always plenty of parking at the beach. The house was centrally located to everything we wanted to see and do. If you want some good local food and fresh poke you have to try the Koloa Fish Market, my favorite. We have already recommended this home to family and friends and can't wait for our next visit. Thanks for sharing your home with us. I would definitely recommend this house for your visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great family vacation house

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

My 2 adult children and their spouses and I stayed here for a week and it was perfect for our annual family vacation. We cooked most nights and found everything we needed in the kitchen to make the meals, and then ate out on the deck most nights - and there were no bugs at all. The grill cooks loved the grill. We liked the lay- out which gave us enough space to be alone while the living room was large enough for us all to enjoy together. The dining room table was great for card and board games. We used lots of towels, the cooler, the swim fins and a face mask, and the beach chairs each day as we explored in our rental car and went on various hikes or beaches. One couple was delighted to have the bikes to ride to Poipu Beach in the early morning for a before breakfast swim each day.
There are a couple of great gardens to tour quite close by. One, the Moir garden, is an orchid and cactus garden which is free to tour and is about a mile away. It was a pleasant after dinner visit.
I have already recommended this place to some other friends. It is in a quiet and convenient location and really reasonably priced for a group of people. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful stay near Poipu Beach

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

My family all agrees, we highly recommend this rental. Especially nice was the attention to detail - the outdoor grill was freshly cleaned when we arrived, the owners have provided a helpful guide to the area, the grounds are in excellent condition, the sheets were clean and the bath closet fully stocked with towels, and fresh fruit was provided. The ease of settling in allowed us to have a wonderful vacation starting day 1.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Poipu Getaway

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

Our group of 5 stayed from January 8-29/11. This house is located in a quiet area and is well equipped with all the things needed to a have a comfortable vacation. The kitchen has everything needed to do your cooking, which we took advantage of. There was lots of beach stuff, boogie boards, mats,snorkel equipment, beach chairs etc., and even a cooler to take lunches with you. The beach is a 10 min. walk, although we drove. We enjoyed watching the monk seal and the sea turtle lazing on the beach as well as watching the many whales pass by. It was great sitting on the lanai first thing in the morning with our coffee contemplating what to do that day and again at happy hour to discuss our supper plans. Didn't eat outside because of the mosquito's. It was great having the washer and dryer available, we certainly put it to use.
We loved our time on Kauai and can't wait to return. Thank you Michele for sharing your little piece of paradise with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Close to the Beach, yet very quiet

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

We had a marvelous time in Poipu. The home was very comfortable and conveniently close (a 10 minute walk) to Poipu Beach. It was on a very quiet street. Both the owner and the property manager were very helpful and thorough in our interactions. It was invaluable to have the W/D available, and we kept them humming. The kitchen was well stocked. There were plenty of towels. Beach amenities were very useful. The home was not luxurious, but was comfortable. The Master Bathroom could use some updating.

Overall, great location, appropriately priced, very quiet, owners very easy to work with. We would stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Poipu Home

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

We just returned from our stay at this amazing Poipu home. The house was very easy to get to, convenient to everything (10 minutes walk one of the best beaches on the island) and very comfortable. Michele and Rich had the house stocked with everything imaginable - a cooler for long days away from home, backbacks, chairs, umbrellas...! The house also had plenty of room - we had 8 people and everyone had a place to sleep. The mangoes from the backyard were delicious to enjoy while sipping a glass of wine in the Hawaiian breeze. I would definitely recommend this house for your visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Close to Beach

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

This comfortable family home completely lived up to our hopes and expectations. Michele and Richard are great to work with: easy to communicate with and very helpful. The house was easy to find and provided all the amenities for a peaceful stay. We especially loved being a 10-minute walk from Poipu beach; so much fun to just walk down for a quick dip first thing in the morning or at the end of a busy day sightseeing. Looking forward to coming back next year! Thanks for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 8, 2010

Working with Michele was a pleasure. We originally had a different house lined up and the deal broke though last minute, so we were stuck without a place to stay with our vacation a few months away. We found her home and she happily accommodated/saved us with ease and professionalism. The house itself was very easy to find located in a quiet neighborhood. The neighborhood is only few minutes’ walk away from the beach which was perfect! The home itself was very beautiful inside and out. The living room and deck area were very relaxing and having laundry machines was great with a 3 year old in tow. Very kid friendly, with lots of clean towels, beach toys, and even some bikes. The bedrooms were perfect and the kitchen was impressive by being loaded with everything you might need to cook and even use the BBQ. A quick trip to the store and we were stocked for week, thus making it more affordable. The trip was perfect and we will definitely stay their home when we return! Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 21, 2010

We would like to thank Michele and Richard for the use of their home. The location of their home was great. We were within walking distance to Poipu Beach and a beautiful swimming and tennis club. We were able to sit on their patio and watch the fireworks at Poipu Beach on New Year’s Eve. We traveled with a one year old and being away from the big hotels was great. It was quiet and peaceful. Our daughter had her own room and there was a pack-n-play in there. The room was farther away from the family room so we did not have to worry about noise. There was also a booster seat for her. Their kitchen has everything you can think of to make it feel like home. They even had towels and beach toys for us to use. This house is beautiful, very close to everything including a grocery store, and kid friendly! We had a wonderful vacation and loved everything about Kauai and this house. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review