reviews for: listing #81033 - Hollywood Hills, California House rental

Hollywood Hills AMAZING VIEWS GUESTHOUSE
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $169 - $218 /nt
    $1,150 - $1,500 /wk
    $4,200 - $4,900 /mth

sort by:

The best view in LA

Review submitted: August 18, 2008   Date of arrival: May 10, 2008

Of all the places I have stayed on my visits to LA before, this is the only one that looks like it is brand new with up to date features like stainless steel appliances, new furniture, etc. The owners hospitality was outstanding, and he was very friendly and easy going.
At one point we were amazed to see a deer standing on the couch, on the viewing deck, eating a grapefruit out of a tree in the yard!
This place feels hidden, but you can see the whole city and you can get anywhere in minutes. We went to the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Hollywood & Highland, Chinese Theater, wax museum, Griffith Park Observatory, Universal City, and all were less than 3 minutes away.
This is my new favorite place to stay!




The view alone is worth the price of the rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Location, location, location!

Review submitted: August 13, 2014   Date of arrival: July 29, 2014

Amazing canyon setting with million dollar views of LA. Enjoyed seeing the coyote pups playing in the canyon below as we enjoyed our morning coffee on the deck. Leon was a delightful host giving us tips to navigate the city including his secret way to get down to Hollywood in five minutes and to the nearby Hollywood Bowl on a busy Saturday night. Thank you, Leon, for a delightful visit.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly amazing Jetliner Views Hollywood Hills CA

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

Leon was extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area! He was readily available to answer phone calls or emails.
He met us outside and proceeded to carry our luggage for us into the guesthouse. His laid back attitude was great. He gave us info on where to go while visiting.
The guesthouse was perfect for myself and two daughters. It was clean, and adorable! Very nice deck and outside sitting area in which to enjoy views. Wide windows in which to enjoy view from inside as well.
You are on the mountain, feeling like you are 100 miles from the city. When in fact you are 5 minutes away.
You have to actually BE in this guesthouse to enjoy the AMAZING view!!
I want to thank Leon again for everything! When you meet him, you feel as if you have known him forever.....
He even hooked us up to a New Year's Eve party. Wow...
Loved it!! Have a great year Leon... Maybe we will see you again sometime.
Sherry
PS I got my security deposit back immediately. Everything was as Leon said it would be. He is a man of his word.....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Views to die for, figuratively speaking

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

What views! I was alone and this is a very comfortable home in which to stay. Just sitting out on any lanai in the cool breeze either reading or taking in the views put this New Yorker into a state of serenity.

There are 2 routes up and down the hills, depending on which way you're headed. Around the corner from Universal Studios located centrally to anywhere you're going on your holiday. Leon is very friendly and keeps the place immaculate. I am looking forward to my next stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just do it.

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

A perfect sized place for one or two people with a ridiculous view of the whole city. It's quiet and private, but only a few minutes drive from Hollywood or hiking in the hills. The owner is sweet and laid back and super accommodating. Renting this place is a no-brainer.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AMAZING PLACE

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

these pictures do NOT do justice for this place. the view is absolutely AMAZING. its a perfect size and great location! friendly neighborhood and the apartment itself is tucked away creating a very personal environment where you can feel at home but have your own space. the owner is adorable and so friendly! i love this guy! im from Massachusetts and this place still feels like home because its so comfortable. so glad i chose this place!!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

LA gem

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Location: absolutely great. On west Hollywood hills; incredible views of the city from 2 large windows; minutes from 101, Hollywood and Sunset Blvd, Griffith Park, museums and restaurants. So close to all the action, yet remote enough we were visited by a family of deers one morning - priceless.
Accommodation: excellent. Slept very comfortably (2 adults and 2 kids); full kitchen; great bathroom. Wi-fi worked well.
Owner: great person. Crazy nice, great hospitality, extremely helpful on places to visit / hings to do in the city.
I'd certainly recommend Leon and his place to anyone I know - and look forward to going back!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place with a great view and owner

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Stayed here with my parents (3 adults total) and we thoroughly enjoyed the place and the views. We came here in July and even when the weather was warmer than usual, the place stayed cool but there is an AC if you should need it. The owner is very accommodating and made us feel welcomed. As others have noted, the place is very conveniently located from the freeway and the city but feels very quiet and serene. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

staying like at paradise in LA

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

My family (with two kids 7 yd and 9 yd) stayed at this property between 13-16th of June 2012. Located on a hilltop with panoramic city reviews of L.A., it is seclusive, but easy access to all the attraction sites within 1-2 mile distance. The place is spacious, with living room at top level, master bedroom at lower level, each with a full bathroom. Leon is a great down-to-the-earth guy, very sincere and amenable. Highly recommend to any travelers to LA.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Secrets to the City

Review submitted: May 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

This place is absolutely UNLIKE any other place I've stayed. Not only does it have the most breath-taking views, but the privacy and the peace at this place is like no other. It's a TRUE FIND! In addition to that it is extremely convenient to all of the sights and restaurants with short cuts to all of them without encountering traffic.

The owner knows every short cut and fast way to get anywhere in the city. He seems to have the secrets to the city and I find this to be one of the most valueable things to me.

The guest house is immaculate with a neat, modern style.

The host had so many amazing tips for someone like me who is not from Los Angeles. I highly recommend staying here!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

"Well it's one more day up in the canyon, and it's one more night in Hollywood"

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 6, 2012

And what a fabulous place to spend days and nights in the Hills. The house is indeed situated in a very nice neighborhood with gorgeous views, with movie stars living all around.

It's a toss-up as to which was better, the house/views or Leon's insightful hints and tips for exploring Hollywood. Ask him for advice - you'll be glad you did. By the way, the house is very close to one of the trail entrances for Runyon Canyon, and the views are stunning from many of the trails. And yes, the trails are another spot for running into movie folks.

Check out www.onlocationvacations.com/category/daily-filming-locations/ where you can see what's filming and where. I went to an NCIS set in a swishy neighborhood and watch as the crew blew up a car so that is would land on its roof -- almost did.....:)

Enjoy your trip to Hollywood!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Place Above the Rest!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

For basically the price of a hotel room, we got this super private, peaceful and quiet guest house with a little yard and sitting area with wonderfully comfortable outdoor rocking chairs and a serene fountain which has the most breathtaking view that is visible from everywhere inside and outside the guesthouse.

This place is very modern. The bathroom has glass tiles and a jacuzzi tub and even has a view of the city from a window in the shower.

There are large windows for viewing the sparkling lights of downtown Los Angeles from every spot inside the guesthouse as well as the outside viewing decks.

The kitchen has stainless steel appliances and a quartz counter top.

This guesthouse seems like it is way above the city, however within 1 mile you are within all the sites and attractions.

The owner was very helpful with suggestions on where to go and what to see and the best route to go.

We will definitely be going back as soon as we get more vacation time!!
OH!! The pictures do not do this place justice.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Incredible view!

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

We stayed there for a couple of days over December holidays and we had a great time. Like in the other reviews, the highlight was the amazing view on LA. We could not spend enough time looking at it (You can even see it from the shower!).

Leon, the owner, is very cordial and helpful. We came late due to flight delays but he arranged everything, so we could self-check in. He came to check on us later to see if everything was alright.

The drive to the place is quite an experience by itself through Hollywood hills and Mulholland Drive. I'll definitely recommend this place.

To be noted: Some appliances start to look oldish and we could find some dust, as we move the couch (we used it as a bed for one of us). But it was nothing dramatic that could have spoiled our stay there!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Different From the Rest!!!

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

We just finished a wonderful vacation in Los Angeles and stayed at a delightful slice of heaven in the Hollywood Hills, overlooking the entire city of Los Angeles. It was so close to all of the sights, just over a mile away, yet private, secluded, peaceful and with the most amazing view. We come to LA frequently but we usually stay at hotels and decided to give this type of stay a try. Now it’s the only way we will go. We look forward to coming back to this place on our next trip out to LA.

The kitchen was high-tech modern and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom has beautiful glass tiles. The place is clean and safe and has nice sitting areas outside with very comfortable rocking chairs. Again, the view was amazing!!

The owner was very helpful with suggestions on where to go and short cuts on how to get everywhere.

We will be recommending this guest house to all of our friends.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Panoramic Views and Close to Hollywood Attractions

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

Stayed at this property over the 2011 Tgiving holiday. Impressed with the unobstructed 120-150 degree panoramic views of L.A. Interestingly enough I felt like I was in a tree house since trees and nature surround you (hard to find in an urban setting like L.A.). Size wise, it is probably the size of an Embassy Suites room so 4 people will max out the available space. Amenities are basic, but the trade off is the view. The proprietor, Leon, is great. Available to answer all your questions. Even took the time to help me bring down a large amount of luggage and set up the fouton.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best place in LA!

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

I have stayed at this place in the best and will stay again! It is probably the best place you could stay at in LA, the views are literally first class. You can even see the Hollywood sign from the backyard. During the night I could just stare at the view for hours... Leon is very friendly and accommodating guy, it is always a pleasure to deal with him. Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

House in the hills

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

excellent place to stay. Leon very amenable, lives above the property although not obtrusive. Views are everything people say. Hollywood blvd only 10 mins away where there is a Fresh and Easy supermarket.
Would certainly stay here again when we come back to LA.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

THIS VACATION HOME IS PARADISE!!

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2011

The home has gorgeous views, and it’s tastefully decorated. Delicious restaurants nearby, and serene neighborhood. The landlord is lovely and goes above and beyond. Our stay was incredible from arrival through departure. We stayed for five days. We did not want to leave! And can’t wait to come back to this home..Amazing location. It’s worth every penny to have a magnificent time, in in this beautiful home, over a crowded hotel. For a trip to unwind, this vacation home will not disappoint! We have stayed at many homes in California, and this is definitely our favorite. We highly recommend it.

Thanks, we had a lovely time.

Emily C. Jones
Minnesota

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best spot in the Hills

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 27, 2011

Great view, great little house, good shower, comfy bed.

And Leon is super friendly and accommodating.

Very good choice if you want the Hills.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place to stay and see LA!

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 10, 2011

If you want more bang for your buck, then definitely stay here at Leon's location! Upon arrival we were blown away by the amazing view of LA that we had as we walked down to our private entrance of the efficiency where we'd be spending our time over the next few days. Then we realized there's a lovely fountain and chairs outside the entrance where you can relax peacefully and enjoy the view better, not to mention the entire living room is a window where you can see the view from inside the house.

Then Leon, our gracious host, sat down with us for at least a half an hour offering tips for places to go and things to see and also excellent directions for those places. He was so great to us, it was truly like we were staying with an old friend!

But the best part about staying here, is certainly the location. You are up in the Hollywood Hills, so you feel like you are in a private mtn getaway, but EVERYTHING is literally minutes away: the Chinese Theater, the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Beverly Hills, Burbank, Griffith Observatory, Runyon Canyon, amazing restaurants - you name it and it's close by!

I would certainly recommend this place to any of my friends...in fact, I already have! And if I ever get back to LA soon, I will definitely give Leon a call first!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A wonderful place with an amazing view

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

My girlfriend and me stayed here this February, we both fell in love with this wonderful place and hope to come back soon.
Leon, the owner, is one of the nicest person I've ever met. This was our first time in L.A. and he had great tips and advices for us.
The apartment is neat and clean with a beautiful interior and has everything on can wish for, but the best thing about this place is the view.
The pictures here don't do the view any justice, if you see it in person you'll be speechless. The location is perfect, it's so quiet and natural but if you drive down the hill trough Outpost you're in the heart of the
Hollywood BLVD in 5 minutes, it's unbelievable.
Defintely Recommend!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful stay, beautiful views in a GREAT place!

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here over President's Day weekend and my only regret was that we couldn't stay longer! A very nicely appointed, quiet space w/beautiful views over the city. The pictures do not do it justice - it's much more spectacular in person! The LA cityscape is in full view right from the patio! We also saw deer on our last morning!
Our host Leon was very accommodating and we were lacking nothing. A great place to get away, but with the convenience of being 5 minutes away from the heart of Hollywood if you seek some action! Much nicer, private and economical than staying in a hotel. We will be back!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great time, great view, excellent owner!

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

I recently stayed and had the best time ever in LA! Leon was very helpful and gave excellent directions of the area. The view was amazing. Would love to stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hollywood Hills

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 11, 2011

As soon as you look out the large windows of this stylish guest house apartment you know you have arrived in the Hollywood Hills. This place is perfect if you want to taste the lifestyle of the stars or just want a quiet retreat. A short walk to Runyon Canyon offers fabulous walking trails and the most spectacular views in all of LA. The owner is super nice and helpful. I can't say enough about this gorgeous find. You'll never want to leave.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Will Stay Here Anytime in LA

Review submitted: November 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 26, 2009

I lack the words... you can't buy what all is offered here... if you're looking for a place that isn't like anything else you've seen (in a good way lol) ... this is it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous

Review submitted: November 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 14, 2010

The photos do not due this place justice at all! Fantastic views and very clean. We have stayed here three times while assisting in our son's recent move to the area. Leon is great and so helpful with suggestions. The location is prefict within a few miles of everything, we even walked to Holliwood Boulivard down Runyan Canyon and back. We saw many deer and other wild life, including the elusive famous actors. Highly recommend it to almost anyone. The only potentilal issue would be for anyone who might have a problem with the steep stairs that lead to the front door. We did not and appreciated the added privacy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dream House in the Clouds

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

What else could one say except that the time spent at this fantastic home in the Hollywood hills was nothing short of spectacular! We were upgraded to the main house, with its spectacular terrace views of downtown Los Angeles, great kitchen and fabulous living space!. The home is an easy, central headquarters location for exploring Hollywood or just about anywhere else in driving distance ... including movie/TV studios, museums and great nightlife! Leon provided a special place for a special occasion - and a beautiful driving shortcut through an exclusive neighborhood which made all trips down the hill effortless. We are veterans of traveling [and working] in Los Angeles so the trip wasn't a first, but it was truly the best place we've ever stayed at in the area! And it is the first place I've ever stayed at where the owner took PayPal! I'd recommend this home for anyone who wants a true Hollywood experience at a great price ... from a really nice owner.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great host, location and views

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

Firstly, Leon is a wonderful guy. Very kind, helpful and easy going.
He overbooked us with another guest and at no extra cost gave us the complentary upgrade to the upstairs property (usually 2-3 times the price). The place was homely, comfortable with all the necessary modern comforts such as cable, hi speed wifi, cooking equipment etc with a fantastic view of the city from the Hollywood Hills. It's just a short trip down the road to Sunset and Hollywood boulevards.

All in all a very cheap and good alternative to hotel accommodation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic place, stunning views, awesome host

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2010

I have to say I was a bit skeptical as I read all the 5-star reviews. I mean how come one only gets 5-star reviews?

... and then we arrived!

Well, our host, Leon and his beautiful apartment easily exceeded our expectations! The view over L.A. is just fabulous not only at night but also at sunrise.

The place is only 30 minutes walk away (7 mins by car) from the famous Walk of Fame. It's a kind of walk when you get to see really expensive homes in a top-notch neighbourhood - who knows, you might even spot a celebrity!

Leon was always available when we needed him, that said we couldn't recommend him or the lovely apartment any better!

We had a great time there! Thanks Leon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

city splendor,hillside retreat

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

My girlfriend and I were in dire need of a break from the constant pace of metropolitan speed,and seperate work schedules.This was the ideal stay.Shaded by canyon trees,and a short distance from amenities not available at a hotel,the short drive to peace is worth
it all.Losing ourselves in a romantic weekend of picking backberries,
or just curling up to a book in the late hours of daylight,it recharged our souls.
Take your walking shoes.Serenity will meet you halfway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It was great!

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 11, 2010

Wonderful place to stay. Overlooking Hollywood and close to everything. Highly recommended. Property was clean and Leon is an excellent host.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Leon's point of view

Review submitted: March 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

The best thing about staying here,aside from the property itself is the
owner/proprieter.The amenities are and location offer great comfort
and views,but it is the very unique approach Leon takes to making you welcomed that is the icing.
My girlfriend and I were treated like family and never once wanted for anything.Leon is not only a very gracious host,and knowledgeable of the entire area,but even offered to show us around.
We had a great time,shared dinner he offered one late night when our plans went awry,and he kept us laughing the entire stay.There
aren't many people who go out of their way to make sure you feel
like you're at home.
We were kept company by deer and walked the area to the park
and canyons for hiking.I could not be more pleased,and will definitely go back.Leon gave us a personal list of restaurants that aren't as
expensive or touristy,and we plan on using it next time we visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

amazing rental

Review submitted: December 1, 2009   Date of arrival: November 4, 2009

stayed here for 2 weeks back in may, couldnt have asked for a better view or location. Landlord is VERY cool, i even hit his mailbox with my car and he didnt care/dealing with very nice people. The house is on a steep hill, sometimes parking was an issue but it's just a little tight parallel parking at worst. Great rental for anyone that likes to go on runs, Sooo many scenic routes to take. The price was fair, all the amenities worked- i could see myself renting here again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

I love this place!

Review submitted: November 5, 2009   Date of arrival: October 22, 2009

Great location. Great view. Spent a weekend here for the U2 Rose Bowl show. The place is very private with wonderful views. Right off of Mulholland Drive. Near all my favorite Hollywood locations. Would definitely stay here again. Leon is a great host.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous and Comfy!

Review submitted: September 2, 2009   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

My fiance took me through all of California for my 40th birthday in August of 2009 and we stayed at this "escape home" while in the LA area. We absolutely enjoyed the view every morning and every night (pictures just don't do it justice)! We loved the location as it was minutes away (we really enjoyed Runyan Canyon just down the road) from anything and the drive up the Hollywood Hills was always fantastic.

Thanks for making our stay PERFECT! We will definitely be coming back (hopefully sooner rather than later).

Yvonne & Derek
Dallas, TX

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peaceful, Quiet and yet only minutes to Hollywood

Review submitted: August 30, 2009   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

This was our first visit to the LA/Hollywood area and we were so glad that we rented this home and did not stay in a hotel. This rental is exactly as advertised and much more as you can't imagine such a quiet location which is just minutes from all of the activity in Hollywood. Leon was a terrific host who provided us with great directions and hints for manuvering around the Hollywood area.
If you're looking for an unassuming little home to stay in and aren't looking to be catered to, then check our this rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AWESOME! BEAUTIFUL! SUPERIOR!

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: March 5, 2009

We stayed in the first weekend in March of 09 for my birthday, and all I can say is WOW! We couldnt have been an happier, after landing and speaking to Leon there was a little mix up and without even thinking twice Leon fixed the situation and gave us the main house. When we walked in all we could do is stare like dummies on how awesome the view was. We ran all over LA, and seriously we had more fun at the house just because of the security privacy and location of the home.The neighbors were even great just like Leon any question we had was answered. His knowledge of places to eat chill and people watch in LA were very cool. (Which by the way Leon I am very sorry about this very very late review.) The house was awesome, it was clean, flat panels TVs throughout. And the bathroom was something that came out of a magazine. Multiple balconies were a huge A++ for me personally. The first morning I woke up and stepped out to the balacony I saw 3 deer and a pack of coyotes down below the house in the valley playing. If you are looking vacation in LA and do it right in a upscale type fashion, Leon is your man to email. I love LA and would only want to stay here again. Again Leon thanks again for everything and making this birthday something I will never forget!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Hills, LA

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 4, 2009

my first review for these sorts of things. great place. very private. beautiful view.

Leon, the owner is wonderful. helpful, respectful, doesn't over do it. just right.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantasyland!!!

Review submitted: March 31, 2009   Date of arrival: March 10, 2009

This was a private mountain resort over looking the whole city of Los Angeles and only minutes away from all attractions. Very convenient!!

I have stayed in LA on several occasions and this, by far, was the most amazing. I wish I had found this place on my previous trips!

The pictures do not do this place justice. It is surreal. The greatest thing about this place is that you have virtually no one else around you. It's extremely private and quiet unlike most hotels and places I have stayed where there are lots of neighbors with shared walls.

This place is indeed A FIND!! The guest house is so well-appointed, it even has stainless steel appliances, lots of windows and THE VIEW from virtually everywhere in the place. I found the bed to be very comfortable and it even has a great little office area with a desk so I could comfortably get my work done. There is also high-speed wireless internet which worked and without an extra fee.

The bathroom has the newest high-tech glass tiles and an actual bathtub and also looks to be brand new. In addition, there were 2 amazing sitting areas outside the guest house and both had charming water fountains. The bottom one is a large viewing deck with a grapefruit tree above and when I sat on the deck, I felt like I was one with nature.

The owner was very laid back and helpful with everything we needed. He made me feel right at home. He even showed me short cuts on how to get around the city.

I hated to leave and I can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spectacular View and Location

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

This rental has the most spectacular view. Pictures do not do it justice. From Mulholland Drive all the way to an amazing view of L.A. itself. The accommodations are modern and comfortable, and your host is very friendly.
I hope to go back one day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great owner and great view

Review submitted: March 4, 2009   Date of arrival: November 18, 2008

My son and I stayed in this great apartment....It was literally on the side of a mountain...may not be so appropriate for anyone with handicaps because of the walk down, but we loved it!!!

Quiet nice and easy parking and the owner was the best!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: February 18, 2009   Date of arrival: May 10, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week to set ourselves up for a permanent move and we could not have been happier staying here. The location is probably the best in the entire city, being close to everything in LA and the valley without any sounds of the city. It was as quiet as my hometown in rural Massachusetts.

The pictures were very accurate and we were still surprised by how beautiful the property was. The view was one of the best I had ever seen of any city. The downtown LA skyline was breathtaking and the cliffy wooded hills below us really illustrated the more natural side of Southern California. We had quite a few deer and coyote sightings. The city is just the top half of the view. The property was very modern and recently modeled. Leon takes a great deal of pride in his craftsmanship and it really shows. It was so impressive that I hosted a business meeting right in the living room.

Leon was very helpful from the second our plane touched down, giving us great directions and a few driving tips. When we got there, he helped us with our bags and was more than happy to show us how to use the remote. We had some amazing nights because of Leon's helpful recommendations.

When the week was over, we left Los Angeles with a great taste in our mouths. The stress free environment with the entire city at our fingertips left us very well acquainted with the area and optimistic about starting our lives out here. It's well worth the price and will make your stay feel like a Hollywood movie.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Million Dollar View

Review submitted: February 17, 2009   Date of arrival: January 7, 2009

This property has the most amazing view both day and night. There is even a mirror positioned to see the view from bed. Right outside the entry is a sitting area with a fountain and two chairs. I enjoyed reading in the morning sun. Everything is modern and functional. I particularly appreciated an alcove off the bed area that had a desk to work at. The Wi-Fi worked great. The location is near to everything you want to see in Hollywood and parking was mostly on the street, but convenient. Universal and WB studios are within 10 minutes, the LA Zoo just as close. Be aware that the entrance is one level below the street, which means there is a flight of stairs to negotiate with two turns to get from the street to the entry. We're agile seniors and had no difficulty, but if you have problems with stairs you will not be happy. The bathroom is really nice and the bed very comfortable. It is very quiet and peaceful. We look forward to returning. C & P.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Seriously incredible

Review submitted: February 17, 2009   Date of arrival: October 31, 2008

We got married on the beach the first part of November and unfamiliar with the area we were probably a little apprehensive about everything going on. No need for that at all. The views are even more impressive than the pics show and there are stars all around you in the Mulholland/ Woodrow Wilson Dr. area. We wanted to stay in Hollywood Hills so that's what steered us this way, but it's tremendously close to everything and within a day (and with a little help from Leon, the owner) we had learned our way around enough to be comfortable. Super nice and helpful guy by the way. Really just can't say enough. Oh, and he told us we might but we actually did have deer come out and feed in the back yard (hills) at night. Beautiful city views, hills and homes everywhere...and then DEER. Strange but really cool. We hope to visit again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect stay

Review submitted: February 12, 2009   Date of arrival: February 2, 2009

We absolutely loved staying in this apartment, it was very comfortable, clean, well maintained and had all that we needed to enjoy our stay. It's a wonderful location, very central and close to everything. We enjoyed the lovely terrace very much, which is sat overlooking the hills, it has an amazing view. During the day you can see right across the city, which at night looks stunning. We were even lucky enough one day to see a family of deer grazing just beneath us. Also, Runyon Canyon is a short walk away, which is absolutely breath taking and not to be missed! Leon was really helpful and on hand whenever we needed anything. We'll be sad to leave as we completely fell in love with this place, but will definitly be back when we can. Thanks Leon for a terrific stay! Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The best view on L.A.

Review submitted: September 11, 2008   Date of arrival: July 31, 2008

It is a very nice place to stay, very close to Hollywood boulevard and Universal city studios. Besides, from this house we have an amazing view on Los Angeles. Moreover the owner is very welcoming and helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Terrific view on LA

Review submitted: September 2, 2008   Date of arrival: August 14, 2008

Nice place to lodge in Hollywood. Great view on the city !It's very pleasant to feel like in the nature and nevertheless to be at 5-10 minutes away by car of Hollywood Bd, Universal Studios, Griffith Park...

The landlord is very kind and will help you to discover the city. I'll be back as soon as I can.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review