reviews for: listing #81034 - Florence, Oregon House rental

SeaWatch.. .Beach House w/views and Easy Beach Access
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $75 - $165 /nt
    $600 - $950 /wk
    $1,600 - $3,600 /mth

sort by:

Perfect Beach Getaway Home

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

My girlfriends and I rented this house for our annual girl's weekend trip. We loved this house from the spiral staircase to all the extras that were provided! Beach access and view were awesome. The house is quaint, homey, and quite lovely. We will definitely be back!!!

Owners response: You guys left the place so nice.. Would love to have you back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Nice home

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Date: Tuesday, August 28, 2012, 5:56 AM

Hi Glenda,
Just got home from renting your very nice Florence home, and found one of the black hand towels that was hanging on the stove handle in the kitchen in our dirty laundry! Maybe someone used it and put it in our laundry pile by mistake. It is now clean. We certainly did not mean to bring it home. We can send it to you tomorrow, or let us know how to settle it.
Thanks
Mark and Debbie

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great vacatoin with kids

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

My family needed someplace to stay for Spring Break (Wa) where we could take in the Oregon coast, but on a budget. We were pleasantly surprised with the accomodations we were able to secure at the Sea Watch beach house. Our three kids loved the loft where they could each have a bed of their own and, as parents, we enjoyed having a bedroom by ourselves. The house is small, but it didn't feel cramped and it had everything we needed: Wi-fi, a Blu-Ray player, large flatscreen TV, desk, fireplace, fully-functional kitchen, and washer/dryer. You're close enough to the beach that you can walk to it in just a couple minutes. Got refunded the full deposit in a timely manner. Glenda seemed very nice. Only downsides: if you have rowdy kids like we do, you can hear them in the loft above you while you're trying to decompress in the bedroom and the heater in the main family room was a bit temperamental, but it did eventually start working. Would definitely stay there again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring Breaker

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 29, 2013

Cute home with all that you need for a great price. Great outside decks, nice view and easy beach access. Full kitchen, Tv's, BBQ and laundry area. In a quiet neighborhood with very friendly people and a small town feel. The owner was also very nice to deal with...something that is always a plus in my opinion. Only suggestion to future renters is to bring fire logs for the beautiful fireplace as it can get cold at night. Our first stay in Florence and we will be back

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great views and easy access

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 29, 2013

Great Location. 2 minutes to the beach and easy walk. Cozy and clean and Glenda was great to work with

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time at your house

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

Thanks, Glenda. We had a fantastic time! The house is so cute and the beach was beautiful! It was the perfect memorial Day weekend excursion. Weather was not great Sunday but we were able to explore Florence instead of the beach. Hope you had a great weekend.
Jenny

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

overdue review of a great house!

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

The house decription is less than adequate. The downstairs bedroom has a comfortable queen bed, ample closet space and a lovely TV. The fireplace is house center with the living room on the west side, all windows! Outside a great wood deck wraps around half the house. Super views! The dining area, adjacent, has a table and chairs set, as well as bar seating. The kitchen has the appliances you use daily. We roasted a pork loin and made chicken soup from scratch. Very functional. The laundry area is enclosed in the hall leading to the bathroom. Nice tub/shower combo. There is a nautical theme throughout, only 1 block off Haceta Beach. A spiral staircase takes you to the rest of the beds. We are only two but I can imagine this full of a fun loving family. Two single (fat) fold down chair-to-beds and a double in between really boosts the household capacity. There is a super deck off that 2nd level as well. Several good views of the ocean.
We enjoyed walking the beach the best. Stormy times bring big changes to the sandy beach, especially at the Sutton Creek channel and dunes. We loved the Siuslaw Pioneer Museum, really excellent for a town this size. We had great fun at the Three Rivers Casino (on them, what's better?), the casino buffet is the best I've seen. The Darlingtonia Wayside is a great short day trip to see live eating plants. Maybe 30 minutes there.
Glenda is an excellent woman. She is very responsive and has a variety of current things to do and local history on the coffee table. There was a sweet surprise on our arrival making it all the more special. Really worth it, excellent deal for minimalist travelers like us. Our stay was two weeks.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was great

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

Hi Glenda

We recceived refund Thankyou Rental was great enjoyed our stay and well be coming back next year. Lets keep in touch.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

Thanks so much for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Satisfaction with Rental

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Thanks Glenda for your prompt response. I wish to convey our enjoyment and satisfaction with your rental. For its cleanliness and furnishings were comfortable and relaxing, except for sleeping on the couch. If we get the opportunity again I hope you will rent to us. Thanks again, Einar. PS. I hope your Alaska trip was not to cold and uncomfortable as its been a poor summer this year weather wise. August 7, 2012

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Nice Florence Home

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

Hi Glenda,
Just got home from renting your very nice Florence home, and found one of the black hand towels that was hanging on the stove handle in the kitchen in our dirty laundry! Maybe someone used it and put it in our laundry pile by mistake. It is now clean. We certainly did not mean to bring it home. We can send it to you tomorrow, or let us know how to settle it.
Thanks
Mark August 27

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Time.

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

We have had a lovely time, your place is adorable and Linda is a sweetheart! AND you and your family are too! We're sad it is our last night and have to return to fire & smoke!
Jeri …

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Thank you for everything Glenda. I am sure that we will be back to the Oregon Coast again sometime in the future. Despite the fog,we loved the sandy beach.We had a few sunny breaks which was nice. We will definitely be back to visit the Oregon Coast again,perhaps in the Springtime. Stunning scenery~ Rachele & Family

Take care.
Rachele & Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a Great Time

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

We had a great time, thank you!!

Sent from my iPhone August 24th
Cat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoying Stay

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Glenda, We are enjoying our stay in your beach house and appreciate the little touches throughtout the place. We appreciate you making the special effort to bring it this morning. Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Warning...

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

Think hard and long before renting this house!! First, lead photo of the house is NOT the house being rented. The house is VERY dated, with paperbacks from the 1970's, clown figurines, and Christian symbols throughout. Most troubling for us (and apparently certain others who have posted reviews) was that the owner gave us a very hard time when it came to refunding our whopping deposit. Despite the fact that we cleaned for over two hours before leaving, the owner found the most petty complaints to hold up our refund and it took opening a dispute with Paypal to avoid losing the whole deposit. She reeled us in by not charging a special dog cleaning fee and then complained that the cleaner found some fur--DUH...then she should have just charged the fee. The cleaner found a few items of paper garbage under our son's bed...WOW. But the crown jewel of this owner's excuse to keep deposit money: the "decorative" hand towels which hang above THE TOILET. These are NOT TO BE TOUCHED, even though they are nothing but plain, cheap towels one could purchase at any WalMart!! Our crime: our son dried his hands on one towel one time and we did the right thing by including tha towel in laundry. A weeks worth of email diatribes from the owner over this and other petty matters finally resulted in our getting some of our money back. What a PAIN. SO our advice...avoid the rental.

Owners response: First of all, you can see from the other reviews, that there just isn't a problem with my returning deposits. The only time I have a bad review is when someone abuses my hospitality. Just went ovet today and talked to the guests there for a week and they love my house and location.
Secondly, there is one small picture of Jesus in my house and I won't even apologize for that.
Thirdly, he said his child was traumatized by the clown collection, mostly Emmit Kelly collection. Scarey that his children have problems with that.
They were there 4 days. Left a mess, trash, 2 dogs to clean up after, they rearranged all the furniture.
I was in Alaska and told him immediately I had to check further, because there was extra cleaning and stuff, so 3 days after they left, they filed a claim with paypal, claiming it was not as advertised, hoping I would not keep anything for the extra cleaning. I was content to let paypal sort thru it, as I knew I was in the right, but he withdrew his complaint and I paid him all but the small extra for cleaning that I had orginally said I'd do.
If my having a small picture of Jesus offends you, please stay somewhere else. I also have some small clowns on a shelf. If you have pets,there is no problem if you clean up after them and your children.
I have a nice place to stay. Most people love it and enjoy their stay. I hate problems like this and am usually very lucky with the people who choose to stay in my house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great place, great price

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

We rented this house for 4 nights in July with our 3 kids and were very happy with the location, price and the house! Kids loved the spiral staircase and the 3 bed loft bedroom was perfect. Master bed was super comfy, newly reno'd kitchen was nice and equipped with everything we needed. Satellite tv and wifi were a nice bonus for the rainier days. Owner was great to deal with. We would definately recommend and would book again. Thanks Glenda :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Beach

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay. The beach was just a short walk and what a wonderful beach it is.....long enough for great walks. The house was as described, was clean and well-maintained. We found many activities along the coast and in Florence. It was pleasant to sit on the deck and listen to the ocean. During our week, we had great weather and beautiful sunsets.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can we have extra night?

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Hi Glenda,
It's been another great stay. Is by any chance your house available for one more night to check out on Friday morning? If so how much would it be for one additional night? Please call me if it's available, (530)

Thank you
Judi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

relaxing and good location

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

Hello Glenda,

My wife Carol and I had a very relaxing stay at Sea Watch. Your place is wonderful and the location is outstanding!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Place for our Annual Sister Retreat!

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

Thank you Glenda for the use of your sweet vacation house. We enjoyed our stay so much and found the space more than accommodating for the two of us. Even though our weather was not always "wonderful" we enjoyed how easy it was to get to the beach and took advantage of it as much as we could. Having a washer and dryer was a BIG plus and the updated kitchen....very nice. Oh, and the fireplace....perfect for a relaxing evening!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beyond our expectations!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

This beach house was perfect for our family. There are 2 Patios. Downstairs patio is the place to enjoy your morning coffee and the sound & smell of the ocean. The upstairs patio has an unobstructed view of the ocean and the stars at night. We could not have been happier with this booking. It's always risky when booking online but this house exceeded our expectations. The owner was incredibly helpful and diligent with her messages and responses to our questions. Laundry facilities & dishwasher were a bonus ( with 3 kids! ). This beach house was comfortable and much closer to the ocean than we anticipated. Less than a 5 minute walk and your there. We love the Oregon coast and especially Florence. We also recommend Sand Master Park for your boards. We will absolutely book this house again! Thank you Glenda!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mattresses were 20 yrs old

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

We did not sleep at all. The bed was very old, lumpy and ridiculous. I even went & slept on the couch hoping to get some sleep and it was worse. Can't use the towels that are hanging because they are "decorative." Don't be misled by the first picture of the house - it is a neighboring house-not the house you are renting. The view is fair, but you have to step outside & look to the side to see it. The woman who owns this house needs to get with reality. This is not updated, nice, or comfortable. It is old and uncomfortable. I have rented many houses and this is the first I have rented that hasn't been as advertised. To boot, she kept half my deposit for who knows what. I left the house as I found it. We were rushed out of the house because the water was being worked on & they were standing there waiting for us to leave so they could turn off the water. Checkout is 10a, which is earlier than I've ever seen as it is.

Owners response: To start with, the family from Canda there before they came in asked to stay longer, but this couple had reserved 3 days. Two people, a dog and 3 days. I was definitely not prepared for what I found. Unlike the family of 5 who left the house very nice, you walked in and were immediatley hit with the smell in the master bedroom. I noticed that the rug on the floor was not the one I had there. I had a beige rug with a stiff back. This was a white rug, with a blue back that was soft and separated from the top of the rug. Rug was damp and smelly. It actually looked like it was from the bottom of a dog crate. There was spots on the wall. They had also been into the secured, owners closet. First time for that. (She was advised of all problems and responded she was in the closet for a vacuum. Downstairs has no carpet and Upstairs has carpet and vacuum availabale) I assumed there had been a real problem in there and they had been searching for additotnal product.LOck was off. I make available, broom, mop, cleaners, paper towels, etc. Renters are not required to clean when they leave, but leave items out incase they need to clean while there. Picture in ad is noted as view from deck, which iit is. You can see ocean from living room. Do not need to go out. She had also used the decorative towels, One hung over the shower curtain rod and one was still on the hanging rack. All renters get the same info about the towels and they find a solution. Some choose to take them down and replace with the towels I provide. I leave at least 4 hand towels and 8 towels. There is also laundry with soap for the larger crowds. She registered the two of them and a dog. Then I found a bag with smelly kitty litter and a container that had held kitty litter. I thought they had either snuck in a cat or used the kitty littter to clean up whatever happened in the bedroom. Regardless, with the smell, spots on wall, smelly, damaged rug that had replaced my rug. This required extra cleaning. The lady knows exactly why I kept the money.
Bed is only 3 years old. Did see a problem with control on one side when she left. It is like sleep number bed controlled with air. Electricians were there to replace meter, as PUD is changing to digital and they were waiting til check out time.
House is 40 years old, but updated and nice. People rave about it. She had phone and email but not a word about problems until the issues came up with refund.
I have pictures of issues.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Not fair

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

My husband cracked his head on the metal stairs walking in with his suit case. We were not allowed to use the bathroom towels so we had to remove them. We left the place cleaner than when we arrived and didn't use any of the beds up stairs. The owner charged us an extra 25 dollar cleaning fee on top of her cleaning fee. She said for cigarette butts in the driveway and I don't smoke and my husband did not discard any butts. We took our own garbage when we left. What is the cleaning fee for?

Owners response: This property is a non-smoking property. I make that clear. The yard is cleaned as well as the house so we knew they smoked there by the amount of butts in the yard. I would like to say you forfeit your whole deposit if you smoke, since you are agreeing not to smoke there, but instead just charged an hour cleaning. You will note they do not deny smoking there, only that they were not the ones to leave the butts in the yard. The only way I knew they smoked was from the butts in the yard. They paid $250 deposit, smoked when they agreened not too, and I only charged them $25 for cleaning it up. I have decorative towels hanging in bathroom and if you keep using, then they are no longer decorative,but worn. I have LOTS of towels there for use, and leave laundry soap for the washer and dryer. I also just ask that you use the ones provided and not ruin those that are part of the decorations. I have a nice place and it's nicely deorated. If that is a problem, then you should rent something not so nice. I just had a family leave this past weekend who had dogs and did not clean up the yard. Had to do that and they will be charged. But normal cleaning is provided. We keep it very clean. Not sure what she mean cleaner than when she arrived. She did not notify me that anythiing was not clean and everyone tells me it is very clean. The gal even cleans under burners on stove. You are asked to clean up any unusual items, like spills on stove and oven, but all appliances and counters are cleaned as are fixtures in bathrooms. Floors are cleaned and the places is dusted and sheets and towels are washed and replaced. The gal that cleans takes your trash. So the only problem here was they smoked at the place and we knew because of the butts. I want the people renting this house to be happy, so, If you are a smoker, then this is not the place for you. If you have dogs and do not clean up after them, then this is not the place for you. If you like a nice place, clean, comfortable, fully furnished with everything you need, including laundry soap, close to the beach with a nice view, then this is the place for you. The weather can't be predicted, but the condition of the house can.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous Beach Rental

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

Sea Watch was a perfect beach house! It is very charming and nicely decorated. Very clean and well maintained. The bed in the master bedroom was extremely comfortable. You can see the ocean from the downstairs windows and deck and the view from the upstairs deck is spectacular! You just walk down the street and around the corner to the beach access, which is very convenient. Internet connection was fast and reliable. The TV had satellite for rainy days. The house and beach were both pet friendly. Glenda is fabulous to work with, communicates promptly, and offers the best prices in the neighborhood. You can't go wrong if you rent Sea Watch!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sweet Retreat

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

Very comfy place to stay and get away from it all. Enjoy the short walk to the beach and only a couple of miles away from ATV dune access. The owner makes it simple and easy to book or reserve and is always willing to assist in answering any questions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Rental

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

I would definately recommend this place and would rent it again. It was very clean and the layout is great for a family. View of the Ocean and within walking distance to the beach. Enjoyed several restaurants and it is not far to the store for misc items. Easy to get to and the neighbor was very quiet.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great spot for a family vacation

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

The house is very nice and is very comfortable. We enjoy the short walk down the block to the beach. Nice views. Well equiped. Just a nice place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review