reviews for: listing #81114 - Clearwater Beach, Florida Condo rental

Best Value across the street from the Beach!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Pelican Pointe
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $75 - $120 /nt
    $450 - $800 /wk

sort by:

Clearwater Beach vacation

Review submitted: May 24, 2014   Date of arrival: May 5, 2014

We loved our stay at the Pelican Point Beach Resort. My husband and eleven year old son and I stayed at the condo for 5 days in May and we had a great experience. The condo is on the fourth floor and was very quiet but yet very accessible to the pool, etc. since the unit was not far from the elevator. The condo was stocked with plenty of towels and linens and the kitchen was also equipped glasses, plates and paper towels and other necessities. We were especially happy to see there was even enough coffee for the week.
The resort had a really nice pool with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The best feature of the unit was it's proximity to the beach.....it's just across the street. We were blessed with great weather and we would recommend this rental unit to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed my vacation rental. My goal is to always make sure my quests are comfortable with a clean, nicely decorated place to stay at a competitive price. Happy Trails to you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good for budget conscious traveler

Review submitted: December 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

Our group of 2 adults and an 8 year old child stayed for a last minute long weekend trip and we had a very nice time!

The owner was very quick to respond to my rental inquiry, and it was very easy to arrange/finalize the rental.

The unit was decorated very attractively and had all the dishes/linens/etc that we needed.

Be aware that there is no view of the pool or beach from this unit - and the only window looks out onto the street behind the complex.

The only issue we had with the unit was that the futon and the regular bed were both VERY squeaky and loud with any movement - and we were all awakened frquently because of the noise. Plus part of the futon frame/leg seemed to be broken when we arrived. We let the unit owner know about this and she responded right away and said the issues would be addressed.

The complex was clean and well cared for. And the pool was nice to have because even though it was in the 80s during our trip the gulf temps were way too cold to allow swimming.

Parking was plentiful and it was very easy to get in and out of the complex.

The complex is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants - and is right across the street from the beach/water.

My only concern about staying here again would be that there is new construction that has just started directly across the street from the complex - and it was VERY loud our last day there. Plus if the new construction is over 4 stories high it will completely block the beach/water view and the sunset view for the complex.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Your review is appreciated. I am happy overall you enjoyed my condo and your visit. You will be happy to know, since your stay the squeaks have been removed from the beds. Though you found my unit city views not to be your first preference do keep in mind this is factored into my very competitive low rates. Also, many have actually found they enjoyed the privacy and quietness of my top, 4th floor unit which is away from road noise and the flux of people out at the pool. It is also nice to know that 12 steps from my front door you have all the gulf views from across the street, north and south of us plus pool views right below us. You are always welcome to grab one of my beach chairs to sit and enjoy these awesome views and don't forget there is plenty of lounging around the pool. Glad you enjoyed the close proximity of all the wonderful shops and restaurants surrounding us. As for the new hotel going up the foundation is completed so the noise level is barely noticeable now and the modern architecture should only add new beauty to our top rated beaches. I am actually looking forward to the new upscale restaurants, lounges and nightly entertainment there for all to enjoy. This should turn out to be a great new perk. Happy Trails to all my past guests who have visited, revisited and future guests to come!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect spot on the beach

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at Pelican Pointe and wished we could stay longer. The condo was in the perfect location, just across the street from the beach. It was a short walk or trolley ride to many great dining options. You must try Crabby's and Frenchie's Salt Water Cafe. As always the Sunset at Pier 60,was beautiful. The condo itself was clean and comfortable with all needed amenities. It was relatively quiet given the number of families staying there. The pool area was nice and not crowded at all seeing as the beach was so close. The owner was great to work with, and we will definitely rent again when we want to stay at the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So Glad you had a wonderful visit and you enjoyed my condo. My goal is always to provide my guests with comfort at the best possible rates. Thanks for the review. Warm summer regards to you!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our vacation in pardise

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in your condo! Condo was as described and very comfortable. We enjoyed having a kitchenette. All amenities worked great but the remote may have seen better days. We loved the location and having the beach right across the street. Many attractions are within walking distance. We very much look forward to another trip to Clearwater Beach and would stay at your condo for sure.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review. So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Glad you let me know about the remote control. There is now a brand new one in the condo. Warm Regards!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Worth every penny Great Location

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 19, 2013

I was very happy with our room with Carol,, My wife and I stayed 4 nights. The condo is very clean, well equipped with all we required, walking distance to food and shopping.. the building itself is dated but not run down, there is not a view of the water from the room but for this price you can not go wrong. The beach was beautiful and you can rent a umbrella and chairs for $25 for the day, pier 60 around 1/4 mile away has a sunset party every night. loved it and will stay there again.. thanks

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

great time at the beach!

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

Hi, I was very pleased with this condo! We enjoyed our stay and were directly across the street from the beach! There were plenty of icecream shops and places to eat nearby as well! Very happy there were beach chairs inthe condo for our use as well :) Thanks ! enjoyed our stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: We appreciate your review. Hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Carole

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

perfect location

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

This unit was perfect for us. We had never been to Clearwater Beach before and was happy to learn that once you parked your car at the resort you were in walking distance to everything which is great because traffic can be a hassle. We only used our car once to go to the aquarium. There was a great diner style restaurant 2 doors down that served breakfast, lunch and dinner and the food was good every time we ate there . The boat rides, parasailing, shopping, eateries were all within a 5 to 7 minute walk. The beach is directly across the street and is beautiful. The 2 living areas of the unit itself are about the size of a larger hotel room with a half wall between the sleeping and sitting area. There is a nice flat screen TV and plenty of drawer space for your clothes. Upon entry there is a large area to store beach chairs and hang clothes. The kitchenette is small but functional with a coffee maker, mini fridge and sink and a rattan style table with 2 chairs makes eating in convenient. We only used the kitchen to make sandwiches for the beach and to brew coffee so it's size was not a problem. The bathroom is a good size and is well supplied with the softest towels I have ever used. Keep in mind this is an older property and the unit does not have a view but neither of these were a problem. The pool is small and can get very crowded but we did not use the pool but a couple of times so I didn't consider this an issue either. Being able to walk everywhere was a gigantic plus for us. The pier is the center of activity on the beach and is a must do in the evening. There are great street performers and artisans selling their wares from 2 hours before and 2 hours after sunset and on Fri. and Sat. nights movies are shown outside on the lawn in front of the pier. If you are looking for a modern condo with all the bells and whistles this is not it but if you are looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay for a great price this could be the unit for you. As always Florida heat can be oppressive but the a/c worked beautifully. I would definitely rent this unit again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your positive review. It makes me happy to know you had an overall wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Spring Break 2012

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Overall our stay at Pelican Pointe was desirable considering while at a beautiful beach you are not in the room a majority of the time. The description and layout of the room is very accurate as well as the pictures. The condo was professionally cleaned and just as the profile had said. However, do be aware this condo is rented ONLY through the private owner. Upon arrival to Pelican Pointe we were greeted very nicely by staff, but it was apparent quickly they did not approve of how the condo owner was not a part of the HOA associated with the complex. There will be a sign clearly posted on the outside of the condo basically stating you can only sleep here and swim here. Any room issues or maintenance problems are handled via the owner and although she is very nice and attempts to help you, she lives in California. On day 2 of our stay the air conditioning began to malfunction. I called the owner to request services, considering the temperature inside the condo said 85 degrees. She assured me someone would "come to work on it". Someone did come, but it was the maintenance worker for Pelican Pointe. He was very nice (considering he shouldn't have been helping us in the first place). However he is not a certified AC man. He spoke with the condo owner on the phone and told her a professional needed to come out immediately there was nothing he could do. She again promised someone would come to work on the unit. Needless to say, out of the 4 nights we were there 3 of them were spent with a fan and the window open sleeping in the least possible just trying not to overheat. I gave up calling the owner due to the fact the last conversation I had with her (she is nice for the most part) she had an accusing tone. Basically telling me if you want things fixed you need to all at this exact time. I believe the renter is who should be catered to. Working with the public I understand customer service is key. Needless to say I would not rent this condo again. For a little bit more money, you can stay in the updated Pelican Pointe ran condos with working AC.

Highlights to the trip:
-The beach is amazing! -Close to Shephard's Beach Resort -Within walking distance to Pier 60 and multiple restaurants

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Unfortunately, the a/c did quit for this party and I called the handyman right away to check it out. on my first attempt to send my handyman over there no one was there to let him in. They did not return until after midnight that night called me again. The next morning my handyman arrived and had the a/c cut back on due to a tripped breaker switch. I never heard from them again after the issue was corrected. I contacted my next guests to see if they experienced any problems with the a/c and they said no. I wish this party would have called me again if they were experiencing further difficulties. I am a member of the Home owners association and as far as not renting my condo through the property management team each home owner has the choice of their services or opting out and managing their property on their own. That was soley my choice to keep my rates as low as possible. Clearly my webpage states that and all that is included in my rental. The fact that I am an out of state home owner is the same as most homeowners of vacationrentals.com. Isn't that what vacationrentals.com is all about? I am sorry this happened during their stay and I wish they would have stayed in contact with me so I could have solved their problem.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review