reviews for: listing #81119 - Malibu, California Apartment rental

Elegant Oceanfront Penthouse on Dry Sandy Beach - ORCA
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Carbon Beach
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $495 - $650 /nt
    $2,765 - $3,850 /wk
    $11,250 - $16,500 /mth

sort by:

Excellent stay

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

We spent a terrific Thanksgiving here. The space was pretty, clean, comfortable and functional. Everything was as described on the web description. You can not put a price on the amazing view from this unit. Convenient to everything and ideal for morning and evening walks along the beach. You access Carbon Beach right from the unit. We felt welcomed from the moment we arrived and had a great experience with the rental company. Will stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great View

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 30, 2013

This property is in a great location and has an incredible view. The owners are nice to work with. They gave all kinds of tips from places to eat, to places to visit and shop in the vicinity. They provided all the contact information we needed in case we had any problems. They also dropped by shortly after we arrived to make sure all was as promised and that we
were satisfied. The location is 2 drives down from the Malibu Beach Inn which is a fun place to eat. It is about a 5 min. walk from Nobu--really great!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great beach getaway

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

The condo was as advertised, great views, great location. The unit is in good shape and was in walking distance to the beach, restaurants and stores.
Will be back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

relaxing weekend

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

I live in Malibu, but my condo was being repaired, so I stayed in this unit. The view was stunning - all across the Pacific Ocean. The apartment is tastefully decorated, mostly in white. We really enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

ON the beach

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

My family of 5 enjoyed staying at this property on our March 2012 spring break. It was a good base camp for visiting LA, Malibu, Santa Monica, and Venice Beach (which is more like a carnival atmosphere, if you're into that). The Getty Museum and Hollywood were all very accessible from this upstairs condo/apt. Decorating was very nice and the apartment felt fresh and clean. The owner was very attentive. Also, the condo/apt is within an electric gate, so it felt more secure than other places. We all enjoyed sleeping to the sound of the waves directly beneath the deck.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful breathtaking views

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

Bluefuld, VA-We cannot begin to tell you how much we loved this cottage. Beautiful breathtaking views, and so exquisitely decorated. Our family will never forget this time in Malibu. We will definitely come back again. Thank you so very much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It is the perfect beach house.

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

Odessa, Texas-Thank you so much for the fabulous accommodations! We had an amazing time and loved being here so much! It was so cozy and such a great location. It is the perfect beach house. We had a wonderful time and truly enjoyed being here. If I forget to tell you I had a really good time. The time of my life-

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I have fallen in love with your beach cottage!

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

Texas-Our friend has told us so many times what a wonderful place this is. Words cannot describe it though! I have fallen in love with your beach cottage! It has been perfect in every way. The sunrise and sunset from the deck is magnificent!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The view couldn’t have been more breath taking.

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 27, 2011

Los Angeles, CA-I must thank you for opening your doors to my wife and I for our 1 year anniversary. It couldn’t have been more memorable and relaxing from our busy lives. The view couldn’t have been more breath taking. It’s like watching a huge screen of the ocean from inside. We will be back again for sure. Can’t think of a better quick get away from the city. Especially being so close to LA. Thank & Love.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So peaceful!!

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

Lomita, CA- Aloha, Being from the islands the sound of the waves brings back such fond memories. So peaceful!! Thank you for such a lovely two days (wished it could have been longer). My mom loved the deep tub for relaxing soaking. Enjoyed your spotless kitchen and comfortable rooms. Our pets, Gracie and Miki enjoyed their mini vacation, too. It was their first romp on the beach. They enjoyed it, also! This restfully serene time will be treasured. Mahalo (Thank You) and Aloha.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly wonderful

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2010

Scotland, England, UK-Truly wonderful. Everything we thought Malibu would be!! Fabulous location and the best equipped property we have ever stayed in!! Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We look forward to staying here again!

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

San Francisco, CA- Thank you so much for the wonderful accommodations. Everything was spot-on according to the description and the lovely people you have in your complex made it even more enjoyable. We look forward to staying here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow-the location can’t be beat!

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

Los Angeles, CA- Wow-the location can’t be beat! Had a beautiful weekend and enjoyed listening to the waves crashing- could get very addictive! Lovely amenities- such a comfortable setting. I recommend the walk to the colony. We saw “coach” at the Marmalade Café and walked through the new garden trails. Thank you! Hope to stay again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely stay at the beach house

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

Malibu, CA-We had a lovely stay at the beach house while in town for a family reunion. We enjoyed listening to the sounds of the waves at night and all the other wonderful amenities included with the cottage. This was a beautiful and comfortable place to stay while visiting the West Coast!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded our expectations

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

Highland Park, IL-You have exceeded our expectations with your hospitality. We loved our stay in the beach cottage. We saw dolphins many times and were delighted with our sighting. Also, every amenity or need we had was so quickly responded to. Also, the help you hire is beyond professional and nice. We hope to be back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exquisitely decorated

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

Bluefuld, VA-We cannot begin to tell you how much we loved this cottage. Beautiful breathtaking views, and so exquisitely decorated. Our family will never forget this time in Malibu. We will definitely come back again. Thank you so very much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was so cozy and such a great location.

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

Odessa, Texas-We had an amazing time and loved being here so much! It was so cozy and such a great location. It is the perfect beach house. We had a wonderful time and truly enjoyed being here. If I forget to tell you I had a really good time. The time of my life. Thank you so much for the fabulous accommodations!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I have fallen in love with your beach cottage!

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

Texas-Our friend has told us so many times what a wonderful place this is. Words cannot describe it though! I have fallen in love with your beach cottage! It has been perfect in every way. The sunrise and sunset from the deck is magnificent!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The view couldn’t have been more breath taking.

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 27, 2011

Los Angeles, CA-I must thank you for opening your doors to my wife and I for our 1 year anniversary. It couldn’t have been more memorable and relaxing from our busy lives. The view couldn’t have been more breath taking. It’s like watching a huge screen of the ocean from inside. We will be back again for sure. Can’t think of a better quick get away from the city. Especially being so close to LA. Thank & Love.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So peaceful!!

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

Lomita, CA- Aloha, Being from the islands the sound of the waves brings back such fond memories. So peaceful!! Thank you for such a lovely two days (wished it could have been longer). My mom loved the deep tub for relaxing soaking. Enjoyed your spotless kitchen and comfortable rooms. Our pets, Gracie and Miki enjoyed their mini vacation, too. It was their first romp on the beach. They enjoyed it, also! This restfully serene time will be treasured. Mahalo (Thank You) and Aloha.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly wonderful

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2010

Scotland, England, UK-Truly wonderful. Everything we thought Malibu would be!! Fabulous location and the best equipped property we have ever stayed in!! Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We look forward to staying here again!

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

San Francisco, CA- Thank you so much for the wonderful accommodations. Everything was spot-on according to the description and the lovely people you have in your complex made it even more enjoyable. We look forward to staying here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow-the location can’t be beat!

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

Los Angeles, CA- Wow-the location can’t be beat! Had a beautiful weekend and enjoyed listening to the waves crashing- could get very addictive! Lovely amenities- such a comfortable setting. I recommend the walk to the colony. We saw “coach” at the Marmalade Café and walked through the new garden trails. Thank you! Hope to stay again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was a beautiful and comfortable place to stay

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

Malibu, CA-We had a lovely stay at the beach house while in town for a family reunion. We enjoyed listening to the sounds of the waves at night and all the other wonderful amenities included with the cottage. This was a beautiful and comfortable place to stay while visiting the West Coast!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved our stay in the beach cottage.

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

Highland Park, IL-You have exceeded our expectations with your hospitality. We loved our stay in the beach cottage. We saw dolphins many times and were delighted with our sighting. Also, every amenity or need we had was so quickly responded to. Also, the help you hire is beyond professional and nice. We hope to be back soon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

absolutely PERFECT

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

Seriously was heaven on earth! gorgeous view, everything is BEAUTIFUL.....well "stocked" with extra blankets, pillows, easy to work with- truly heaven!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing place

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2011

This is a perfect place for indulging oneself in the atmosphere of the ocean and yet is a very convenient place near many sightseeing attractions and amenities. I had a great time there with my family and it was an unforgettable experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I had a wonderful week.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

Odessa, Texas- This is my fifth time to stay in one of your rental units. They have all been wonderful. All the units are so tastefully done and with all the amenities. I had a wonderful week. Thank you for being so attentive.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You are the greatest!

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

New York, NY- Its been a lovely and relaxing stay. I can’t imagine a more wonderful view. Everything clean. Lovely help of all kinds. You are the greatest!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a wonderful house.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

Newton, NJ-What a wonderful time! What a wonderful house. The ocean, the dolphins, the pelicans and the Californians all gave us a great time. Unforgettable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The beach cottage is darling

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

Denver,CO- The beach cottage is darling and well located for seeing the “sights”. Had an opportunity to do brunch on the outdoor patio—what a pleasure with the water so near and beautiful! Thank you for opening your doors to us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The cottage is awesome!

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

Boca Raton, Fl- Its been a wonderful week. The cottage is awesome! Of course the view is spectacular and amenities are here or closeby. Enjoyed walks on the beach, dolphins, sea lions and all the local accents. We’re off to our house on the Atlantic. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I had a wonderful week.

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

Odessa, Texas- This is my fifth time to stay in one of your rental units. They have all been wonderful. All the units are so tastefully done and with all the amenities. I had a wonderful week. Thank you for being so attentive.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely help of all kinds.

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

New York, NY- Its been a lovely and relaxing stay. I can’t imagine a more wonderful view. Everything clean. Lovely help of all kinds. You are the greatest!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a wonderful time!

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

Newton, NJ-What a wonderful time! What a wonderful house. The ocean, the dolphins, the pelicans and the Californians all gave us a great time. Unforgettable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Well located for seeing the “sights”

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

Denver,CO- The beach cottage is darling and well located for seeing the “sights”. Had an opportunity to do brunch on the outdoor patio—what a pleasure with the water so near and beautiful! Thank you for opening your doors to us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The cottage is awesome!

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

Boca Raton, Fl- It’s been a wonderful week. The cottage is awesome! Of course the view is spectacular and amenities are here or closeby. Enjoyed walks on the beach, dolphins, sea lions and all the local accents. We’re off to our house on the Atlantic. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Well located for seeing the “sights”

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 26, 2011

Denver, Colorado -
The beach cottage is darling and well located for seeing the “sights”. Had an opportunity to do brunch on the outdoor patio - - what a pleasure, with the water so near and beautiful!
Thank you for opening your doors to us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 26, 2011

Denver, Colorado -
The beach cottage is darling and well located for seeing the “sights”. Had an opportunity to do brunch on the outdoor patio - - what a pleasure, with the water so near and beautiful!
Thank you for opening your doors to us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The cottage is awesome! The view is spectacular!

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

Boca Raton, Florida -
It has been a wonderful week. The cottage is awesome! Of course the view is spectacular and amenities are here or close by. Enjoyed walks on the beach, dolphins, sea lions and all the local haunts. We’re off to our home on the Atlantic. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

Boca Raton, Florida -
It has been a wonderful week. The cottage is awesome! Of Course the view is spectacular and amenities are here or close by. Enjoyed walks on the beach, dolphins, sea lions and all the local haunts. We’re off to our home on the Atlantic. Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review