reviews for: listing #81153 - Healdsburg, California House rental

Capture Wine's Beautiful Tin Cross Vineyards Estate
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $495 - $695 /nt
    $3,465 - $4,865 /wk

sort by:

Perfect weekend in Sonoma

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

The estate home on Tin Cross Vineyard exceeded all expectations! The beautiful photos of the property do not come close to displaying the magnificent view, the gourmet kitchen- well equipped for large family meals or cozy breakfasts in the nook, comfy beds, common area for relaxing by the fire, I could go on and on! Elite and the local host took excellent care us ensuring all the fine details were covered! On arrival, Capture provided a private wine tasting that was just the beginning a magical vacation!Tthe nearby wineries in the Alexander Valley are well worth exploring. I recommend this property and Elite very highly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: A private wine tasting is the perfect way to kick off a vacation in Sonoma! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

More than I expected

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

The setting, the accomodations, the comfortable furnishings, the complete kitchen setup, the view and the privacy were all above FirstClass on every account.Completely enjoyable, and much too short a stay. Loved it all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wonderful House" -TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

Three couples stayed 6 days. The house and location are phenomenal. The house is large and well-appointed and was immaculately clean. We wanted for nothing. It has a wrap-around porch with an incredible view of the valley. We ate all our meals on the porch.

The location was incredible. You should know that it isn't in town. It's about 20 minutes from anything you'd call civilization. I understand that some guests don't realize how far it is from a town and are unhappy with the remoteness. We loved it, however. The house is on a mountain overlooking the valley - about 2,400 feet up. It's a 3-mile drive on a one-lane road. Two of those miles are on a dirt road - but no problem for a car. You must open (and close behind you) two gates to makes sure the animals (sheep and horses) from ranches don't get out. Twice we had to stop the car and shoo sheep off the road. The views are gorgeous during the drive. After a few times driving the road, most of us were comfortable retuning in the dark. Because of the drive, we went out for the day and, once we returned to the house, we stayed. We'd go out mid-morning to wineries and return for dinner at the house or after dinner in the valley.

The property itself is quite large and the house is surrounded by vineyards that you can walk through and sample the grapes. There are no neighbors nearby, so it is very quiet. The views from the house and around the grounds are spectacular. The closest town is Cloverdale, primarily a local town rather than a tourist town. It doesn't have many restaurants. It does have one tasting room - Vino di amore - which is great. Healdsburg, a cute town about 20 miles down 101, is the place for shopping and eating. We found northern Sonoma County, where we were, to be delightfully uncrowded and not touristy.

I would go back in a heartbeat. We're planning on winning a lottery so we can put in an offer that can't be refused and buy the place. We're not sure if we'll pave the road - it has its charm.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great Girls Trip"

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

We had a large group of ladies stay at the Tin Cross Vineyard Estate aug 10-13 and we had a great time. As previous reviews have stated, the home is located on a private gravel road that is very remote. The one drawback to the home was there was no aC and it was in the upper 90s during our stay. The home did not cool off at night, despite having windows and doors open to get a cross-breeze. The kitchen is well-equipped and includes an antique range, but also warms the kitchen significantly during and after use, which contributed to the home being uncomfortably warm. Overall, I'd highly recommend the home for the great view, privacy (perfect for a big group of loud ladies) but unless more fans are added to the home, I wouldn't recommend staying in the heat of the summer. (I am rating the comfort 2 stars simply due to the heat)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Perfection" -TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

Secluded at the top of Pine Mountain, and overlooking the alexander Valley, Tin Cross Vineyard Estate could not be more beautiful and special. The location has everything you need for a romantic and relaxing getaway for two, a group vacation, or a fun family vacation. The home is immaculate and absolutely up to date, and the vineyards that surround the property are stunning. Take a walk, read a book, dine and enjoy some local wine on the wrap around porch, or just sit back, relax and enjoy the breathtaking views of the Alexander Valley. You absolutely cannot go wrong.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Gorgeouse Property" -TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

This is an amazing property which is the perfect getaway! Stay at least a couple of days and bring a book to read on the porch.. wonderful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Beautiful Place" - TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

The house is fantastic, everything was just right, from the wrap around porch with views that seem to be from the top of the world to tons of space in the house to do what ever you wanted to do. I will be back again and again... gotta show off what I have found.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Breathtaking" -Tripadvisor Review

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

Such a wonderfully remote, beautiful and well kept property

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"A few days in heaven" -TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

The first ride up was an awesome sensory experience and an adventure. At the top, it's cooler, yet the house is so warm and inviting. Lovely and comfortable and it's really hard to leave the porch and the view. Thanks for sharing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Mountain Retreat" -TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

We really enjoyed our weekend at the estate for a bridal shower. The home was comfortable, well appointed and very conducive to a great time. The view over the valley was beautiful and relaxing and it was great to be able to be able to walk around and unwind in the quiet. There was something for everyone including a basketball hoop, large televisions, and a comfy bedroom/bathroom upstairs. The service was top-notch and we enjoyed tours and wine tasting.
I am hoping to return for a family get away sometime in the near future. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Peaceful retreat" -TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

We stayed at Tin Cross Vineyards for my birthday weekend at the end of October. The weather was beautiful and the property was magnificent! The house is very nicely appointed, with plenty of entertaining space, both inside the home as well as on the huge wrap around porch. We had a small get together (20 people) for wine and cheese and the home was easy to entertain in and impressive. Renters should know that the home is up a long windy dirt road with a number of ranch gates to open and close behind you (three gates, I think). It can be difficult to find especially at night. I would plan your day with one roundtrip in mind: head down the hill, enjoy your local activities, and then return and relax. Brunch on the outdoor porch was memorable, with beautiful views of the valley.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"What a treat!" -TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

Wow - if you are adventurous (or stupid) - drive up to this rental at nite or dusk.
By the time we got there after dark on winding and narrow dirt road we were pleasently surprised by this amazing home surrounded by vinyards and exquisite views.
Great for friends or family getaway.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Isolated gem" -TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

This house has everything you need for a large family/friends get-together. The only caveat was the long drive to the house through the fields which was extremely scenic. If you plan on spending quality time with family/friends or going out for day trips, you can't ask for a more scenic/cozy location. Best of all, the people the manage the company are so organized, helpful, and friendly. We were welcomed to the house with a kind note and cheese and wine from the local vineyard. Perfect!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Mountaintop vineyard paradise" TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

The estate house of Capture Wine's Tin Cross Vineyards was a unique experience for our family in the summer of 2011. We felt like royalty walking around the 200 acre property, at sunset it is perhaps the most beautiful spot we've ever seen. It is the perfect getaway location for family to unplug the technology and reconnect together. Location is remote but ideal to sit around the table for hours at a time with good food, wine and company. Home furnishings are lovely and comfortable. We hope to return again in the coming years. Highly recommended for those who wish to visit the wine country and stay in a private setting.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Such an excellent time!" -TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

My friend and I stayed a long weekend at Tin Cross to celebrate her birthday. The house is large enough to comfortably have many more guests, but we enjoyed having the place to ourselves. The view from the wrap-around porch was so beautiful-- for coffee in the morning and with the help of heaters on the cool nights, it was a fabulous place to drink some wine and visit. I am planning to return as soon as I can! Loved this location, so giving it an excellent score. We wanted a place out of the way

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Amazing Retreat" - TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Loved the traquil remote house amongst the vineyards. We woke up the first morning to clouds lining the valley below and wild black pigs in the reservoir. Couldn't have been more perfect!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great secluded hideaway" -TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

Wonderful home tucked away in them mountains among beautiful vineyards and sweeping views of the valley and wine country below. Plenty of room for my family, my in-laws and another couple. While it's a bit of a hike to get up to the property from town (up a dirt road at the end), it is well worth it. My daughter enjoyed the drive up with the sheep / goats along the way, the winding roads and breathtaking views. Really can't beat the value - the drive is well worth it and we love Healdsburg.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Best Retreat Location ever!" -TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

Myself and 6 others rented the space for a 2 night and 3 day retreat for Sonoma State Summer Orientation. As we were driving up to the estate we weren't sure what to expect. Once we actually reached the estate we were wowed. Our jaws literally dropped. We were met by two lovely ladies who gave us a grand tour and explained everything. Needless to say, the place was gorgeous. We cannot recommend this place enough and we are highly considering using the estate again for our next summer retreat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great place to relax" -TripAdvisor Review

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

The house and furnishings are first class in a comfortable way - it feels like home from the very start. The views and property are spectacular. The property owner provided great service. We loved hiking through the orchards and trails adjoining the property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review