reviews for: listing #81157 - Yosemite, California House rental

Tin Lizzie Inn Carriage House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Yosemite
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $450 - $500 /nt
    $2,700 - $3,600 /wk

sort by:

Fantastic house and equally gracious owners make this place extraordinary!

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

This home was just perfect for our family trip to Yosemite. Pictures on the website, though beautiful, still can't do it justice. The house is beautiful and Sheran and David are the ultimate hostess and host. We were welcomed like old friends and treated like family. They offered their picnic basket and cooler for our packed lunches for the park. Sheran even brought over warm cookies our first night! The Tin Lizzie is perfectly appointed and everything is as clean and beautiful as you want a vacation place to be. Our family (3 young men plus us parents) was perfectly comfortable in this home with everything we needed, including some essential groceries and supplies. We made one trip to the nearby grocery store to stock up for preparing meals in the superb kitchen which was huge-- everyone could pitch in with meals. If you don't want to cook, an exclusive hotel across the street has four wonderful choices for dining out. A small hotel room in Yosemite would cost as much as this place. We had this gorgeous home, a yard with wildlife, the beautiful big pines and hammocks, a grill on the patio, a firepit for roasting marshmallows, and the icing on the cake was the Model T car driving lessons and tour! That was our 16-year old's highlight of the whole trip. The jacuzzi bathtubs and beds were heavenly after full days in Yosemite of climbing and hiking. WHEN we come back, we will stay at the Tin Lizzie again. The southern entrance into Yosemite is the best one due to the jaw-dropping, eye-popping view as you come out of the tunnel. Tin Lizzie is on that highway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spacious & Comfortable Accomodations, Gracious Hosts, Beautiful Automobiles

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

Staying at David and Sheran Woodworth's Tin Lizzie Inn Carriage House was a pleasure in every way. The carriage house was enormous yet cozy. It had everything we needed for a long stay...full kitchen, dishes, laundry, etc. The beds were huge and extrememly comfortable.

Moreover, David and Sheran were more than happy to help with special requests. For instance, I failed to bring my camera charger, and David lent me his for the weekend. Sheran even lent us binoculors to use. Both David and Sheran had tons of great travel ideas, depending on your interests, how far you want to travel, what you want to see, etc.

The best part, however, was driving the Ford Model T and Model A. The cars are in original condition and well-maintained. I was a bit nervous about driving the antique cars, but David was extremely patient in teaching us how to operate the cars...very comfortable, low pressure instructions. After getting the hang of it, driving the Model T and A was an absolute pleasure. The cars are real head-turners, and onlookers couldn't help but smile (especially if you're wearing a derby)!

Thanks again, David and Sheran...looking forward to next time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

This was a wonderful stay! Driving a Ford T is quite an experience!

We strongly recommend staying at Tin Lizzie Inn to whowever would like to relax in a quite and very comfortable place, not far from Yosemite National Park.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on our 3 week holiday in California, Nevada and Arizona. It was our most favourite place. The house is squeaky clean and very well equipped. David and Sheran are charming people and perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. We self catered mostly and had use of the BBQ and David lit a fire bowl for us one night. The house is in a beautiful, tranquil spot- we saw deer nibbling the shrubs one evening.
David is a collector of model T Fords (amongst many other things)and is more then happy to take guests out in one and allow them to drive (even my teenagers).
The location is perfect for visiting Yosemite (1/2 hr north) and Bass Lake (1/2 hr south). I would definitely recommend this place to friends, family and anyone else.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

BEST PLACE TO STAY

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Very few things exceed our expectations...this place did!
We stayed in the Carriage house this past week with our two daughters (8&11yrs) and were so comfortable we wanted to move in forever..lol! This place is worth the money to have all the comforts of home while enjoying the peace and quite of the sierras.
What do you get?
A)2 bedrooms both with cozy king beds and jacuzzi tubs :) One with TV, DVD, Satalite, & Tivo
B) Beautiful kitchen including all the dishes,pans, coffee maker, & supplies (just bring food)
C) cozy living room with fireplace, a flatscreen TV with Satalite and Tivo, games, and Free Wireless throughout the place.
D) A washer and dryer along with Ironing board and all the supplies
E) A BBQ to grill on, a patio, lawn for the kids to run, swings, and campfire to make smores.
F) and the very best part is David & Sheran who make you feel right at home and make your stay just wonderful!

I highly recommend this place to everyone. We had friends stay at the Tenaya Lodge and visted them. It was crowded, extremely over priced, loud, and poor snooty service....They wished they had stayed at the TIn Lizzie. And they were very jealous to know we drove around in a Model T Ford that was included in our stay. David and Sheran also help make special arrangements for our Autistic daughter when we needed things adjusted for her. What more could you ask for, right? Well David even taught my 8yr old how to drive the ModelT...she hasn't stopped talking about it! Thanks David & Sheran for a wonderful vacation! check out the great pics I took of the place!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Home Away From Home

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

Another family joined us for a two night stay in this home. There were a lot of us, but the home was large enough for us to be comfortable. I say home because it has all the comforts of a home. Everything we needed was there. It was very easy cooking our meals and preparing picnic lunches for our day in Yosemite. The owners are very knowledgeable with the surrounding area. They readily and graciously answered all questions we had regarding "what to do." They were so nice to check on us and see if we needed anything. The home isn't a typical rental that is rundown, has dirty furniture, or no comfort items from home. Every room is decorated nicely, clean, and so pleasing to be in!! We will definitely visit again! It's priced right and a home away from home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing! Can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

Arrived to find a beautiful home for us! Everything is brand new and nestled among the pines. Perfect for our family, 2 large bedrooms, with full baths and a full kitchen to cook in. We even BBQ'd one night. Everything is upgraded, granite, furniture, etc. Two TV's, one in one of the bedrooms that we gave the kids. They loved it!

The Inn owners, David and Sheran, were just charming and friendly. They even gave us a ride in their Model T. Across the way is their B&B - The Tin Lizzie Inn, a must see!

Perfect location, just 2 minutes to the gates of Yosemite.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review