reviews for: listing #81246 - Charleston, South Carolina Condo rental

2BR/2BA-Near Dwtn Charleston, Waterfront Park & Beaches
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $175 /nt
    $650 - $1,100 /wk
    $1,800 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Great for any age group

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here in Lowcountry. The three of us (all seniors in college) felt that the community was inviting and the location was perfect. There was a bottle of wine waiting for us as we arrived at the condo and we felt at home immediately. The condo has all the amenities you could ask for; the bedrooms were great and the bathrooms were fully stocked. The kitchen also had coffee and was fully stocked when we arrived. We also loved the outdoor, screened-in porch as well.

The location was perfect. Downtown Charleston was right across the bridge and it was easy to find parking in the city. Also, the condo was close to several uncrowded, nice beaches. There is also a lot to do in Mount Pleasant from golfing to waterfront eating establishments.

We took a day trip to Savannah, GA and the drive from the condo was easy and quick. We also had short trips to several plantations, restaurants, and, recreational activities.

We would recommend this condo to anyone of any age group who would like to have a relaxing, enjoyable stay in a beautiful city and we would love to come back again! Thanks Gabrielle and James!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review; James and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Lowcountry and our home away from home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Mother/Daughter Trip

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

Great Mother/Daughter Trip
Great location!!! Just a short drive to all the great things to do and tasty food options. The place is clean and has some additional comforts that make it a great home away from home. We did not use the pool or hot tub and the washer and dryer in the condo came in handy.

I left my I-pad at the condo and the owner went above and beyond to get it back to me in a timely fashion. All and all a great trip in a comfortable, clean and convenient place to stay.

Must:
Eat at: Sullivan’s, Poe's Inn, Hymans, Post House and Mellow Mushroom.
Do: Gullah Tour, Charleston Market, Baseball Game, Carriage Tour, IOP Beach, King Street and Kayaking.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We glad you enjoyed your stay at our condo as well as the Charleston area.
It is very important to James and I that our guests have a positive experience.
We appreciate you took the time to write this review, thank you.

Gabriele & James

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great to go back to

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

Charleston was great. Mount Pleasant fantastic. Condo was a sweet little place tucked away from noise but close to everything. Just about everything you need for a getaway. Loved the dispensers in the showers and extras like blow dryers,iron, washer and dryer. Basket on the floor with area info was informative. Beds and linens were great. Treats and kitchen necessities that were left are a great touch. Perfect place to come back to at the end of a long, full, hot day to regroup and relax. Would definitely stay here again. Gabriele thank you for all of your assistance during our stay. For all that come to the area make the Mount Pleasant visitor center at the base of the Bridge your first stop. They have a ton of information and will assist you in scheduling to make the most of your time in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Cherry,

thank you for your kind words we appreciate them so much.
We sincerely hope all of our guests enjoy their visit to the Lowcountry.
our goal is to provide a small home away from home. It is rewarding for us when we hear that you enjoyed your stay at the condo and the surrounding area.
Thanks again for taking the time to write this very positive review.
Best wishes to you.

Gabriele

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Welcoming

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

Very nice accommodations central to everything! The area is very suburban and safe. Driving around the area I did not feel unsafe at any time. Getting into the condo was very simple as the owners provided step-by-step directions. We had a bottle of wine waiting for us, which was wonderful as our trip to get there was "delay, delay, delay". The condo was clean and welcoming. The condo is located on the 2nd floor, and I did not notice elevator access. So people with difficulty climbing stairs may not find this to be the place for them. Also, the stairs are kind of closed in and attract BUGS! I'm terrified of bugs, so it was a race up the stairs at night with my eyes closed. What you see in the posted pictures is what you get, nothing less. We were just minutes from Downtown Charleston, about 15 minutes from Folly Beach; a little longer to the Isle of Palms. We drove up to Myrtle Beach one day which was only a couple of hours away.
Communication with the owners was very simple and I always received prompt replies. That really makes a difference in my opinion; it tells me that if there is a problem there will be a swift resolution. In our case there were no problems, everything went smoothly.
I would stay here again if in the area, and highly recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate your feedback.
Unfortunately there is not too much we can do about the Lowcountry outer environment; the bugs are attracted by the light at night, it is part of life here. I myself don't like it either.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay overall and wish we could wish the bugs away for you :).

Thanks

Gabriele

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Close, Convenient, Clean--and More

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

This lovely, well-maintained condo was just right for our visit to Charleston and area. We were most comfortable and found everything we needed for an exceptional visit. The close entry onto Ravenal Bridge and proximity to Whole Foods, Trader Joes and other shops a few blocks away was a most convenient location. We recommend Five Loaves Restaurant on Johnny Dobbs (Rte. 17 N) and Mustard Seed in Mt. Pleasant. Enjooyed beaches at IOP & Sullivan with wonderful walks on Pitt St. Bridge in Mt. Pleasant, Mt. Pleasant Old Village and Patriot Park under the Ravenal Bridge.

I highly recommend this property--just right for the 2 of us, but could accommodate 4 comfortably, I am sure.

In Charleston we most enjoyed tours with Gullah Tours (book at Visitor Center or on line or phone) and highlight was a Tall Ship sunset tour on the Pride sailing ship! Cru, Tabolli, Fleet Landing were great restaurants in Charleston. Start your trip with Visitor Center (Meeting Street) and a Caarriage tour. Great walks through Historic District & east Waterfront (Concord St. area) , and the Cumberland-Chrurch-Chalmers-Meeting Street and through Markets. Strolled Charleston College and the Unitarian Church graveyard. Everything was great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate the time you took for this wonderful and informative review. Thank you.


Gabriele

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

week in south carolina

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

The neighborhood was quiet and mt.pleasant was a beautiful area. The apartment was clean and meticulous. We felt very comfortable and welcomed.
The balcony was nice. Everything we needed was there! kitchen was perfect for quick meals. The rooms were very "homey". The bedrooms and the baths offered privacy. The washer/dryer was a plus, so was the coffee pot!! Charleston was minutes away! Patriots Point was down the road. Ready to go back! Thanks
again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your great feedback and hope to welcome you again here in the Lowcountry.

Gabriele & James

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice condo

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this clean, updated and well maintained condo. It is conveniently located to downtown, shopping, and attractions. There was plenty of room for us and as always a washer/dryer in the unit is great. If I am in the Charleston area again, I would stay here. They provided a lot of extras and were easy to communicate with. Our security deposit was promptly refunded. Seem to be very nice people. Thanks for allowing us to stay in your condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your positive feedback, you were such pleasant customers to have and we are grateful you stayed with us.


Gabriele & James

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location, super property!

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

We absolutely loved this condo and we will certainly be back. It was in the perfect spot - right in between downtown Charleston and the beaches we visited. The condo was well appointed with lots of great extras. And it was so nice to have the washer/dryer there to wash our sandy beach clothes! I can't say enough about how happy we were with this location and the property itself. We will definitely book it again on our next trip to Charleston. Thanks for everything Gabriele and James!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for a wonderful review, we hope to welcome you back one day.

Gabriele & James

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Overall a good experience

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

The condo was centrally located to the beaches, parks and downtown so we never spent alot of time getting anywhere we wanted to go.

The condo was clean and updated.

While this particular condo indicates "no pets", this is apparently not true for the condo community in general as we were awakened between 6:00 and 6:30am on two mornings by barking dogs. Not a good thing to happen on vacation unless you are a very early riser.

Avoid a retaurant called "Zeus". We wanted something that was not a chain and offered seafood and low county cuisine. The only positive thing I can say is that it was close. I do not know how this place has stayed in business as long as it has. None of my 4 person family enjoyed their meals.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

great place

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We had a great time. It was clean and just the right amount of space for us. I would def. recommend this place.
This place is the perfect location, right between the beaches and historic downtown.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are pleased you enjoyed you stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review, we very much appreciate it.

Sincerely,
Gabriele

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

We looked around for many places to stay, including a lot of hotels, and we are very glad we stayed here. We arrived very late on a Sunday night, and were able to get in without any issues. We were impressed with how big the unit was, it was very clean, and there were some nice treats that were left waiting for us.

We had our two toddlers with us who stayed in the second bedroom. The rooms were on opposite sides of the unit and well insulated, so we enjoyed having some time together while the kids slept quietly in their room.

Our week-long trip consisted of us going to the beaches and downtown Charleston. The condo is located conveniently to both. It took all of 2 minutes to get on the highway 17 bridge into downtown, and the nearest beach is only about 15 minutes away. There are several grocery stores and restaurants nearby as well.

We had no major issues with the place while we were staying there. The owner was very quick to respond to e-mails before and after leaving, and the entire checkin/checkout process went very smooth.

If we ever need a place to stay near Charleston, this will be our first choice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review, it was our pleasure to have your family as our guests.
We are happy you enjoyed you stay at our second home away from home.
Thanks again.

Gabriele & James

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2011

This place was a fantastic place to stay. It was quite convenient to downtown. Only a $15 taxi ride with green taxi. There were loads of restaurants nearby and a whole foods market. Gabrielle left instructions for everything in the house. They even left our party a lovely bottle of wine. I am looking to come back to charleston to visit family for christmas holidays this year and will definitely want to come back here. Beds were so comfortable and the full kitchen was great to cook in. We also got our security deposit back 2 days after leaving. I would recommend this place to everyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your rating; it is always nice to hear our guests enjoyed the condo and the surroundings.
Thank you for choosing us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great find!

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

I am not usually one to review accommodations, but this condo so surpassed our expectations and was truly a great deal, I had to rate it!

Great location in Mt. Pleasant - a very quick drive or cab ride over the bridge and into town, and very accessible.

Immaculately clean and well-decorated, with many convenient amenities - lovely kitchen, fully stocked with plates and silverware and even dish soap! Great for making breakfast before heading out for the day.

Not to mention, MUCH cheaper and more spacious than trying to stay at a hotel in the city. We blew the money we saved on some fabulous dinners in Charleston :) Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your rating we are truly happy you enjoyed your stay.

Gabriele & James

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, location, location!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We just returned from a week's stay in Charleston. This was a GREAT location in Mt. Pleasant, a short distance over the bridge from downtown Charleston. Also, this was proximate to other nearby cities, so a good homebase for our daily roadtrips. Gabrielle was very responsive and a pleasure to work with; she also helped with some recommendations for dining and touring the area. The condo is as described and we found it to be very comfortable and clean. The pool was great for an evening swim, but unfortunately the hot tub not working while we were there. Would recommend restaurants in the immediate Mt. Pleasant area ... Vickery's, Red's, Boulevard Diner and Okra Grill. We had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend Charleston and this condo.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, we're happy you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for staying at our condo a home away from home.

Gabriele & James

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We just returned from a week's stay in Charleston. This was a GREAT location in Mt. Pleasant, a short distance over the bridge from downtown Charleston. Also, this was proximate to other nearby cities, so a good homebase for our daily roadtrips. Gabrielle was very responsive and a pleasure to work with; she also helped with some recommendations for dining and touring the area. The condo is as described and we found it to be very comfortable and clean. The pool was great for an evening swim, but unfortunately the hot tub not working while we were there. Would recommend restaurants in the immediate Mt. Pleasant area ... Vickery's, Red's, Boulevard Diner and Okra Grill. We had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend Charleston and this condo.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

exterior scetchy, A/C problems. poorly maintained

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 11, 2011

We arrived in the evening. Unit is on the back side of condo. Exterior was dirty and poorly lit. Inside looks like the pictures. However A/C did not work. We took filter out and it was caked with dirt so no air was flowing. Called owners next day because we felt it was too late that night. Owners were hard to get a hold of and did not take our complaints seriously. We enventually moved out after only 1 night of our 3 night visit to charleston. Owners charged us full price and clean up fee for staying in a condo with no A/C. This was August.
Poor business and customer service skills. Their idea of conflict resolution was to ignore our phonecalls, texts and emails for 2 days. Charleston is great, but stay somewhere else. not worth the risk.

Owners response: This is certainly a rental that went wrong. Our first impulse is simply to let our other reviews stand by themselves. However, for future prospects, it is important to note that we can only act on what we are aware of and what is communicated to us.
The guests moved in on Thursday but did not inform us of a problem with the A/C until Friday - within 90 minutes someone went out to change the filter. In the late afternoon the guests informed us that the A/C flow was still a concern; we called the repairman within one hour. The repairman informed us he could not come out until Saturday morning due to storms in the area. The A/C unit was repaired Saturday (within 24 hours). The four guests chose to move out on Friday- they did not want to wait until Saturday for the repair; we understood and therefore only charged for one night. No other complaints were ever mentioned or expressed.

Bottom line: It was simply impossible to please these guests.

We hope our past reviews speak for themselves and state we are committed to our guests and strive to resolve any issue as quickly as possible.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful place!

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

This was our first (not to be our last!) visit to Charleston! Thanks in part to this great place, our visit was relaxing and wonderful. The location couldn't have been better for our needs. Very easy access to the highway, which can take you in any direction. Loved seeing the night view of part of the bridge through the trees.
Thank you to the Anderson's for the binder with pamphlets of sites to see, restaurants etc.
The whole package was enjoyable, from the comfy beds, wonderful towels and soaps(like we have at home), to the wine waiting on the table. You've done a great job, and we would highly recommend this condo!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Rent this one!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 19, 2011

Location! Location! Location! This one has it. So convenient to Charleston and lots of great restaurants within a few miles. Beaches are close also. This was our first visit to the area and we weren't sure where to stay. I'm so happy I found this listing. Very clean and well stocked with everything we needed. The trio of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel were a nice surprise and the scented hand soaps were lovely. Having a teenager with us, the split bedroom layout was a real plus. The unit is on the 2nd level on the backside of the building, so it was very quiet and felt very private.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so happy you enjoyed your visit here in the Lowcountry. Thank you for your positive feedback.

Sincerely,

Gabriele & James

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great location!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

If we go back to Charleston, for sure, we will try to rent again this flat: it is very well decorated, very clean and quiet. Moreover, the owners are really nice and helpful. Location is also perfect: only 5 minutes to get to historical downtown!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We really appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you and we hope to have you again; you were wonderful guests.

Sincerely,

Gabriele & James

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great location!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

We had a wonderful week in Charleston: the flat is really nice, very clean and quiet. Moreover, the owners are very helpful and kind. The location is also very convenient as it takes onmy 5 minutes to go to historical downton.
If we go back to Charleston, for sure, we will try to rent again this flat.
Isabelle.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful!!!

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

The condo was beautiful! We had an amazing stay! It was stocked with everything we could have needed and we felt right at home. It was extremely clean and beautifully decorated. Location was great and owners were very friendly and helpful!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review