reviews for: listing #81265 - Watauga Lake, Tennessee Cottage rental

Lake Front Bass Bungalow w/Boat Slip and Canoe
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $105 - $165 /nt
    $790 - $1,050 /wk
    $900 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Nice View

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

The place was easy to get to from the highway. Everything was kept clean and in order upon arrival. The rental was exactly as described and we enjoyed every minute of the wonderful Watauga Lake. Look forward to the next visit.

Owners response: Thanks so much for all your kind words. Know you are welcome back anytime.
Expect a return guest discount too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bass Bungalow

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

We really loved this cabin. The cabin was very clean, and Larry (the maintenance guy) helped us out very quickly when we had a breaker issue with the stove. Nice guy. Information guide helped us out a lot when it came to finding basic needs and what to do in the area. The nearby destination for taking the canoe had a wonderful swimming hole and beach area. Also there is a Lake Watauga Winery, not mentioned in brochure, was only minutes away. For 4 dollars we tried 12 different wines. Dry Hill store was cute and quaint with good food.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

Thanks so much for allowing our family to share Bass Bungalow! The cabin was well stocked and perfect for our family. We enjoyed waking up to the serenity of the lake, being greeted each morning by the swan, and just relaxing on the porch. The kids loved to fish from the dock and take the canoe for a quick trip down the lake. We brought our boat and Rose was very accommodating to allowing us to park our trailer at her place. Thanks again for a providing a perfect place for a peaceful retreat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. They are most appreciated. Bass Bungalow is a quiet place I"m glad you found it peaceful. Let me hear from you 'all again when you're ready for another mtn get away here on Watauga lake. Know too you'll be offered a return guest discount! Take care ..

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Bass Bungalow

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

Our family is small >>just two adults and one toddler >>so the Bass Bungalow was a great size for us and the close stay to Lake Watauga was so much fun. We loved canoeing, even with a toddler, towards the river. We reviewed the cabin's welcome packet and wanted to mention that we really enjoyed going to the nearby town Valle Crucis (art gallery, old Mast General Store, fishing areas, waterfall, etc). My husband went fishing outside the cabin and in Valle Crucis every day. Inside the cabin were your basics and the big porch was lovely. We went in mid-September. It was very peaceful but never a dull moment. The mountains, lake and countryside are all so beautiful. If you have a GPS, please bring and use it! It will take you right there...some road signs are missing, hard to see or different than a researched route. You will be pleasantly remote and your cell phone will likely not work.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Bass Bungalow at Watuaga Lake

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

What a fantastic place! The lake and the mountains are gorgeous. The cabin was one of the most well equipped places I have ever stayed. I usually expect to bring dish detergent, laundry detergent, salt/pepper, coffee filters, etc. and I did bring them; however, I could have used that packing space for other things because they were all provided at the cabin. These were in addition to the gas grill with plenty of gas, the hot tub, washer/dryer, and the canoe. Also, Melody Wilt responded to all questions extremely quickly. I emailed with questions several times and had a response in less than 30 minutes.
We canoed into the Cherokee National Forest at Melody's suggestion - beautiful! I highly recommend renting a pontoon boat and touring the lake. We did take a day trip to Bristol taking the scenic drive, but enjoyed the lake more than driving the twisting roads. Also, take Melody's suggestion to pick up your food before you arrive at the cabin as going to buy groceries is not a quick trip down the road. We brought our food and utilized the grill. Loved having breakfast and dinner on the deck. When, not if, we return, we will rent a pontoon for multiple days and probably not leave the lake until check out day.
Bass Bungalow is a perfect size for a couple. Thank you so much for a wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Bass Bungalow on Watauga Lake

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

What a fantastic place! The lake and the mountains are gorgeous. The cabin was one of the most well equipped places I have ever stayed. I usually expect to bring dish detergent, laundry detergent, salt/pepper, coffee filters, etc. and I did bring them; however, I could have used that packing space for other things because they were all provided at the cabin. These were in addition to the gas grill with plenty of gas, the hot tub, washer/dryer, and the canoe. Also, Melody Wilt responded to all questions extremely quickly. I emailed with questions several times and had a response in less than 30 minutes.
We canoed into the Cherokee National Forest at Melody's suggestion - beautiful! I highly recommend renting a pontoon boat and touring the lake. We did take a day trip to Bristol taking the scenic drive, but enjoyed the lake more than driving the twisting roads. Also, take Melody's suggestion to pick up your food before you arrive at the cabin as going to buy groceries is not a quick trip down the road. We brought our food and utilized the grill. Loved having breakfast and dinner on the deck. When, not if, we return, we will rent a pontoon for multiple days and probably not leave the lake until check out day.
Bass Bungalow is a perfect size for a couple. Thank you so much for a wonderful vacation.

Owners response: Freda,
I could tell during the reservation process that you were a kind person. Your compliments are so deeply appreciated and such a breath of fresh air to hear. Thank you too for taking the time to say such nice things about the Bass Bungalow and our service. We aim to please and am so glad we didn't miss this time.
Remember as a returning guest you'll get a great discount so let me know when you're ready to come back,
Melody
alakecabin4ucom

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

bass bungalow

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

I was very glad we rented this place.It was clean and ready for us at check in time was a cute little place we had a blast we were on the water all day and the owners were real nice and so was rose.We are planning on renting this place again next year. the free canoe was fun.I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a great place to relax.and melody was a sweet heart she walked me through the whole thing on what to do and let me know all the fun activities there was to do. we where right on the water. great place to rent

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful property, great views and very clean.

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

We have been here at the Bass Bungalow for the past five nights. Its perfect for any couple looking to get away. The canoe ride down the river is gorgeous and like Melanie suggested its well worth the trip. Saw deer, turkey, explored a cave and picnicked on the shore line. The cabin is very comfortable, clean and has Wifi so we are very happy. Our hot tub is crystal clear and there aren't any bugs or bees around at all. I had to write this review so soon because I couldn't have expected better. Thanks too to Rose in housekeeping. This place was spotless when we checked in.
Milton & Beth

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Bee hive

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Beautiful property with a large bee hive under the deck and a filthy hot tub!

Owners response: Yes, it is a beautiful property, Thank you. Know the bees have been relocated, and thanks for letting us know. So sorry for the broken hot tub. We would have moved you to anther cabin but we were completely full. Come back soon and enjoy a complimentary night.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mobile home with a deck

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

The place was clean and well equipped. A very affordable way to stay on the lake, but a bit noisy (jet skis) for me. The Landlord also needs to address the bee hive under the deck. Great place for a family on a budget with some water toys.

Owners response: Hey Mark, its nice to hear your kind words. When Lisa contacted me about this rental she told me the importance of price so I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay & stayed in budget. Yes, you are right the Bass Bungalow is a factory made home. Its a great way to experience Watauga Lake on a budget. When Lisa made this reservation she told me the importance of price so I'm glad I could appease that request. Know too we have 'real' log cabins in addition to these factory made park models with log siding, but the cost does go up. Know that you are welcome back anytime and we'll offer you a great return guest discount at any (factory made or truly log) Maybe you can check out Hidden Cove your next trip up. Its a 'true constructed' log cabin with all the bells and whistles that you are sure to enjoy. July is peak season and lots of people come to vacation on Watauga Lake. As I explained to Lisa that that the Bass Bungalow was just steps from the water, and thats where all the people would be .. She booked this place, last min due to a cancellation so there just weren't any other choices. If you can book earlier next visit we'll be sure to have more cabin choices at a place thats more private and a time of year that's not 'so' busy like Oct. The foliage is gorgeous and more quiet with kids back in school. Expect too a return guest discount. Look to hear from you soon, Melody

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A peace of Heaven

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

My wife and I spent 11 nights here. I am a fisherman and took my boat. Fishing was tough for me but it didn't matter. We spent more time on the porch just looking at the beauty and enjoying the peacefulness than in the boat. It was everything Melody said it was and more. This lake has beautiful views every where you look. There is a swan we named Sally that paid us a visit every morning and evening for a hand out of bread. If you just want to get away and totally relax this is the place. Bring your groceries as there is limited services. The Dry Hill General store serves great food. The mouth of the Watuga River is easy to get to with a canoe and again is a beautiful trip and has bass and rainbow trout. Swimming right at your dock, with up to 25' of water in cove. We found many spots of water over 250" deep. Nice clean water as well. To sum this trip up in one word it would have to be beautiful!!
Rose the house keeper is very nice and helpfull. All the locals and guests we met were super nice and friendly. Security was not an issue, we left everything in our boat at night with no worries. This is the prettiest place we have ever stayed in TN.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review. Its so good to hear positive remarks from folks. We look forward to seeing you soon when you're ready for another mtn get away here on Watauga lake. You can expect a return guest discount too.
THanks again,
Melody

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This is just steps to the water with a terrific view

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

Thanks to Melody who took the best of care to insure our stay was perfect. Thank you, and we'll see you this fall.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Absolutely, Your dates are already reserved including your 'free night' as a returning guest. After three stays with us you will receive two complimentary nights. So you are on your way .. Thanks again, Melody

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

Had a great time here. Clean, gorgeous views and great fishing. Highly recommend to anyone looking for peace and quite.
Melody does a great job and hands you a lot of information about the area so you won't run out of stuff to do. The canoe trip down the river is gorgeous and boat rentals at several nearby marina's are plentful. Thanks for a great stay, see you in the fall.
Jonny

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind words, Jonny. Look forward to seeing you again in Oct.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bass Bungalow

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

I was expecting from the pictures and despriction that this bungalow was a tad more private, however we had a wonderful stay. We were visiting TN to attend the Nascar race(it doesn't take any time at all to get there). The lake is beautiful and we did canoe around and my husband fished some. It's a good location, beautiful homes and scenery around the lake. We got out to sight see every day but one and went to antique stores. Very relaxing! Melody was very helpful and pleasant to deal with and had lots of information regarding the area, attractions and places to eat:). We appreicate that!
The only thing I would suggest is if you are planing on fixing breakfast every day is to bring a skillet and cookie sheet for biscuits. Other than that...perfect!~!~
TN is a beautiful beautiful state and the people are just super friendly!!!

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind words. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, the drive to the track is a piece of cake and no traffic. Glad you found the area nice and the welcome package information helpful. There are some great spots to eat and shop. You just have to know where they are. The Bass Bungalow is just right on the water, maybe five steps to the shore line from your front door.Things around the lake are getting busier with the summer months approaching. The closer to the water you get the closer you are to others. Know that we do have more secluded places buried in the woods which are extremely private and secluded. So when you are ready for another mountain get away let us know thats at the top of your wish list and we'll make it happen.We'll also have housekeeping make a surveillance of kitchen pots and pans. I know from working in a strange kitchen while vacationing sometimes they are just tucked away in a hard to find spot.One reason why we give you your housekeepers phone number is to contact her so she can either locate the item for you or bring one too you. Know that you'll are welcome back anytime and expect a return guest discount too! Thanks again for a great review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bass Bungalow

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

I just wanted to let you know that my boyfriend & I had the best time @ the Bass Bungalow. I canoed for my very first time & loved it! The fishing was great & he really enjoyed the fishing while we were there. Thank you so much for everything & we will probably go back because it's close enough to home, because the trip is just over an hour, but far enough away to be considered a "VACATION" getaway! We got to meet the fellow who owned the cottages while we were there & he was such a nice fellow! The view was great, the accomodations were very nice! Overall, we were very pleased with the entire trip and everyone was very friendly and helpful! :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Right on the water.

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

Loved our stay here at the Bass Bungalow. What a great place to relax. No noise just peace and quiet. Melody and her group did a fantastic job, when called there were no excuses just answers. I will never vacation on this lake & stay anywhere else. I've been coming here for over 30 yrs. This place is great.

Owners response: Thank you, thank you, thank you, so much, I really appreciate all the compliments.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Right on the Water

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

If you want to stay in a neat place right on the water, then the Bass Bungalow is your ticket. Clean, well kept place with gorgeous views. Loved loved loved the hot tub too. Can't beat this place for the money, its perfect.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bass Bungalow is a piece of paradise

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay. The Weather was gorgeous and the views second to none. The cottage was small but very clean, just as advertised. The Hot tub was over looking the water, and bubbling when we arrived. We didn't leave the place not once. Watch TV, canoed around and just relaxed. Surprisingly this place to has Wi Fi. We look forward to another trip this direction real soon.
Dave and Melinda

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

quiet lake side cottage - awsome views

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 28, 2011

The pictures told me that the place was on the water but once I got there I couldn't believe how close we really were. Even though this place is in Tennessee you are right on the NC state line and so close to Boone, Blowing Rock, Ski Beech Mtn, NC so you have lots of near by cool places to visit. Melody provided us with a lot of information on restaurants, shopping, attractions. The place is small but perfect for two, and the hot tub clean and well maintained. Both of us were impressed and have already booked a long ski weekend. Thanks so much for a nice & pleasant stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lake side Bass Bungalow

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

This was the first time we had rented a place off the internet. So we weren't sure what to expect. We wanted something private with nice views. On our drive in we noticed the beautiful scenery and breathtaking views of the water. Once we arrived at the Bass Bungalow we couldn't believe our eyes. Simply gorgeous. As described the Bass Bungalow was 'Right on the water'. We brought our boat with fishing in mind so proximity to the water was most important. We visited the marina mentioned in the welcome package that Melody provided and some of the restaurants. She provided us with enough information to keep us busy for the week. We couldn't believe that such a remote place existed and offered so much to do. This place is easy to find, clean, and offordable. We very much enjoyed our stay, and will definately be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your compliments and know that we look forward to your next trip up!
Melody

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review