reviews for: listing #81386 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

Hale Manu of Kaloli Point
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hawaii Paradise Park
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $100 /nt
    $525 - $525 /wk
    $1,960 - $1,960 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Healthy, Quiet & Green

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

We enjoyed the most healthy, quiet and green environment . The house itself is spacious, clean, cheerful, specially nice with colorful tiles that give the house a lot of character. Thank you for providing us with this opportunity to enjoy Hawaii in the real Aloha meaning. Julie from Huntington Beach, California

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of Our Best Holidays!

Review submitted: February 15, 2014   Date of arrival: February 3, 2014

Aloha Ted. We wanted to thank you again for the use of your home. We all had a fantastic holiday. There were so many things to do 10 days doesnt seem long enough. Thanks for all the reference & guide books. Our kids had us hiking and driving to some of Hawaii's prestine hidden beaches. It was so nice to come home to a quite relaxing home, rather then a noisy resort.
Having a kitchen to prepare our own meals was a bonus. We had a great time shopping all the farmers markets, we even bought some fresh Hai tuna from a vendor on the side of the road, shopping Island Natural Foods for organic chicken and local grass feed beef was a treat. We have already decided, if you will have us. Next year we will rent for a month. Two weeks for my husband and I and two weeks with our kids. Ted thanks to you and Kim, this is one of the best holidays we have ever enjoyed. Resort living for Rick & I is a thing of the past. It was so nice to have the freedom to cook your own meals, shop for the food you enjoy and visit the beaches you want. I could go on & on telling you all the great things we did and saw including the spinner dolphins and whales, however, I will end with. I would recommend your home to any vacationer looking for peace and tranquility in the comfort of a home. Mahalo, Kathy & Rick from Vancouver.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time!

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 5, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in your home with our daughter and future son-in-law. The house was well equipped and clean. The kids enjoyed the little park close by and we took in the black sand beach, the champagne ponds hiking from the lighthouse, the park and huge tree and art museum in Hilo. We loved the Sunday market and enjoyed the area around Seaview taking in the Wednesday night festivities. We went to the volcano, kids hiking in it, the military camp, lava tube, the observatory and had a great time at the winery! All in all, a great time to Hilo area. Thank you. Deanna & Larry from Arkansas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nature Watchers

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

I recommend this place to nature watchers who want to stay away from city noises and traffic. The house is about 35 mins away from the Hilo Farmer's market, but it is closer to the Volcano and the Southeast part of the island. It is clean and overall well kept. As city dwellers, we enjoyed the natural sound of birds. There is a whole library of guidebooks on the Big Island that are super helpful. Shiela from San Francisco

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cheers and Enjoy this Beautiful House! Entry #2

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

Kapoho Tide Pools: Go here. Bring 3 dollars (honor system) for parking. We dropped a $20. It’s that beautiful. It’s amazing snorkeling or the most surreal picnic you’ll ever have. McKenzie Park: In the minds of about 20 locals, there is a disc-golf park here. This means that if any of those people are there, they can tell you where each of the 18 trees that make up the “holes” of this course are. I swear they were faking it. Whatever, I shot 2 under both of em. What’s disc golf you ask? Kahena Beach: Do NOT go here on weekends. Go here midweek. Take very little with you, you’ll be getting naked. Ok, you don’t have to get naked but most of the other people will be. You may as well. This is just 8 miles or so up the red road from Uncle Rogers’. If dreadlocks and naked people freak you out, this is not your place. However, if you are a strong swimmer (really tough breaks and current here) and enjoy realizing you’re an organic life form complete with skin, then go have fun. We did. Papalokea - Green Sand Beach: This is one of those places that will not exist forever.
South Point Road is located between mile markers 69 70 down highway 111. From there, you can take a left which brings you to a cool parking area from which you walk a moderate 2.5 mile hike up and down some craggily volcanic landscape. At the end of that walk is one of the only 2 actually green sand beaches in the world. It’s, eh… green. It’s pretty nice. The water there is great, swimming is awesome. Also, chances are there is a guy or two with some Polaris offroad vehicles to shuttle you there. We paid $20 for a ride back after trekking in (mainly because Polaris rides are pretty fun).
Punalu’u – Black Sand Beach: This is the tourist friendly, definitely going to see a sea turtle on black sand, beach. Amazing snorkeling here. This is mostly a community beach so be respectful of the local folks. Maybe bring some cash and buy their way too expensive cans of coke or something. It’s really the only actual industry some of those folks have available to them. Jenn & Mike, Redwood City, CA

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cheers and Enjoy this Beautiful House!

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

First off, there’s a couple of amazing walks you could take every day here. If you go down to Shipman beach, make sure to take a couple of water bottles per person and make sure to wear shoes you don’t mind getting a little muddy. It’s a good hour and a half walk for two fit adults so plan accordingly. Remember to always follow the left-most trail. Trust me, you cannot get lost in these woods. Just keep going until you see a beach. You will see a beach. And it will be awesome. Now, for some area recommendations Hilo Bay Café: It’s as close to fine-dining as you’ll find on this side of the island, complete with prices. Best bet is to stay away from the appetizers due to cost-to-value concerns. This is actually a pretty good place to get a drink if you get the bartender we had. She’s one of those who uses a straw to taste the drinks she’s making. Don’t get dressed up. Kaleo’s (in Pahoa): This was the second restaurant we found that had a Mediterranean bent. Whatever, it also has a cool regional menu with local caught fish, interesting only-in-Hawaii flavor combos, and awesome portions. You’re getting a good value with this menu. Also, there is a free cat to play with if you hang out on the lanai out front. Puna Girl Farms: Do not miss this awesome place. Was once a completely destitute abandoned macnut farm. With 15 year’s worth of love, labor, and pain and it is now a thriving farm dealing mostly with macnuts but happily sprinkled with diverse regional fruits as well. The incredibly warm and open owner, Cherie, is worth the trip to the big island just to hear her story. She’s amazing. Trust us. She’ll have some fruit for sale and chances are her starfruit tree is overflowing and she’ll BEG you to come on in and pick as many as you like. Maku’u Sunday Market: Go here. Every Sunday. You can find most of your food needs met here as well as some cool local “other stuff”. Treasures to be found here. Great food court too. Uncle Rogers’ Wednesday Night Market: This is a half-market, half-party. You can purchase beer there ($2 for PBR… that works..) or you can bring your own with you. You can also get a stone-fired pizza, some lilikoi fried chicken n waffles, some crazy kombucha on tap, etc etc etc. You’ll definitely hear live music. If you know anyone in the Puna area, you’ll probably see them here. Jenn & Mike, Redwood City, Ca (2 month guests!)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Snorkeling with Manta Rays

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

We had a great time at Hale Manu. The (Kaloli Point) cliffs were awesome - seeing sea turtles and a surface breaking Manta Ray. Snorkeling & hiking were great. The botanical gardens was well worth seeing. Visited Kona's Keauhou Bay to do the Manta Ray snorkeling adventure (Fair Winds Cruises) - it was awesome, an unforgettable way to spend a evening. Thanks Ted & Kim. Dave, Mike & Tim, Houston, Texas

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Deck Sunrise

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 9, 2013

Great comfortable place to stay with our island excursions. Enjoyed volcano and stargazing and hikes. Good casual mornings with sunrise on the decks. Marc & Susan, Houston, Texas

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Love the house. The flowers are especially beautiful. What a great place to come home to after adventuring. Sandra & Kent, Garland, Texas

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home away from Home

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

Aloha Ted, We are now back home, had the most enjoyable vacation one could imagine! Your rental home in Hilo was just what we needed, home away from home! It was the perfect location for us, we enjoyed the quietness of the neighborhood where we could actually hear and enjoy the birds chirping and the roosters crowing early in the morning. We were able to see most of the Island from the Hamakua Coast up to Waipio Valley, down to the South Point; the green sand beach was amazing!! We also enjoyed the Kohala Coast where we spent two days and took the drive back over to Hilo on Saddle Road. The Observatory and Volcano National Park are also a must see experience and last but not least the Zipline with Skyline Eco Experience was one of our favorite. I am sure the rental car company was not to happy with us adding on 1,500 miles to their vehicle but we couldn't resist seeing all the spectacular views the Big Island had to offer! We have already recommended your home to Gary's dad who is thinking about taking a trip in the near future. Once again we appreciate you sharing your home with us. Mahalo, Gary and Tessa from Port St. Lucie, Florida

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Return visit planned

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 29, 2013

Aloha Ted,

We had a pleasant stay at your Hale Manu vacation rental. A very nice home and lovely property. Lots of birds, flowers were in bloom, and we thoroughly enjoyed the sunrise from the bedroom and living room. We truly enjoyed our stay and plan a return next year.

Mahalo,
John and Malati

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring Break Adventure

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

We loved the Birds of Paradise house, which is truly located in paradise. Close to Hilo and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park yet far away enough from the hustle and bustle that there is peace and quiet at night - a perfect spot for anyone! We loved being able to go for a run in the morning and see the whales cavorting in the ocean. Then, head off for a day trip to so many wonderful places - the tide pools, Black Sand Beach, South Point, Volcanoes National Park, Mauna Kea observatory, Kona side for a day - knowing we would be ending each day in a beautiful house that we were lucky enough to call 'home' for a week. My four boys and I would definitely come back and highly recommend staying here. Thank you, Ted, for opening your home to us! It was so great to get away from Honolulu and all the craziness that exists here. Driving where there was no traffic - what a treat! Falling asleep to animal sounds and waking to birds made us all want to stay forever. We just might be back for another few days! Maureen from Honolulu

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful retreat

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

Aloha Ted,
Thank you for the use of the house. I was really peaceful, quiet and beautiful. We walked to the cliffs every morning and had our coffee watching the deep blue crystal waters crash onto the lava cliffs. So many sights to see and it was great to cook breakfast before heading out on our adventures. When we come back to Hawaii Big Island we will certainly want to bring our two teen daughters with us.
Mahalo,
Debbie and Scott

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our guests often comment about the beauty and peacefulness of our home. This along with the Aloha nature of the island residents can make your island visit a relaxing journey. We bought this house as our future retirement home where I plan on writing a book about my experiences and learning’s in historic building preservation (Google savethepavilion and read about the saving of the mid century modern 1956 Sylvan Beach Pavilion ). I enjoy relaxing on our lanai with coffee in the AM and wine as the sun sets, reading books and organizing my thoughts on any number of subjects including the islands unique geology and ecosystem. I love walking and running for miles along the coastal roads and trails to keep me fit, and visiting the local farmers markets that offer healthy local produce for our nourishment. I'm hoping my monthly rental offering will attract other writers who would receive beneficial stimulation from this unique environment.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Up Close & Personal with the Lava Flow #2

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

Owners Note: Ruth traveled to Kona after leaving our VR home. It was there that she realized that they had left a bag behind at our home. Our cleaning service, Aloha All Natural's, owner Katie personally went to our home and found the bag.

Hi Ted-
The cleaning service called this morning and found the bag! I am sorry for all the hassle and calls, my friend was a bit worried as I guess the bag also contained a credit card and drivers license. So thank you for everything! You had asked for a paragraph or two about our visit...

Ted was very accommodating and went out of his way to make our visit an enjoyable one. The house was clean and had all the amenities we needed. The location was nice, very peaceful and quiet. Great neighborhood for a morning run with views of the ocean. We hiked around Hawaii Volcanoes and to the active volcano flow which was well worth it. Akaka Falls were very pretty. The books at the house were also very helpful in deciding where to go and what to do.

Thanks again, you helped make our trip a great one!
-Ruth from Oregon

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Up Close & Personal with the Lava Flow

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

Hey Ted-
The house worked out great. It was nice to have a kitchen and laundry room. Great place to do some running. Akaka falls were also beautiful. We did a lava hike out to where it entered the ocean and that was incredible and highly recommended. For the lava tour, we used a place out of Kalapona, I thing it was Cultural Adventures. A bit pricy, but worth it as a once in a lifetime kind of thing. You basically cut down to the coastline by the USGS volcano observation point at the end of Hwy130. Follow the coastline thru the lava until you hit the active flow. The walk was about 1:30 hours oneway.
Ruth from Oregon

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise off the beaten path

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 13, 2012

Aloha Ted, Our recent stay at your home was wonderful. Very nice and comfortable home. The grounds are beautiful. The orchids, plumeria, antheriums, Passion fruit trees and palms, make it a small paradise. Having a washer and dryer and propane BBQ was great. The propane was empty and just an email to you got it solved. Jake, your handyman was there early the next morning to fill it. The location is off the beaten path, but easily accessible to all sights and activities available on the “BIG” island. We would definitely plan on staying here again on our next visit. Thank you for everything. Mahalo, John from Pennsylvania

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quiet & Restful

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

Ted, My wife and I truly enjoyed your home. We felt like we were in a tropical rain forest with all the beautiful plants and trees surrounding your property. The location was also very quiet which made sleeping with the windows open something we can't do back home in the city. We will definitely be back to the Big Island again and will make you our first reservation.
Thanks, Ron from Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Recommend Shipman Beach Hike

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

Hi Ted, We had a wonderful week in Hawaii, and your vacation rental really contributed to the fun. We had plenty of room, and didn't need to use the upstairs. It was so nice to have the gas barbecue, washer/dryer, and all the other amenities to make it home. We couldn't really think of anything that could be added to improve it, but maybe a small starter baggie of coffee would be nice for that first morning :-). The best thing we did was to hike the Shipman Trail (which is not listed in your trails book) to Shipman Beach...by far the nicest beach for swimming on the east side of the island. It's a pretty rigorous hike, especially because it had been raining lots. Not steep or hilly, just muddy with lots of rocks and roots. My son hiked it barefoot, so it can't be too bad. The beach at the end of the hike is well worth it...secluded, great for swimming, and has a fresh water spring flowing into the ocean. Absolutely stunning! We drove all over, and the location of your house makes it very convenient to take day trips anywhere on the island. It's very quiet at night, with only the frogs and birds for company. It was great to do all the sightseeing and hiking, but also nice to just hang out at the house and read or watch TV. Thanks for everything, Ted. Hopefully we'll be back again. Mahalo, Jackie from Michoacan, Mexico

OWNERS COMMENT: We'll look into that great starter coffee idea. The Shipman Trail starts at the north end of Beach Road, walking distance from our home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful Senior Retreat

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

Your home was wonderful, had every thing a traveler could want in the way of linens, dishes, washer, dryer and TV. Very quiet and peaceful, easy to find. We enjoyed our stay and would give this a very high recommendation. I, for one, would stay here again if I were in the area! Thank you for sharing your home with us and I hope your property caretaker found the home in order after we left. Mahalo and Happy Holidays! Patricia from Virginia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed zipline over falls & helicopter lava view

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful stay! We were only here for 2-1/2 days but tried to do as nuch as we could. We will be flying to Kauai shortly. We loved Akaka Falls and the zipline over the waterfalls there is so unique. We drove the southern coast to Kona - black sand beach w/ turtles & snorkeling at Kealakekua Bay was so beautiful. We saw spinner dolphins jumping out of the water! We also did a helicopter tour over Kilauea & lava was flowing! We also went to the Macadamia factory & inside there was a store where you can pick an oyster, open it & find pearls & buy a setting to have jewelry forever! Great! There is also a beautiful 4 mile scenic drive north of Hilo where you can park & get lost for hours in some hidden hiking trails along the beach! Waipio valley was the highlight although the hike up and down is not for those out of shape! We saw wild horses on the beach!! Near the house make your way to the coast - it is beautiful!! I'm probably forgetting some but a lot to do in 2-1/2 days! Morning run for us down to the coast before our flight. Lonely Planet book in living room was a life saver! Loved everything! Thanks!! Denise & Dustin Texas & North Carolina.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded Expectations

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

Thank you Ted for the opportunity to stay in your paradise home. We totally enjoyed our stay. Your house exceeded our expectations & we will continue to stay in homes on our vacations. We enjoyed the fact of waking up, taking our time preparing breakfast, Portuguese sausage, scrambled eggs & rice. Your yard is beautiful & captures the beauty of Hilo in a small sample. We experienced as many sites as we could in our 4 day stay: Rainbow Falls, Hawaiian Botanical Garden, Akaka Falls, Volcano National Park. Mark & Chris, Silverdale, Wa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home away from Home for 7

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

We had a great time in Hawaii & your house was a perfect "home away from home" for us. We were a party of 7 people ( 6 adults & 1 child) and the house could accomodate all of us with ease. Here is what we did; Day 1: Volcanoes National Park. Words can not do justice to the breathtaking sights. Must take the drive to the ocean where the lava has destroyed the road & entered the sea. Another must is viewing the volcano at night. Day 2: Black sand beach & more volcano park. The beach is very unique & has a lot of turtles resting on the shore. Day 3: Snorkling @ the Kapoho tidal pools which was great. Day 4: Akaka Falls & Japanese gardens near Hilo. A big Mahalo, Vinay & Family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyable stay during Merrie Monarch

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

We had an enjoyable stay at Hale Manu during the Merrie Monarch Festival. The house is actually quite easy to find. Driving time to downtown Hilo was actually more like 30 minutes, and Keaau Shopping Center was about 20 minutes from the house. There you can get provisions at the Foodland Super Market and the CVS Express. The Asian restaurant “Lemon Grass” serves very good food – went there two nights in a row. Lots of interesting plants and flowers around the house – antherium, gardenia, hibiscus, bromeliads, lehua, and several different types of orchids. The gas grill was convenient to use when you don’t want to use pans. Overall, a nice week at the house. To the locals – bring slippahs for inside the house. -Randy, Val, and Lani from Pearl City.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Convenient & Reasonable

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in March 2012. The directions to the house/about the house were easy to follow and we were happy with the quiet location. It made a good "base camp" for sightseeing between Hilo (close enough to easily go for dinner) and the Waiopae tidepools, the waterfalls & ziplines N. of Hilo and hiking in Volcano. We really enjoyed being able save money by cooking. The kitchen had all the pots/pans/utensils we needed. Having use of the washer/dryer set (and the washing lines for snorkeling gear safely locked under the house) was great. There was a big cooler box too. The rooms were clean, the towels were new and we never ran out of hot water. The owner was considerate, helpful and easy to work with. It all made for a very pleasant stay with no nasty surprises. We would recommend this rental for people who like a quiet setting, don't mind driving and who want access to a variety of activities in Hilo and the areas surrounding it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: My wife and I purchased this property last year as our future retirement home. We are happy that our guests are enjoying our home as much as we do. We bought the cooler because we love to drive along the coast stopping at one of many nice parks to picnic. Don't forget to take the binoculars we provide that you can use to bird (and in the winter, whale) watch! We also encourage our renters to visit the many farmers markets in the area. My wife loves the white pineapple. I love the home made passion fruit jelly. The robust solar hot water system, including the large storage tank, that we installed last year has really worked great. If you have an iPad bring it along with you on your visit. I was able to Skype with folks on the 'mainland' showing them the many colorful flowers and birds out in the yard.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Week!

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

A great week! Only one day it rained on us - we feel lucky! Volcano area was great! No lava flowing for us though. Visited falls and hiked down to the beach at Waipio. No need for a stairmaster after going there! Tide pools are excellent for snorkeling! Very much appreciated the cooler and gas BBQ! Mahalo, Kathy & Rod from 100 mile house, British Columbia Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Hideaway!

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Me and my husband had a great break here! It was quiet, serene and beautiful. The house was a great hideaway! Hilo has many treasures - as did our trips around and across the island - Check out Kona and Mauna Kea Observatory on Saddle Road - Great! Ashley and Saleem from Los Angeles and Dubai

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Aloha from French Canadians!

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

We are a group of 6 people (13, 15, 18, 48. 48, 51 yrs old). We lived here in this very nice location from January 2-7th. We are French Canadians from Quebec Canada, so English is our 2nd language, but nevertheless I will try to give a good overview of how much we appreciate Hale Manu and Big Island. All the facilities are OK. We especially liked using the Barbecue (a good one) and washed some clothes. Among the activities here at Big Island, we visited; Akaka Falls, 2 Black sand beaches (we saw turtles), the amazing green sand beach, white sand beach near Kona, Volcanoes National Park (1+1/2 day), 2 hot ponds (enjoyable) Mahalo, Andre'

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spirit of Aloha

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

My family and I stayed at Hale Manu for nearly two weeks over the Thanksgiving holiday. We found the location to be superb, the house was furnished with a tropical feel along with being clean and quiet! The home is located in a great central location for travel to the many sights and activities around the Hilo area. You are literally minutes away from the lava cliffs and can hear the roar of the waves from the front porch! The garden that greets you every morning is full of flowers and beautiful trees. At night you are serenaded to sleep by the coqui frogs and in the morning are awakened by the sweet chirps of many different types of birds. Aside from these factors the home owner is responsive to his renters needs- as well as the caretaker and the housekeeper. A nice group of people that actually provide help if needed and will answer questions in a timely manner. If you want to experience the true feeling and spirit of Aloha on the Big Island I highly recommend staying at this home! We will certainly be returning to Hale Manu!. Martha from New Mexico

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Note from a Hawaiian VR owner who visited recently

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: November 15, 2011

We have known Ted and his wife since Christmas 2010 when they stayed at our vacation rental. During that trip they purchased their own Hawaii home which they have turned into a VR. It’s located in the Kalolil Point area of Hawaiian Paradise Park. Kalolil Point is very interesting with the high ocean front lava cliffs. The point juts out into the ocean and has several sea arches, crashing waves, and many petroglyphs. The house itself is in a quiet neighborhood. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with tropical trees and plants. The house entrance is up one level and upon entry your eyes are immediately attracted to the fascinating multi colored tiled floors and the wood paneling. It gives the house a nice warm feel. The open floor plan makes the first floor feel very communal. The furniture is all new. The main floor has a bedroom and full bath. Upstairs is a 2nd bedroom with a 2nd bathroom with shower. The deck has a teak table and a couple chairs for relaxing in the “trees”. I eyed with envy the new large gas grill. As a couple who has rented many vacation rentals ourselves over the years we highly recommend the Powell’s home to anyone wanting to visit East Hawaii.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful & Serene

Review submitted: September 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Thanks so much for sharing your house with us on our recent trip to Hawaii. It was a great and relaxing trip. We really enjoyed the peace and quiet of the property. It was beautiful and serene. The house had everything we needed. The island was really beautiful and Hilo was a quiet, gorgeous, and great city. We really enjoyed the books and guides on Hawaii that were in the house. We do recommend that you have a good convertible to drive around the island as there are many great places to visit like Kona, Mauna Kea Observatory, Akaka Falls, Hawaiian Volcano National Park. It does rain a good bit, so bring your wellies!! But the rain was a great break from our dry weather at home!
Thanks again

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise Indeed !

Review submitted: August 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

This has been a wonderful and memorable 2 weeks. Your home in the tropical rainforest is beautiful. The observatory experience was cold but breathtaking. The volcano at night is something we will never forget. It is also pretty spectacular in the daylight as well. The black sand beach with the 'resting' turtle was something to behold. Snorkeling in the tide pools was an experience everyone should have. Your home in Hawaiian Paradise Park is a paradise indeed! Mariette, Allen & Brett from Katy, Texas

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hawaii Vacation

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

We had such a great time in the Big Island. Thank you for letting us use your vacation home. It was a very nice home. We will recommend your home to our friends and relatives!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review