reviews for: listing #81394 - Seattle, Washington House rental

Beautiful Lake Front - Cozy Home Away from Home
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $89 - $169 /nt
    $599 - $1,199 /wk
    $1,499 - $3,099 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 26, 2014

This property is extreemly clean and comfortable. The views over the lake are beautiful from its private deck. It comfortably slept 4 of us (on VERY nice mattresses and pillows). Large fridge, stove, sink, microwave, cofee pot, and pots/pans, utensils, plates, cups, etc made it easy to eat in when we wanted. Tocoma, Seattle, shopping, resturants, and the highway are all minutes away. The owners were nice people. I highly recomend staying here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Views, Charming Rental, Great Owners!

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

My husband and I wanted to celebrate a couple special events in a place that was cozy, yet not too far from the Seattle city life. This was the perfect place! When planning a vacation, we're always on the hunt for a place to stay that is priced right and has all the amenities we need. Not only does this property have these, but also boasts a beautiful view AND absolutely amazing owners!

This lake house rental had everything we needed to stay in and cook, relax and sleep very comfortably. The inside and outside was neat and clean. The yard was spacious, private and very well kept. We could only imagine what it looks like when all the flowers there are in full bloom! The view of the lake and willow tree that swayed out over the water was beautiful and peaceful. There was a paddle boat for guest use, but we but never got around to taking it out on the lake. Same with not making use of the fire pit. Maybe next time…

The best part, though, was the owners. Todd and Kathy are two of the kindest and friendliest people we have ever met, hands down. When we arrived, Kathy greeted us with her giant smile and wonderful personality. We could have talked for hours! It was the same when meeting Todd. We just can't say enough good things about these two, and we can’t wait to return! Thank you sincerely!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

Beautiful lake and property! Close to I-5 and all the attractions. My husband and two grown boys loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxation and convenience

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this vacation rental. It offered convenience to all the great things the Seattle area has to offer. Family of four fit nicely into the facility. Very clean with a great deck. Great views of the lake and we enjoyed the paddleboat. The owners were wonderful hosts. The cottage is conveniently located to shopping, a waterpark and major highways.
Highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Look nowhere else for your Seattle family vacation

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Our family had the pleasure of renting Todd and Kathy's lake house during our recent vacation to Seattle and we simply had the time of our lives. We knew we made the right decision to stay here the second we pulled into the driveway when were greeted by the peaceful lake with the beautiful weeping willow draping over the dock. The rental was extremely comfortable for our family and had all the conveniences of our home such as a full service kitchen, cable television, and wi-fi. Kathy also allowed us full access to her laundry room which was a tremendous help.

Our 9 year old really made use of the large open backyard to play baseball and throw the football around. He also had fun feeding the ducks and looking for frogs by the dock. We took the paddle boat out almost everyday and turned out to be a pretty good workout for me since I got little help from the kid.

The home is located in Federal Way which is just 20 minutes south of downtown Seattle. It was comforting to know that we could come back to a nice warm home after a long day of sightseeing instead of some cramped hotel room. There is a Trader Joe's and Albertson's just a few miles from the property so you can load up on groceries and not worry about the added expenses of going out to eat for every meal. But if you're looking for quality food in Federal Way, it is renowned for their fine Korean and Vietnamese restaurants which we just couldn't pass up.

Above all else, what made this place so great was the kindness of Kathy. She treated our entire stay there as if we were long time relatives and made sure every convenience was extended to us. This vacation wouldn't have been the wonderful experience that it was without her.

I will without a doubt return to this home next time we come to Seattle and would absolutely recommend it to anyone who's planning a visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home away from home rental

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We rented this house because we were in Seattle to watch baseball.It was great for the 5 of us to not be crammed into a hotel room for 7 days,this rental was perfect! Our 3 teenagers loved it!! The lake was warm and beautiful,they loved that they could go paddle boating everyday.This rental was a home away from home.It was VERY QUIET! It was wonderfully clean, the beds were comfy. My 17yr old daughter loved the bathroom because she could touch the roof,which added to the wonderful character of this rental! Todd and Kathy were the PERFECT hosts,they were very welcoming! I think they are amazing people,to open up their home to strangers! I felt like I had known Kathy for years,she made us feel so at home! Kathy spends so much time trying to make her yard beautiful and we were definitely NOT disappointed,it was absolutely stunning! Never once did we see or hear Kathy watering her plants.Never once did we hear Todd and Kathy walking around up stairs,we were always surprised to see them home,because we never new they were there! We sooo recommend this rental.

If we are ever in Seattle again we will definitely rent from Todd and Kathy!

Thank you for making our first time in Seattle memorable!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful 1 bedroom lakeside condo

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

The place was even better then the pictures. It was very clean and well furnished. The owners were wonderful hosts! Our large family was easily accommodated. The lake was beautiful and we took full use of the the peddle boat regardless of the rain. Most of our activities were in Seattle but didn't mind the short trip in order to have such a great place to stay. I would recommend it to anyone on any budget. Don't stay in a hotel or motel when you can stay at a lakeside gem like this! Thanks Todd and Kathy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing Getaway

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Our family of five (3 teenagers) stayed here on our Spring Break trip to Seattle. Beautiful area, close to both Seattle and Tacoma. Gorgeous yard and deck with many flowers. We enjoyed quiet mornings watching waterfowl and bald eagles. Enjoyed taking the pedal boat out as well. Great park is just across the water. Access is down a path and a number of steps to the back, so keep that in mind if stairs are a problem. Hosts were helpful and accommodating. House was clean and comfortable.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Family Vacation To Go Down In History

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

Kathy, Todd, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou for accommodating our large family on our last family vacation before my kids head out into the world... It was truly everything we could hope for, from our tours and sight seeing through Seattle to our family visits in Puyallup. Your home had everything we could possibly need. My teens were a little sceptic when I mentioned we rented a vacation home but oh how they shined when they walked in and saw your beautiful home. We will deffinately be making it our Seattle vacation home in the future as well :-) Thankyou again!
Scott, Maria, Scotie, Brennon, Stasi, Dani and McRae

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just what the doctor ordered

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

My wife and I came to Seattle for a medical procedure. We were in town for 1 1/2 weeks. Kathy and Todd were wonderful hosts! It was the perfect setup for my wife and me. On days where my wife had treatments, she could retreat to the bedroom and I could hang out in the living room or on the patio without disturbing her. We never had to worry about noise as it was peaceful and quiet the entire time we were there. In down time, we were able to go site seeing because the property is in such a central location close to Seattle, Bellevue, Olympia, Snoqualmie Falls, etc. Kathy and Todd have everything in the house that you need and keep the place spotless! We are very appreciative to have been able to stay with Kathy and Todd as this was way less expensive than a hotel and we had a beautiful view right out the door. If anything, Kathy and Todd undersell the accommodations. When we come back to Seattle, we will definitely stay with Kathy and Todd again. Fingers crossed that a baby is on the way! Thank you Kathy and Todd!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful 2 Weeks Holiday Vacation Ever

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Thank you-Kathy and Todd for having us for 2 weeks wonderful holiday vacation. You were so accommodating, friendly, hospitable and easily communication by phone and email. It was handy to pay credit card or cash. We appreciated your quick responses for our questions. We enjoyed your spacious, bright, comfortable, neat, clean and quite house with lovely yard around Steel Lake. Good quality furniture same as Advs. Rooms were very clean and windows are large, easily to enjoy the sunshine and see the beautiful sunset of the Lake. Even we made a fire in the fire pit in sunny days like summer. Also Easily BBQ using gas grill. A surprised Christmas gift from Santa Claus was that at Christmas Eve we had three special visitors - raccoons. They watched us through the glass door and almost knocked the door. We opened the door and welcomed them with cereals. Your home is just inside the park. It was so joyful to play your peddle boat on the lake. A lot of wild ducks and Canadian geese were around the spacious wood deck which made my daughter pleasant a lot. She named a few of them. She fed them everyday and most of our breakfast cereals were all gone. My daughter loved your bunk beds a lot and especially the upper one and decorated the frame with your peppy toys. She read many books in your shelf. Your full preparation for bath, especially a lot of clean towels was much better than hotel. Shower room was tinny but it was enough. It was nice to have hair dryer and even ironer. All rooms were warm with adjusted easily heaters. There was almost everything we needed in handy full kitchen with the large fridge and easily clean oven. Benefit short drive closer to Sea-Tac Airport and Seattle downtown same as Advs. Exercised to the beautiful Steel Lake Park just by walking.
Tips for you. It is good to have a scissor and gloves at the kitchen. Put the broom easily to find.
Tips for Seattle newcomers, be ready to move your luggage by walking short up/down steps into the house. But it was not a big deal - only twice moving in/out. Extra exchange cloth and socks just in case you don't like wash by hands. Bring a laptop and GPS and slippers. Check the distances among the scenes closer to save your time, gas and parking fees. Get City-Pass to save your money; Parking in Green value mark place or daily parking lot closer your views. We hope to come back summer time and swim in this lake with friends
All the best for you and your family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Simply Beauiful

Review submitted: November 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

First impressions are everything and this rental was clean, cute and comfortable. The owners were welcoming and not overbearing.
The view was spectacular and very private. My husband and I were spoiled with this rental. Looking forward to renting it again.
Additionally, location was good geographically.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

Description of house was accurate in all respects. Very clean, well-maintained. Kathy and Todd were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this rental to a friend. Thanks guys again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great get-away

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

My husband and i recently stayed at this property. It was as described; very neat and clean. Kathy and Todd were very accommodating, friendly and kind. Reasonably priced; We would definitely stay there again. It is not handicapped accessible however w/ steps to maneuver. It is very cheerful and the view of the Lake was very relaxing. We used the paddle-boat for an excursion on the lake which was fun. The metro transit station is about 1.5 miles away - a stiff walk up and down hills or an easy ride by cab ($6.00). We went into Seattle almost daily which takes about 40 minutes. Bring your computer or iphone to navigate the metro/rail system lines and schedules. Local shopping in Federal Way is within the 1.5 mile radius of the rental. This is like "a home away from home", as they say and, yes, "very cozy". Blessings on Kathy and Todd and all who choose to stay in this nice property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Moving in!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

This is a Note to anyone considering renting from Kathy and Todd. Go for IT! My Brother and I stayed with them through the snow and ice storm in Jan. 600,000 people with out power we were one of them. or were we? because of the power outage we spent a lot of time with our host's. we created the power thru friendship and camaraderie. their place is Clean as a whistle and just a great spot to feel at home while your away from home. The pictures dont do it justice and rest at ease because your doing business with people of integrity. Kathy and Todd i miss you and will certainly see you again in the near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a month while we were in the Seattle area for business. The pictures of the rental on the website very accurately represent the property. The porch and the view are gorgeous and relaxing. The house is clean and neat. Todd and Kathy are extremely kind, accommodating and were wonderful hosts--we really enjoyed them and our time there. We will definitely give them a call next time we are in the area. It was so much nicer than staying in a hotel. I would stay at any property they offer without any hesitation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a dream house!

Review submitted: September 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

We had a great vacation there. The house is the one right in those beautiful pictures. Kathy and Todd are very nice. Price is very reasonable. No.1 choice if it is available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful and relaxing

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 22, 2011

My family stayed here for a week and it was great! The property walks out right onto a small lake and has a gorgeous view. The large wood deck was a great place to eat breakfast. My kids woke up every morning excited to run out and feed the ducks. I think word spread among the duck community because by the end of our stay we had about 30 ducks waiting for breakfast. We loved the accommodations and would definitely go back.

The photos are pretty accurate. The rental is the bottom half of the house and has large spacious windows where you can look out over the lake. The owners are very communicative and worked with us when my mother-in-law decided to join us at the last minute. The property is clean and well-maintained with a very nice kitchen.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxation & fun!

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

Our family of 7 recently spent a fun week at this location. It couldn't have been a better choice for our family with kids ranging from 17 down to 3! We spent time in Seattle some days and were able to go "home", have a good meal, and relax on the beautiful lake. Our favorite day, however, was spent relaxing at the house and enjoying the paddle boat and lake. Kathy and Todd were wonderful hosts and were able to answer any questions we had and made sure we had everything we needed! We definitely hope to return soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family vacation exploring Seattle

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We spent a week at this great location just south of Seattle. Everything was exactly as described and the place worked well for us and our three kids (11, 13, & 16 years). We would definitely consider staying here again and highly recommend this place to anyone with kids or teenagers.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comfort

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

Our choice to stay at a house instead of renting 2 separate hotel rooms while visiting Seattle was the best decision we could have ever made. A party of six traveling with a child under 2 years old was sometimes an "adventure" so the house environment provided more conveniences which this house generously provided. We even enjoyed the paddle boat along with great views of the lake. Upon our arrival, Todd and Kathy greeted us with friendly smiles and were wonderful hosts making sure we had everything we needed before they left on their weekend trip. The house was fully furnished and very clean as well as comfortable and relaxing. We would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Just like home..

Review submitted: July 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

When we arrived everything was exactly as pictured. Kathy was very hospitable. The lake is lovely and the paddle boat was lots of fun. The park across from the lake is easy to get to on the paddle boat and great for little kids. The house is located close to shopping and a transit station. Took the bus and train to downtown Seattle, very easy to do. Would stay again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Time

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Kathy is great, she was so nice and accomodating to us. Thanks for the great house to stay in. The house was so clean, the view great and convenient location. We didn't get to use the paddle boat due to weather but it was kinda expected and didn't dampen the fun we all had. Would stay here again!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review