reviews for: listing #81408 - Bar Harbor, Maine House rental

Gorgeous Oceanfront Home on Frenchman Bay
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Salisbury Cove
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $5,500 /wk

sort by:

The Artists

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

Absolutely fabulous home for a large group: clean and spacious with drop dead views and lots of opportunities for privacy both indoors and out. Janice was responsive to all our pre-visit questions with excellent suggestions for both dining and touring. The location is convenient to Acadia and Bar Harbor, yet offers a sense of seclusion, making it the perfect place to gather after an active day. It doesn't get any better than this!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Party of 4 couples

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

Loved this house, it was the perfect layout and size to accomodate our group of 8. The house
was very clean and well maintained. It was very well funrished and comfortable, even nicer
than the photos. The location was perfect with a bay view and access and the landscaping
was beautiful. Very private and secluded and yet very close in to Bar Harbor, Ellsworth and the
Nat'l Park. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone and would love to go there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We couldn't have asked for more

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

Eight adult friends traveled from all over the US to spend a week together. This home provided a great "home base" for our group's stay on MDI. The photos and description were very accurate...there were no negative "surprises". The home is on one of the main roads a few miles outside of Bar Harbor. It's far enough off the road to be a quiet retreat and also far enough away from town to escape the crowds while still being close enough to everything to be convenient. We all scattered after breakfast each morning, but then enjoyed dinner together in the dining room at the house every night.

The house was very clean, the kitchen well-equipped for all of our needs, the beds/linens were comfy, and the setting was perfect...everyone enjoyed watching the wildlife in the garden out front and the sunrises along the beach out back. The house provided plenty of spaces for both privacy and togetherness. It was perfect.

The owner was easy to work with, provided lots of information about the house and the area, and was very responsive whenever we had questions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything We Were Hoping For

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here this past week and had a great time. After much searching on VRBO, we found this lovely home and were so pleased with the location, amenities, cleanliness and interactions with the owner before and during our stay. The home itself is very spacious, well decorated, comfortable and in a convenient location. We've rented several places in the past and this was by far one of our best experiences all around. Just the view alone is amazing. The master bedroom on the lower level has a great view of the water and we found it a fine way to wake up each morning with the light coming in from over the bay. The king bed was super comfortable with fine linen sheets. We appreciated the little things such as having a good assortment of pots/pans and utensils for cooking. Everything was in good shape. The home was meticulous. It is filled with natural lighting from dozens of windows throughout every room. When natural lighting wasn't an option, there are multiple fixtures in every room, many of which are recessed. The lighting in the home was excellent. The grounds are amazingly private, green and wooded. Opening the windows and letting the breezes in was a great way to cool the house quickly on a warm afternoon. During our stay we had a problem with the diswasher, which unfortunately could not be repaired during our stay, but the owner was very responsive and took care of having someone out there to initiate repairs quickly. The owner also did a great job of providing suggestions of things to do in the area and places to eat. Having been to the area previously, we knew what to expect in terms of Acadia and the surrounding towns. WiFi worked very well throughout the house and was really appreciated. If I could make one recommendation for the owner, I'd suggest investing in external speakers for the TV (and perhaps a larger TV) for the living room. With such spacious ceilings and the many windows, we found that the sound was hard to hear at times when watching a show. It gets lost in all that space. We'd definitely go back to this home if we were visiting the area in the future. It's a great home and will make your vacation extra special. The photos on this site are accurate, but in some respects don't do the home justice. Highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful home away from home!

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

The Eastern Bay House was perfect for our extended family vacation. Our family with two grade school children and both sets of grandparents had plenty of space to relax in during our visit. Even with the typical fluctuations in temperatures during the summer, the house maintained comfortable temperatures simply by opening windows.

We were in a good location to enjoy many of the activities on the island. We made numerous hiking and sightseeing trips into Acadia during our stay. The children loved the lobster boat tour on Miss Sam. The children also enjoyed a visit to the Oceanarium on the one day that rained. There were also many trips into Bar Harbor for shopping and dining, as well as a night spent miniature golfing at Pirate's Cove.

Dining options were plentiful. On several occasions we brought back lobster from the local lobster pound and ate in the spacious dining room overlooking the bay. We enjoyed Havana (without children), and with the children enjoyed Geddy's, McKay's Public House, Blaze, and the pies from Morning Star Bakery.

When not busily enjoying ourselves on the island, we would relax in the spacious living room. The children took this opportunity to go down the stairs to the bay when the tide was out to explore for shells and sea glass.

On several occasions we observed wildlife in the front yard out the kitchen window including deer and a hummingbird.

The house was spacious and well maintained. The owner was very helpful with preparations for our visit and the rental process went smoothly. We would gladly rent this property again in the future!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation; beautiful home

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

This is the first time we "venture" and rent a home to gather for a family vacation, off the internet, without a direct referral from someone we know. I must say this is a relatively new and beautiful home, in a wonderful wooded setting in Maine that commands respect. It is well equipped with many amenities, clean and well kept. A plus is waking up to a spectacular sunrise over the ocean and escarpment as viewed from the master suite. It is close to Acadia National Park, and the town of Bar Harbor, but in a very private setting.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Terrific house!

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

We booked the house for the first two weeks in July. The size and layout suited our family perfectly. Furniture and beds were comfortable. Lot's of hot water and terrific water pressure. Plenty of space to either join others or have some quiet time. The views of the bay were nice - a little pruning of the trees would make it even better (not my place to prune, so I didn't but was tempted). Especially terrific were the sunrises - no need to go to Cadillac Mountain to see a gorgeous sunrise! Nice feature was a gas line to the grill instead of a small tank.

Temperatures were in the high 80s our first week and there was no breeze, so even with open windows it was very warm inside. The fans provided helped some but it was still very warm when trying to sleep (on the plus side, I was awake for several beautiful sunrises!). Not sure what else could be done differently other than having AC (we knew in advance that the house didn't have AC, hardly any rental homes on MDI do). Was told the house was designed to vent nicely but I expect a breeze is needed for that to work.

Location was good: easy access to both Bar Harbor and to Ellsworth (for shopping), and to Acadia National Park. A little traffic noise could be heard from Route 3, but nothing really bad.

The owner was great. Easy communications leading up to the rental, and even during the rental when we had questions. A few months before the rental I thought I'd have to cancel our 2nd week but thanks to Janice's flexibility we didnt need to change plans.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Acadia Retreat

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

It was a great stay though it rained during our stay period but we were very comfy in the house and had a nice time having a good indoor activities.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful setting for a beautiful home!

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

Our family ( with adult children) spent a chilly week in Bar Harbor at this lovely home. We enjoyed the gorgeous views, kayaking along the rocky shoreline and the local restaurants. Bar Harbor was a quick 8 minute drive. Allthough the weather is unpredictable this time of year, we were not disappointed with the home and its amenities.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Eastern Bay House Odyssey

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

We had a very enjoyable two-week stay at Eastern Bay House. The house is in a beautiful location right down the road from the Acadia National Park entrance, and is kept in mint condition by the owner and caretakers. Our extended family of six fit very comfortably into the spacious (and gracious) surroundings while celebrating my husband's 70th birthday. We enjoyed eating at the Chart House Restaurant nearby, the Trenton Bridge Lobster Pound, and also at Cherry Stones in Bar Harbor. We, of course, spent a lot of time in Acadia and nearby towns on the Maine Coast. We found the house to be very conducive for family meals and sitting by the fire and playing games in the evening or watching the sunset over the bay from the screened porch. Staying in the Eastern Bay House was all we had hoped for and more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful home on Eastern Bay close to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

This beautiful Eastern Bay shore front home was perfect for our family's vacation with a wonderful downstairs master suite and 3 bedrooms and office upstairs.It was clean and very well maintained. If you have to work on vacation, or want a hideaway, this is a a great place to do it with reliable internet/wifi up in the trees with a lovely breeze. The sunrise was breathtaking most mornings! Our young grandchildren enjoyed the blueberry picking, the beautiful front lawn, the spacious play areas, exploring the tidal pools at the shore just below the house, watching the lobster boats. Adults enjoyed kayaking, exploring and hiking Acadia National Park,having wonderful family dinners prepared in the spacious and well provisioned kitchen, shopping in Bar Harbor and visiting other Mount Desert Island communities.There are kayaks and lifejackets at the house for use. We all found good places to curl up with a good book, and there was some movie watching in the great room in the evening. The furnishings were comfortable and lovely!.The setting and views are gorgeous.

There are an abundance of good restaurants and if you are a lobster fan, then you'll be satiated! And, many, many wonderful places to walk and hike. We mostly relied on car transportation, but there is free transportaion all over the island and it seemed to work great for many folks. Sand Beach in Acadia park was great for beach exploration. Lakewood Pond close by was lovely swimming. It has a reputation for a nude beach, but we felt is was all but our private swimming pond with a small beach to play and picnic on. Cadillac Mountain the first place to see the sunrise in US is equally lovely for sunsets on the other side. Make reservations for tours, cruises, restaurants, Jackson Lab tour early!

The home itself is beautiful and well built. Though not air conditioned, it is designed in such as way that it is cooled by the cross ventilation. We used fans several times, but it was very comfortable for us for two weeks in early August.

It is truly a beautiful home with lovely places to hang out: the deck, the screened in porch, the bench overlooking the shore. We had s'mores one night on the beach (you have to call the fire department to get permission) which was fun for all of us! For rainy days (we only had 2 in 14 days and loved them!) there are a pool table and toys downsstairs.

Finally, the owner was extraordinary in her helpfulness before the trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Week of July 1 - 8

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We had a great week. Everyone from age 8 - 73 enjoyed the week. Our son, who had some previous kayak experience had everyone (at least the younger crowd) in the kayaks at high tide. At low tide they all scoured the beach for sea glass with quite a bit of success. We were able to try some of the many restaurants and had our quota of lobster rolls. The house is very convenient to a lot of the local tourist attractions. We had a nice tasting tour of the Atlantic Brewery.

The weather was a little warmer than usual, but certainly not as hot as our Maryland weather. All in all, we had a great time and would highly recommend a stay at the property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review of Stay on MDI

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

We enjoyed the house immensely. The quality of the interior and furnishings and the nice quiet location on the water made it the perfect base for our vacation. A perfect place to come home to after an adventurous day on MDI. Janice provided a great deal of valuable information on the house and places to go, things to do and places to eat. Two Cats for Breakfast Rocks! Especially with George the Cat for company.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Home!

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

We had a fabulous stay for the fall, winter, and spring! It was so beautiful watching the leaves turn and fall from the many windows throughout the house with the ocean in the background. It was so much fun in the spring watching the lovely landscaping come to life! We can't begin to pick what was our favorite thing to do: a cozy fire in the fireplace, sitting in the living room watching the birds and the coming and going of the tides as the ocean changed colors, truly spectacular sunrises, hanging out on the screened in porch or deck, taking a sauna or jacuzzi! It was simply Wonderful, thank you thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It gets NO better than this, folks!

Review submitted: October 21, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

My new wife and I stayed at this east bay house for 8 days of our honeymoon, and we will cherish the memory for a lifetime. First, the house itself is gorgeous, and spacious. It's modern, but warm and comfy. We LOVED the fireplace, and the views out the living room and bedroom windows are sensational! Waking up to that view is worth the price of admission alone. But add to that the secluded, wooded area and the gorgeous shoreline right in the back yard, and you have the perfect vacation location. The shower in the master bedroom is dreamy, as is the in-room sauna, perfect for warming up on cold nights. The personal jacuzzi tub is also a huge plus! The house is off the main highway far enough that you'd swear you're in the woods, no sounds of civilization at all. We didn't see any Moose, but we saw deer all the time, and the woods are peaceful and walkable. Gorgeous downtown Bar Harbor is 8 minutes one direction, and busy Ellsworth is 20 minutes in the other. The owners personal choices for restaurants & things to see in the area are spot on, and there is no lack of breathtaking places in and around Acadia Nat. Park to see very near by. We cannot recommend this place too much, it was a dream come true in every aspect. The house is big enough to bring a large group, and the grounds and area are so gorgeous, you wouldn't have to leave the house to have a blast... Kayaking and sensational hiking with unrivaled ocean views is right out the back door! And everything was super easy from finding the place to checking in and out. The house is nicely set up to live there too with utensils, and cooking available, and a grill on the outside ocean facing patio. I have never seen so many windows in a house, and all with gorgeous views of trees or the ocean. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Fantastic!!!

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

The best place to stay in Bar Harbor! The property was close to everything and the home is in a great setting. One of the best rentals we have stayed in, the owner had the place stocked with all sorts of sundries to provide a real comfort level. A great place for kids-ours loved kayaking and seeing eagles and seals nose right up to our boats! Acadia is one of the nicest parks in the US-it's gorgeous and has a wide range of activities for everyone: beaches, walks, easy & challenging hiking trails, gardens, etc. Bar Harbor is a wonderful town! Lots of shopping and great restaurants! And, of course, lots of delicious lobster! This place really does have it all--we can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Eastern Bay

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

Enjoyed the place very much. Thanks. Comfortable house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Eastern Bay

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We had such a great week staying here. Your home is absolutely beautiful! We have fallen in love with Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. We hope to be back soon. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Eastern Bay

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

Thank you for opening your home to us. It was simply perfect in every way. Our children proclaimed this as their beach and made wonderful memories.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Eastern Bay

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Your home was a perfect setting for a wonderful family vacation. We look forward to a future return. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Welcoming Space by the Water

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

Our stay in this lovely oceanside home has been a delight in all ways. The setting is perfectly situated allowing access to the water and to all that Mount Desert Island and Acadia have to offer. The view from the house and back deck offer a lovely surround of water. We have been delighted with the layout of the house as well; it is a unique combination of community and private spaces. Children will do well here, ours (8 and 13) certainly did - skipping rocks on the shore has been a daily favorite. The property is very well maintained and those occasional questions you might have will be responded to quickly by the owner. Enjoy!

Owners response: The house was built for children and teens in mind, with parents who wanted some privacy, too (and fewer steps to use on a daily basis).

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review