reviews for: listing #81528 - Old Orchard Beach, Maine House rental

CLEAN 3bdm 1.5 bth, linens incld! 1 week left June14th-21st
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  neighborhood
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,250 - $1,250 /wk

sort by:

This place is a gem.

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

My family and I have been coming to Old Orchard for almost 10 years. The house we planned to rent fell through this year, so we tried this place. The owners are very very sweet and nice. I called and talked to Melissa who emailed me a rental contract for the week. I had the option to either send a check or use Paypal. Because our other house had just fallen through we went the PayPal route figuring it would be faster than the mail system. The whole booking was signed, done, and paid for within 15 minutes. The easiest booking I've had so far renting in this area. We walked into the house exactly as described. I'm big on reviews, so they helped a lot. The reviews on these people and this house are very accurate. We walked in to an immaculately clean house (no joke cleanest house we've ever rented here) with a plate of chocolates on the table (also no joke)and a note welcoming us. We walked in and felt at ease and comfortable right away. One of the really nice things is that all of the linens were included. We've never had this before. Every place we've ever rented here we had to bring our own. Lots less to pack which was very nice and gave us more room to breathe in the car. We were confused a little about how to work the TV remote and then found directions in the welcome book.
The backyard was our evening safe haven. It's cozy and comfortable. The fire pit is new this year(we were the first to use it)and the tiki torches were nice. There is a wagon full of toys in the back that we also used to wheel our granddaughter down to the beach in when we walked there and she liked that a lot. It took us almost 10 minutes to walk down to the beach. One day we were lazy and drove the the bottom of the hill and parked down there on the side of the road(it was free)so it took us 1 minute instead. There is a 2 car driveway. We are big grillers, so having a grill outside was nice. We really like the carnival on the beach, but like taking the kids to FunTown/Splashtown better. The beach carnival is fun for a couple of rides when we're at the beach, but the better bang for your buck is Funtown/Splashtown bracelet pass. There are way more rides and there's a waterpark and amusement park in one place and it's right down the road. We also walked to mini golf one night which was fun and then home to the peace and quiet. I highly recommend an Old Orchard vacation and highly recommend this house for it. We'll be renting this house every year if at all possible.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you SO much for taking your time to write this wonderful and helpful review! I absolutely agree that Funtown/Splashtown is a WAY better amusement park option for the day! Although I DO love the ferris wheel on the beach. I just think it's so beautiful. :) I am so happy that you felt comfortable in our home. That's what we want! Thank you thank you for choosing our home and thank you for writing such a thoughtful review! SO nice of you to do!
Hope you have a WONDERFUL year!
:) Melissa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

At home in Old Orchard Beach

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We loved the house so much after our vacation last year, that we came back again! It is our home away from home. The property is lovely, in the words of my neat-freak sister, "the cleanest summer house I have ever stayed in!" Not just clean, but full of the little comforts of home that make it special -- hairdryer, television, games, books, chocolates (!), beach toys and towels, terrific grill,a kitchen with everything you need to eat in, etc. Plenty of room to park the cars, a very attractive front lawn, and a great little backyard patio cap off the joys of this beach house.

The owners provided excellent customer service, friendly and helpful. They provide a three-ring binder full of suggestions for fun places to go and things to do, and clear, easy to follow instructions about keeping the house in good working order and cleaning up at the end of our stay. They were attentive to every need.

I would definitely recommend this property to a friend...as long as my friend didn't try to take the weeks that I want! Old Orchard Beach (OOB)is quite lively, but our little neighborhood, just a few blocks from the ocean and a few more from the pier, was quiet and peaceful. Great for sleeping.

I recommend OOB for a great Maine vacation with amazing seafood, gorgeous scenery, yummy ice cream shops like Martels, Garsides, and Smiling Hill Farm, and the very interesting towns of Saco and Biddeford right at your fingertips. These two places are great for American history buffs, and the transformation of Biddeford's old factory mill into shops should encourage all those who care about small business in America. Particularly fun is Perk, the coffee shop that also sells the most delicious baked goods and sweets made right on the premises! There's also nearby Scarborough, Pine Point, and Camp Ellis for some great restaurants like Huot's and The Rising Tide, and awesome fudge from The Nestling Duck Gift Shop. And OOB is perfect for taking day trips out to Oqunquit, Portland, Rockland, Camden, and places like that. When taking family to the Portland Jetport, we found that a great breakfast place was The Egg and I.

We had a busy, fun, but still relaxing time. And it was relaxing just because of our great summer vacation house -- it really made us feel at home in OOB!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Oh my goodness...
Thank you so SO much for this wonderful review! How nice of you to say all of these nice things about us and our home! What's really funny is that we haven't even tried some of these places you're suggesting to go...so thanks for the fun ideas! Apparently we've got to get on the ball and get out more often! Haha! Steve and I (and baby Sage)are so happy that you and your family enjoy your stay and find our home to be your "home away from home." This is honestly all we want...is for you to have a place where you can relax and feel at home. So this is the BEST compliment you could have ever given. Thank you thank you thank you!!! Have a super super winter!! :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 11

 

Loved this perfect retreat

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

This was the perfect anniversary retreat for my husband and I. He is very particular about cleanliness of places we stay and this house far exceeded his (and my) expectations. We had an amazing romantic getaway with a quite beach, quiet backyard, and a wonderful midweek visit with some old friends who came up from Mass to stay with us. Our only complaint is that the ocean water was very very cold which, in all fairness, the owners warned us about. We also felt very good about renting from a new family. They went above and beyond to accomodate us. Melissa, we made your clambake recipe and it was to die for! Thank you!
-Beth and Larry

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad you liked the recipe(and the house of course)! I'm so happy you had a great time! And we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our home. We try very hard to make our home as clean, comfortable, and stress-free as possible for folks and really appreciate the feedback very much. Thank you again for choosing our home for your vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 9

 

Ideal beach house!

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Our family had the pleasure of spending a week in this ideal beach house. We were perfectly placed in the middle of everything that we wanted to do while visiting. We had our 5-year-old daughter with us and felt at home instantly! Everything we set up perfectly.The house was clean and organized with plenty of information on things to do in the area. The walk to the beach was nice and parking on days we took a car was very easy. We enjoyed the ability to sight see and then come back "home" to cook dinner on the grill! The house had plenty of room and was very comfortable. If you are looking for a laid back get a way with plenty of room near the beach, then this is the place for you! We would recommend it to everyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Nancy! You and your family were fantastic! Thank you SO much fo leaving our home so clean when you left! Did you know that Suzie wrote a review today also? Haha! I'm so happy you family could come together and all had a great time!
Please take care and keep us in mind for next summer!

Helpful votes: 3 / 12

 

Perfection. Clean and beautiful.

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This property was able to fully provide all the amenities needed for our first ever MAINE BEACH VACATION WEEK!!! The home was exactly as described with 3 bedrooms and ample living areas. The location was ideal to all local eateries, shops, gas stations, FIREWORKS, boardwalk, and miles upon miles of beach!! From door to sand, the beach is a 10 minute walk downhill, or a quick drive with plenty of places to find FREE parking if you are hauling young ones, coolers, chairs, etc. The home is clean and organized. Steve and Melissa left plenty of directions and info for all our domestic needs. The grocery store was only a few miles away and the kitchen provided a great for all our meal and entertaining.

The backyard is equipped with shade, firepit, grill, and my personal favorite- zero gravity chairs! There is a deck and two picnic tables. We were able to hold a gathering of 10 friends comfortably in the backyard during our stay. Overall, we housed 6 adults and two children during our stay. The neighborhood was safe and quite away from the main road. When we arrived the home was neat and well kept with clean linens and towels at our dispense. Our hosts provided plenty of information providing resources to the surrounding area and what to do in case of emergency.

We were blessed with a week of incredible weather and frequented the beach each day of our stay. Steve and Melissa provided quick and reliable information concerning the key exchange/ deposit and I would not hesitate to reccomend their rental to anyone seeking a serene atmosphere close to all the vaction "musts" of the Maine coast!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Suzie! Nancy wrote a review today too! I'm SO happy you had such great weather and that your families could get together! Thank you for choosing our home for your vacation and for contributing to my 3 month maternity leave! I'm on it right now, spending time with our baby girl! It's so great! You and your family left our home VERY clean! THANK you!! We had such a great experience with our rental families that we've decided to rent again next season! Thank you for helping to make this such a great experience!
Take care of those little ones!
:) Melissa

Helpful votes: 1 / 5

 

Beautiful home, quiet neighborhood, warm owners

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Thank you, Steve and Melissa, for the great little touches that made us feel special. We had a wonderful time in your bright, beautiful home. WE LOVE the way you decorated it! And it's the perfect walk from the beach not too far and not too close. Great little walk to tucker the kids out after a long day at the beach so they sleep long and hard. Was great for us because then the adults could enjoy a night fire in the backyard! Perfect weather, perfect house, our whole family is very sad to leave!
Take care Snyder family!
Nancy

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yay! We are so happy you had such a great time and that you liked our house! Thank you very much for choosing our home for your vacation! We're happy the weather was good and that you checked out before the storm. Hope your trip home with the kids went smoothly (and quietly)! ;)
Hunker down for the winter, Nancy!
:) Melissa

Helpful votes: 1 / 6

 

Great house, great place, great times.

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 26, 2011

We are having a FANTASTIC time in this house! We came down early in the season to have a quiet little beach getaway and everything's been perfect so far (except for the rain when we got here). The inside of the home is immaculate and peaceful. The backyard is quiet and relaxing. We had a couple of friends come up for the night and had a wonderful time. We lit all the torches, started a fire, and had a great bbq before walking down for a nighttime beach walk. The owners are extremely accommodating and friendly and we are sad that our stay is almost over. Overall, this place is a great bang for your buck. Thanks Steve and Melissa!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! Thanks, guys! It was SO nice of you to review us so positively! We definitely try our best to make folks feel at home and on vacation all at the same time and I truly appreciate you letting us know that we were successful with this. Having you stay in our home was an absolute pleasure! Thank you for choosing our home for your vacation! And THANK YOU for leaving our home SO clean when you left! :)
Take care!
Melissa

Helpful votes: 1 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review