reviews for: listing #81589 - South Haven, Michigan House rental

Escape to our Peaceful Cottage!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Private Street
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $315 /nt
    $1,925 - $2,200 /wk

sort by:

Lovely vacation home!

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

I rented this home for a family reunion in the area, and we were 4 couples in this home. We were extremely pleased upon arrival to find all exactly as pictured in the vrbo website and very clean. The home still has a new look and the decor is very nice. The kitchen was well furnished, which was important, as the first night we hosted dinner (barbecue) for 25 people. All the bedrooms were beautiful, the beds and bathrooms were great, and even the sofa bed was comfortable.
The only negative one could find was that the sink in the downstairs bathroom only evacuated well when nothing else (dishwasher, shower) was being used. It was quite slow while the dishwasher was working. But this was not really a huge problem for us. In addition, the sun shone in the entire front through huge windows which on a hot day could be too much for some people. The lanai in the back was pleasantly cool and comfortable.
The owner was very helpful. The beach was within easy walking distance and was beautiful. South Haven is a fun and relaxing town with good restaurants. Overall, we were very comfortable and entirely satisfied with the rental, and we definitely recommend it to others.

***As a side note unrelated to the house, but which may be helpful to those arriving in the dark: While we were there the closest exit from the highway was closed, so we had to rely on GPS, and it turned out that Washington doesn't register on our iPhones, which kept diverting us to the next street south (Columbine, I think it was?) and in the dark it was hard to realize this was a mistake. Be sure to look carefully at the street signs and go one block further north.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing and Family Friendly

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 2, 2014

We enjoyed a relaxing vacation in this lovely home! The location provides good access to beaches and downtown while making it possible to feel like you are getting away from everything in the evenings. Our teenagers and pre-teens enjoyed the space - and the games and movies. We would definitely stay here again if planning another trip to South Haven.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxurious Cottage Loaded with Amenities

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

Margie was delightful to work with and wanted to make sure our stay was everything we hoped for. It was!!! We had 8 people in our party so we used the pull out queen sleeper in the living room. The mattress by itself was comfortable but my sister & brother-in-law opted to put the featherbed on top that we found in one of the bedroom closets which they said was heavenly.

All the beds were super comfortable and the sheets were silky soft! The furniture was outstanding, the quality was better and more comfortable than a typical rental. There were dressers & nightstands in every bedroom for our stuff, lots of hangers in the closets, the beautiful kitchen was complete with everything we needed. The whole place was very clean and well maintained. The guys enjoyed sitting out on the front porch with their beers every evening and we ladies enjoyed the 4 season room with our wine. I love this 4 season room!

My husband has a hard time relaxing on vacation because he’s always worried about work. Well, this is the first time he said that staying at this cottage made him forget about work and he relaxed quickly and told me to make sure we have a week reserved at Margie’s cottage for next summer. I’m working on it!

There’s a flat screen TV & DVD player in the upstairs master and our kids loved watching the movies provided in the home. We all gathered around to play the games that were in this home and had a lot of laughs.

This is the 4th year we have rented in South Haven and we finally know we found the perfect place. Our previous rentals had slabs of concrete for a backyard or very tired, old & musty homes, our kids couldn’t get to sleep because of outside noise and the rooms were small. This home is obviously well cared for and the owner is detailed oriented. Thank you!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for such a nice review! I do my best to make our guests vacation easy, from the first inquiry to ensuring every need is met. My husband & I love relaxing at our 2nd home too whether its on our front porch chairs, the 4 season room or near the fireplace in the living room. Just let me know when you want to stay next summer. Thanks again for your business! Margie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoy solitude close to the lake

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this cottage. Clean and spacious with a great location away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but certainly close enough to get were you wanted to be very quickly. Screened in back porch area offered a quiet place to read, talk or just unwind. We would definitely consider a return visit in 2014!

Owners response: We love our home's location too! The best of both worlds, very quiet & peaceful, yet close to everything. We hope to see you in 2014, thank you for your review. Margie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely home that meets every need

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

Thank you so much for making this house feel like a home! There was nothing that we needed that you didn't provide. It was clean and very welcoming, and we love the location!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: I look at the whole rental experience from a guest's point of view when setting up our home. I want our guests to leave their worries behind and enjoy their stay! Margie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Well Kept Home

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

We were so impressed by the cleanliness of the home when we walked through the front door. The furniture, bedding, and towels make you feel like your staying at a five star hotel. I appreciate how much thought and effort went into making you feel like your in a home away from home. The kitchen was fully stocked with every cooking item you could think of from wine glasses to storage containers! I loved that the house had dvd's as well as some games available. We had an amazing time and couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

Also, we got to wake up to a deer and two fawn grazing off the grass two houses down from us...talk about postcard perfect!!! Thanks Again....

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. I strive to keep everything updated. We are having a gas line installed for our new Weber gas grill for the 2014 season. We would love to have you as guests again! Margie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect weekend in S Haven

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

Would have no problems recommending Margie's cottage to anyone and would definitely stay here again in the future. From the outset, the owner was very accomodating and responsive which was reassuring. The place was immaculate and very comfortable, exactly as described. It was perfect for us in terms of location, situated within a short walk to the beach. All in all, a very peaceful, secluded and comfortable cottage that would be ideally suited for those looking for a tranquil getaway to this beautiful town.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Vacations are what we all look forward to, so I want to make every guest of ours to have an easy & enjoyable experience. Margie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Completely exceeded our expectations!

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

I rented this home for a girls weekend getaway and it was beyond what we expected. The house felt like home and had all the amenities we needed. We all agreed the house was more beautiful in-person than in the pictures even.

We had everything we needed in the kitchen to cook meals and eat all together. Sleeping was comfortable. Location was perfect! We could walk (or take a morning run!) to a few different public beach access points. We were close to downtown as well. We actually took a cab one night and fare was cheap because we were so close.

The house was maintenance-free which made for a relaxing and fun weekend. All we needed to do was take out trash and turn the dishwasher on before we left - it was nice not to have to worry about anything and just enjoy the weekend.

We had 8 girls and had plenty of space. I would highly recommend this vacation rental. We would love to go back sometime!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love hosting ladies weekends. Check out the Women's Only Weekend on South Haven's website for this fall’s 3rd annual WOW weekend, Nov. 8-10, 2013. Margie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Renter

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

This vacation rental was all and more than we anticipated. The location was in a secluded neighborhood that provided a quiet setting, yet was within easy walking distance of the beach. We found the house clean, maintained in excellent condition, well equipped and supplied. Description provided for the rental was accurate. Owner was responsive and prompt. Without hesitation we would recommend this property to others and will definitely consider this property if we make another trip to South Haven.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: It was my pleasure to host you. Thank you for being a repeat guest. I hope I can serve you & your family sometime soon! Margie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ironman Weekend

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We rented this house with our family for the weekend to all cheer my husband on as he participated in his first Half Ironman. It was a PERFECT house.....we loved the decor, space and cleanliness. We loved the sun porch for relaxing. The location was perfect! We loved going downtown South Haven and visited the Oak Street Beach many of times. We even took family pics on the beach....they turned out beautiful! We would recommend this cottage to anyone!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Sounds like you made some nice family memories. We are within walking distance of 3 beaches and only 1.5 miles away from several more. (Thank you for recommending our home to your Aunt). Margie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable and clean home!

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

We loved this home because it was 1. clean, 2. comfortable and 3. very well-equipped. The pantry, kitchen and laundry area were stocked with everything we needed for our stay..and more. In fact, I probably over-packed, not expecting to have so much provided! We were so happy with the quality/quantity of the amenities (dishware, paper products, cleaning supplies etc). The bedding was comfy and my children loved their make-shift "playroom loft" and all it's games. It was a nice area of town for biking and running and there was a short, easy walk (yes, even with young kids thanks to the provided wagon) to the 1st street beach access. The owner was responsive and accommodating. We enjoyed our time spent in this beautiful home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I try to provide as many amenities as possible but still have lots of room for your things. I want to maximize your vacation time. Thank you! Margie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean, comfortable and cozy

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

This house was a great weekend getaway from our hectic lives in the city! We are two young couples and each of us has one small child. The house had two master beds and baths on separate floors which was an ideal layout for us.
We had one day of heavy rain and we had to stay inside so it was nice that the house was clean, comfortable and cozy with a great fireplace. All of the sheets and towels are new and luxurious. The house has all new appliances, a great DVD selection, fun games and baby accessories. We enjoyed the sun the following day and utilized the nearby bike trail, close proximity to the beach and the expansive yard behind the house. The neighborhood was very peaceful.
The home owner was very organized and responsive to our requests and questions.
Thanks for a nice weekend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love the layout of the Master bedrooms with baths on different floors ensuring privacy. The main floor master has been a hit for grandparents or a 2nd couple. Hope you come back soon Lindsey! Margie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls' Getaway!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

We loved our weekend retreat at Margie's Escape. We did a bible study retreat with 6 ladies and it was perfect. The home was very comfortable, clean, and stocked with all the necessities. We loved the climate controlled sunroom, the comfortable beds, and the closeness to downtown. I'd love to come back in the summer!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love hosting to different groups, bible study, girl/guy's weekends, families, book clubs, couples, etc. Thanks Rebecca!

Margie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect house!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

We spent our girls weekend in South Haven this year at this beautiful rental property. The house was perfect in every way!! Very clean and had everything you would need for a stay away from home. The owner was great to work with and extremely accomodating. I would recommend this property to anyone interested in visiting South Haven, MI.

Linda
Rives Junction, MI

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We hope you enjoyed the 1st annual WOW (Women's Only Weekend) in South Haven. The 2nd one is November 9-11,2012. Check it out at wowsouthhaven website. Thank you for your kind review Linda!
Margie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Rental

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Beautiful and clean house in a great location. All amenities provided are top of the line in quality. Owner very professional and helpful. Plenty to do in the house (games, movies, relaxing sun porch) as well as out of the house (close to beach, shopping, and restaurants). Would definitely recommend to a friend and hope to visit again soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Yes, our home is close to everything. If our guests have never been to South Haven before, we like to offer restaurant suggestions as well as things to do. Thank you for your review Janel. Margie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Kristina

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Very nice house just minutes from the lake Michigan. Most of our vocation time we spent inside because of rain but we weren't bored. We could watch TV, play games, enjoyed sitting in the sunroom. Thanks to the owner, it was very well-maintained, very clean house. Definitely, I would recomend this house to a friend and will rent this house again!

Owners response: Thank you Kristina! We've added more DVD's & games this summer for those rainy days/nights. We love listening to the rain and playing games in our 4 season room with an adult beverage. Margie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful, quiet, and sunny place to stay!

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

A very lovely and airy home with lots of sunshine and amenities. The owners are very thoughtful, and provided all that we needed - towels, a wonderful coffeemaker, board games, movies, etc. And everything was new! It's located in a quiet neighborhood that is a few minutes walk to the beach. It was a wonderful place to go for a run with tree lined streets. The owners are also really nice, understanding, and helpful! I highly recommend this place, and we hope to be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We strive to look at our cottage from our guest's viewpoint. We have high quality sheets, towels and furniture! Our kitchen is completely stocked. All you need to bring are your beach towels... Meme, we love the peacefulness our cottage offers too! Thank you. Margie

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review