reviews for: listing #81598 - Palm Springs, California House rental

Modern Dream ~ Disc$1299/wk 12/1-12/22
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Racquet Club Estates
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $900 - $2,000 /wk

sort by:

Great House, Horrible Neighbors

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

The house is wonderful. The pool is fantastic. The problem is the neighbors. There were six of us in the house and, as it was warm at night, we wanted to stay outside and chat, swim, and use the hot tub. Unfortunately, that was not possible. The first noise complaint we were sitting outside laughing and talking. The second time we were in the hot tub with lowered voices. The third time there were two people outside LITERALLY WHISPERING. Really super stressful to get aggressive phone calls about how the police were going to kick us out when we were just trying to sit outside on a warm night. So, so, so disappointing.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 2013 Stay

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

My wife & I were down for a few days with the intention if losing our stress. Mission accomplished! The home was entirely comfortable and had everything we could need. We spent most of our time in & around the pool & spa. The backyard has total privacy, & it was the quietest neighborhood we has ever known. I was concerned the bed would not be as comfy as our own but was pleasantly surprised. Great place to unwind!

Value: 5/5
Experience: 5/5
Property: 5/5
Overall: 5.00/5.00

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Place ... We'll Be Back

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We spent a week at this incredible home and can't wait to do it all again. The house is ultra cool. The pool and outdoor area is absolutely fantastic. Daytime was enjoyed chilling by the pool .. we spent every night watching the sunset over the beautiful mountain view .. eating outdoors, jacuzzying, swimming and finally enjoying the fire-pit before bed ... then getting up and doing it all over again :-) The place is close to everything .. and just has this really amazing vibe. We can't wait to rent again. Thanks ... was Perfect!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

nothing but great.......

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 2, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
my wife and I will be back,it was get what we wanted.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mid-Centry Modern Dream House.

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Beautifully appointed mid-century home in Racket Club. The house have everything you need to entertain or stay at home and cook and enormous dinner. The heated pool and spa, gas fire pit in the back yard are resort like and in tip top condition. Lounge in comfort with amazing views of the mountains. Only a few minutes drive to the center of town. This places is idea!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Modern Dream

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This house is fabulous. My stay was amazing and I can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great holiday,! Great house

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We spent 10 days at this house in the middle of August. Despite record setting heat we managed to have a great holiday. The AC and great pool helped keep us cool.
The bedrooms and beds are very comfortable. Kitchen is well stocked. The living room is ok. Retro couch is not the most comfortable but then again we tried to spend as little time as possible watching tv or sitting inside.
The backyard is what made us pick the house. Pool was a good size. Also the overhang and outside dinning area was a perfect way to stay out of the sun in the afternoon. Sat out by the fire pit every night once the sun went down and enjoyed the beautiful mountain views.
I would only recommend a couple of improvements. They only provided 3 beach towels which wasn't enough especially for a four bedroom house. Second the 4 loungers get shade for a couple hours in the morning but it would be nice to have umbrellas there for added shade as it would allow you to use them more.
Overall a great property.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Time in Palm Springs

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The house was amazing. It was very clean and neat and did not feel like a rental property. We loved the pool and all of the amenities.

We would definitely stay there again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

vacation

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We loved the layout of the house. Loved the decor. Kitchen was stocked well stocked The only item I could have used was a salad spinner. Enough towels as well. The air conditioner was very noisy. And no locks on any bedroom doors or bathroom. The pool was absolutely great! The sun tanning spot in the pool is a fabulous idea. Just needed an umbrella at times. If there were blinds you could close on the windows in the peaks of the open space I'm sure it would cut down on the heat inside the house and probably the a/c bill as well. Any issues we had were fixed asap. Over all I was very pleased with this place. Thanks a bunch.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GOOD MEMORIES

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very unhappy with the location.
The vacation rental was very dirty.
The property manager was very unhelpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Overall the stay was Great our family is looking forward for another
stay . The house was lay out perfect the views of the mountain were
beautiful in the house and out, we also enjoyed the pool the temps
were perfect . THE HICKS FAMILY

Helpful votes: 1 / 15

 

Modern Dream

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We loved the house,the pool,location everything was great. The pool was not clean when we arrived,but two days later the pool guys discovered there was something wrong and fixed it. We were with 7 people in the house for our sons wedding,we were totally not loud,but liked to sit in the evening outside and talk. We had a complaining neighbor knock on the door,that he could hear us and his bedroom window is next to the patio from the house. Great... we are on vacation and cannot sit long nights outside? so I bought him flowers and a bottle of wine to apologize,as we had 3 more nights to go, one night we stayed inside (actually ridiculous that we are scared to sit outside, as we are not loud people)Would be an idea if the owner of this vacation house would make a wall at the side of the patio as a sound barrier, because i have read more reviews about this property about the complaining neighbor. Or he is just a super easy to get angry neighbor,and he seemed like this. Don't know. I can understand you don't want to have neighbors sitting outside every night and hear them talking, but this is a vacation home, so every week new guests arrive and they are coming to enjoy the outside life not the inside. And I felt paranoid after he came and had the idea we had to whisper in the evenings when we were outside, as there will be a big fine if he would call the property management or police.This took away somewhat of the enjoyment.
But overall we all enjoyed the house had a great time there. Everything is in the house you need, towels, pots, pans dishes everything :)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect getaway

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

My family were in great need of a sunny getaway from the rain in Seattle and this home provided the perfect solution. It was fun to have an ultra-hip Palm Springs home at our disposal. We hung out at the pool non-stop, went running in the morning through the old downtown and visited all the near by attractions including Joshua Tree state park.

We were able to relax, in the spacious modern home and let the kids watch one of the big TVs when they were bored, giving ourselves the retreat we parents were needing.

We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So Much Fun!

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

First trip to Palm Springs. What a super time we had!! The house was exactly as in the photos. Super clean. Lovely beds and bedding. The kitchen was totally stocked and it was nice to have a bunch of spices and some leftover cooking ingredients contributed by previous renters. We did the same on our exit. A couple things that we noted (not bothered by but noted) were that inside the house is very loud just with daily activities as all of the surfaces are concrete/granite/glass and the ceilings are high. Also, if you have kids you might want to hit the Walmart for a couple pool toys. They had 2 awesome floaty mattresses and 2 pool noodles. Oh, and I didn't know it got so windy in the evenings (thus the thousands of wind turbines!) but it made it so we couldn't hang around the fire pit at night.
The location was only 3 blocks to Victoria Park (tons of green space, a playground, water turtle) and really, is walkable to downtown when it's not 100+F. Palm Springs isn't built for walking though as many streets have no sidewalks.
Don't miss the Knott's Water Park (even if you don't have kids!), the Tram, the Living Desert and of course, the Cabazon outlet shops. We ate at (and totally enjoyed) Tyler's for lunch burgers, Lulu's for dinner and Las Consuelas for drinks, food and music. Check out Costco for discount tickets.
The group at ACME housing were informative and their info was thorough. Keep a good portion of your budget for the electricity/gas bill though. We had 8 days, no heat to pool or jacuzzi, minimal cooking, house set at 83F so a bit of air-con and it cost over $200. Interesting.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Retro Charm with Modern Amenities

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

A group of 8 friends stayed at this property over the New Year’s weekend. The house and location were fantastic! Favorite amenities include:

•Beautiful backyard with pool and fire pit. The pool has a great design, including a tanning shelf, hot tub and steps out in multiple places. There are 4 lounge chairs, complete with pillows and four big chairs around the fire pit- perfect for the cooler evenings

•Great bedding and mattresses (including the murphy bed!). The sheets were high quality and soft- nicer than what I have at home!

•Easy to stay connected with free WiFi, two flat screen TV’s and iPod/Phone stereo system

•Gourmet kitchen, complete with high end knives, pots and pans, blender, toaster, coffee maker, wine/cocktail glasses, filtered water, etc.

•Two bikes for late afternoon rides

I would highly recommend this property to my friends and family and plan to rent on my next trip to Palm Springs.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun weekend had by all

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

I stayed here with a group of friends in mid-June. We were celebrating two birthdays and it was a great place for all of us to get away. The rooms and beds were all comfortable. One room featured a murphy bed as it seemed to be an conversion of a previous dining room. Consequently, no large dining area indoors but the exterior featured a large table and enough chairs to accommodate the seven of us. The grill was great. The pool very nice. However, it was preset and was very warm on our arrival. We turned it down immediately as we didn't need heating, but found the next morning it was on a schedule that needed to be changed daily; this meant the pool was heated at night and was super warm in the morning. If that could be fixed in the summer months, that would be great--it also means your eventual bill for gas would be greatly reduced.

The only complaint concerning the home: the fridge. We purchased groceries for the weekend and came back a few hours later to find that the temperature of the fridge was extremely high and hadn't cooled our food. We called and were told it needs to "warm up" and to take things out of the fridge. That would be great to know beforehand as we purchased some meat and dairy and we were then worried it had spoiled and threw most of it away.

Also, noise travels within the home and outside. There is no landscaping to shelter the home and the neighbors were a bit upset with our level of volume. Not that we were doing anything but talking and laughing at night, but it still woke the adjacent neighbors and they were none too happy.The polished concrete on the interior makes the home wonderfully pool safe but also allows noise to travel throughout.

All in all, great character, great location, and very comfortable home for a getaway.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Sunny Getaway!

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

My family recently had the privilege of staying in this gorgeous home! The home itself is completely remodeled, modern and very clean. Everything is top of the line from the comfy beds and sheets to the gorgeous modern furniture and accents.

The house is located close to everything and has every amenity imaginable (washer and dryer, dishwasher, computer and wifi, pool and hot tub and on and on).
We were there with our 3 year old and she loved the pool – the pool has a built in tanning shelf so she had a ton of room to play in the water without being under water and the pool even had a water feature!

The home also has a gas fire pit so evenings were spent admiring the stunning mountain view (and beautiful stars) around the fire pit with cocktails!
We definitely plan to make this home a part of our annual family vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wow!

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

Wow! This place is amazing. I loved everything about it. It's absolutely beautiful. The pool area was my favorite. I spend some good relaxing time here. I also appreciated the friendly service from the management. Thanks for making this long weekend so relaxing and easy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Unforgettably Great First Experience in Palm Springs

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

This home was a fantastic place to stay for my first trip ever to Palm Springs! I was in awe when I stepped through the front door. I felt like I was walking into a boutique resort. Everything was very clean. The home was clutter free and modern but very comfortable and homely.

The backyard was just as breathtaking with the pool, jacuzzi and fire pit.

I liked that the home was centrally located and convenient to get to restaurants, bars/nightclubs, grocery stores, boutique shops and places to go sightseeing.

I would definitely stay here again on my next vacation to Palm Springs!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

OK house but not well maintained

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

The house is nice looking and modern but it was not well maintained. Lot of little things around the house falling apart.
Screen door was detached (nerve wreaking with babies running around). Had to close the sliding door and had no air because of it. Towel hook was falling apart. Light switch fell off. And one of the bedrooms' door shook all night from the desert wind and made noise all night long.
Trash was full when we arrived. Pool was not really clean.
Don't really understand the cleaning fee when we were expected to clean everything up ourselves such as windows, bbq grill, dishes...
Not walking distance to town.
But the house was open and modern so easier to keep eye on babies.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Great remodeled mid-century house

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 2, 2011

From the moment we walked in, we knew this would be a wonderful experience. It was everything we expected from a recent remodel: great kitchen with bar seating, fabulous pool and spa, elegant bathrooms, even comfy mattresses - that feeling of clean and brand new. Vintage is well represented, too, with a roomy mid-century sofa, lamps, tables, and more throughout the house. It is beautifully decorated. Great location, too. We pedaled downtown on bikes to shopping, bars, restaurants. The best part was the manicured, secluded back yard: great pool, heated spa with plenty of jets, covered patio and the raised fire pit where we spent evenings watching the sunsets. The property is professionally managed which was a great comfort. We will definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great remodeled mid-century house

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 2, 2011

From the moment we walked in, we knew this would be a wonderful experience. It was everything we expected from a recent remodel: great kitchen with bar seating, fabulous pool and spa, elegant bathrooms, even comfy mattresses - that feeling of clean and brand new. Vintage is well represented, too, with a roomy mid-century sofa, lamps, tables, and more throughout the house. It is beautifully decorated. Great location, too. We pedaled downtown on bikes to shopping, bars, restaurants. The best part was the manicured, secluded back yard: great pool, heated spa with plenty of jets, covered patio and the raised fire pit where we spent evenings watching the sunsets. The property is professionally managed which was a great comfort. We will definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Remodeled mid-century gem

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 2, 2011

From the moment we walked in, we knew this would be a wonderful experience. It was everything we expected from a recent remodel: great kitchen with bar seating, fabulous pool and spa, elegant bathrooms, even comfy mattresses - that feeling of clean and brand new. Vintage is well represented, too, with a roomy mid-century sofa, lamps, tables, and more throughout the house. It is beautifully decorated. Great location, too. We pedaled downtown on bikes to shopping, bars, restaurants. The best part was the manicured, secluded back yard: great pool, heated spa with plenty of jets, covered patio and the raised fire pit where we spent evenings watching the sunsets. The property is professionally managed which was a great comfort.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Absolutely Stunning!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

After walking through the door, I knew I was going to be loving this place!

The floor plan is wide open and there are plenty of windows to let in the natural light...you can tell someone put some thought into this place. I took a stroll outside to see this breathtaking pool, tanning deck and an outdoor fireplace! It is amazing what they've done with the space and how well everything is placed. This pool is something you'd see on a cover of a magazine...my favorite feature is the tanning shelf that is very shallow and allows you to lay in the water while you soak up rays...never seen that before.

The owners went all out and decked out the home with beautiful furniture and VERY comfortable beds. The sheets are definitely something to write home about...seriously. The kitchen is equipped with top of the line appliances and loaded with high end kitchenware - which was not expected, but very much appreciated.

You also couldn't have asked for a better location as it's conveniently located on the main drag and very easy access to the airport.

My stay was fabulous...A+!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review