reviews for: listing #81655 - Luray, Virginia Cabin rental

Cast-a-Way Cabins
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $185 - $225 /nt
    $850 - $950 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Escape

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

We loved our stay (actually at Reel-It-In Cabin...next door to Cast-A-Way). The cabin was very clean, very comfortable, well equipped, and very cozy. It truly was a perfect winter weekend. The setting is fabulous and we loved being able to walk down to the river. Hot tub was perfect for relaxing and to top it all off, we had a beautiful little snow fall on our first day. Luray Caverns are easy to get to and we followed it up with a delicious lunch at Gathering Grounds (great home made pies!).

We are already looking forward to a return trip!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

We will definitely be back

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

When our vacation in the OBX was cancelled due to hurricane Irene, I was devastated! Desperate to find a last minute vacation I found this beautiful cabin. What a blessing! My husband and I had a wonderful time in this immaculately clean,peaceful and private cabin. We had coffee on the deck every morning and a dip in the hot tub every evening. Access to the river was right down the road where we went fishing and swimming. The town of Luray was about a 15-20 minute drive away, here you could eat, go antique shopping, grocery shopping, even catch a movie at the page twin theater. The owners were so sweet and helpful. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Not for us...

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

I wish we would have known more about what to expect. The property itself is fine, in good condition. But the rooms are a bit small, and we had too many people to be comfortable there. We had 4 adults and 2 children who had their own beds with them. The living room only seats 3 adults - a love seat and a rocking chair, the dining table only 4 people comfortably. Logistically it's also not great- there is very little to do in the immediate vicinity. It is several miles up into the woods on gravel roads, with a fairly steep hill to get up to the property itself, so once we got there - it would've been a significant undertaking to leave. So, if the weather is decent one could sit in the hot-tub or have a campfire or picnic, but when we were there it was over 100 degrees. We ended up leaving a day early.

It would be a perfect property for a couple who want to spend some quiet time together at the cabin, or maybe a famiily of small size that wanted to go to Shenandoah River Outfitters for boating/rafting, etc., but the property didn't work for us that well.

The owners did provide good customer service in setting up the rental and were really responsive.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: This summer we've had some hot days. One advantage of our hot tub is that the temperature can be lowered to a cooler level if you'd like. Our cabins are within walking distance to the Shenandoah River and offer private river access. They are five minutes from the Shenandoah River Outfitters, our family canoe business and 15 minutes from the town of Luray. Our cabins are great for romantic getaways, honeymooners, anniversary couples as well as families! We have had many families and couples stay in our cabins and I would like to share some of responses we've received from other guests, but I am leaving out their names to respect their privacy:

"We've had a great time at the cabin. There are so many beautiful sights around here! Thanks, it was a great family vacation!"

"Thank you for the use of the cabin. The kids had a great time in the river (as did the parents). The fishing was good also. Times in the woods with family, exploring and enjoying each other and nature are times to be cherished!"

We often receive detailed lists of guest stays at our cabin:
Sunday: arrived 4pm, jumped in hot tub! Pizza from Anthony's in Luray.
Monday: Swimming in private river access. Explored town of Luray; ice cream at Cravings.
Tuesday: Horsebackriding on trails at Jordan Hollow Stables; very nice, friendly
Wednesday: Tubing on Shenandoah River- fun- River was a little low!
Thursday: Luray Caverns -awesomingly amazing!
Friday: Rented bikes from Appalachain Outdoor Adventures; rode to Lake Arrowhead-very pretty ride.
Saturday: Hiking at Hawskbill Mountain on Skyline Drive- Beautiful view!
Thanks for a GREAT family vacation!

"Our two families had a great time!...this is an awesome place. The dogs bonded and I think they want to live here forever!
"We all had a great time and enjoyed everything (especially the hot tub!) "

"WOW, So beautiful and peaceful! We will visit again! Luray is Heaven"

"I knew after speaking with you on the phone and viewing your website that this place would be "the place" for our family to take a relaxing break from the "real world!" It is more beautiful in person and I have to say your decorating style is superb! It was so nice to getaway to a quiet, peaceful place in the mountains and go for a jog, walk to the river. Thanks for everything!"

Our two bedrooms both have private entrance areas and queen sized beds. The cabins are designed to be cozy, but very comfortable. We are just a Cast-a-Way!

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 5, 2009   Date of arrival: October 5, 2009

We want to thank you so much for a fantastic weekend....It was more than we
thought! This was a dream I personally had imagined for a long time. I have
no complaints and will recommend this cabin, the beauty of the mountain, all
of nature at it's best to everyone and anyone wanting to spend time alone, in
thought, or with a special one. It was all we wanted and much more than
expected. We especially loved sitting out on the deck with our hot apple
cider talking and laughing, while the moon and stars kept us company.
Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 3, 2009   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

The cabin was perfect for our honeymoon. The mountains and trees and river
are so beautiful. We really appreciate the care you took to make our trip perfect!
Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 18, 2009   Date of arrival: April 18, 2009

Amazing! So peaceful, clean & relaxing. A lot of fun activities so close by-
Luray Caverns, Luray Zoo, Bike riding, fishing, Automobile Museum & the
Garden Maze. We truly enjoyed our campfires and cookouts. -Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 22, 2009   Date of arrival: February 22, 2009

First visitors to this Reel-It-In Cabin. We had a great weekend. Down the road
and to the left is a trail in the National Forest. We had a nice hike there with our
dog, Ursula. Loved the hot tub. Great cabin!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 25, 2009   Date of arrival: January 25, 2009

Angela and Christian,
Thank you for letting us use your beautiful cabin! Both couples enjoyed their 5
year Anniversary here. If felt just like home. We loved making smores on the
fire outside! The river is beautiful and we enjoyed the hot tub very much!
Thanks Again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2009   Date of arrival: January 2, 2009

Dear Angela and Christian,
We had a lovely time at the cabin. It was the perfect get away for the New Year
and my birthday. The cabin is beautiful, inviting and very comfortable. We
enjoyed star gazing on the cold nights in the warm, hot tub. We wish you a
Happy, Healthy and blessed New Year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 22, 2008   Date of arrival: June 22, 2008

The Goebels,
This place was peaceful, private and perfect for our anniversary. It was nice
to be able to do things during the day (visit into Luray-downtown, walking on
the Hawksbill Greenway, horseback riding, etc.) and come back "home" to
grill, eat and relax. Everyone was especially nice wherever we went, and we
foresee ourselves visiting you again in the future.
We hope you keep this location exactly the way it is (personal &private)! It
was nice for us city folk to be somewhere so peaceful and calming. The cabin
was so clean, homey and comfortable-exactly what we were seeking. Thanks
again!
P.S. One of the best cabins we have ever rented- by far. And we've rented
many!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 10, 2008   Date of arrival: April 10, 2008

Christian and Angela,
What an adorable little hide away! The view is breathtaking. It's so quiet and
peaceful. You can actually hear the deer in the woods!
Thanks so much for a wonderful and much needed week!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review