reviews for: listing #81763 - Rockport, Texas House rental

Relaxing Waterfront Home Key Allegro/Boat Dock Book Now!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Key Allegro Island
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $295 - $395 /nt
    $2,275 - $2,625 /wk

sort by:

Loved the house and will return

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 6, 2014

We have finally found the perfect vacation house to rent when we want to visit the Rockport/Port A area with family or friends. The house , furnishings, and location are perfect. I honestly can not say enough wonderful things about this house and it's location. The house is perfectly stocked with everything you might need, including water toys the owner provides.....but was just too cool of weather for us to enjoy this trip. We look forward to our next stay as soon as we can plan it

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home, very comfortable stay

Review submitted: November 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2013

Comfy and beautiful home. The space worked perfectly for our mini family reunion, and the house had just about everything we needed. Loved the open plan kitchen and living space - we had great meals and enjoyed the space to cook and socialize without feeling crowded.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Time in a Great Location

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

Our entire family (My wife and I, two daughters and spouses, and three grand-kids) had a great time at this exceptional rental. The place was spotless, well furnished and equipped. The recreational equipment (kayaks, paddle boat etc) made the stay especially fun. The owners were very responsive to questions I highly recommend this rental for a great time in a great location.



Bill
Santa Fe, New Mexico

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful house right on the water!

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door, everything met or exceeded our expectations. The house was nicely furnished and well-stocked with games for the kids and cooking supplies for the kitchen. It’s very obvious that the owners take pride in maintaining their home (compared to the other rental houses we saw). The check-out procedures and house information in the binder are very well organized. We very much enjoyed our family vacation and hope to return next summer!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic, relaxing, ideal home from home

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

We had a fantastic and very relaxing few days at this beautiful holiday home! The owners have done a wonderful job of decorating and equipping; even better in the flesh! Owners gave great customer service throughout, nothing too much trouble, the slightest of problems/queries were immediately answered during booking period and our stay. Enjoyed the kayaks, decks, and local amenities - buying locally caught shrimp and BBQing at home was bliss (there were even wooden skewers and seasonings in the very well equipped kitchen!) Dined at the Chartroom (walking distance from house) at owners recommendation, on last night and we had a great evening/meal. Perfect home, perfect vacation. Extremely relaxing. Family visiting from UK were blown away. Definitely would recommend, and would love to go again. Thank you!

Owners response: We are always happy to help and answer question to make sure your vacation runs smoothly so you can relax and enjoy the coast.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Everything you need!

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

We had a great time in Rockport and our stay at this home was wonderful. The house is very well appointed and comfortable. All the linens were fresh and soft and the beds were comfortable and cozy. We utilized almost all the extras provided and I'm sure if we had more time we would have used them all. We thoroughly enjoyed the back deck in the evenings. The bbq pit was great for cooking our catch of the day and the kitchen was plenty big to house multiple cooks. It's obvious the owners take pride in their homes so you felt as if you were staying with friends. We hope we can make this an annual if not semi-annual trip from now on.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We wanted to make our home comfortable and welcoming for our guests and it's nice to know we succeeded. Since we also enjoy staying at our home in Rockport, we work hard to keep it in great shape not only for our guests but for us as well.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amanda-San Antonio

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Our family had the most enjoyable week! The house is beautifully decorated and gives you that "beach"
feeling. Everything you would need to make you feel at home is provided with the house. It is extremely clean and the cleaning staff is professional and friendly. We had plenty of room for our children and grandchildren to enjoy our stay with us. The owners have thought of every detail, from the outdoor grill and furniture, to the corkscrew in the kitchen! The house has beautiful views from inside of the canal. Our grandson spent most of his day fishing from the deck. I would highly recomend this house to anyone wanted all the comforts of home. The owners were great to work with and are very accomdating with your needs. If ever in Rockport I know who I will call!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Family Home!

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

One of the best, maybe even the best place we've ever stayed in Rockport. When we arrived, we noticed that the home was very clean and neat. That's very important to me, since I am a "neat freak" in my own home. We loved the kitchen/dining area in particular, because it is very spacious! We did not have to worry about not having enough seating for our party of 9 people...there was plenty of room in that area. I also loved the little details, like having paper towels and kleenex, and bottles of hand soap out when we arrived. That was really nice! Of course, the bottle of wine and card from the owners was another very nice surprise. There are many nice things I could say about our stay, but in particular we loved having the use of the kayak's and the paddle boat. We used them on 2 out of 3 of our evenings there. My little neice, who's 5 loved going on the paddle boat. I brought along a water gun, and we took it on the paddle boat with us and I let my neice spray my husband and sons when they went by us on the kayak's. She thought that was so cool! We only encountered one issue during our stay, and that was that we had planned on grilling out the last evening we were there, and we had already made a store trip to get "everything" the day before. We opted to not use the charcoal grill, so we did not buy charcoal and lighter fluid. When we went out to get the gas grill going, we had no propane to use; we just assumed there would be some there. Might be a mistake on our part though, as maybe that was specified in the house rules we printed out. Not sure on that one...we ended up having to cook indoors, as no one wanted to go back to the store for the charcoal and stuff. Other than that though, we had a really good time!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: The gas grill is permanently connected to the natural gas line and will light with if you turn the knob and press the "light" button ( propane tank not needed). We also supply a Weber charcoal grill for those who prefer charcoal grilling. There is a three ring binder located in the house at the desk and it includes operating tips on grilling, check out procedures and time, operating instructions for canal light, and house rules. We are always available by phone and those numbers are also listed in the binder.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful time

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

This place is wonderful. We had a wonderful relaxing time. It is a great place to stay. Ther description was very accurate, the place was very clean and well maintained, the owner was great in correspondence, etc.. I definitely would recommend this property. We enjoyed eating at Hemmingways, Big Fisherman, Crab N, and Chart Room.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A FANTASTIC rental!!

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

We rented this home for our yearly family get away. We all agreed this years get away was by far the BEST and it had to do with renting this fantastic home! Very well appointed, very comfortable and clean

The property is well stocked with necessities plus many extras such as kyaks, paddle boat, fish cleaning station, bikes....you name it!

We will rent this home again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

Our family enjoyed a four night stay very much. Location was great and the owners have put a lot of thought and effort to make sure you have all the essentials plus to have a wonderful holiday.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love this house!!

Review submitted: March 28, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

This is our second visit to this home and we love this place!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

We had the most enjoyable time!!! Our family from age 6 to 64 can't wait to go back! We were greeted with a chilled bottle of wine and found the house to be exactly as pictured, beautiful, extremely clean and comfortable and very well positioned to all activities. The owners were so great to work with, very attentive and genuinely interested in seeing that our stay was perfect. The owners attention to detail was very noticeable and very much appreciated in the kitchen too. Every appliance and utensil was provided and great quality as well. The back deck and dock were great for fishing and the kayaks and paddle boat were extremely fun especially the time a dolphin came close by when kayaking near the bay. A great way to start the morning! The beach at Rockport was just a three minute drive and several great restaurants are close in the area. Charoltte Plummer restaurant at the Fulton harbor was very good and the gift store across the street was an enjoyable trip afterwards. The big waves on Mustang Island were just a short drive away and crossing the Ferry at Port Aransas was a fun addition on the way. Virginia's By the Bay restaurant in Port Aransas was great, with an open sea side atmosphere. Our fishing excursion on the Island Queen boat in Port Aransas was great fun, with one of us catching the big fish of the trip winning the jackpot. We couldn't have asked for a better week. We definitely have another trip planned on our things to do list!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Need to add something else! You are going to love , love , love this!!!

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

I have already gave one review but failed to mention that our home owner gave us a wonderful complimentary free pass to the Yact Club in Key Allegro. The Yact Club was right on the water with a beautiful view and the food and waitstaff couldn't have been better.It is so nice to have a terrific place to eat so close to the home. Thank you again for your hospitality and your great home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We enjoy giving our guests the opportunity to enjoy the Yacht Club and there is a great new restaurant just a short walk down the street at the Marina called The Chartroom and Grog Bar. The food is excellent and the view of the marina is lovely.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

wonderful wonderful wonderful

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

Everthing about this property was wonderful! The owner couldn't have been more gracious and I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a Rockport get away. In fact we tried to rent it for the 4th of July but some lucky devil already got it, who ever you are you are in for a real treat. Thank you for making this available to us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We so glad you had a wonderful time. Don't forget to check the calendar of our new vacation rental home on HomeAway 973954.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Weekend Getaway!

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

I would highly recommend this home. Great location, nice home and owners were very accommodating.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous home!

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

As previous homeowners in Rockport, we were so pleased with our stay and felt right at home. The open floor plan and large kitchen island were perfect for our family. The bedrooms were comfortable, and the kids loved the bunk room. As with any house on the water, you have to be careful with small children and the canal. Thank you for a great stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Heather,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It's very nice to know that you felt right at home, that always makes a vacation more special and relaxing. We enjoyed meeting you and hope you have a wonderful New Year. Come stay with us again soon!

The Inges

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

BB & the Guys

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 18, 2011

Fantastic home. Very clean and has all of the toys & amenities that anyone would need. Great for 3 couples & kids. Photos & home are very accurate. Owners are very helpful with all restaurants & points of interest. Airboat tour through the nearby refuge for fishing or bird watching was incredible.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Bill,

We are happy to hear you had a great time and you enjoyed the airboat tour! Please keep us in mind for future trips to Rockport! Thanks for the nice review.

The Inges

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fishing For A Cure

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

Our stay was relaxing and most enjoyable in your beautiful home for our family.
I am handicap and it was a joy to be able to walk with my walker out into the deck and still be able to fish. It is difficult to make it upstairs in my condition and the stairs are difficult to climb but for the most part I stayed downstairs and with the help of my family made it upstairs for a beautiful dinner we shared.
The house is beautiful and the channel views are as well.

We gathered as a family to enjoy time together as I have ALS LOU GEHRIGS DISEASE and are FISHING FOR A CURE. The owner is also a phone call away for any concerns which is most helpful. The house is equipped with almost anything that is needed. WE HAD A GREAT TIME!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Recent Stay

Review submitted: November 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

The owners are most conscientious, communicating and confirming as one would like. The property is well appointed and otherwise first-class in every respect. Certainly a property I would be proud to own.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: John,

So glad you enjoyed your stay at our home. We hope you keep us in mind for your next trip to Rockport. You are certainly welcome anytime!

The Inges

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a wonderful weekend our family had!

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

The owners have done an outstanding job providing everything you could need during a stay. The pictures show the property exactly as it is, but you have to see it to fully appreciate the detail. The property was extremely clean & well kept.
We were a group of 7, but there were enough beds for 13, not including the 2 sectional sofas.
The home is beautifully decorated w/ a blue&white beach theme. The beds were extremely comfortable & the bathrooms had great shower heads, great pressure & plenty of hot water. All the linens are provided, including beach towels!
The kitchen was beautiful & well stocked w/ everything you could possibly need, including sharp knives in the butcher blocks!
Both living areas had large flat screen TVs & everything needed in a media room.
A stackable washer & dryer are cleverly tucked in a closet downstairs just as you come in from the deck.
For those who can’t be disconnected from the world, a computer w/ Internet connection is also available!
Tiled stairs leading to the 2nd floor could be a challenge to the elderly & very young. Hand rails are installed.
The outside decks were fabulous. The upstairs deck was cozy w/ a small table & chairs, plus a hammock. The downstairs deck was where we spent most of our time. The backside of the house has the morning sun, but is in the shade in the afternoon, which was perfect! The deck has beautiful quality furniture that includes a large table that sits 8, a smaller table that sits 4, Adirondack chairs facing the canal & another hammock.
The downstairs deck also included a beautiful outdoor fireplace, a gas grill, a covered fish cleaning station & lights for nighttime fishing, including an underwater light!
A charcoal grill & a fryer w/ a propane tank were also available.
There are 2 kayaks w/ oars, a paddle boat, & a locker full of life jackets (adult & kids) for your use.
The side yard was beautifully landscaped & was in full bloom during our stay.
The dock was large enough for our 22 ft ski boat & 18 ft fishing boat, w/ plenty of space in between.
The storage room had another refrigerator, bicycles w/ helmets, charcoal, starter fluid, umbrellas, lawn chairs & the list goes on & on.
The front driveway had an abundance of parking spaces. We had 2 trucks w/ boat trailers & 3 passenger cars, & still had empty parking spaces.
The owners are very easy to work with & are truly concerned that you have an enjoyable stay. I would highly recommend this property to my friends & family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great get away!! Very relaxing and peaceful

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

We had three sets of family stay at this very peaceful and charming home!!! We loved that it had 4 bedrooms and plenty of space to all spread out! The stairs were a bit challenging to some of us. Would have liked a common area bathroom instead of them all being in the bedrooms.

We all loved the birds and ducks that came to visit us! We named the one set of ducks that greeted us when we first arrived and visited us every morning Betty and Quackers!!

Over all our time spent and the house was wonderful and the owners were very helpful when we had a few questions and concerns!
We would rent this house again!!!

Owners response: We have installed new hand rails on both sides of the staircase as of June 2011.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Experience

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend and was wanting clean and comfortable. I got that and then some with this house, the owners were accommodating and the house was extremely clean and fun. Thank you for a great experience. Loved the back deck and fishing area, not to mention letting the kids have the downstairs while the adults hung out upstairs.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 13, 2011

My party of 11 fishermen had a great time. The deck along the canal has ample room for three fishing boats to tie up. The house is very well maintained with all amenities needed for a comfortable visit. Would definitely recommend this house to family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great rental for any occassion

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

We recently were looking online for a Key Allegro property to rent for a friend's wedding nearby and found this house. We are all in our late 20s, early 30s and couldn't have found a more ideal place. It was as good as, if not better than, the pictures showed. Plenty of room, great kitchen, huge deck off the 1st floor and large balcony off the 2nd floor (both with hammocks and plenty of seating). Lots to do from kayaking, fishing, and swimming to relaxing on the deck and grilling out. The house is conveniently located close to many of the area's best attractions/restaurants.

Everything was in great shape and very clean. The owners were accommodating to our needs and easy to work with. This is the type of place I would come to regardless of what time of the year it is. We'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We Can't Wait to Go Back!

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

This house made our visit to Rockport so special, easy and fun! What a great way to get away and truly relax. It was everything we had hoped for. The house easily accommodated our two families (4 adults and 5 children, 3 of which were preschool age). The house is has been thoughtfully remodeled, beautifully decorated and well maintained. Outfitted with an eye to serving the needs and desires of the entire family, we enjoyed the paddle boat, kayaks, beautiful upper and lower deck living spaces, great grilling station, a well equipped kitchen, fully stocked linens, Wi-Fi, computer station and Blue Ray entertainment centers both upstairs and down and special little details like beach chairs, boogie boards and sand toys for the beach. The floor plan is conducive to quality family time and socializing, but also holds several more private seating areas inside and out for those moments when you are seeking a little quiet time. The house is conveniently located to shopping and restaurants, the Rockport aquarium and the beach is 5 minutes away. We loved our stay and plan to return every chance we get. We made some wonderful memories and look forward to making many more at our Rockport home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Kept Secret in Rockport

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 9, 2011

This property has everything you want -- a waterfront back deck with generous seating for dining and lounging; Pottery Barn-style decor inside; luxury linens; electronics for every interest -- flat screen TVs, surround sound, DVDs for the whole family, and a Wii; a computer with online access; a kitchen with excellent appliances and high-quality cooking accessories; beach supplies -- chairs and umbrellas, towels and sand toys; kayaks for fishing; hammocks for napping; and a quiet neighborhood with nice neighbors. During our stay, we saw a new fence and outside fireplace being installed.

The property owners are very hands on -- they took a very personal interest in us as guests and in the property's upkeep. For example, we called them to let them know the fish-cleaning station wasn't working, and within the hour a maintenance man arrived and repaired it (fishing was great by the way -- the guys caught lots of redfish).

A few notes for folks with kiddos -- The house has a spiral staircase, so call ahead for the width of the staircase top and bottom for your baby gates. The deck doesn't have a fence at the water's edge, so be watchful and consider a flotation device. The Rockport aquarium is cute (5 min drive), the Corpus Christi aquarium is awesome (40 min drive), and the Rockport beach (5 min drive) is beautiful and clean -- bring a kite!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a surprise!

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

We were a family of 4 and and another family of 3 (4 adults and 3 kids). When we first got there and went throught the home we wished we would have invited another family. Great layout. Love the updates. The kids basicly had the whole lower floor to themselfs or they were fishing on the dock. Love the hugh granite (i think?) islander in the kithen. Not to mention Joe was an easy going guy and very "cool" to deal with. Wish the outdooor work was finish though, looks like an outdoor fireplace??? Can't wait to see it finished next time we come back. Memoriable trip, everything we expected and more!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great coast getaway!

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

Great relaxing getaway! Lots of cozy places to read and enjoy the view. Great decks to sit and relax in the sun and watch the ducks swim by the boat dock. Woke up every morning to see pelicans diving for fish. Well appointed kitchen, neat , clean, and nicely decorated. The house has two entertainment areas for watching T.V. which is great when you have kids who want to watch a movie and the parents want to have a quiet dinner upstairs or watch a sporting event. I will absolutely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review