reviews for: listing #81881 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii House rental

Heavenly Splendor
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $350 /nt
    $2,450 - $2,450 /wk
    $4,200 - $4,200 /mth

sort by:

It IS Heavenly!

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

We've stayed at many VRBO properties world-wide and this was one of our absolute favorites! The house and grounds are beautiful and tranquil. The panoramic view of the ocean in the distance is mesmerizing. The well-stocked gourmet kitchen was another plus. A shopping center is nearby with a nice grocery store and a Long's Drugs in case you run out of "essentials". The property is on a private road, but our party of four never felt isolated, since many of the Kona-side sights are a short to medium drive away. Owner Cindy was incredibly friendly and helpful and dropped by the night before our departure to give us a bag of coffee from her family's coffee plantation. We highly recommend this lovely home!
J.K. Los Angeles, California

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect...perfect...perfect

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 13, 2014

From arrival, which they happily accommodated even though our plane was delayed and arrived late into the night....to the time we left, we felt completely welcome and left to our own devices. The only times we spoke to the owners were upon arrival or if we needed anything at all we called a phone number and like magic they were helpful.

My wife and I and our three boys ages 12, 9, and 5 had a blast in the yard catching Madagascar Geckos and even a couple Comilleons. This property was positioned nicely between Kona and the antiquing mecca of the Big Island, both approximately 10 minutes away.
We slept better here then we do at home, it's so quiet and peaceful.

You won't go wrong picking this property for your next stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quiet and relaxing

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

This was the perfect home for our family of 7. The house was beautiful with ocean views from every room. We loved sitting on the lanai and watching the sunsets. We looked forward to the cool evenings after spending time on hot beaches. The house is located in a very private setting and it was quiet, peaceful and relaxing. The kitchen is large and well equipped. Thanks Rusty and Cindy for a wonderful stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cool, calming, comfortable

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2013

Our stay at Heavely splendor during Ironman week was nothing short of wonderful. The house has every amenity your could ask for (Internet, Apple TV,...) and is decorated with style and comfort in mind. All bedrooms have full ocean views. Being able to retreat to the cool and calm house on the hill after the heat and hustle and bustle of downtown Kona was such a relief every day. Sitting down for meals on the patio with a 180 degree views of the ocean and the beautiful garden, you can't ask for much more really. Owners Cindy and Rusty are close, always ready to help, but also always respectful of your privacy. Would go back (and want to) in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha! You are welcome back anytime, and we enjoyed you all very much. Mahalo for leaving everything perfect!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic holiday week in Hawaii

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Heavenly Splendor was truly a heavenly way to spend the Holiday Week with our family. Cindy was so warm and welcoming. The house was beautiful and thoughtfully furnished. We enjoyed the peace and quiet and waking up to the sounds of birds singing and being able to gaze at the marvellous panorama of the island and the ocean from the huge windows in our bedrooms and later from the patio where we had our breakfast. The location was very convenient to several wonderful restaurants, markets/stores, and many activities such as going to the beaches, taking the helicopter ride around the island, etc. The well-equipped kitchen allowed us to enjoy several "home-cooked" meals during our stay. The entertainment center complete with Wi-Fi and movies streamed from Netflix, etc. provided many enjoyable evenings with the family. We hated to leave to return home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weber's Richmond BC

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

This property was exactly want we wanted. The four bedrooms fit our family perfectly. The fact that nine family members each enjoyed thier time in Kona is because this house was infact a home away from home. Cindy and Rusty the home owners were the most gracious host and now our seen as friends. The views and quiet cool evenings only add to our appreciation of this house and location. As a family we definately would recommend this to everyone and definately will return. Thanks you Cindy and Rusty for letting us share your paridise!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Truly Heavenly

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 7, 2012

This house is no less than fabulous. An unobstructed view of greenery sloping down toward the sea is seen from each of the bedrooms. The house is spacious enough for a family to gather, live and cook together, and not feel the least bit crowded. We were invited to pick fresh flowers from the garden. Also we consumed papaya, limes and avacados fresh from the tree. Bananas grow there too. All we heard in the morning was birdsong. Kailua-Kona is quite hot. We were a little cooler, but not high enough to experience the "vog". Thanks to our kind host and hostess for a memorable 4 week holiday.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Truly is Heavenly Splendor!

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2012

Wow! Arriving at night, the well lit up house was certainly welcoming. The nearby owners (just a phone call away) keep the spacious, lovely, but comfy home and yard beautiful and very clean. The quiet location was great for sleeping, but the attractions of Kona were not far away. The well equipped kitchen provides ease if you wish to prepare meals and was just steps from an outside grill. The WiFi was well used by all. Our group of seven needed all 4 lovely bedrooms and raved about these outstanding accommodations! If any of us return to the big island, we would definitely seek rental of Heavenly Splendor.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spacious home with beautiful ocean view

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2012

Wow! Arriving at night, the well lit up house was certainly welcoming. The nearby owners (just a phone call away) keep the spacious, lovely, but comfy home and yard beautiful and very clean. The quiet location was great for sleeping, but the attractions of Kona were not far away. The well equipped kitchen provides ease if you wish to prepare meals and was just steps from an outside grill. The WiFi was well used by all. Our group of seven needed all 4 lovely bedrooms and raved about these outstanding accommodations! If any of us return to the big island, we would definitely seek rental of Heavenly Splendor.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Christmas in Hawaii 2011

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

The property was beautiful- even better than the photos. Very well taken care of with lots of attention to detail. The owners were nearby to help with any issues - which we had none - but also gave us complete privacy. The location of this home is perfect for activities on the south Kona coast and we would recommend this property to others looking for a very relaxing and private get away.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great House Rented by Wonderful Hosts

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

We rented this home for eleven days to attend a wedding on the Big Island and celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary with our family. This is a great place -- the house is even nicer than shown in the photos. The house was very clean and in outstanding condition. The lights were all on to welcome our night time arrival.
The owners are very helpful and easy to work with. They take pride in offering an excellent rental experience, including fresh flowers throughout the house and a large bowl of fresh fruit. They are very helpful in suggesting good local places to eat.
The house is in a quiet residental neighborhood close to the main highway (no highway noise). This provides easy and quick access to all activities on the Kona Coast and an excelent base to visit any attraction on the Big Island.
The house has an outstanding, well stocked kitchen and a gas grill and is only a few minutes drive from a nice local shopping center with a grocery store, drug store, etc.
We will recommend this property to our friends and will look for an opportunity to stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great home!

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

We have rented a dozen vrbo homes, often for a month or more, over the last decade or so. This is our favorite from that entire list! Its a simple, open, airy house with a stunningly beautiful view of the coastline below from the wide and open porch. Attractive and well built, with a beautiful and well-cared for yard, It is glamorous and comfortable, but not too fancy or pretentious. It is situated on more than an acre, in a quiet, friendly neighborhood where everyone walks mornings or evenings and talks with each other.

Rusty and Cindy are great. They live close by, but we often didn't see them for a week at a time. They were always ready to help out or answer questions, but careful never to intrude. Kind and generous people. They love this house and did much of the finish work themselves. They have stocked the spacious kitchen with every appliance and piece of kitchen equipment you can imagine needing to live and cook like a gourmet. They also have provided a high quality new gas BBQ on which we grilled fresh fish or other Island fare probably two-thirds of our evenings on the Kona Coast.

The 'guest quarters' is a small seperate bedroom en suite, with Microwave, coffee pot and fridge, and can almost work as a self-contained unit, but its only 20 feet from the main house. All of our visitors chose that over the second bedroom in the main house, and loved it. The master bedroom has the openness, quality and bathroom space to make it elegant, but again is simple and clean-lined. Everything is new and fresh.

We have paid more, and virtually always enjoyed less, our previous rentals. Admittedly, we love the up mauka South Kona areas of the Island for their slightly cooler evenigs than living beachfront, and their local and authentic Hawaiian flavor. Others will prefer the condo world at Waikoloa or a wonder-resort like Mauna Kea. If this rental is available, however, I would not stay anywhere else on the Big Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review