reviews for: listing #81923 - Ormond by the Sea, Florida House rental

Beach House With Pool & Ocean View
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $250 /nt
    $950 - $1,850 /wk
    $2,600 - $2,600 /mth

sort by:

Fantastic home and location

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

Thank you for allowing us to rent your Beach House. It was all that was described in the description and more. We were amazed on the fully equipped kitchen with good brand name pot and pans and appliances. There was everything you could possibly need. The location was ideal with a short walk to the beach and close to grocery store and restaurants. It made for a convenient meeting place for family who live close. It was nice to get together with family and have a fun time when we usually only get together at a wedding or death in the family. The full kitchen in the lower level right off the pool area was wonderful. Doug was a great guy to work with and was helpful with any questions we would have. I would certainly like to return to this home in the future and would highly recommend it to friends and families. Thanks Doug and Lisa!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

This house is absolutely gorgeous, and it couldn't be located in a better spot. You can see and hear the ocean right from the house. The night sky is magnificent. It's close to shopping and restaurants, but with two well-stocked kitchens, you might not even want to eat out! The people in the area are extremely friendly. This is the perfect place for a quiet, calm, relaxing vacation, but still close enough to tourist attractions to make day trips. The homeowner is very nice and easy to work with. We'll be looking right back here for our next vacation. HIGHLY recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Best

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Planned a weeks vacation with my daughter and 4 grandchildren. The beach was quiet and felt like we had our own private beach. The house was great. The owner had it stocked with condiments and coffee ( thank you very much my fav brand) nice silverware, dishes and glasses. The beds are super comfortable. Only thing is the sun comes up into the one bedroom at 7AM. I never slept past 7. The house looks like it is brand new. We felt like we were the first people to live there. The pool was a super bonus since the kids could go swimming whenever they wanted to and were not asking to go to beach first thing in the morning. We were going to go on a cruise in May 2014 but have decided a week at the house will be better. Lots to do because it is centrally located. Perfect, clean, comfortable. Who says theres no place like home?! Thanks so much Doug for sharing your great house. Have already given photos and info to several "jealous " friends who heard what a great place it is!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Pictures Dont do Justice

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 20, 2013

For years we have all stayed in a Hotel when we come down for Race week in February, after months of viewing and searching houses we all decided to give this house a try this year and what a great choice it was. First off, the location is fantastic, quiet area w/shopping close by, yet only minutes from Daytona Beach and Raceway etc. Steps away from the beach, I could wake up in the morning and bring my coffee to the beach, literally a 2 to 3 minute walk to quiet big beach. Now for the house, This property gives you a true feeling of being at a beach house, beautiful decor, lots of windows and doorways...each bedroom upstairs has a door to the back deck and pool area, making each room feel like a master bedroom, The living room/dining room area is large and open and full of windows and doors, giving you a great view of ocean from the porch and an open and airy feeling. I love to cook and bbq and this house gives you every you need to make it feel like home. Downstairs was a great area to relax, bbq outside with the radio on, swimming or playing pool. The couch downstairs opens up to comfortable 3rd bed and great and with the cots they provide, its great if you have people that want to go to bed early upstairs, you can keep playing pool or socializing downstairs without keeping anyone up and with the full kitchen and full bath downstairs its a complete self sustained living quarters down stairs. In closing, this house was perfect for the group of people we had with us, we didnt want a mansion where we were afraid to touch anything, but we didnt want a shack that was falling apart either, So when we got to this house is was a Pefect for all of us, its location is perfect, the comfort of home is there, the feel of a beach house is there, every amenity is supplied by the owners, if you want a quiet relaxing vacation its perfect, if you want to be on the go, your next to everything. I would definitely use this house again and hope to soon. The owner and Manager are easily accessed if you need them, So all your worries can be left at home to enjoy a great vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Awesome Beach House!

Review submitted: February 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

We recently stayed at this house for our honeymoon and we have never had such a good time. The weather was great the restaurants around the location were to die for and not to mention 2 full kitchens, one on each floor if you have no desire to eat out. We had one of the best meals we have had right there in the house thanks to their charcoal grill.
We also got a lot of use out of the heated pool as our trip was in january and the beach was a little too cold.
This house is very nicely decorated on the interior and all in all feels like a beach house should. Has a wonderful view as it is the only 2 story on the block.
We hope in the future use this location again to be fortunate enough to find places like this in all locations we would like to vacation.
You will not be disappointed with this choice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great, spacious house!

Review submitted: February 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 31, 2013

My family stayed in this house while they were in town for my wedding, and had a blast! The decor was great, the home was immaculate and is literally about 1/2 block from a very low-traffic beach. The garage was stocked with all kinds of fun pool and beach toys, and a grill that came in very handy. The only thing they thought was inconvenient was that the home was advertised as a 3 bedroom, when it's actually a 2 bedroom, with pull out sofa on the ground floor. They made it work, it was no big deal. There is a full kitchen on the ground floor, and a pool table which was great because we had a house full of billiard fans! The back yard is HUGE! The area has some good places to eat, and kayak rentals nearby for those interested.
So much better than staying in a hotel!
Thank you Angie, for a great house for my family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the 5 star review. However, to clarify, not only is it a 3 bedroom,the 3rd bedroom is so large that it was converted to a mother in law suite. Meaning a kitchen was added to the master bed room. It is 14 x 26. After a great deal of discussion, everyone agreed a sofa sleeper would be a better fit so it could be used as a living area ( off the pool)by day. It also has a memory foam pad on top of the mattress.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great vacation home!

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

What a great vacation house! Pictures do not do this house justice. We felt like we were in a home away from home. We forgot several items, and was very surprised to find that the owners had provided them already for guests. There was plenty of room in the house so everyone could spread out and be comfortable. There was 4 TV's, a full kitchen, washer/dryer, pool with large wrap around deck with great views. Everything was clean and well stocked. I loved being able to walk across the street to the ocean then come back and rinse off under the outside shower before jumping in the pool. The house is so close to lots of restaurants and shopping. I can't wait to go again and have another relaxing vacation. I would recommend this property to any of my friends or family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great beach house

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

Another GREAT vacation at the beach! This is our 3rd stay at this lovely beach house. Great location, clean , nice and quiet,well equipped with everything you need and more. Nice and private pool area. The pictures shows it all clean and nicely decorated you feel right at home.We are coming back this Spring? Love this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Only 2 bedrooms; Dangerous for kids; animal feses

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 12, 2012

This house only has 2 bedrooms, both on the 2nd floor. There is a pull-out couch on the first floor in the breakfast room- but it is not a bedroom! Our baby had to sleep in our room, which kept us from sleeping well and put a damper on our anniversary. That’s why we booked a 3 bedroom!

There is only a narrow, rickety, spiral staircase that connects the upstairs to the ground floor that is unsafe for children (and obviously not professionally installed). There is also a Huge gap with No Railing where the upstairs floor was cut out for the stairs! It was so dangerous even the pm said, “I’m always nervous when small children are here. I tell parents not to use the 1st floor at all because of it. It’s dangerous.”
Why didn’t you tell us this Before we booked?!? You knew we had 2 babies! (So even if the pullout kitchen couch had been a bedroom- we couldn’t use it. Only the shower worked upstairs, which is awful with 2 babies, too.)

We had to build a barricade in an attempt to keep our children safe (then try to keep them from removing the barricade!)

She told us to use the outside deck stairs, but they were covered in a Large amount of Animal Feses! So much so that it could not be used. The pm said someone would clean it up, but nobody ever did. We had to walk our children across the inside tile floor after swimming, which got quickly wet and Very Slippery! (The shower you’re supposed to use between the beach and pool is on a sea of rocks. There are not even pavers to step on.)

I stressed how important the Heated pool was for us with 2 small children traveling in Nov. (w/ temps dropping to 30s at night). It was our Entire Reason for choosing this house. The owner assured me that the pool was heated. The pool was Too Cold to swim, though(57 degrees)! The pm said they don’t heat it until the guest gets there & it would take 24-hours to heat up. (My 2yr-old was so confused and sad.) A day later it was still freezing! The pm said she forgot that you need to engage the manual over-ride or the heater will kick off before the pool gets warm. Our stay was only 4 days- it took 2 to heat the pool- we had tickets for Disney the 3rd- so so we only got to use the pool 1 day even though it was the entire reason we had stayed there. So we had 2 restless children in an unsafe house surrounded by a poop-filled deck and an ice cold pool. It was terrible!

Owners response: Please disregard this review. It is so distorted it does not deserve a rebuttal. This is a beautiful and extremely clean house. I have a journal in the home, and there are two years of excellent reviews WITHOUT ONE NEGATIVE COMPLAINT EVER! They also left the house a mess and I had to pay the cleaning company 50% extra.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

What a PERFECT beach house!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

Truly an amazing experience! We were so impressed from the start. When we arrived, Angie the property manager met us and was so accommodating! We didn't feel like we were in a "rental" house, but more like a friend's beach house that we were staying in for the week. The layout of the house was perfect to have our older children staying downstairs with a whole seperate kitchen and living space! You can't ask to be closer to the beach without sitting right on the beach. We walked every morning less than a minute to the beautiful beach access. And the beaches- beautiful! Our kids had such a great time (10 & 13) and our oldest son proposed right on the beach. This house was immaculately clean, with all the ammenities needed to make your vacation great. When we weren't at the beach, we were relaxing in our private pool. You just can't beat it! Just a short drive from Daytona, but "far enough" away to have a little beach town feel. Several great restaurants around as well. Overall I would rate this a 10 out of 10 and we have already changed our plans from Tybee next year- we are Ormond Beach bound and will definitely rent this property again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Beach House!

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Loved this house. It is a lovely beach house, nothing fancy, just perfect! One minute walk to the beach. Nice restaurant in walking distance. Grocery store less than 3 minute drive down the street. House was very clean and neat. Everything in perfect working order. A great house that easily accomodated my husband and I, our 2 teenage daughters, and their 2 friends. Can not find one negative comment. Will definitely go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review