reviews for: listing #81935 - Galveston, Texas House rental

Henry's HideAway
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $275 /nt
    $950 - $950 /wk
    $1,500 - $3,600 /mth

sort by:

Excellent Location

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed in Henrys Hideout. We had a great time. These beach houses are in a perfect location. Just steps away to the beach, no roads to cross. There is a very good restaurant/bar (Nates) and small grocery store within walking distance (literally next door) to the beach houses. We did not have to drive anywhere. Everything you need is within walking distance. The beach house itself is beautifully decorated and has been updated with new furniture. They also have a large deck off the living area and off the master bedroom. Another plus is the showers with warm water on the ground level, so you can rinse off the sand before going in the beachhouse. We will definitely will come back. Thank you so much!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Not a very good experience

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

The location is very good, right off the private beach. That was probably the only good thing about it.
All of the sleeping arrangements needed to be replaces long time ago. It would be more comfortable just to sleep on the floor.
Not enough bath towels, and they are very old. Refrigerator did not work. They claim a tv in every room, yes there is one in every room, but only one of them works. Claimed to have a wifi, it was none. Even for the money we paid for off season, next time I would pay a little more but get a nicer place to stay.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: Renters, if you encounter an issue PLEASE, let us know when you arrive, not after you leave. This is our livelyhood and we strive to always provide the best possible service to all of our clients. We have other houses and in most cases can move you to another unless you refuse to move. Unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to remedy this situation immediately. We now have a brand new queen futon to replace sleeper sofa as a place to sleep. Sleeper sofa had a missing screw that made it difficult to take bed out. We also have all new matresses on all beds even though previous mattresses were not old, pillows are replaced quarterly, bedding is replaced as needed. House sleeps 7 (2 in master, 3 in kids room and 2 in futon). If you bring more than 7, some may have to sleep on floor.

We bought a new refrigerator, Wifi router just needed to be rebooted ( BELKIN Router is in kids room)I'm and not sure which television was "not working". All have been checked and all work fine. Perhaps wrong remote was being used.

Please Note that our Agreement indicates: Bring your own towels, food, toiletries etc. As most Rental homes and Hotels, due to an issue with theft we only keep 4 towels in each house, no food and only 1 roll of toilet paper per bathroom.
We are dissappointed with this review but have corrected legitimate issues, appreciate and thank our guest for their stay and hope to see them back.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great View, Great Time, Great Staff.

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

My family and I had a GREAT time in the BLUE house. We have 2 kids (2 and 9) and the two of us. There were some VERY minor things going worng with the house but I called Lisa because the coffee maker wouldnt work. She was there with in the hour with a coffee maker and a staff to fix everything else. Nice people! Great house with two HUGE decks faving the beach and NOTHING blocking your view. The beach was clean and the water was even clear. I will be staying here every summer with my family. We had such a great time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Tenant was very nice and gracious when she called to inform that coffee maker was not working. Need less to say, when I heard "No Coffee Maker" I was mortified. I immediately went to store, purchased a new coffee pot, brought it to tenant and grabbed my handy man on the way. (Actually she's a handy-lady) Issues were resolved while tenant and family played on the beach and everyone was happy! Thanks for the opportunity to make things right - immediately!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice Getaway

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

House is as described, nice, homey and on the beach side. Had dinner next door at family owned steak house (Nate's, good food). Spent lots of time on the beach with wife and kids. Weather was HOT, Hot & Hot but beach breeze and under house showers helped. Kids built lots of sand-castles, had lots of picnics on the beach. We all took lots of naps. Will definitely come back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review