reviews for: listing #82039 - Bar Harbor, Maine Cottage rental

The Acadia-A Nature Lover's Retreat w/Hot Tub!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $950 - $2,450 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

...the perfect place for our honeymoon!

Review submitted: May 11, 2014   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

We hiked over 40 miles of Acadia's awesome trails! The trails are so well maintained they are truly a hiker's dream! Some of our favorites were Acadia Mtn, Beech Mtn, Western Mtn, the Bubbles, Sargent Mtn, and Giant Slide Trail. We had a great time exploring all the rocky beaches had to offer on the Wonderland and Ship Harbor Nature Trail.

We had an amazing stay here at "The Acadia". The view from the deck is awesome! This house had everything we needed and we really felt at home. This was the perfect place for our honeymoon! Can't wait to come back again next year! Thank you David and Becky!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Property

Review submitted: May 11, 2014   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

The eastern side of Mount Desert Island is nice but the west side is where we preferred to stay. Between this wonderful property and everything else, we found little reason to leave.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wish We Had Another Week...sigh...

Review submitted: May 11, 2014   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Our favorite adventures: #1 Cadillac Mountain sunrise! Went back to walk around 2 days later. Gorham Mtn Trail, Ships Harbor Nature Trail - easy walk with a gorgeous view. Soaking in the hot tub after a busy day sightseeing. Fires in the fire pit - this made the two 20 year olds very happy! Wish we had another week...sigh...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't Wait to Come Back!

Review submitted: May 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Saw two does and 3 fawns on the property. Also saw a peregrine falcon fly overhead as we soaked in the hot tub one evening. We had a wonderful stay here and can't wait to come back! Dave, you built a great house!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy and Clean!

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

Everything was very clean, bright and cozy. The beds were cozy and we all slept well. The armchair was so cozy that it was hard to get out of once you sat down. Loved the dining room table and chairs. The hot tub was fantastic! The house was perfect for our needs. The windows were wonderful and offered a wonderful view of the beautiful surroundings. Our last morning here we had a family of deer come into the yard!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful views central location

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

This cozy, airy cottage has magnificent views of Somes Sound and the adjacent mountains. We enjoyed sunny mornings on the third floor deck, and evenings there in the fabulous hot tub.

The cottage was clean and bright with a well equipped kitchen. It was perfect for our family which includes two teenage sons.

The location is ideal, as it is close to many hikes, lakes, and the carriage roads. Also nearby is the village of Southwest Harbor, with a wonderful market, bakery, shops and restaurants.

We absolutely love "the Acadia" and hope to return.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Glad to be Back

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We LOVE staying here and were glad to be back a 2nd time. It was great that a shore path, laundry, full fire pit and new beds were added. The hot tub on the deck is fabulous!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spotless!

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Taken from Guest Feedback Sheet filled out on departure day.
Spotless! Lots of towels, soft sheets, choice of pillows, internet and cable worked great. Hot tub was wonderful! Every utensil needed for cooking at home. Loved the personal touch of fresh flowers and the binder with information on Acadia was very helpful. Great views!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quiet, Fun, Peaceful Place

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 23, 2013

Taken from Guest Feedback Sheet filled out at Cottage: "We had a lovely time. What a quiet, fun, peaceful place. We had all we needed and were very happy here. Thank you!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Perfect Place for Our Honeymoon

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2013

Taken from Guest Feedback Sheet:
It was very welcoming to walk in to such a clean house. We quite enjoyed our stay. We loved the movies and books you had available and we LOVED the hot tub! It was a wonderful place to stay. We are thankful we could come. It was just a perfect place for our honeymoon. It is absolutely beautiful here. Thanks again for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Instruction Book Very Helpful

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Taken from How Was Your Vacation guest feedback sheet. It was very helpful to read your Acadia book. We used it almost every day. Thank you for taking the time to put it together. Also all your instructions on the TV, hot tub and house in general was extremely helpful. We enjoyed our stay. Hope to return for 2 weeks next time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Retreat

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at The Acadia. The house has clearly been renovated recently and is in great shape throughout. We loved that the living room/kitchen are on the top floor, allowing us to take full advantage of the morning sun and the gorgeous views of the water and the mountains. The property is very private (we counted only two other house lights visible at night) and makes for a very peaceful and quiet retreat. The proximity to Southwest Harbor and western island hiking spots was a plus. It is also close enough to Bar Harbor for a quick trip into town yet far enough away to avoid the crowds. We would definitely stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Very poor furnhishings

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

The positive features of this property are well described on the website and the Guest Book comments posted by the owner. The negative features are not: tiny bedrooms, bare minimum closet space, a very tiny bathroom, and a house filled with furnishings that look—and feel—like they were purchased at a 1960’s yard sale. The living room furniture either sags or is very hard. The queen mattress in the larger bedroom is so thin you can feel the springs in it. Ditto for the twin mattress in the larger room which also sags considerably; it rests on sagging springs that look—literally—like they came from a junk yard. The double mattress in the smaller bedroom was so thin that it was below the foot board and the bed’s occupants would continually hit their feet against it. I thought that flipping the mattress would help matters, and when I uncovered it to do so, found that it was filthy with 80 percent of the surface covered with stains. Unless the owners write that they have purchased brand new high quality mattresses—to match their “brand new” house—I recommend finding another place to rent. (Also, while the owners state it sleeps 7, any number more than 2 adults with 2 kids would be quite cramped.)

Owners response: We were so disappointed and surprised at the rather harsh description that these guests posted about their stay at The Acadia. We are terribly sorry they were not satisfied, because we understand that a comfortable place to stay that meets expectations is so important when traveling. Feedback is important to us, and we seek it out from every one of our guests, asking that they fill out a feedback sheet regarding cleanliness, furnishings and equipment. We have had over 40 guests since we began sharing The Acadia with vacationers 2 1/2 years ago, many of them telling us that The Acadia exceeded their expectations. And any suggestions for improvement are always given serious consideration. Beyond our disappointment with this review, we look at this as an opportunity to improve the experiences of our future guests. That being said, we are purchasing all new box springs and mattresses for The Acadia. Every person differs in what they consider to be comfortable, but we feel that the living room furniture is comfortable and in very good condition. The rest of the furniture we chose for The Acadia is a fun and functional, eclectic mix of well cared for vintage and restored furniture. For example, we chose a cool extra large retro dresser and matching end table for the large bedroom to augment the limited closet space and the rugged Maine-made dining room set was chosen to provide solid, comfortable seating for guests of all ages. There are 2 bedrooms, plus a pull out couch, which allows up to 7 guests, however we agree that The Acadia is best suited for a smaller group. We discuss the size of the bedrooms and living area with anyone considering staying with more than 4 people to make sure it will fit their needs and expectations, and then let them decide. Our goal is to provide comfortable accommodations and customer service that exceed expectations and will continue to work toward that goal.

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Far Exceeded Our Expectations

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

Taken from How Was Your Vacation guest feedback sheet.
We absolutely loved the seclusion yet the closeness to everything we needed. Also love the very structured and hassle free dealings for set-up, payment, arrival, and departure. All in all your place far exceeded our expectations!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We watched MDI give birth to Autumn trees

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Taken from "The Acadia" Guest Book:
"We rented bikes and did the carriage roads in the park - AWESOME! We also biked around the property and Hall Quarry. We got lobsters, mussels and clams from "RATS" and cooked them on open fire at the pit back at the cottage. If you want super fresh and deeelish seafood - go to "RATS" right off Main St. When we were there, her husband was out digging for the goods! We watched MDI give birth to Autumn trees this entire week. Everyday looked different. This, coupled with Cadillac Mountain, was our favorite. Thank you so much for sharing your cottage. We will miss it."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Setting Just Spectacular in The Acadia Cottage

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 29, 2011

Taken from The Acadia Guest Book. Arrived the same day the nor'easter surprised everyone in the Northeast. Thank God we did not lose power/satellite. We enjoyed a short lived snow day (a treat for us Miami natives) followed by gorgeous weather. Not only is the setting just spectacular in The Acadia cottage, but that hot tub saved us so many times after long hikes, bike rides and climbs at Acadia National Park. Sitting in the hot tub, watching the sun sets with a glass of wine was amazing. Location is great!! This house is wonderful and has provided us with incredible memories.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceptionally Beautiful with a Central Location

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Taken from "The Acadia" Guest Book
"This was our 1st trip to Acadia and we felt like this house was the best possible place to stay. The house is exceptionally beautiful with a central location to the island. We enjoyed hiking Jordan Pond Loop and to the top of Gorham Mountain, and visiting Echo Lake. Favorite restaurants, Seafood Ketch and Stewmans. The wk of Aug 20th had spectacular weather. Here at "The Acadia" we loved the deck + hot tub and enjoyed the view of Somes Sound.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An Attractive and Efficient House

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Taken from "The Acadia" Guest Book:
"Michael and I are from Highland Park, NJ. We have been coming to MDI for 10 years. This year we were here for 2 weeks and our daughter and her boyfriend stayed with us for 5 days. This is the best house we have ever rented! We hiked, visited Schoodic and Isle au Haut, kayaked, went to gardens, ate Lobster + BBQ at Mainely Meats. This is a magical island and an attractive and efficient house."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This was a perfect relaxing vacation.

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at "The Acadia". The cottage was clean and comfortable. The views were amazing. The location was perfect. We were close enough to all the island had to offer, but far enough away that the only sounds we could hear were from nature. This is the best place we have ever stayed at in Acadia. The owners were easy to work with and gracious. We will defintely be back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The View was Fantastic

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

Taken from "How Was Your Vacation" Guest Feedback Sheet:
"The view was fantastic...as was the hot tub. Thanks so much. We had a great stay."

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Equipped Cottage We Have Rented

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

Taken from "How Was Your Vacation?" Guest Feedback Sheet: "Best equipped cottage we have rented. Very impressed that you had a slow cooker, plenty of glasses, dishes, etc."

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Combination

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 26, 2011

"Table games, hot tub, & BBQ were just the perfect combination with the beautiful views and the cottage! Thanks! J & S"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stay at "The Acadia" August 2011

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We had a fabulous time at "The Acadia." When we first pulled up to the house/cottage it far exceeded our expectations. The upper deck has an outstanding view of Somes Sound and there is a great hot tub on this deck along with a grill. The house is clean and a beautiful place to stay. All the amenities of home are present and there were many movies and games to entertain our kids. The location is also great and is central to the whole island; Acada National Park is a great place to visit. Overall, I would highly recommend staying here. We had one of our best vacations ever, while staying here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so pleased that you had such a great vacation while staying at "The Acadia". Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that our efforts to provide a vacation rental that we, ourselves, would want to stay at, have paid off. If you'd like to return to "The Acadia", we'd love to have you back! It is available to rent May through mid-November, with plans to offer winter rentals soon. Plus, we offer a discount to our returning guests. Take Care!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review