reviews for: listing #82040 - Bourne, Massachusetts House rental

Winter Rental Available
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $275 /nt
    $1,600 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Great House & Location

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

My family has been there 2 years in a row and I don't want to praise it to much because it will get harder to book and the price will go up. However, love the house and area and have no complaints. Good little fishing spot about a half mile down the beach where there is a rip tide which attracts some small Blues and Stripers. Joan is always great and house is clean and well maintained. Actually the only complaint I ever had was that I would sometimes walk into a clock that was solidly mounted on the wall. The next year we went it was gone.

Owners response: I am glad you and your family enjoy our home. The area my father had said was a hidden treasure. We hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great home, great neighborhood, great homeowners!

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

My family spent the winter in this lovely home on Mashnee Island. The view of the beach is absolutely gorgeous! This is an ideal spot for a summer getaway! Joan and Dan provided everything we could have needed for our stay, and when I had a problem, it was literally fixed within hours.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

vacances de reve

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Nous avons passé une semaine de paix et tranquilité dans cette charmante maison et je le recommande a toutes les personnes qui veulent passer un moment agreable avec a la famille , c' est l' endroit révé . J'espère pouvoir y retourner maia a ce moment la ce sera pour 2 semaines. Jai trouvé les proprietaires trés gentils et ils ont tout fait pour nous faciliter la tâche.....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cape Oasis

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation at your cape oasis! Being from the cape, it is sometimes hard to remember the true beauty the cape has to offer. You have quite a place. We loved it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise on earth

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Just AWSOME!!
We had a perfect and wonderful time. Sunny, relax and active experience in Cape Cod (kind of paradise on earth). We feel at home at your home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cental location

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We had a great two weeks in your home. Thanks for all your information in advance and available in the house. We made some great day trips.
All we needed was in the house. The great weather and nice beaches made our vacation complete.
We are now going back to hot Houston TX.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best House

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

We had a great time!! and We will be back!!
Of all the houses have rented over the years, this is the best house. It is centrally located and has a nice beach.
It was very nice meeting Joan in person. Most times renters have to go through a impersonal agent. You made us feel like family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mashnee Island

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

We enjoyed our stay immensely. The open floor plan in the common areas and the farmer's porch felt like a real vacation house. The house was immaculate and had all the amenities we were looking for while on vacation. Mashnee Island is a great place to relax and we will continue to plan vacations there and back at this house!

Owners response: Thank for the wonderful compliments about our home. We are glad you had an enjoyable vacation and we could be a part in helping it happen. We look forward to having you stay at our home again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Graduation Headquarters!

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this very spacious yet cozy home which we transformed into "Graduation Headquarters" as we were in town for our son's graduation from Massachusetts Maritime Academy. Family and friends from Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Florida gathered for the festivities and continue to talk about the home and how perfect it was in every way for our celebration! We were so pleased to be able to rent a home with: three bedrooms and two full baths; lots of extra sleeping options on the lower level; fully equipped kitchen; a lovely porch, spacious living and dining areas - just perfect for entertaining, beautiful beaches right around the corner and ample parking. From the minute we walked in, we were absolutely amazed at the spaciousness of the home! The best part was Joan, the owner. Knowing of our son's graduation and our preference of not wanting to move in or move out on that special day, she allowed us to move in mid-week and at a reduced rate. She quickly responded to all of our e-mails (this was our first rental - we had lots of questions!) and she always wanted to know what else she could do for us to make our stay the very best it could be. She even provided a graduation gift for our son! Out-of-state family members want to return and make this home "Family Reunion Headquarters" . . . and given Joan's kindness, a warm and inviting home and the beauty of the Cape, we're planning to do just that!

Owners response: We are so happy to hear you loved our home as much as we do. We have always felt it was a nice oasis from regular life. I am also glad we made your first stay through the Homeaway Rental Site a good one.
It was our pleasure to have you at our home and we are glad that everything seem to go off without a hitch. Even the weather seemed to understand it was a big day for your son.Thank you again for the lovely review. It was truly our pleasure.
Hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

love mashnee island

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

We loved staying on the island. As soon as we see the Bourne bridge on the horizon we know we are nearly there! The house is so easy to find without navigating through too many back roads. We stopped at the small store just before the island which had just the few items we had forgotten for dinner. Driving over the causeway you know that vacation has begun! The house has plenty of parking for the multiple people from out of town and their cars. The windows provide beautiful views of the harbor. The house is cozy and beautiful even when off season and not bikini weather:) We wrapped up tight after our holiday dinner and took a walk to the beach in the brisk air. We can't wait to return this summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very comfortable to come "home" to!!

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

We loved this location for our first ever Cape Cod experience!! During our stay, we were out exploring and sight seeing each day, but enjoyed morning and evening walks across the street to be on a sandy beach!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It has always been our families' favorite place even after the summer season.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Sun House

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

We absolutely enjoyed our 4 nights at what my son dubbed "the sun house!" Although we did not see the sun until friday, we still had a wonderful stay.
Your house was perfectly equipped for toddler and babies, and it was so great to have toys and games on those rainy days.
Thank you for all the extras that were provided and we hope to make it back to the cape again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Race Weekend

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Thank you so much for a great stay on Cape Cod! You have been so helpful. Thank you for all the baby/toddler items - that was above and beyond! We see you again I'm sure.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

Our stay at the Oasis in Cape Cod was everything we hoped it would be! With children ranging in ages from 16 to 6, there was plenty for all to do and be entertained and satisfied. We fished in the canal, searched for hermit crabs, minnows, rocks and shells.... Swam out to the raft and soaked in the sun. The beach across the street is rocky, so make sure you bring your water shoes, but with shoes on, nothing can stop the fun. The canal side was incredibly sandy and a quiet little paradise!

The house was clean and well equipped with everything we needed, and more! We would suggest this spot to any family that wants to "come home" and relax after a full day in the sun.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Treasure of a Vacation Spot

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

Our family was lucky to find this vacation rental. It really is a treasure. It was a good place to escape and unwind.

The lovely, clean, well equipped house is located on a green island on a slight rise so it gets every sea breezes. The beaches are only a very short walk away so we could each spend as much or little time in the sun as we wished. The beaches are perfect for small children -- nice temperature, shallow, calm, and private. We were often the only people there. The toddler loved playing with the sand, pebbles, and seashells at the beach. We all loved hanging out at the house reading, talking, cooking, listening to the lovely song birds and looking for other wildlife.

Joan was an excellent landlord. She always went the extra mile -- even providing a kiddie gate and other amenities for our granddaughter.

Two miles away there's a very good market in White Gables with excellent produce, meat, wine and beer and a good selection of other foods. We also enjoyed the informal fresh seafood restaurant -- the Lobster Trap -- 7 minutes by car.

An island treasure just on the other side of the Bourne Bridge!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation house!

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

My husband's family and I rented this house last minute due to a vacation screw-up we had elsewhere. Joan was so nice and accommodating. She let us check in midweek at a discounted rate which is the main reason we kept our vacation plans.

The house was plenty big for the 6 adults and 3 babies we had with us. The house was extremely clean and well kept and had the perfect amenities for a relaxing family vacation including a cozy porch and downstairs play area. It was a perfect match for us and we look forward to renting in the future. The beach was just a walk away and there were plenty of stores a short drive away, including 2 golf courses. The area is quiet and laid back.

We would highly recommend this house to any family looking for a relaxing vacation in a spacious, clean home. Joan is a pleasure to work with and we could not be happier with how our vacation turned out.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very relaxing and rejuvenating!

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

My family and I have spent many enjoyable vacations at this house. It has all the amenities that we could want with an incredible location including views of the bay and the canal. It is just a short walk across the street to the beach which is pristine. This is great for large families and entertaining guests on the extra large patio. The quiet, small, private island is a step back in time to a slower pace of life. Very relaxing and rejuvenating!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

beautiful spot

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

This was such an amazing spot on your own island. A slice of heaven, away from the traffic of other heavily traveled spots! The owners were amazing hosts to help with any plans you were trying to make. They took the time to answer any questions you had before your arrival...a great time we had!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank for your review.We are always pleased to know our visitors enjoy our home as much as we do.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We love Bourne MA!

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We really enjoyed our vacation here at this spot in Cape Cod. We were in such a magically, beautiful spot, unbeknownst to us when we picked it online. What a nice surprise! Before we arrived, Joan and Dan sent us info that we were interested in to accommodate our interests, previous to our arrival. Whenever we called them, they were reachable to answer our questions... we loved it!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vac. - Beach and Breathtaking Water Views

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

We stayed at this spacious vacation home for over 15 years and it continues to be a fovorite. The home is freshened up every year and the beaches,waterviews and breezes can't be beat. Quiet neighborhood has dead end streets and a family atmosphere. Because it is on a small Island it is very safe for kids to go biking and exploring along the beaches on both the west and east side of the island which are all a short walk from this home. Great beaches for sunbathing, kyaking, boating and fishing. Our favorite memories include candlelite dinners and cookouts out on tne open porch with family and friends and definitely the private outdoor shower was a treat.. I would highly recommend this property if you are looking for a true New England vacation experience that provides options for relaxation, shopping & restaurants and sports activities!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Your review of our home made us remember all the good times our family also had there. Thank again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review