reviews for: listing #82044 - Sanibel Island, Florida Condo rental

2/2 Mariner Pointe, Dolphin Viewers Paradise
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mariner Pointe
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $900 - $1,500 /wk
    $3,000 - $4,800 /mth

sort by:

Total Fun and Relaxation

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

What a wonderful vacation we had. As soon as we walked in the door we felt at home. It was very clean and very comfortable. Being on the first floor was a plus. We could walk right out to the boardwalk and watch the dolphins,manatees and pelicans play and catch fish. The weather was perfect. Did lots of swimming, bike riding, tennis, golf and kayaking. All the folks we met at Mariners made us feel welcome and we had many happy times with them. The owner could not have been more accommodating.Mariner Pointe was the best.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything you could want, and more

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

Having not taken a family vacation in years, and not being able to decide where to go. I stumbled upon Sanibel and booked it. Talking to friends, we knew we made the right decision. Speaking with the owner confirmed we would love it.
We got in late our first night and were very pleased with our brief glimpse of the condo before we settled into bed. The condo was everything it was written up to be and more. It was like home. Very comfortable to come home to after a long day in the sun. Nice to be able to sit on the boardwalk, both morning and evening. Kitchen had everything you would need to prepare a meal. Even though the pool was right outside the front door, we never even used it. Plenty of beach towels for your trips to the beach, wonderful to come back and run a load of clothes. It was great to have brochures from the area activities, restaurants, etc there, along with a map. We enjoyed reading the guest journal that was there. Thought our best meal was at the island cow. Not at all impressed with the pink flamingo. Schnapperhots had a great hot dog/italian sausage. Beaches were not crowded at all. Very easy to find your way around. My husband and son played golf, check out specials, club rental was included. Don't wait till the last day to do any water activities you want. We waited to parasail, only to have it cancelled. We found a place in Ft Meyer to accomodate us on short notice. We had read great reviews on the bubble room, only to go there and told there is a charge to order just deserts (this was the middle of the day). Highlight of our trip had to be the boat ride with Captain Mike. Highly recommend all aspects of what Sanibel has to offer and this condo to complete your getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing, quiet, retreat with daily dolphin visits

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

The most relaxing family vacation possible. Our stay in Sanibel was highlighted by daily visits from local family of dolphins just a steps away from our back door. Nearly every day we also saw Manatees, Stingray, and Osprey (nesting in our palm trees, catching fish, and feeding their young). Our kids just sat on the edge of the sea wall while the dolphins and other sea life would swim within inches of their toes. Only drawback to location was beach access. Had to walk or ride about 10 blocks to "our" beach on the other side of island. We decided it was better to drive and park at public area ($2/hr)rather than walk with 2 kids in hot sun.

Condo was very comfortable, very clean, and well maintained with all the comforts of home. Owner was helpful, provided a couple fishing poles and bikes. (Additional bikes available for rent nearby)

Lighthouse cafe (for breakfast) and Island Cow were our favorite restaurants. Make sure you take time to visit Ding Darling for a kayak ride and the west side of island for swimming and shelling (bring an umbrella for much needed shade) Don't bother bringing snokel gear due to cloudy water.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A day in Paradise

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

My daughter and I needed a weekend getaway as Spring Break started. She's a senior in high school and we've grown apart. Our trip to Sanibel and stay at Mariner Pointe was beyond expectations. The property was beautiful with a great Bay view, 2 incredible pools, fantastic condo and wonderful ambiance.

We were very comfortable when we entered the condo. It was light, airy and very immaculate. It offered every amenity, but we didn't bother with TV much, we climbed onboard the bikes provided and headed to the beach to pick up shells.

When my daughter couldn't hold any more is when we finally gave up and rode back. After a drive to Captiva to see the sunset, enjoy a drink and walk the beach, we headed back past the art festival and stopped at the "Lazy Flamingo" for a "local" type dinner. The restaurant was very colorful and had excellent food. More, the local flavor of the island, which we enjoyed.

We headed back and walked the boardwalk alongside the condo, only to find dolphin playing right beside us. This entertained my daughter and I for the next hour, watching them fish, splash and jump into the air, just for our benefit.

The trip to Sanibel and stay at Mariner Pointe gave us the privacy and quiet time we needed to spend together before my daughter heads off for college 5,000 miles away.

I would recommend this property to anyone who wants a quality, quiet get-away in one of the most spectacular islands Florida has to offer.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review