reviews for: listing #82054 - Homosassa Springs, Florida House rental

Waterfront Vacation Rental
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $125 /nt
    $700 - $875 /wk
    $1,200 - $2,100 /mth

sort by:

Vacation rental

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2012

Very cozy, quaint and quiet vacation spot. All amenities are provided or can be provided upon request. Well maintained and super clean rental unit by the canal that leads down to Crystal River and to the springs where you can take a nice cold swim. Dock located a few feet from the front porch and a nice Pub with boating facilities located in the neighborhood. All the neighbors in this small community are super friendly and will make you feel like you belong. We highly recommend this place for anyone seeking a fun-filled, laid-back vacation. We surely did and we "shall return".

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Relaxing, laid back mini vacation

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Sam and Lynn's vacation cottage. As mentioned many times in previous reviews, they were friendly and accommodating. The cottage was super clean and very comfortable with all needs met. Since our visit was in January, we did use the heater and it works very well! My parents, husband and I enjoyed relaxing on the front porch and using the grill and our dog, Vinny enjoyed visiting with Bubba. :) We enjoyed the local dining at "Neon Leon's" and McRae's during our venture on the pontoon tour of the springs and Monkey Island. The manatee were active and abundant! On recommendation we rented a pontoon boat at Natures Resort and we had an enjoyable day on the river and at the springs. We highly recommend it and would definitely visit again. Thanks again Sam and Lynn for being so helpful and accommodating!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

I wish this was my Home Away from Home

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

Where can I start.... The accommodations where extremely clean and decorated very nice. The location is perfect, nothing is out of reach from stores to the state park and of course, scalloping. Even Weeki Watchee springs are near by, which is a must see with the younger ones. Sam and Lynn could not have been nicer, making sure that we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The perfect "get away" to disconnect from everyday life and reconnect with your family and nature. Being able to walk out of the front door and hop on the boat, when YOUR ready and not having to drive somewhere to rent one is a huge plus. Being able to sit on the front porch while my son fished off the dock and caught his first "gar" fish,spotted a manatee and a baby gator...priceless. Coming back after a day on the water with our haul of scallops and eating them for dinner an hour later was a slice of heaven. Cant wait to go back. My only problem is I want to go back and they are already booked ! Don't hesitate to plan your stay or you may miss out on the most relaxing yet fun filled vacations.
Thank you Sam and Lynn for your gracious hospitality and providing us with the use of your "2nd" home !! Hope to see you soon :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Mini Vacation

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Sam and Lynns rental home. Everything we needed was provided from all appliances in the kitchen, plenty of towels and hot water for showers to comfortable beds and a flat screen TV in the living room. We rented a pontoon boat and it was docked just outside our front door. We totally enjoyed cruising the river and the gulf.
Evenings were spent cooking out on the grill provided with the house and visiting with Sam and Lynn and all the nice neighbors. We were very happy to join their peaceful way of life. I would say this was a most relaxing few days and we will do it again. Thank you Sam and Lynn.
Lois

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Retreat!

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

Our weekend stay was great, Sam and Lynn were very welcoming. The convenience of the boat ramp made unloading the boat and parking the trail a breeze. The house was exceptionally clean and sits directly across from the boat dock, it was just what we were looking for. The canal ride was nice leading us out to the main channel which is not far from the springs or Monkey island. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks Sam and Lynn, you guys rock!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Accommodations

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

Very nice accommodations with everything one could need. The unit was extremely clean - thank you Lynn. Lynn and Sam were especially friendly. Boat launching was a bit tight but manageable, with Sam right there to help my husband put in. Our grandchildren were with us on this trip and were thrilled to be able to fish right off our private dock. We look forward to coming back to Homosassa and will without a doubt make arrangements to stay here. By the way, for that one reviewer, we thought the neighbors were pleasant and never heard any obscenities. It was a great weekend and we thank you both and will see you again soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Hot scallops and cool springs

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

Had an awesome time scalloping and enjoyed our stay at Sam and Lynn's place. These guys helped us with any questions we had and even gave us some cool tips for cleaning our catch. Very clean and cozy everything worked great, cool air conditioning and plenty of hot water. Convenient dock right across from house on a canal that leads right out to the river head east to the springs or west to the gulf. We will definitely be back next year thanks for everything Sam and Lynn

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Stay!

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

Our stay was wonderful! The place was spotless when we got there, and the owners were right at our fingertips. They were gracious and very friendly. We have already booked our vacation next year with them. You guys rock!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

Cannot say enough wonderful things about the rental or the owners Sam and Lynn. The place was very cute and very clean. It has a great front porch to hang out on and watch the boats go by or just visit with the neighbors. Everyone is very friendly.. I had taken my boat down with me and there is a spot right in front of the rental to dock it. Sam was also very kind and assisted me getting it in and directing as to where to store my trailer. I have stayed in Homosassa for many years and have to say that this is one of the best experiences I have had there. I plan on staying there again. Thank you Sam and Lynn for a great time!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Not what we expected

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

I would like to start by saying the owners Sam and Lynn were very friendly and quite accommodating. They even invited me and my wife to their dock for drinks and music! The rental was very clean and well stocked with household items allowing one to prepare meals at home. There was also a Publix located about a mile or so down the road.

We were somewhat disappointed that the rental itself was a mobile home. For some reason we were expecting a cottage of sorts. Also, most other rentals in the area supply kayaks or canoes. This would be a nice touch as there is not a whole lot to occupy your time besides water related activities.

Lastly, the park was filled with a cast of characters directly out of a Hunter S. Thompson novel. Most were friendly and benign old sots. But, beware of the neighbor to the left. His constant stream of explitives was enough to make the saltiest of old dogs blush!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly

Owners response: We are sorry that you were somewhat disappointed with your stay. yes, the rental is a mobile home but with our extensive remodeling we gave it a cottage look and feel. We will consider your request for canoes and/or kayaks. However, we do offer pontoon boat rental at half the cost of other boat rentals in the area, also john boat rental for our guests. Yes, this area is primarily for water related activities, but we have recently included moped scooter rental and offer for free a bicycle built for 2. As far as our full time residents, yes they can be a colorful bunch but more resemble people from a toby keith music video than characters from a novel. LOL We hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 10

 

boating vacation

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

It was a wonderful place. I would recomend it without hesitation. Plenty of things to do, great seafood places to dine at. We loved our rental pontoon boat also.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Peaceful Getaway

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend up at Homosassa Springs by staying in this excellently maintained vacation rental. The location was very peaceful with abundant wildlife in the area (we saw Manatees in the canal and hummingbirds at our front porch every day) and the rental provided everything needed for a relaxing, non-stressful get away. The rental was extremely clean and furnished with everything from dishes to air freshener. We forgot to bring a fishing pole with us and the neighbors (owner of rental) were even kind enough to provide us with one of their fishing poles to borrow while we were there. I cannot say enough positive things about Sam and Lynn, the owners of the rental property! They were so wonderful and accommodating that we would return to this rental based on our interaction with them alone! We shared a lovely evening by the fire with them one night by the canal. Any request we had in reference to our stay at their property was quickly met with a gracious smile. The air conditioners worked great,the beds were extremely comfortable with lots of pillows (I was impressed with this since I like an extra pillow but seldom get one at a hotel and I actually slept better than I do at home),the appliances worked perfectly and the grill was spacious and can be used for gas or coal, depending on preference (gas on one side, coal on the other). The flat screen TV in the living room area worked great and we were able to access the programs we would usually watch at home (basic cable). If you feel that you are not in the mood to cook, The Manatee Pub at the entrance to the neighborhood has a sufficient menu for a lunch or snack, including fresh baked pizza and beer or wine. It also has a pool table, video games, a jukebox and cable TV to watch the games. We loved that the rental property was self contained and if you bring what is needed to cook your meals (or eat at the pub) there is hardly a reason to leave while in residence! There are pontoon boats available to rent in the neighborhood, so if you desire a trip out to the river or springs just inquire about renting one with Sam or Lynn (advance notice is better to ensure you obtain one though). Everyone we met was really friendly, the weather was great and overall we had a superbly relaxing vacation. I would recommend this rental to anyone and everyone, especially since Sam and Lynn are so conscientious and helpful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Mini Vacation

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

We were looking for a relaxing mini vacation for me, my husband, and daughter and boy de we find it! It's nice to do something different and relaxing. Disney World etc...can be kind of crazy sometimes. We went out on the boat and saw dolphins, went swimming in the springs, and in the gulf. We also went out to eat at one of those little restaurants by the water and the food was great. Everyone is so friendly and laidback here especially Lynn and Sam! If I ever get to retire oneday this may be it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Winter Vacation

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

We stayed here during February and March. It was wonderful. The place was spotless and everything you need is here. There are two air conditioners, one in the living room and one in the bedroom, and a propane heater in the living room which heats the cottage quickly and an electric heater in the bedroom. There is also plenty of storage. The front porch is great for sitting on and watching the boats go by.

Lynn and Sam are wonderful people. They answered all of our questions and told us about places to visit, shop and eat. Everybody in the neighborhood made us feel welcome.

Not only is there fishing out your front door, but within minutes is golfing and tennis courts. If you like to walk, which we do, you can walk to Old Homosassa which is three miles roundtrip.

We wanted to stay in a place where we could fish, walk, relax and an area that was not busy and touristy, this place was perfect. We are planning on going back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Christmas 2011

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

THANK you Sam & Lynn for the rental of your cottage!! couldnt have asked for more, they even provided a Christmas tree and lights! its things like that, that make it all the more important and special. The cottage was excellent, clean with everything provided and then some. The location is pefect, private and yet convenient to everything. Everyone was friendly, laid back atmosphere for a vacation, fishing 20 feet out the door and we just had a good old time! Its one of the best places we have stayed and most definitely plan on staying with them again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Hot Summer Days

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We arrived towing our boat from West Palm Beach, our teenage daughter and son, and my wife began to doubt dads choice of vacation rentals, from the road entrance first thought is I hope this gets better. This was my vacation, I made all the arrangements. No Disney, No Bush gardens, No Shamu, just a close family vacation, I wanted no distractions.
Quickly it got better and within minutes I was a hero, dad did good, even heard a "great" in there. The rental was very clean, air conditioners worked well, of course TV worked but kids (2 teens, boy 16 and girl 18) wanted a DVD player, it was cozy and cute as described by my wife and daughter. The boat ramp is very tight but manageable, an experienced boater can handle it. The road is small, the neighbors are too nice to describe, the renters Sam & Lynn I simply cannot say enough but I'll try. Sam & Lynn have the old home town attitude and hospitality as does all the neighbors. They literally bent over backwards to welcome us and make us feel part of the neighborhood. We were there for only 4 nights and by the time we left, we felt like we lived there, we felt we were part of the neighborhood. They answered any and all question asked, allowed us to use their maps without asking of course, even took us scalloping we followed in our boat. Guided us to all places of interest, stores, movie theaters, nearby cities, we hung out at night on their dock. My wife and I are from the Louisiana country but we have lived in the Florida big city for the last 25yrs, this for us was perfect place to be, Old Town Florida. The rental was very clean, obviously well kept, had everything you needed and more, boat dock right across the street if you want to call it a street, more like a wide walking lane. You are a stones throw away from your boat. The dock did not have electrical connection but we did not need it, but if you did I'm sure Sam & Lynn would arrange it. We hit it off immediately with Sam, Lynn, and the neighbors. Unfortunately we had to return to reality and leave, but I guarantee we are returning next year, the scalloping was great, especially with a guide. One last thing, no internet connection, which was great!!! I finally found a place where I could get away from work. Unfortunately smart phones worked too well and work eventually did interfere a couple of times. Great place, go, enjoy, relax, you'll love it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Scallop Vacation

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We arrived at a early check-in and everything was as expected from the photo's presented online. The boat ramp was a little tight but managed well. The private dock was great, just walk out the door and your there.The residents were friendly and receptive. The cabin was very clean and well put together, good job on the remodle Sam. I would recomend this place to anyone who wants a very quiet time away from home. The scalloping was great and the run down the river was even more enjoyable. I will keep this place in my future trips to Homosassa Springs. Thanks again for a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Great Get-away

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

Wow, what a goof time we had at the springs, very peaceful no traffic roaring by. Could not believe we were so close to businesses, and restaurants.
The camp was very clean, everything looked new. We had a great time cruising the boat
around the waterway. Sat on the dock and saw a few manatees and dolphins, made the grand kids happy.
We will go back...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 31 / 31

 

Great times!

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 26, 2011

We came to Homosassa Springs with hopes of our 2 young children being able to see a few manatees. Little did we know that we would fall in love with the town. We were able to see turtles, dolphins, and even an alligator swim down the canal from the front porch! We took the boat that the renters have there on site (a small, reasonable extra fee)to the springs were we not only saw manatees but had one swim right next to us while we were swimming in the springs! Needless to say we were very excited about that big surprise. We also went to the State Park a few minutes from the cabin and had a great time there. It was clean and very entertaining for all of us. An added plus to our stay was that it is in a very convenient location. Grocery stores, drug stores, department stores are all very close by. We however chose to eat our meals at the many amazing restaurants in the town. The kids loved taking the boat to dinner. I have not one complaint about the cabin, it was super clean, had everything we could need already there for us and the renters were wonderful people. I would recommend this cabin/destination to any and everyone I know. We cant wait to go again and hope you have as much fun as we did.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Perfect Get Away House

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

The perfect getaway, the house is on a dead end so it is very peaceful, the house
was very clean and they provided everything for you,watch the boats go by as you are sitting on the couch, there is a restaurant on site. Very pet friendly we travel all over with our dogs and the owners were very nice and excepting our dogs.I would recommend this property to anyone, very close to grocery stores, shops, malls, the state park is right down the street.We even rented a boat for the day very easy to get around in a boat, very close to the springs,we saw dolphins,manatees on our own.Great customer service,we are already planning our next trip over. Thanks for a great weekend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We also have a small boat for $40,00 a day,Pontoon boats from $90,00 to $150,00 a day.

Helpful votes: 27 / 27

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review