reviews for: listing #82081 - Yosemite, California House rental

Alpine Aerie: New, deluxe house inside NP Gates!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  West Yosemite
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $550 /nt
    $2,800 - $3,150 /wk

sort by:

Spectacular

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 19, 2014

Alpine Aerie is a wonderful place, set away from the activity of Yosemite Valley. My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and found it perfectly located of Glacier Point and Wawona and the Giant Sequoias

The facilities are first class, and the views are amazing.

The big plus is that the entrance level is at street level, which is a big plus for Yosemite west, which has most properties set into the Hillside and have several sets of steps.

We will definitely consider staying here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for a family getaway!

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Would definitely return. We have elderly parents who are handicap, not having a ramp wasn't an issue at all. The main living space and open deck are on the middle floor/main floor while the game room is on the bottom floor. Older people who goes to bed earlier aren't disturbed by younger people who stay up later. So everything worked out well.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome!!!

Review submitted: April 25, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

This is my 2nd time at Alpine Aerie and the 1st w/ my extended families. Everyone loves the place and we've agreed to make this an annual event so we'll be back again next year.
All the beds are comfortable, including the linens. The kids loved the downstairs playroom and the adults enjoyed themselves in the main living/dining areas.
The only minor negagive point I have is there's only parking space for 4 cars so if you have a big group, you might need to plan to carpool. Other than that, we love the place !!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

VERY IMPRESSED

Review submitted: April 25, 2014   Date of arrival: April 17, 2014

Very impressed overall with this home. We were looking for a place that was updated clean and had plenty of room. This was it! Perfect for our three day weekend. Will be back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had the most amazing time! Thank you!!!

Review submitted: April 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 18, 2014

This location was so perfect for what we were looking for. Thank you for the amazing house and allowing us to use it as our own. We will definitely be back!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous place!

Review submitted: November 2, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

This is perfect for staying in Yosemite. Plenty of room for kids and lots for them to do. Upstairs bedroom provides privacy for grandparents who may want to get away from the middle of it all sometimes! Everything is new and child proof. Easy to get to.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ALL THAT AND MORE

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

When booking accommodation from down in Australia has at times seen some disappointment upon arrival. Not so Alpine Aerie, it is a beautiful Home Away from Home, we reluctantly had to come to leave. All enquiries and requests were answered immediately. We would most certainly recommend this property to anyone seeking a quality base from which to experience the fabulous Yosemite national Park. Sue and Bill Leahy - Sydney Australia

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

What a beautiful well appointed home! We enjoyed this conveniently located home on our recent vacation to Yosemite. The home was spacious and had every amenity we could have asked for. (Except air conditioning) Apparently very few homes do have A/C in the mountains because it is not really needed, except for a few days out of the year. So we opened the windows to cool off the place and were fine! The home was very clean upon arrival, had plenty of towels and staples in the kitchen. (salt, pepper, sugar, oil, etc.) We enjoyed the large deck and grilled almost every night. The children thoroughly enjoyed the game room downstairs and were thrilled with the foosball and pool tables as well as the WII system. The surrounding area was quiet and conveniently located in the park. The convenience of staying inside the park was well worth it! We would definitely recommend this home to future Yosemite visitors.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful stay inside the Yosemite park!

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

We have a large group of people (12) staying in this house for two nights. Our group has a mix of elderly, young, and kids. Everybody enjoyed our staying here. The master bedroom (upstairs) is spacious and the master bath is stunning. The two other bedrooms are smaller but good enough for a couple to stay. Kitchen and dining room are large and the utensils are great. We especially like the well-equiped game room with refrigerator. Kids spent a lot of time playing Wii in the game room while we adults enjoyed our leisure time sitting on the large deck, chatting and viewing the beauty of nature. We also liked the gas barbecue grill on the deck. We would definitely consider it for our return trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

To Quote my Wife- "Best Vacation Rental We Have Stayed In"

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

We rented this house based on it's proximity to Yosemite National Park to use as our base for day trips to the Park without a long drive to and from our lodging and without staying in a hotel. This location worked perfectly as the drive to the park is short-about 15 mintues-so the location is ideal. Plus we headed to Kings Canyon after Yosemite so being on the south side of the park made our trip to Kings Canyon a little shorter. The house looks and feels brand new inside but it was built several years ago. The owners have kept it well maintained and it is very clean. The bedrooms were great for us as there were two on the main floor and a master upstairs. The basement also has a pull out couch and my teenage son stayed down here as he liked having his own space with a TV and it was cooler in the basement as there is no AC and we had a hot week the week we were there. Typically we were not in the house during the day and around 6 or 7 it would start to cool off as the house as it is at a fairly high elevation. The house is very clean and the kitchen is very nice with plenty of cooking supplies. There are a lot of brids and wildlife in the area so we enjoyed eating dinner on the deck and watching for wildlife as the sun set for the day. Yosemite West is a little pricey but you are paying for location and not having to drive a long way each day after hiking all day and being able to have berakfast and dinner at the house was the way to go. Overall a great place to stay and the owner was very helpful in setting up our trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Place!

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

Stunning luxury condo, beautifully appointed A-frame design with soaring interior ceilings, spacious rooms, lots of bells and whistles. We particularly liked the large deck, Ansel Adams artwork, leather furniture, large kitchen, comfortable beds, and well equipped game room. Romantic if it's just two of you, otherwise very family friendly. Every amenity is as listed, all in good working order. Does not have a hot tub but that was not really missed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Owner promptly refunded security deposit. Next time we'll come in the winter!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spacious - New!

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

We loved this house. Almost brand new. Plenty of places for lots of people to sleep AND three full bathrooms. The wi fi was a nice feature as was the sat tv. This is The House in Yosemite West

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent accommodations

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

Excellent property. Great location and good access to various sights in the park. We would definitely rent this home again in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderfully warm, delightful stay.

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

2 families of 5 stayed here and there was plenty of room for everyone. The kids particularly liked the games room. I couldn't fault the house as it was clean and warm and had everything we needed. It was a very short drive into the village, so handy location. i could have easily stayed here for a week but sadly we were on limited time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Even better than we expected.

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

We were traveling with a total of 3 couples and the house exceeded our expectations. We had a bedroom and bath for each couple. We used the grill to cook dinner and sat on the back deck. The house was clean, updated and well-appointed. We hiked the park during the day then returned to the house to eat and play cards in the evening. We would certainly return here and recommend it to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely Property

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

The property is amazing. The finished basement provided the perfect place for the kids to play out of the way while the adults hung out on the main floor. The picture window is breathtaking and Maria was pleasant to work with. I definitely recommend this property and would strongly consider it on a return trip.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 9, 2013

Everything about this house is wonderful. It's new, clean, large, few steps, easy parking, fabulous location and beautiful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful property, thoughtfully designed and appointed

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

We were an extended family group of 3 generations on a winter snow getaway. Alpine Aerie was perfect for our needs: very comfortable and spacious, simply and elegantly decorated, impeccably clean and well-maintained, close to Badger Pass.

This home is well-managed and cared for. We very much appreciated Maria's responsiveness to our request for that unscented laundry detergent and no dryer sheets be used on our linens, due to allergy issues. I appreciated the luxury linens. We all appreciated the super-comfortable beds after long days of playing in the snow and skiing. We had everything we needed and more.

We hope to make winter visits to Yosemite a regular family tradition, and would definitely choose Alpine Aerie again--in any season!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great home for big group

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Plenty of room for everyone. I love the back deck on main floor because it was very relaxing & had a very nice grill. Kids enjoyed staying on bottom level & we found an inflatable matress down there too. I like that each floor has it's own bathroom. Upstairs in front of master, there is a tiny landing that also has a pull out couch.
This location is great because it's inside the gates. It does take time to wind around to get to the village, but it's really not bad around 20-25 min since you can't drive fast around the mountains anyway.
Tips: there are couple places to eat in the village. The one place was cafeteria style but perfect for the kids.
Highly recommend the tram tour if you have little ones, plus you can hear very interesting stories from the guide.
Wifi/direct TV signal was not good at all at the house, but I guess since it's so remote what do you expect? Our cell phones would work only sometimes.

*The only problem we had was that when we arrived, the door code did not work & we could not call since no cell signal. There is a pay phone way back out on main road but I walked to the neighbors house to use the phone. I felt bad because it could tell I was bothering him, but it's probably not the first time someone had to use his phone. I'd love it if there was a pay phone closer to the house. So just FYI

Overall great stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for the review! We apologize for the difficulties you experienced with the door lock. We have since posted instructions by the front door so this would not happen again in the future.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Exceeded Expectations

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

What an amazing property. The amenities were exceptional, the location idea and the home was beautiful. The layout of the home allowed our party of three couple's privacy as well as spacious open area's to eat or visit. The view from the deck was breath taking and serene. We're look forward making this trip an annual trip. The owners are verily, helpful and professional. We received our deposit within three days of returning from our trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

This house is amazing

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

This house is amazing! It is a very spacious house that is both comfortable and fun for the kids. It is very clean and has all of your everyday items. Not surprisingly the kids loved the wii and game table. Beds are very comfortable.

The location of house is close to Glacier Point and also 30-60mins to all the other major scenes.

This house will be our NO 1 choice next time we visit Yosemite.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect place to stay while visiting Yosemite

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

The house is in excellent condition and conveniently inside the park. We felt like at home while staying there. The kids enjoyed the game room very much.

We had a wonderful time! Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Couldn't have asked for anything more

Review submitted: April 28, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

I almost never write reviews for anything. But there were so many positives about Alpine Aerie, it's definitely worth it this time. Where to begin?... Well, the place is huge and everything looked and felt very new and well maintained. Clean and well-stocked with all the necessary kitchenware, blankets, towels. My extended family of 9 fit easily and very comfortably there - everyone with their own space. The gameroom provided a nice retreat for the kids (and grandparents) while the main living room offered a great setting for eating, socializing, and games.

I was in contact with Maria and she was just absolutely wonderful - plenty of timely email contact and she even left a nice surprise in the fridge for us opon our arrival. Deposit was returned promptly and fully.

Just a couple hints (not really cons) for other prospective stayers:
1. Yosemite West is at a much higher elevation than Yosemite Valley. So the snow there lasts much longer into Spring. There was a huge snowstorm there (about 1 foot of snow in 1 day) on our last day there. While the snowstorm view was absolutely breathtaking from the giant living room windows and we had tons of fun the first day building snowman and having snowball fights, we were almost trapped there on our date of departure (in our Prius). Luckily, once we got to Yosemite Valley, it turned into rain.
2. I notice the Internet connection was intermittent during our stay. It could have been due to the snow storm. Luckily, we still had our smartphones.
3. Warning - you might just enjoy the house so much that going to Yosemite Valley seems like a chore.

I would absolutely recommend this property and stay here myself next time.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

awesome stay

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

we (four adults and two young children) stayed at this property for three nights in march and it exceeded our expectations on every front. my husband and I have stayed at several vrbo properties and this was by far one of the best; the photos really do not do it justice. the house was beautiful and immaculately clean, the kitchen was very well equipped, the beds were comfy, and there was plenty of room for all of us. there were many areas for us to hang out in-- the living room with the awesome fireplace, the cozy loft, and the game room downstairs. this place could easily accommodate a much larger group. we were also pleasantly surprised by the kitchen which had all the pots, pans, utensils, and dishes we were looking for. there was even cooking oil, spices, tea, syrup, etc. which are not always found in rental properties. it was also located fairly conveniently to many popular sites in the park-- this is something that we always look for in vrbo properties because driving long distances with an infant/toddler is far from fun. the only potential downside is that there is no covered parking area, which was unfortunate on the weekend we went because we got over three feet of snow! it was beautiful but there was much shoveling that needed to be done. this, however, was a small price to pay for our awesome stay. we would definitely love to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Yosemite dream house in ideal location

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

Our family of 7 adults loved this house! It is everything as advertised and much more. Being able to stay together, (instead of in separate hotel rooms) in this beautiful home with Yosemite Park minutes from our front door really made our vacation. We all had a great time! We found the location to be ideal. The house is located almost midway between the north & south ends of the Park, so you can visit Hetch Hetchy one day and Mariposa Grove the next. Glacier Point is really close; a must see & do. The hiking at Glacier Point is not to be missed; lots of trails & awe inspiring vistas. If you can only find time for one hike we highly recommend Panorama Trail. In our opinion Yosemite Park speaks for itself, so back to Alpine Aerie; an apt name by the way. The decor is tasteful and inviting; the floor plan spacious, yet cozy. We had plenty of room for our group activities, as well as comfortable areas for solitude and privacy. With the high-end grill on the deck & the "roomy enough for 3 cooks" kitchen we had a great time cooking and eating breakfast & dinners together. After breakfast we'd hop in the van and drive into the park for the day. After dinner my husband stayed connected to work with his laptop, the "kids" hung out in the lower game room, played cards or watched TV by the fireplace, while I read in the upstairs loft. We were together without being on top of each other and with 3 bathrooms no one ever had to wait for a shower. We are thinking this should become an annual event for our scattered family; there is even room if and when grandkids come along!
You won't go wrong choosing Alpine Aerie for your vacation lodging!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Fabulous !!

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

My group of 10 women stayed in Alpine Aerie from Oct 5-9. What a fabulous place! We arrived in a early freak blizzard and the road to Yosemite West was closed to most traffic. We convinced the rangers that we had snow tires and that since we are from Minnesota we know how to drive in snow. After an hour and 45 minutes or harrowing driving we arrived at Alpine Aerie. What a treat! After hot showers, a glass of wine and a great dinner we were completely at home. The house is beautiful, the beds and all furnishings are comfy and the kitchen is beyond belief. Our whole experience there was wonderful. The location is so convenient to all sites in Yosemite, 20 minutes from the valley-20 minutes from Mariposa Grove. The deck (after the snow finally melted) was a joy with beautiful trees and lovely sunsets. The house is everything the photos show it to be and more. We recommend this property very highly and would gladly give references for those considering staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful!!!

Review submitted: September 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

We loved this house! It was beautiful and in a great location. It was our first time to Yosemite and it won't be the last. I just hope we get to rent this house again! The owners and property manager were great,very helpful. The house was new and clean, had terrific appliances and nice bedding. I would recommend this rental to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The best vacation house we have ever been

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 16, 2011

Location, location, location!! This is great spot to stay in Yosemite and save travel time everyday to the famous scienic trail. I have been to Yosemite 4 times and stayed in 3 different lodge, this trip is the most relaxing one because it only takes 30 mins to get to the valley.

We cannot pick anything worth complaining a bit during 6 days stay. House condition? Perfect! Kitchen? You cannot ask more for it! It has got everything even for a picky housewife and not mentioning the premium quality of cookware.

The basement is haven for boys. It is huge with TV, Wii game, and game table. Most of all, all the noise from teen boys can stay in the basement and we adults can enjoy the peaceful time in the great-view-window living room.

I have been a lot of vacation house and this is the one of the best that we all consider come back next time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We had a great time!

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

The pictures on this website don't do justice to this house! Brand new everything. Great decors throughout the house. My brother loves the wood deck - perfect place for gas grill. Great view. My mom and my sister-in-law (really picky people) love the kitchen. The game room kept my niece and nephew entertained. The owners really pay attention to details and try to accommodate everything they can for the out of town guests. We stayed 3 nights. My family had a great time - we love the scenic drive to the valley, easy hike of Mariposa Grove, and we took tons of pictures. By the way, there is no DVD player, if you plan to watch DVD, bring a portable DVD player. We highly recommend this place to any family - you'll love it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Three days and two nights in heaven

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

My wife and I just got a sneak preview of Alpine Aerie before it opened (in-laws are co-owners). We beta-tested the kitchen, grill, Wi-Fi, satellite TV, beds, showers, etc.—and the place is just wonderful. (It even made a vacation with the in-laws amazing!)

We entered Yosemite National park just once on our first day and, from that point on, we could head straight in from the house without waiting in any lines. The drive to Yosemite Valley was scenic and easy!

The house and the view from the deck is so beautiful, even this city boy was reluctant to take advantage of the Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Great space on the main floor and deck for having fun with the family. And great kitchen and grill for fixing dinner to feed the famished troops after a day of hiking.

As for the Valley, I highly recommend hikes to Sentinel Dome and the base of Lower Yosemite Falls. Rent bikes to cruise the Valley floor—it’s easy going and a great way to get around quickly. Treat yourself to breakfast at the Ahwanee and be sure to stop at Tunnel View for the best view of the valley (framed by El Capitan on the left and Bridalveil Falls on the right).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review