reviews for: listing #82082 - Isle of Palms, South Carolina House rental

Relaxing Island House 5BR/3BA, Pet Friendly
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $260 - $490 /nt
    $1,450 - $2,950 /wk

sort by:

Great location, perfect for kids and pets

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

We LOVED this house! We came with our two dogs, another couple who had a 4 year old, and a few other friends. We loved that it felt like home and was extremely spacious. Our dogs loved the fenced yard to run in and the screened porch and bar area was a life saver! I would say we spent most of our time in that area. We took the golf cart to dinner, to the beach, and just to ride around and see the island! Ryan was great and made time to run by to bring another sound system and more gas for the grill. We really appreciated his help and hospitality! The rooms were clean with fresh linens and there were plenty of towels.

I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a great place to stay close to the beach. Check out the Co-Op on Sullivans Island for delicious breakfast sandwiches and great beers!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful time

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

Our family enjoyed this house so much. Comfortable, spacious and well laid-out. The customer service was superior as well.

The kitchen had all the necessary equipment, too. There were toys for the younger kids and privacy for the teenagers. We were allowed to bring our small dogs and they enjoyed the week, too!

We would absolutely recommend this house to a friend and certainly rent it again.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

a wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

A wonderful, spacious home. Plenty of room, nice layout, and only a short walk to the beach. Or ride to the beach in a flash in the provided golf cart. It was my first trip back to isle of palms in many years, we are regular visitors to folly. we were not disappointed, and ryan was very responsive and accomodating. One of the best equipped kitchens we have had in a rental, and we come to the lowcountry every year for the last twenty years. We had never used homeaway, but this was a great resource for finding the right place for our large family. It was simply a wonderful week. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Isle of Palms Haven

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

The house is outstanding with three full baths, large bedrooms and plenty of space in the common areas. We had three teenagers and never felt crowded. The golf cart was a huge hit and makes the short trip to the beach a breeze. The kitchen was very well equipped and having a second refrigerator was great for storing drinks and large items. My wife cites this as her favorite property we have ever rented for vacation and there have been many over the years. The homeowner, Ryan, was excellent. He was very helpful and always responded quickly to inquiries during the rental process. I honestly cannot think of any negatives about this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: I'm so glad you enjoyed the house. Life's too short for a bad beach trip! I do try to make improvements throughout the year, and I hope to see you again next year!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Golf Trip

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

House was great for my friends who had never been down to IOP. All of us came down looking for a great time to relax and hit the golf course and we did just that. All the rooms/beds were very nice and comfortable. The multiple sitting areas allowed everyone to sprawl out and relax.

Location is perfect for both getting to the beach and getting on/off the IOP connector. I strongly recommend this location

Owners response: Thanks for the review, Justin. Relaxing is what it's all about! Come again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

I was SO sorry to leave!

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 22, 2011

This house was AWESOME!

The House: It just feels like Ryan and Sally are letting you stay in their personal home for the week. It doesn't feel anything like one of those sterile homes built specifically to rent out to tourists. The house was so comfortable and worked perfectly for our our extended family. I can't imagine that you could choose a better house if you have young children. The place was packed with kids toys, books and beach toys! We didn't even have to unpack half of what we brought! Don't bother bringing any chairs, beach towels, or kid stuff. They have it all...even a little art cabinet tucked away in the laundry room! Every time I turned a corner or opened a closet, I was so impressed with what we had at our disposal.

Beach Access: The walk to the beach is quick and easy. But WHY would you do that??!!! The golf cart on site was so much fun for the whole family. Quick trips to and from the beach were so easy! When the little kids got tired, someone could bring them back to the house for naps and then come back and play!

The Bikes: My favorite part! They had a fleet of beach cruiser bikes to run around town in. We took our kids on an evening bike ride every night to get them sleepy. The owners even had a bike trailer to tow the kids in!

The Owners: Ryan and Sally were quickly responsive to every need and every question we had. It was such a blessing to have them living right around the corner.

Would We Come Back?: This was our first time to Isle of Palms. We WILL be coming back ....and I can promise you that we won't have to spend a week looking for the perfect house! We lucked out on the first try.

My Recommendations: Take a midnight bike ride around the neighborhood with your spouse when the kids fall asleep! (Assuming you have other adults at home, of course!) It was so nice and quiet! Eat dinner with the WHOLE family on the back porch! Turn up the music and let the kids take turns drawing pictures of you on the chalkboard! If you have a SMALL dog....you better watch them in that fenced in yard. Ours somehow squeezed out during dinner! We still can't figure out how or where she escaped from! haha! Go to Charleston! It is only 20 minutes away! And finally, thank Ryan and Sally profusely for letting you use their lovely home : )

Thank you Ryan and Sally! Profusely : )

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a great trip! The house is made for good times, and I'm glad you enjoyed everything!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Hidden Treasure! Perfect for family fun & more.

Review submitted: May 28, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

This house is a hidden treasure indeed. From the outside it appears small, yet it opens up to five comfortable bedrooms, two living room areas, an eat-in kitchen plus a dinning room AND a double plus for the screened in porch (bar/hang-loose area) AND fenced in backyard with outdoor shower. It was a great place for two families to meet, have plenty of space for adults and kids (kids had their own living room area and bedroom section!). The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking and eating (including cake and muffin pans which we used to celebrate a birthday). There is a great washer and dryer there as well so don't overpack!

It was an easy stroll to the beach or through the neighborhood to a local playground- that was fantastic. We really enjoyed our time at the beach which was beautiful and the downtown was only a mile away. We had use of the golf cart and bikes which was a useful and fun way to get around.

Ryan was excellent with communication before/during our trip and we were fortunate to also meet Sally at the beach who was very kind and helpful.

I would recommend staying here for your vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I'm so glad you enjoyed the island and the house! Please come again -- I try to improve the experience each time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Take care of this house, one day it will be mine

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 3, 2011

Since my stay, I've been working on the paperwork to have the owner sign over the house to me. The pictures on the website are great but do not do the house justice. I was pleasantly suprised by the grand tour Ryan felt was needed to show all of the ammenities and bedrooms. After taking us through the east wing, Ryan led us through the second living room to probably the greatest room in these United States...the Bar. I've never been more proud to call myself an American, to be able to enjoy this wonderful addition to the house and spent the most time there. The bar was a perfect place for my friends and family to spend time together. We watched a couple of baseball games but mostly listened to the stereo and enjoyed each others company. We probably spent most of our there with the beach coming in at a close second.
This leads me to the next best part of this vacation rental - the golf cart. Best ammenity ever. If you are simply looking for a house five feet from the beach then there is nothing I can say to disuade you from going elsewhere. However, the golf cart makes the beach easily accessable with literally a 90-95 second drive (depending on how heavy your foot is). I brought my own but beach chairs are provided so you won't look too touristy with brand new ones with the tag still hanging from the armrest. When your finished, there is an outdoor shower that can barely be seen on the left side of the picture of the back yard.
I'm active duty Air Force (enlisted) and have spent the past five years working on my degree in electrical engineering at the Citadel. Some classes were while deployed but I started going full time in the evening two years ago. This vacation was part of my graduation gift to myself. I don't make all that much, but I can not think of a better way to have spent my money. I have never been more relaxed and rejouvinated from my time there and for a short period of time felt like I was the richest man in the world.
All in all, enjoy everthing the house has to offer and please take care of it as one day I hope to convince the owner to part ways with it and give it to me...I just have to ask him first.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Owners response: Wow! That's awesome. Happy to have you anytime and happy to give you a military discount!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

vacation house feels like home

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

My friend Kathryn and I along with our 2 teenagers enjoyed this house and location very much. The house was very comfortable and we felt right at home as soon as we opened the front door. The house isn't a showplace by any stretch but had a well lived-in feel. Our favorite part of the house was the huge screened-in porch and bar area. The house was very well laid out - it's much larger on the inside than you would think when you pull up in the driveway. There was more than enough room for us all to spread out. The owners provided a golf cart for our use - which was quite convenient for going the 2 blocks to the beach. The price was very reasonable for a week on Isle of Palms. The owners were very welcoming and helped us feel at home. We will definitely stay here again and again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Many thanks! The porch is open all year -- in the winter months it's enclosed with clear vinyl to hold the warmth from the patio heater. It's my favorite room, too.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review