reviews for: listing #82102 - Gulf Shores, Alabama Condo rental

"Spyglass Unit 104-a" Uncrowded Almost Private Beach!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Spyglass
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $65 - $175 /nt
    $395 - $1,075 /wk
    $950 - $950 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

"great place"

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

This was an amazing place to stay. Right on the beach and very close the everything in town. Will stay again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Our Stay in Gulf Shores"

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

Very Hot! . Very Nice condo. It had everything we needed in it. Great Place to Stay.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"My first trip to the gulf"

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

I had originally been looking for a hotel room, but found the condo was more reasonably priced. The place was better than my girlfriend and I had hoped. It had nice little touches and was I a prefect location. I would definitely rent it again. The location was definitely the best part right at the beach and still close to just about anything you could want. My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

ABSOLUTELY GROSS!

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

We were supposed to stay two nights in this unit. We were traveling through the area and only stopping for the weekend on our way back home. The unit was so dirty and neglected that we actually took a family vote and even our four kids voted to leave! Unfortunately my husband and I needed sleep before we could drive any further so we were stuck there for the night. Thankfully we brought some cleaning supplies with us and managed to clean the bathrooms well enough to be functional. We sent a message to the company that owns this rental stating that we were leaving early. When we got home we sent them a detailed list of 33 items, WITH PHOTOS, of everything that was wrong with this unit. And I don't think we even managed to list everything. It has now been two weeks since we emailed the message and we have not heard from them. We at least expected them to say they would look into it, but they haven't responded.

Just a few of the things we emailed them:
Blankets were unwashed and contained fresh stains of blood on one and "bodily fluids" on another.
The floors were so dirty that when you step from the shower to the floor you leave muddy foot prints.
Toilet had not been cleaned and smelled so strongly of urine that you could smell it from the hallway.

We expected the unit to be small from the reviews, but it was so small that when one sleeper in the living room was open, you could barely scoot sideways around it to get to the other bedroom. (This is a serious problem when you have small kids in the other room! No to mention a safety hazard.) And there was no way you could have opened the other sleeper.

We will definitely not be back, and would never recommend this unit to anyone else. We stayed at another unit up the street from this one the previous weekend and it was spotless and well taken care of. Until someone starts taking care of this unit, it should not be rented. It was gross.

Helpful votes: 29 / 31

 

Serenity With Style

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

This property was perfect for my holiday. It is located in a small building on the Gulf side of Beach Boulevard; in other words, it is right on the beach. The unit is accessed by a staircase leading to the first floor.

On the inside, the unit is tastefully decorated, cozy,and very clean. Some of the furnishings, like the carpeting in the master, are a bit worn in places but still very nice. The unit was completely supplied with all of the items I needed for my stay: plenty of towels, blankets. The kitchen was also supplied with most everything one would need to make a simple meal, except the ingredients and the seasonings.

There is a small grocery within walking distance; within a 10 minute ride there are several larger grocery chains and many restaurants. Check out the Original Oyster House on 59. Also try Lartigue's Seafood Market for fresh boiled shrimp and other delectable seafood products.

Some of the things I did while I was there include a drive east toward Pensacola Beach, a ferry ride west to Dauphin Island and dinner at Felix's east of Mobile, and shopping at the Tanger Outlet center on 59 in Foley. I also tried to visit Alligator Alley, but it was closed for the season.

Overall, I would highly recommend this property. I would stay here again myself. Not only did the owner provide accurate details about the property, but she was also very helpful and accomodating. On the night I arrived, I had major problems finding the property. I contacted the call service and within 10 minutes Kim was on the phone with me giving me more detail to help me out. She provided me with her private cell phone number, just in case. That impressed me!

I left Gulf Shores relaxed and ready for a great new year thanks to Spyglass and Kim Lang!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Dirty and small

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

The condo was very dirty and small. If we had all 6 of us came it would we crowded. Pictures are deceiving of how big it was. After several contacts to rental company we were able to get $100 back from the rental fee. We will not be back.

Helpful votes: 25 / 30

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very clean and comfortable.!!

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

We stayed in this unit a week ago and found the unit to be very clean and comfortable. The grounds were well-kep and the pool area was clean as well.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A 2 bedroom unit at a awesome price!!!

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2011

We absolutley loved our stay in this unit. The unit was fresh and clean and right on the beach. It was a awesome family vacation. Our kids realy loved it. A 2 bedroom unit at a awesome price!!!
Jennifer , Auburn, al

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We absolutely loved this place!!!!!!

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

We absolutely loved this place. It was just perfect
for us. Only wish we could have stayed longer. I
will definitely be back !
Shelley, Arkansas

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is definitely on the top of our list to stay!

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

This was our second time to say in this unit and it was as clean as it was 2 years ago. We definitely appreciated the chairs, umbrella and beach towels that are provided by the owner. This is definitely on the top of our list to stay again next year.
The price was awesome as well!
Susan W., Jackson MO

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed our stay!

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in your unit during the Shrimp Festival. The unit was clean, nicely decorated and well stocked with towels and supplies.
Saundra, Joppa, AL

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review