reviews for: listing #82105 - Barnstable, Massachusetts House rental

A Piece of Cotuit History - Walk to Beaches
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Cotuit
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $375 - $475 /nt
    $2,250 - $2,500 /wk
    $6,000 - $9,000 /mth

sort by:

An Enjoyable Stay in Cotuit

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

I booked a week with my family (9 people in all, and had a very nice time. The house is huge and sprawling, and we were able to easily accommodate everyone. It was a hot week when we were there, but there were fans in every room to keep cool at night. The dining table is big enough for 10, and the outdoor porch is a great place for coffee in the morning. It's a close walk to the General Store, and the back yard is a nice size. A close drive to several beaches; Ropes Beach is just down the street, but not the best for swimming.

There's a full kitchen for cooking, washer/dryer, and a gas grill on the patio. A large parlor area with old and fairly comfortable furniture has a 19" screen TV with basic cable, and there is wireless internet to keep connected. 4 bathrooms (3 have clawfoot tubs) and 1 shower. The downstairs shower is usable, but a little rustic. The grounds are well-maintained, with plenty of greenery and parking for 3 cars.

Overall, it made for a great vacation. The best part was that there are 5 bedrooms, and even an extra 'studio' bedroom downstairs with a comfortable sleeping cot, so you are not crammed in terms of sleeping areas, or having to fold out sleep sofas in makeshift bedrooms. It's well-located off Rte 28; traffic outside might be a little noisy from time to time, but overall it is not a problem.

The property manager was very helpful and available, and easy to work with. A good spot for a family vacation in a rustic but comfortable environment. We had a great time!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A wonderful getaway

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

In addition to the charms of delightful small-town Cotuit, the house itself has plenty of charm itself! All three generations of us enjoyed our stay in this conveniently located yet somehow still secluded spot. Naturally, with the charms of an old house come certain minor issues (we were unable to locate a light to illuminate the patio outside, and despite the quaintness of the clawfoot bathtubs, we all ended up waiting for the shower), but they're far outweighed by the potential for fun for all ages. In fact, despite the various attractions nearby, we found ourselves spending quite a bit of our vacation simply enjoying the house. Heartily recommended!

Sean, from Somerville, MA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: There is a second shower downstairs in the "summer bathroom", but maybe it didn't feel convenient to go downstairs from the bedrooms to use the this shower. In the near future I plan on looking into putting a "shower ring" around one of the claw foot tubs in the north wing. All in all it is a welcoming old house with tons of character and well known to Cotuitites.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great house, lots of privacy

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We had a great week and the house worked perfectly for our needs. Everyone kept telling me it was a great house – we especially liked the layout (gave everyone some privacy) and the large yard for the kids to play in (with the favorite swings included!).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Slice of "Americana"

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

"The listing accurately describes this wonderful old house! My family and I rented it in July for 8 consecutive years! Only age and bad knees that made it more difficult to get upstairs to bed prevent us from making it 9 years! The house was always clean when we arrived and if we encountered any problems, the owner was quick to respond to our needs. Being as large as it is, the house lends itself to entertaining - particularly with the wrap-around porches. Anyone who likes baseball will fall in love with the house because the cape Cod league baseball field is just down the street and the Cotuit Kettleers are a perennial winner!
If you want to experience a slice of "Americana" this is the rental for you!"
Buddy C.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review