reviews for: listing #82108 - Jaco, Costa Rica Condo rental

Truly Unique 3rd Flr 3 Bedroom Beach Front Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Tres Regalos
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $350 /nt
    $1,400 - $2,450 /wk
    $2,800 - $4,200 /mth

sort by:

Great place, all the comforts of home and all the ammenties of a vacation

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

I stayed here for a week in December, the weather was outstanding as was the condo. Beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Right on the beach!!! You wake up in the morning, sit outside on the patio with a cup of coffee and lookout to a breathe taking view. Either a taxi ride, or nice walk to town to enjoy all jaco had to offer. Would 100% go back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Alison - You girls were great and it was nice to have met you all there! See you next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Jaco Beach Condo

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

The condo was in a great location and was beautifully decorated. The owners had provided recommendations for drivers, activities, and restaurants and were all excellent.
Everyone who worked at the property was courteous and very helpful. The grounds and pool area were very well maintained.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thom My family and I thank you for your kind words and hope to see you again someday. The staff says hello. Thanks again Thomas and Family.

Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful sunsets! And one morning a scarlet macaw flew by, just feet away from the balcony.

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

The six of us - four adults and two small children - stayed very comfortably in the condo. It was well equipped with just about everything we might need, barring food of course, and it was sparkling clean. The balcony lights weren't working, presumably because of salt-water-in-the-air corrosion, but it wasn't a problem since we didn't need them. Leo was extremely helpful in helping us set up a fishing excursion & getting a key to the safe (although we ended up not using the safe at all) so I'm sure he would have seen to getting the lights fixed for us if we'd asked. Leo is a wonder.

The owners, Don and Denise, were very, very helpful in answering our questions before the trip. (Where is a grocery store? A few minutes' walk. What are fun things to do? Long list. Can we use U.S. dollars? Yes, but you get your change in colones.)

The swimming pool was the main attraction for the little ones, along with the tide pools, but they liked everything.

"Downtown" Jaco is interesting in its own right - we walked there twice and even the little ones had no trouble with the walk. Once we took a cab back because it was HOT. It's easy to flag one down in Jaco. If you go, be sure to check out the Taco Bar, with its swings. The six-year-old loved gently swinging side-to-side while eating delicious rice, beans, and tacos. Quite a few grownups did, too. There's an ice cream shop across from it, too. Mmm.

We were late getting to Manuel Antonio National Park (go early!), so we didn't see much wildlife - two species of sloth, two kinds of monkey, several birds, and a posse of raccoons. The raccoons' faces are quite different from their North American second cousins, BTW. We did hire a guide with a spotting scope, but if you have binocs you probably don't need one. It was a nice walk, anyway, and we ended up at the gorgeous beach inside the park. It's protected from the surfing waves outside the little harbor, so the children played quite safely there.

We had a rental car (tho' you could easily hire a driver), so we went to Poas Volcano. The cloud forest there was a little disappointing - because of the volcano's fumes - but otherwise it was a good excursion. The best thing, though, was eating at a "Soda". If we go back with children, we'll go to Zoo Ave. We couldn't fit it in this time. I think we'll also stay a little longer, spending the last two nights in San Jose. But we really liked Tres Regalos, and would heartily recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Larry and family. Thanks so much for your review and it was great to have had you as guests. Leo, Flor and the staff all send their hellos and "when are you coming back" requests? The balcony lights have been fixed and we really have to stay on those pretty regularly. The salt air, being so close to the water, just blows into those fixtures all day and night. Think we figured it out though!

Thanks again for everything!

Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

HEAVEN

Review submitted: January 27, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

Tres Regalos was beautiful ... my kids and wife loved everyday we stayed. The view from the balcony was fantastic!!!!! I particularly enjoyed having a cup of fresh Costa Rica coffee while watching the macaws outside our window. Sunset view from Tres Regalos was HEAVENLY. Pool and beach were beautiful and the grounds were very well kept. Guests and owners were really friendly ... my youngest daughter could not stop talking with other guests ... she was spoiled.
The property is very well kept, nicely decorated and has all necessary amenities to make you feel at home. The premises are safe and staff is always available to assist you with anything. All my expectations were surpassed. We can't wait to return.
Don & Denise, thanks for recommending Flory! The food was delicious. My son who has never eaten fish finished his plate. WOW! I recommend everyone try Flory's mahi mahi with Yuca and mash potatoes. Villa Calletas was wonderful and the kids loved the swinging chairs at the Taco Bar. My oldest daughter loved looking for seashells while also looking for monkeys at Monkey Bay.

Thank you very much for the wonderful memories. We will certainly come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mike! You and your family were great. We loved that you stayed with us. Flory is a GREAT cook and her meals are amazing for sure. We are so happy that you used her as well. It helps her and her family so much with the little bit of extra income she gets for coming in from home and cooking a home cooked authentic Costa Rican meal for our guests. She absolutely is so proud as well when she heres how much folks appreciate her talents. The people in Costa Rica are fantastic and we are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your vacation with us Mike. We hope to see you again someday and best wishes to you all.

Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

Sitting on the balcony sipping coffee, listening to the ocean waves and looking at the mountains in the background-life doesn't get any better than that! That's what we we experienced at Tres Regalos.

Traveling to a different country with a family of 7 can be daunting, but with Don's help, everything went without a hitch. He recommended transportation, arranged shopping so kitchen was stocked at time of arrival, and guided us to great restaurants and activities. Leo, the on-site manager, was not only extremely friendly, but also helpful with booking activities and giving some insider tips. A taxi driver, Norman,was recommended by Don, and we used his services for all excursions. He felt like one of the family and kept us laughing and entertained throughout our outings.

Location couldn't be better. A few steps outside the condo and you're at the ocean. The main center of town is a short taxi ride away, or a walk if so desired. Attractions are nearby and a car is unnecessary, as most attractions will pick-up, and taxis are readily available.

The condo was beautifully furnished, but family friendly. The condo and the complex were immaculately maintained. I would definitely recommend this condo for a wonderful stay in beautiful Jaco, Costa Rica.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

amazing experience

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

unreal experience...place is luxurious. on the beach. close to nightlife/bars/restaurants. very affordable. staff is great and owners are VERY helpful. they will basically make for an unparalleled experience. can't go wrong, so i highly recommend it.

Owners response: Thankyou Thankyou Thankyou - Had to say it three times! Gotta love the word Luxurious. Thanks so much.

Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful holiday!

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

It was our first visit to Costa Rica and the Jaco Area. The People are wonderful and very hospitable.
Tres Regalos was just as it was described. The condo was beautifully decorated. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook our meals. There was more than enough towels and linens.
The week that we were there was quiet and very few people around. We had the pool to ourselves most of the time.
The best thing about the week was the balcony! We were able to relax and watch the beautiful sunsets.
We would definately return and rent this condo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Mylene from Maine!, One of my favorite states for sure. The Lobster, the steamers the, crab, chowder! AWESOME for sure. We are happy you chose to stay with us Mylene and that you so enjoyed the people including the staff and the people of Costa Rica in general. Hope to see you again someday soon.

Thanks Mylene
Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

The condo is as beautiful as the beaches!!! I've been home for two days and already miss staying at this wonderful condo. Very comfortable atmosphere and high class. Owner and condo development staff are the friendliest and beyond helpful. Would 100% reccomend this to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Brian, You guys are only two towns over from me here in Mass. Couldn't be happier that some one so close to home got to see and experience what we do each and every time we go down. Costa Rica will never be the same since you have left so - yea your gonna have to come back my friend!

Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome vacation destination

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

What a great spot! This was our first time to Costa Rica and can't wait to get back there. You see some beautiful country on the ride from the airport to the coast and once you hit the ocean, you're there! The accommodations are fantastic, wonderfully designed and maintained, spacious, with all the comforts of home. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It was very easy to relax and forget about life for awhile siiting on the balcony or down by the pool with great views and a warm breeze coming off the ocean. The north end of Jaco beach where Tres Regalos is situated is the best. Easy ride or walk into town where there is plenty to see and do as well as in the nearby area. We found some great places to eat incuding the sushi bar at Los Suenos. Can't beat taking a short walk on the beach down to Clarita's though (getting waco in Jaco). Overall, just an incredibly enjoyable trip made special by having such a nice place to stay. Looking forward to doing it again soon and would highly recommend Tres Regalos as your destination in Costa Rica.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Jaco Beach at Tres Regalos

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

Our stay at Tres Regalos was fantastic, all the comforts of home and much more. The beach was in walking distance and the pool was very nice and clean. The employees there are very nice and helpful. We enjoyed our time there. Town was very close and Jaco is located in the central of all the excursions we went on. The typical food we ate was very good. The kids enjoyed it, along with the shopping there in town ,alot to see and do.Los Suenos is only 10minutes away where we enjoyed our last dinner at El Pelicano, everyone needs to stop there and enjoy their great food. Manuel Antonio National Park is 1hr away and very is a nice town. We did eat lunch at the El Avion and that was a great lunch too.We didn't do all the things we wanted to do but we will be back in Dec.2013. Thanks Alot Don for all the information it was very helpful. The Condo is very beautiful. Denise did a great job with the decorations. Hope to reserve from ya'll again!!

Owners response: Hey! It was me Don that did the decorations! I was sent down for a long three day weekend and told to furnish and decorate. Denise was a phone camera and 2500 miles away giving me the nod! Wasn't easy you know (lol) Thanks for the great comments and we couldn't be happier that you liked and enjoyed. Hope to see you again.

Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Trip to Costa Rica

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

My wife and two boys stayed for two weeks and found the condo and grounds very clean and well maintained, we also felt very secure as there are staff at the gates and water frount 24 hrs where there was no issues.We found it very quite around the complex and through out the town of Jaco except on weekends where there are a lot of locals come for the weekend as there is a lot of night life. The peolpe were helpfull and freindly even with the language bearier.You do have to watch the ocean for Ripe tides as it is a surf beach with the sand being nice one day and then the next it is covered with small stones but can find nicer sand allong the beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Costa Rica and Tres Regalos BEST place in the world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 21, 2012

Best place in the world have so many friends and memories in Costa Rica expecially here the staff and the other owners/guests are the best. Honestly I have never met a bad or mean person in Costa Rica. I love going here and cant wait to get back. you get everything you want a veiw of the ocean a veiw of the mountians and just a perfect place to stay if you are going to be any where in Costa Rica it should be here. - Jonathan Gilbride

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thankyou - MY SON!!! Found a back way in to the review page on Home Away did ya? Now get back to your school work young fella!! (your spelling and punctuation?) As you can see my son enjoys it here in Costa Rica. Maybe we can leave him here for a while?? Love you Johnny Boy Dad

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Jaco Retreat

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

Myself and five other University students all vacationed to Jaco together, we were not only looking for a fun, laid back environment but something that was not going to break the bank. When we found this place we were ecstatic, but also hesitant as we are all fairly well traveled and know that you don't always get what you expect. To be frank. I was shocked, this condo looks exactly like the photos, it is just as beautiful as we had all imagined and because we took advantage of a cancellation was not overly expensive at all! The description of the location is dead on it is about a ten minutes walk from the downtown core of Jaco but still in a quieter area. As we were all eager to explore the Jaco nightlife it was an easy walk home from all bars and clubs or if we didn't feel like walking a max 5$ cab ride home. I seriously would recommend this condo to any students (If they are respectful as there are a variety of others in the facility and it is a beautiful place) or any family (Great pool with a kid friendly area.. lots of other kids while we were there) or even as a romantic retreat (Beautiful ocean sunsets from the balcony and a stunning master bedroom.) In short this condo would be perfect for anyone.

As far as attractions the taco bar is amazing! There is a small restaurant with amazing cheap local food near the information centre ( I wish I could remember the name) Monkey bar was not so great, Orange bar is phenomenal we met tons of other young tourists there. Manuel Antonio is beautiful and worth the trip out, the beach is fantastic so I would recommend busing or renting a car to get there rather then a tour bus but the park itself is great we saw monkeys and sloths and its only a 10$ admission fee as it is a natural wildlife park. I highly recommend getting picked up at the airport this not only saved us time, and money but we got to stop for drinks and snacks on the way to Jaco.. definitely a great start to the trip.

In all I really have nothing negative to say about Jaco or about the condo we all had an amazing time and always had something to do. As a group of three guys and three girls all within the ages of 22-25 we could not have asked for more!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Jaco Retreat

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

Myself and five other University students all vacationed to Jaco together, we were not only looking for a fun, laid back environment but something that was not going to break the bank. When we found this place we were ecstatic, but also hesitant as we are all fairly well traveled and know that you don't always get what you expect. To be frank. I was shocked, this condo looks exactly like the photos, it is just as beautiful as we had all imagined and because we took advantage of a cancellation was not overly expensive at all! The description of the location is dead on it is about a ten minutes walk from the downtown core of Jaco but still in a quieter area. As we were all eager to explore the Jaco nightlife it was an easy walk home from all bars and clubs or if we didn't feel like walking a max 5$ cab ride home. I seriously would recommend this condo to any students (If they are respectful as there are a variety of others in the facility and it is a beautiful place) or any family (Great pool with a kid friendly area.. lots of other kids while we were there) or even as a romantic retreat (Beautiful ocean sunsets from the balcony and a stunning master bedroom.) In short this condo would be perfect for anyone.

As far as attractions the taco bar is amazing! There is a small restaurant with amazing cheap local food near the information centre ( I wish I could remember the name) Monkey bar was not so great, Orange bar is phenomenal we met tons of other young tourists there. Manuel Antonio is beautiful and worth the trip out, the beach is fantastic so I would recommend busing or renting a car to get there rather then a tour bus but the park itself is great we saw monkeys and sloths and its only a 10$ admission fee as it is a natural wildlife park. I highly recommend getting picked up at the airport this not only saved us time, and money but we got to stop for drinks and snacks on the way to Jaco.. definitely a great start to the trip.

In all I really have nothing negative to say about Jaco or about the condo we all had an amazing time and always had something to do. As a group of three guys and three girls all within the ages of 22-25 we could not have asked for more!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect in every way

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

First off I own a travel agency in Alberta, Canada and we have travelled all over the world. I have very high expectations and don't give out 5* easily.

Loved this place!!!
It was exactly what we needed, the condo was the perfect size for my husband our two sons and a family friend. The condo was decorated nicely and the unit was equipped with everything we needed and more. We enjoyed morning coffee and evening glasses of wine on the the deck looking at the amazing views.The complex itself was a nice size, it was relaxing and not too busy (often had the pool to ourselves). Don and Denise were excellent to deal with as were the staff at the property. We hired Flora (local lady) on the advise of Don to cook supper for us one night and it was truly amazing! The restaurant right across the street from Tres Regalos had great food as well and very reasonable. Almost felt like hiding this hidden gem for ourselves! Thank you so much Don and Denise we have been making plans to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Trina and Family! You guys were great and your pictures came out super. The photgrapher did a great job. I told you Flores cooking was incredible especially the Red Snapper in the Jalapeno sauce!! I hope you and your family return Trina. Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous !

Review submitted: December 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

We had a wonderful week at this condo. We are a familly of 4 and everybody enjoyed every minute of our stay. People (staff and neighors) were great , very friendly. The condo was what we expected, even more ! Photos are accurate, 20 minutes walk to the grocery store, very clean and well maintain. Owners were very helpful and answered all of our questions very promptly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Melanie and Frank and we hope you come back someday soon! You had a great family and the entire staff all say HELLO! Our home is awesome we love it, it is just far enough away to be "the place to stay" yet close to all you could need. Thanks again Melanie for not only choosing our home for your vacation but for finding things to be exactly if not "more" than you expected!

Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best view in Jaco!

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

Book this condo today! It is as good as it looks. Better. The photos you see are real. The condo and Tres Regalos had everything we could want. The best thing was the view from the covered patio. Every morning we'd linger over Costa Rican coffee on the porch enjoying the view and then we were back out for the evening show. We saw exotic birds, a rainbow or something wonderful every day. Inside the rooms were clean, spacious and well equipped. The beds and linens were very comfortable too. The kitchen had everything we needed including a really good coffee maker. The family room had plenty of seating for our big group and the TV and stereo system were great. The condo felt brand new because it was so clean and nicely decorated.

Everyone at the resort was awesome and took such good care of us. Leo, the developer, and his staff made us reservations for any activity we wanted and helped any way possible as none of us spoke enough Spanish to instruct a cab or book a zip line tour. It really helped to have Leo and his staff helping us with where to eat and play. Leo's wife even took us to her yoga class! The surfing, zip lining and rafting were great fun. This trip was all about surfing for the guys and they were treated to incredible surf. We enjoyed good restaurants as well. Most of the restaurants are open air. Amazing that we were not bothered by flies or other pests. We even did yoga poolside every morning enjoying the view and the breeze. It was ideal. We highly recommend this condo and hope to come back soon.

If you are thinking about booking another property - beware. We went in a Daystar Diamonte Del Sol condo that we saw online to view a four bedroom. It was gorgeous but so moldy it was sickening. We are so glad Kevin Cummings, Kevin's Transport, recommended this well maintained, beautiful community instead. Another thing we liked was that there were people on-site every day cleaning the pool and scrubbing the deck and taking care of every inch of the property so it continues to look brand new.

Owners response: Thank you so much Lori for the time to write this review! Our home is constantly and impeccably maintained, aired out and fluffed daily whether occupied or not. Our home will always be clean, mold and mildew free. We promise a great experience immediately and upon arrival and are proud to have helped make the vacation of our guests a successful one. Thanks again Lori and we hope someday to see you return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Tres Regolas Was As Good as the Ad Says

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

The ad and other reviews are accurate. The place was clean, well maintained and the staff were great. The view from the balcony couldn't have been better.

One of the staff gave us surfing lessons. Another gave us advice on cooking the snapper we bought from a young boy in the street. Parrots flew by the balcony. The local version of a squirrel hunted nuts in the trees. The view from the balcony includes both the ocean and jungle covered hills that end at the ocean and a (freshwater) river running through the beach.

The condo and Jaco are a great place to explore Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks John for the great review and for letting both Denise and I know that you and your family had a such a great time! We hope to see you again someday!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

The BEST vacation EVER!

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

My stay at Tres Regalos was spectacular. The staff memebers were extremely helpful and friendly. Not only is the pool area amazing, but the condominium that we stayed in was especially beautiful. Very welcoming and homey. Beautifully decorated, which made for a great stay. I also had my wedding there at the pool and a reception as well. Great Great Great destination wedding. The location itself was perfect. The town was literally 3 minutes away. It was an amazing time and Tres Regalos was so wonderful from the people to the condominium to the pool. It could not have gotten any better than that. And the pictures can speak for themselves because everything looks exactly like that without any disappointment! Highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Melinda! We were very happy to have helped you with your wedding and estatic that things turned out so well. The flowers were incredible, the weather was great and all of you had a great time. Congratulations again on your big day and we couldn't be happier to have helped put the whole thing together for you! We hope to see you again soon.
Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Amazing Views~Beautiful Beach~Outstanding Service

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

Our two week stay at Tres Regalos was amazing. The condo is roomy, beautifully decorated and appointed with every accessory you could possibly need. The view is to die for! Every morning I sat with my coffee on the large veranda watching and listening to the ocean and the birds, simply relaxing in paradise. It was so nice to have the choice of sitting by the beautiful pool or walking a few more steps to the ocean. My whole family loved to walk 1 minute down the beach, across the small river where you had the ocean on one side of you and the jungle on the other, where we saw scarlet macaws and toucans. Tres Regalos is in the best location in Jaco for the beauty the beach and the serenity of the wilderness. Additionally, the staff at Tres Regalos were very friendly and helpful. They hand delivered massages to us, had a taxi to us within a minute, always asked about our day and had great recommendations for activities. Leo and his beautiful wife Flor were the best! Together they had an immense amount of knowledge regarding the local food, activities and outings and helped us to book these trips. From Jaco canopy tours to Discovery horseback riding to the best hotel in Arenal, their picks were first class and we had the time of our lives. We can’t wait to return to Costa Rica and will definitely stay at your condo in all future trips. It just doesn’t get any better than this.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Anette and Family,
You certainly accomplished alot while you were here, Wow! We are grateful for you taking the time to comment on your time here in our home and Costa Rica in general! It certainly is an amazing place. We hope to see you again!

Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

first trip to costa rica

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

So i took my first trip to costa rica this march and it was great. I spent 7 days there with my girlfriend and two other couples. The first day and a half we spent hanging out around the condo, pool and walking down to the strip. The condo was great, more than enough room for 6 adults to eat, sleep and hang out without being on top of each other. The next few days we spent taking a trip to tortuga, zip lining through the rain forest and going on the best deep sea fishing trip of my life catching sailfish. The staff supporting the condo complex was great, very friendly and more than willing to help. We had gone to dinner at a little restaurant on the water and watched a surf competition. They have everything within walking distance of the condo, sports bars, dive bars, shops, grocery stores. Our last night there our group went to dinner on top of a mountain overlooking the ocean. We went at sunset and watched the sun disappear into the ocean, best night of the whole trip. The trip exceeded all my expectations and I can't wait to go back. Thanks Donny and Denise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Spectacular time with Tio Leo at the Tres Regalos

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

I went down with 6 of my best friends with high expectations and extreem excitement to finally get away from all of the stress of school. What I didn't realize was that I wasn't just going to Costa Rica to be with my friends, I was going to Costa Rica to meet new friends. Leo and Flor took our expectations and soared way above them. I'm talking about more than just amazing service and valuable insight on day trips. Specific things I can recall are being able to trust Leo to get everything we needed done on time. One of our group needed to get to the bank before it closed for a holiday and when she didn't make it in time, Leo trusted her with his own money on the promise that she would pay him back. You can't find people this caring and excited about showing you a good time. Leo made sure that we knew how to spend our money wisely in town and he hooked us up with a cheap zip line tour as well as the best deep sea fishing trip I have ever taken. I have been deep sea fishing for 10 years and never have I had such a successful trip with such an entertaining crew. The staff at Tres Regalos held themselves to the highest standards always offering help when it was needed and really just being extremely friendly. Leo and Flor helped us come up with the perfect itinerary for our 6 day stay in which each day was an epic adventure. There were other similar hotels on the beach but Tres Regalos was located closes to the best waves which was a tremendous hit for the guys on the trip. We body surfed until we could barely walk. Teo separated the restaurants into two different categories for us, local food that was cheap and touristy food that was expensive. Because of his direction we were able to find a happy medium of eating local food when we wanted it and steak or lobster when we wanted that. If I could I would go back and live in a hut just so I could be in beautiful Jaco. It is the trip of a life time and to go with any other hotel service would be a great mistake. Thank you so much for everything Leo I will never forget how much fun I had because of you and Flor.

Pura Vida,

Seve Garza

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would definitely go back to Costa Rica and stay

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Don,

Sorry for taking so long to respond to your email, things have been very busy since returning from our vacation in Costa Rica.

We did have a wonderful holiday and enjoyed staying as Tres Regalos very much. Your condo is a perfect size for 6 people, very comfortable, and tastefully furnished.

We loved the pool and the staff were all excellent. Other residents we met were also very friendly and helpful. We did enjoy getting to know Leo and he was extremely helpful with his recommendations. We loved sitting out on the balcony in the evening. Walking and running on beach, watching the surfers and playing in the waves was great fun too.

D'Mario's was a friendly little place to go and Mario helped us get a Tres Leches cake for my parent's 50th wedding anniversary and it was delicious. We went to the Villa Caletas to celebrate my parents anniversary, enjoyed a fabulous sunset before a wonderful and special dinner.

We rented 2 bikes for $40 each so that we could go to store easily and we were glad we did this as it was good exercise too!

We really enjoyed the local zip lining and had a good trip to Manuel Antonio National Park. It was a bit busy and although we did see animals / birds they were some distance away and / or sleeping. We had been to an animal rescue near San Jose and were spoiled with close up encounters with two/three toes Sloths, Monkey's, a Porcupine, Macaws, owls and Toucans. We enjoyed the swimming at the beach in the park and had an excellent lunch after the tour.

Thank you for all of your help and recommendations.

Alison

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

An amazing get-away in a beautiful location

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

I traveled with a group of six other friends to Jaco, Costa Rica and was amazed to be staying in the gorgeous Tres Regalos condominiums. The location is perfect. Just down the street from Jaco, far enough away to keep peace and quiet but close enough to walk into town when necessary. The view from our room was unbelievable and the beach location was perfect. We had a huge stretch of beach with very cool rock formations nearby to explore. Just down the beach was a great restaurant and bar. The condo was so clean and well maintained. It very comfortably slept the seven of us, and we spent a great deal of time hanging out together in the main area. It has enough amenities to make you feel as though you are not too far out of the states: TV, cable, sound system, all kitchen appliances, etc. But the design and feel of the condo is exotic and fun. The Tres Regalos staff was so helpful and maintained the property very well. When we were down there, they had a live band play and we had the best night hanging out in the pool and listening to them. The property managers were unbelievably gracious and helped us out with setting up a fishing trip and a zipline tour. The best restaurants in town were Taco Bar for amazing fish tacos, Jaco Rustica for cheap lunch, and there was even a very nice restaurant right across the street from Tres Regalos that we had two delicious meals at. I would absolutely recommend this condo for friends traveling together or families that like both fun and peace and quiet on their vacation. It was the perfect combination of both. The entire complex is nice, but this specific condo is so gorgeous, it's hard to resist wanting to stay forever when you walk inside! I definitely plan on going back when I can!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Katie,

Please say hello to Seve and his mom and all your friends from all of us here at the Tres Regalos. Denise and I were really excited when we read your review of our home here Katie and can't tell you enough how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience here with anyone looking for a beautiful home in the best location and complex here in Jaco Costa Rica. Our pictures on the site are great but nothing is any better than a guest, such as yourself, having the time of your life and writing us to let us know how fantastic it really was for you. You describe the location perfectly as we are away from the hustle and bustle but still really right on the edge of it all and within a 10 minute walk to all you would ever need. You and your friends hit it off great with our staff and I saw the pictures of you all in the pool the night Leo brought in the live band. It really looked like you all were having a great time and my family and I know that all to familiar feeling of realizing that you have to go home at some point and how tough that can be. Thankyou again for finding our home to be as perfect as we set out to make it Katie and we hope to see you again in the future.

Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

I love Tres Regalos!

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

I had such a great time in Costa Rica and loved this condo! I was apart of a group of 7 and we all fit comfortably and were so excited about how spacious and nice the place was. The balcony over looked the ocean and pool, both of which were beautiful! One of the best part about the condos were the staff and Leo, the manager. Leo was so kind and helpful to us; taking care of us and showing us around. He helped us with our contacts for a deep sea fishing & zip-lining, and just over all gave us advice on the good cheap food places! There are so many great things to do in Jaco and If you plan on visiting I suggest staying at Tres Regalos!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Owners response: Dear Rosie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to describe our home and our facility here in Jaco Beach. We heard you and your friends had a "blast" and I saw some of your pictures from both your fishing trip and your day at the Backyard in Hermosa. Great pictures!! At least one of you guys and or girls is a great photographer as well! Leo and Flor as well as the entire staff here at the Tres Regalos say hello!! Thank you again for recognizing our home the way that you did. My family and I are so very proud of our home here and it really makes us feel great to hear that folks like yourself find it to be as nice and as classy as we had originally set out to make it!! Good luck in school Rosie and say hello to your friends for us. You were our first guest from Hawaii so this is pretty neat as well for us.

Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Place to Stay in Jaco !!!!

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

The view from the balcony is to die for. Unbelievable accommondations with everything you would ever need to enjoy your stay in Jaco.I will have to say that after walking the beach and checking out other resorts this is the best. More...

· By Gerard Guillemette from Hollis,N.H. on 3/21/2011 for a stay in 12/1/2010

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was Wonderful!

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2007

Its a great place. Nice people. The condo is perfect. I recommand to everybody.

· By Caroline from Montreal on 3/2/2011 for a stay in 2/1/2011

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: March 28, 2011

Thanks to Don & Denise for a wonderful home away from home! Your condo is beautiful and is just as described! All the help and guidance that was provided before we even stepped foot on the airplane was fabulous! My family had a wonderful trip to Costa Rica and the help the we received from you and from Leo really made it extra special! This is a beautiful property and a perfect location! I would recommend your wonderful home to anyone looking to go to Costa Rica!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Cami !! We are so happy that you and your family had such a good time. You guys got a lot done in 5 days !! We hope you didn't end up needing a vacation to rest up from your vacation? If you do you know we would love to have you back anytime !! Denise and I are looking forward to meeting you and your family in Florida this up and coming December. Thank you again Cami for enjoying our home and we will share your kind words with Leo !!

Don

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Tres Regalos Condo

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

All in all an excellent trip. Spacious three bedroom apartment, great views, and with every imaginable amenity. The location is great, with a short walk to the ocean as well as many great restaurants and shops. I highly suggest this place for rental whether you are looking for a leisure vacation or adventure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hey Greg and friends!! You had fun and got some great use of the hot tub as Leo sent some pictures!! Pretty funny ! Denise and I were happy to hear that you guys and girl were having fun and enjoyed your time in our home. Hope to see you again some day and good luck back home in Mass with your schooling! Thanks for the nice words regarding our home and our facility in genral Greg and say hi to your friends for us.

Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful Condo

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Don's condo for 3 weeks in Jan. The pictures can't show how beautiful the condo and Tres Regalas are! The kitchen was better equiped then our home. The views were breathtaking.from the balcony...we could see the sunset every night. the beach in front of Tres Regalos was one of the nicest in Jaco...the sand was great for walking barefoot and swimming The pool was fun to come back to. We stayed in Jaco last year at another property (same price) Tres Regalos is by far the nicest in Jaco. We had family one week and friends another week...Everyone had a wonderful time. More...

· By Jamie and Bill from Madison, WI on 3/8/2011 for a stay in 1/1/2011

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jamie and Bill from Wisconsin!! We have had many folks, you guys being the first, from Wisconsin, and recently met some great folks and actual owner of Legends Bar just outside of Madison. Wisconsin has been kind to us and the folks like you and your family have all been perfect! 3 weeks goes by fast Jamie but you got to relax and take a break from the crazy winter weather and we are happy you did this with Denise and I here in Jaco!! Hope to see you next year and say hi to your family including your sister from New jersey for us.

Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

We had a wonderful time!

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

The condo was great. Last year we spent Thanksgiving there, and everything was perfect. Our kids had a blast, and my wife and I enjoyed it very much too. We are a Costa Rican family so we know the area well, and definitely, in Jaco there's no place like Tres Regalos.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Gustavo from Costa Rica!! How are you? We can't tell you how happy we were to hear that you were staying with us. You and your family being from Costa Rica, knowing the area, and choosing our facility as well as our home was a great treat for Denise and I. We are really happy that you and your family had a such great time and a wonderful Costa Rican Thanksgiving. Come back anytime.

Thanks for everything Gustavo

Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

New Year celebration in Jaco

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

We had an Awesome time at the Tres Regalos...

When you look at pictures, you get an idea of what thing will be like but you still have apprehensions. We were literally jumping of joy. What an amazing place. The view, the new TV’s, home theater and IPod stations (we don't even have modern things like that at home), the decoration, the comfortable beds and couch, the perfectly equipped kitchen....

We had an amazing time at the pool and surfing the perfect Jaco waves. We were able to surf thanks to the perfect waves!! People were friendly and we felt really comfortable with the other people stating at the Tres Regalos. We also felt secure.

We ate on the balcony every day. It was easy to buy food at the Mas X Menos and cook in the comfy condo. What a great view! What can we say about the sunsets!?

We walked every day on the beach or the road. It would take about 15 minutes to go to the mini super and another 15 minutes to get to the heart of the town. Perfect! We had dinner at Hicaco. we really enjoyed the Wine party. We also had a great time at Manuel Antonio eventhough we had to wait in line and fight for our ticket! Do not use guides. They are a rip off.

Vive le condo de Don et Denise. On le recommande à tous. Le grand luxe à Jaco.

Marie-Anne, Martin, Bernard, Louise et Adeline

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Marie Anne from Montreal! Denise and I can't believe how much you were able to accomplish and see while here in Costa Rica. We are so happy it was as exciting and as beautiful as you had hoped it would be. We knew you would love the coffee we recommended and happy to hear you brought a bunch of it home with you! When you run out you can come back! (lol) Thank you so much for the appreciation for our home here in Jaco Beach and we sure hope, shall you decide to come back, that you will give us a call. I am brushing up on my French as well as my Spanish and with any luck they wont come out mixed!!! Say hi to your family MArie Anne and good luck with your running and marathons! Denise would love to hear more about your travels and competitions as she is a big runner as well so if you get the chance to email us please do.

Thanks Marie Anne

Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

We loved your place . . . and we will be back!

Review submitted: December 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 7, 2010

Don and Denise

We can not thank you enough for making our experience at Jaco Beach simply amazing! We had a fabulous time and appreciate all of the effort you made to make sure our stay at your condo was exceptional. Your home is beautiful and you spared no expense with decorating. The oceanfront view from the patio is second to none. We enjoyed watching the most incredible sunsets while having dinner on the patio. This is the best location in Jaco, private beach, close to town, 60 minutes from Manuel Antonio Park (which is a must), 10 minutes to the "Backyard" for Saturday surfing competitions and great cocktails. One of the perks with staying at Tres Regalos was the staff, so friendly and accommodating. We are already planning a return trip and would highly recommend your home to anyone traveling to Jaco Beach!!

Thank you again for your hospitality and suggestions which provided us with valuable information before we even arrived and contributed to making our trip to Costa Rica so memorable.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Suzie, Thanks for the great pictures you sent us from The "Backyard". How come no pictures of Gerard catching a wave on his surf board holding his Vodka and Sprite? (HeHeHe) Leo and the staff say hello as well, and have asked if you guys are coming back anytime soon? Great dinner or so I heard at El Pelicanos with Leo and some of the other guests and owners. This is one of mine and Denise's favorite places for dinner Sue. I heard Leo had the band set up and put on a great show out at the pool!! Thanks again Sue and Gerard for choosing our home for your quick trip down. We are hoping your daughter Alex is having fun with her new job here as a teacher. Leo and Flor will be reaching out to her if they haven't already.

Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Stunning Views, Outstanding Location...it doesn't get any better than this!

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

You will not be disappointed if you book this condo. This is the best location in Jaco, close to town but your own private (gated & secure) beach club. The unit is beautifully decorated and stocked with all the amenities you could need...including a washer & dryer. There are ocean AND rain forest views from the living room/kitchen as well as the master bedroom.

My husband and I moved from another hotel into this unit after touring the unit. It was like heaven...especially the beds.
The owners Don & Denise were lovely to work with. They wanted to make our stay as enjoyable as possible and were anxious for our feedback.

When you go to Jaco, don't ignore Carara National Park (just a 10 minute drive) in favor of Manuel Antonio Park (60 mins). Carara is a great 1/2 day trip...go by 8am. Ask for Sergio as your guide (great English, very knowledgeable). The guides don't have any official uniform, but don't let that throw you. Look for the guys carrying the scopes on tri-pods.

For dinner, check out Poseidon, in Central Jaco. They have the largest, most delicious piece of Tuna you'll ever see...plus a lot more.

Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. And, I'm almost hesitant to submit this review because this condo might become so popular that we might not be able to reserve it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: RUTH and DAN!! Thanks so much for the great review! I heard you were coming back and buying a unit! WOW! Call us and let us know when you will be owners and the next time you will be down so we can possibly meet. It looks as though you really liked it here Ruth! (lol) I am so happy for you and your family and thankyou again for the kind words and choosing our home to call your own while in Costa Rica.

See you soon

Don and Denise

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Unbelievable

Review submitted: October 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

My Wife and I stayed here for 9 days in July of 2010. We had never been to Costa Rica but had listened over and over to my son and his family talk about and laugh about their experiences there as it really the only place they ever go to. We decided to give it a shot! Absolutley incredible time and one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in our lives. The building is beautiful and the pool was nothing short of a master peice. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the balcony made us realize everyday and night how close we were to the water while watching both the waves and the incredible sunsets!! The staff here at the Tres Regalos were fun and within a couple of days the entire place just felt like home. We met folks and actual owners from all over the world and we conversed daily at the pool often enjoying lunches and dinners we were able to get directly across the street at a local restaraunt on the edge of a mangrove. UNBELIEVABLE! We made breakfast in the incredible kitchen every morning which we enjoyed on the balcony. The trips we took with a local taxi driver named Norman Castillo kept us laughing the entire time and often we would bring Norman along with us as we toured some of the most magnificent places we simply never imagined. The worst part of our trip was knowing we would have to leave. It was sad to leave our new friends at the Tres Regalos but know we will be back. Thanks Denise and Don for having us and say hello to everyone at The Tres Regalos on our behalf.

John and MaryLou

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mary Lou and Don!! My parents to those who read this and do not know. We took them both for Dons 70th birthday. They had, as we always do, a blast and met many of our friends including our staff as well as Leo and Flor. I want to take this opportunity to tell both my mother and my father that "I told you so". (lol) Just kidding Mom and dad but I did always tell you that we found the perfect location and the best facility. We were really excited that you both had such a great time and especially my mother being as comfortable as she was each day walking to Claritas for breakfast and back and forth to town for a great lucnh and wonderful shopping. We know now that we will get them back down!!

Love
Don, Denise, Cassidy, Jonathan and the two dogs Addison and Brodie!! (cant forget my two crazy boxers dad)

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review