reviews for: listing #82123 - Detour Village, Michigan House rental

Tyler's Caribou Lake Lodge
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Great Nov. stay.

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: November 16, 2013

Great time had by all at Tyler's Lodge!
All the comforts of home on beautiful
Caribou Lake. The Lodge's location is
perfect. We were only minutes from
our hunting land, restaurants, grocery
store and Drummond Island. The pinball
tournaments were a hoot! We look forward to
staying again real soon.
Tony

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fall Getaway

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

We came up to close our family cabin, but we couldn't all fit in one place. Other family members have used the Tylers' Place in the past, and having been here before, we couldn't wait! The place is just beautiful and very well cared for. A home away from home with all the amenities you could imagine. Pet friendly, kid friendly, people friendly, and family friendly! We were very comfortable, and none of us wanted to leave! Very clean and very cozy. We would most definitely stay there again, and we look forward to it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

July 20-July27

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We had a very wonderful experience at Tylers Caribou Lake Lodge.The lodge itself is very comfortable and homey feeling with an abundance of space for large families (there were 7 of us).Even though we didn't bring our dog the lodge and yard appear to be very pet friendly.The lake is beautiful and quite warm for swimming.We brought our boat and there is a very nice dock to tie up to and a good DNR launch site only a half mile from the lodge.The lodge had everything we needed for cooking,eating,and sleeping.All we brought were ourselves and food.We are planning on trying to go back to the lodge in the future and would highly recommend it to our friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A beautiful place for a Fall vacation

Review submitted: October 7, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

From previous experience on Caribou Lake, we know there is great fishing here. Acold front, rain and high pressure sitting overhead, made for a disappointing fising trip but this is a great place for a Fall leaf change vacation, despite unpredictable weather.
During the cold, rainy days we watched little birds (and a fox squirrel) in the bird feeder, played pinball - what memories that brought back, put together a couple of jigsaw puzzles and just relaxed!
The house was perfect for the 2 of us AND a weekend visit from our daughter, son in law and 2 grandsons.
Everything we needed was there - and more. The owners and locals were concerned and responsive to our special request for a different boat.
While Detour Village is limited in activities Caribou Lake is within a day trip of Sault Ste. Marie, Taquahmenon Falls and Mackinaw Island.
For the more outdoor adventureous, nearby Drummond Island, and numerous Nature Conservancey areas are great for hiking.
Don't miss the food at Raber Bay Bar or the perch at Goetzville.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a comfortable relaxing get-away

Review submitted: September 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

We were in town for a family event and wanted a place that was comfortable and quiet for the two of us plus our two big pups. This place was wonderful. We enjoyed being right on the water and the boys did, too. The house was well stocked with thoughtful amenities, and although we didn't get an opportunity to use many of the items left for us, we appreciated their presence (boat, bikes, fire-pit). The house was quiet and comfortable and gave us a great place to relax. We also enjoyed hosting our own pinball tournament. Thanks very much for a wonderful time- we really enjoyed it/1

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet, beautiful location

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

My wife and I just spent a wonderful week at Tyler's Caribou Lake lodge. The lodge is comfortable and well-appointed with everything needed for a relaxing vacation. There is no Internet and only over-air TV but we loved being disconnected for a while. The cottage sits on the shore of Caribou Lake with great views of lake from the front deck and the dock. The lake has a sandy bottom but no sand beach at the lodge. We swam in the lake off dock using the ladder to climb in and out of the water. There are several large, sandy and unpopulated beaches on Lake Huron off of M-134 which are great for beachcombing, swimming and viewing the big water. The quiet of evening was my favorite time at lodge, and the viewing the moon over the lake and millions of stars at night was treat. The lodge was clean and well-maintained with all of extras needed for an up north vacation including a small boat, fishing tackle, a fire pit, gas grill and outdoor toys. I recommend it for anyone who wants a quiet vacation on safe, beautiful lake.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great house, great location, great experience.

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

The house was lovely and well-situated -- clean, convenient, comfortable, right on the lake on a beautiful spot. A short, easy drive to Detour Village. The owners and neighbors were all extraordinarily friendly and easy to deal with, full of suggestions and local information. The house was a fantastic find. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review