reviews for: listing #82139 - South Padre Island, Texas Condo rental

Direct Beach Front Condo - Awesome Views from Every Room
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Tiki Condos
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $750 - $1,350 /wk

sort by:

Great condo for a wonderful vacation

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Love, Love , Love this place! Extremely spacious for a one bedroom. The newly remodled space is wonderful. Kitchen had everything we needed, bathroom was beautiful and the bed is very comfortable. Definitely worth the money.... and let me just say THE VIEW! Wow - it's true that it is the closest to the beach. If we weren't parasailing, horsebackriding, turtle rescue visiting, at the pool, crab hunting, shopping or hanging on the beach, we were definitely on the balcony! We even saw a water spout!! same day as the turtle release - I felt like it was Discovery Channel Saturday at the Tiki! I am ready to book for next year : )

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great stay at this condo!

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

We were thoroughly impressed with this condo. Upon arrival we found it squeaky clean and it felt like a home away from home immediately. The remodeled kitchen is gorgeous, and stocked with all the cookware/ dining ware you could want. The bathroom was beautiful as well. The king size bed was extremely comfortable, and the ocean view in both the living and bedroom cannot be beat! It was very special to be right on the beach. We've stayed on S. Padre several other times, but this was the best accomodation so far. The pool was clean and heated- like bath water! Which was nice as the ocean was freezing and my 4 yr old daughter wanted to swim, of course! Favorite highlights included a sunset dolphin watching cruise, Dirty Al's for seafood, Yummies for breakfast, and Gabriella's for pizza. We had a wonderful stay, and would recommend this condo to anyone.....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Owners response: Thanks for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our condo as well as many of the same things we enjoy when we are on the island.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great honeymoon getaway!

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week for our honeymoon and were completely blown away by this condo. It is incredibly charming, updated and has fantastic views. The bedroom is a large space, it almost makes the king bed seem small. The living room, dining room and kitchen all flow nicely together. Their kitchen is modern and full of utensils/cookware to make nearly anything. The bathroom is greatly done, and the toilet/shower area can be closed off from the vanity area. The outdoor balcony stretches the length of the condo and is accessible from the living room or bedroom.
The Tiki property is literally right off the beach, and was very clean. There is a decent pool and a some good outdoor grilling areas. It is also pet-friendly as we took our dog and saw several others. We enjoyed the Sea Turtle Rescue Center and the Birding and Wildlife Center, which are both walking distance from the condo.
There are tons of great restaurants throughout the island, but if one night you are looking for non-seafood, we recommend La Hacienda and their fajitas. Everything is made in-house and it definitely shows.
The owners of this condo are awesome. You can see their passion in all aspects of the place. They were very communicable and friendly. Their condo is better than advertised. My wife and I will be back for sure.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review and island favorites. All the things you mention are why we love to go there when we can. We look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

God Bless Texas & The Tiki!!!!!!

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

Love<3Love<3Love!!!We have been here the whole month of January and have February left to stay.All we can say is WOW!Every time we walk in and see the breath taking view of the ocean I have to pinch myself to make sure it is for real.We had a chance to meet Brent and Bev during our stay they are wonderful hard working people and you can see this in every thing about this condo.Great owners. It is so quiet and private,but full of wonderful friendly people all around.There's really nothing you need to bring,they have everything ready to go.The Condo is spotless and for our long stay it is fun to clean myself.Love the tile floors,fantastic kitchen and the new bathroom if it wasn't for the ocean view you could just stay in there for hours.The new bed is so comfortable I don't even miss mine from home and makes a big difference.The internet works for us.They have new grill area that looksgreat.All I can say is this condo is absolutely wonderful,cute &cozy.The people in the office are so nice and helpful.We fill very safe here.We start the day reading on the deck watching the sun come up followed by endless miles of walking on the beautiful beach meeting many smiles from all the happy beach lovers.We have found Paradise right here in this condo.We have been overtaken by witnessing many parachuter's right next door,awesome to see while sitting on the deck,front row view.So many things to see and do."The Wave" is the Public Transportation that goes all over the Island and across the Causeway from 7am-9pm and you could stay with out your own transportation. I have to count my blessing every morning when I wake up and find myself on Tiki time.Thanking you owners for making this a wonderful stay.On for one more wonderful month.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you are enjoying your stay and enjoying the same things we do when we are down there. We don't get to meet our guests too often so it was nice to meet you also. We look forward to your return visit next year.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Condo Review

Review submitted: December 1, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

We were fortunate to be able to spend Thanksgiving week in the condo. The weather was spectacular and each day we literally had a front row view of the ocean. The condo itself was as advertised and more. The bed was so comfortable. A great bathroom! Fantastic kitchen! We didn't watch tv much but also two flatscreens! The condo feels private whether you are inside or on the balcony. It is so cool to be able to walk right on to the beach. My wife spent hours just reading and listening to the ocean knowing that a drink or a snack was just footsteps away. This is an ideal place for a couple to getaway for awhile and that is just what we did. Brent was fantastic through the whole process making sure that everything went well. We are already looking at our work schedules and the availability calendar so we can return. We only went out to eat once so we are anxious to explore the dining options in South Padre but Thanksgiving dinner on a balcony overlooking the ocean is a memory I will never forget.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. We're glad everything worked out for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely beautiful !

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

My husband and I spent a week here and it was absolutely wonderful. The condo has a view of the ocean and beach that is behind description. We spent many hours sitting on the balcony enjoying the view. The kitchen in the condo is really nice, everything is beautifully furnished and clean. There are some really good restaurants on the island (Dirty Al's, Gabriella's, Daddy's). Went skydiving over the ocean landing on the beach right near the condo, it was awesome. I would highly recommend this condo and I hope to return soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. It sounds like you enjoy all the same things we do except for the skydiving. We hope to hear from you soon.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

GREAT Condo!

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Well, I will admit that at first I was nervous about using VRBO to book a condo since I'd only just heard of the website. After review all that was available I thought I'd give it a try.
Brent really closed the deal for me with his answers to my questions and was very accommodating of a newbie. Needless to say we are VRBO users now...
This condo was great. The description and the pictures were spot on. You really can toss a rock, or ice cube, to the gulf from their 3rd floor balcony! Awesome views, great sea breeze, nice relaxing sound of the waves, and awesome weather for us (except for the one morning of dense fog).
The kitchen was very nicely remodeled. Excellent taste and modern appliances and decorations. Love the counter tops. The living room was nice as well. Could watch TV or just stare out at the gulf. Bedroom was spacious and looked updated as well as the bathroom.
Hop down the stairs to the beach and you could walk/jog/run in either direction for what seemed like miles. Just north there is a large beach bar where you can hang out and get beverages, listen to music, watch beach volleyball, or pop in for a bite to eat. We thought it would be an issue being so close but honestly you can't hear the place at night.
The pool was great too. We had the ocean and then the pool. Perfect!
We would definitely return and stay in this condo again. Very nice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review and we are glad you enjoyed the condo and your stay. We hope to hear from you again soon.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Our wise choice

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

Just coming to the end of the first week of a four week stay in the condo. A one word description............INCREDIBLE. This is, without question, the finest condo in the Tiki complex (we've looked at several others while here, and have made many friends already). The owners have done a spectacular job in the rehab effort, and as we are staying for a month, this is really appreciated - especially the new kitchen. We are cooking, and loving it.
A suggestion for those that like to grill out. Go to Wal Mart and pick up a mini grill for the ground level grill area. They haven't replaced the grills here yet, and they are pretty beat up. Restaurants so far have been great for seafood lovers. The beach bar next door is beginning to rock out late at night with spring breakers, but if you keep the sliders closed, you can barely hear it. Personally, we like the excitement so no problem for us.
Comments from others......couldn't find internet? Internet is easy to find, with an ssid of "tiki guest" and the connection is super fast. Dishwasher works like a charm. Dishes are bright and shiny. Hey Owners!.....you forgot to tell us......a parachute excursion company uses the Tiki beach - right in front of our noses - 3 times a day, everyday! It is awesome to watch them float down right in front of us.
I will pop in with a comment weekly until time to come home. Right now, just superb.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you are enjoying your stay and thanks for the kind comments. Good idea about the grill. Parachuters??? I'll add them to the list with Dolphins swimming, Kiteboarders jumping 15-20' in the air and Sand Castles during Sand Castle Days.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Winter Getaway

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

My wife and I, after marrying December 18, chose to drive seven or so hours to South Padre to spend our honeymoon in this condo. Though the weather wasn't exactly perfect for beachgoing, the stay was wonderful. The beach was very close and the view of the ocean, especially in the morning, was phenominal. The condo was clean and up to date. There were a few movies present to keep us entertained. The area was quiet and pleasant. The description was exactly as listed. We are thinking of heading back during the warmer months to enjoy the beach. Excellent support and friendly people. This was awesome.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your feedback. It's a great place for a honeymoon stay. Sorry to hear about the weather as it is hit or miss during the winter months. We stayed 2 weeks later and had mostly sunny days in the mid and low 70's. We look forward to hearing from you again soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Cute Condo on the Coast

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this cute Tiki Condo on the coast. We walked to the nature birding center and the sea turtle rescue habitat several times. On a day when the sea was fairly smooth, we watched a group of dolphins feeding and jumping in the ocean from the condo balcony!! We were able to walk on the beach daily and found it to be one of the best walking beaches we have visited. We visited the little beach bar right next door once for shrimp, and enjoyed that as well. We really enjoyed watching the sun rises in the morning from the balcony, then in the evening, we watched many activities on the beach over the weekend. We went to the pool a couple of times and found it clean and warm. We enjoyed our time in South Padre Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. We were entertained by the dolphins earlier this year also. From the pictures, it is hard to comprehend how close the condo is from the gulf and the incredible views we have from the deck and from every room within the condo. Come back again!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

EXCELLENT PLACE FOR R & R

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

Absolutely what we were looking for! A true beach front condo that we can't wait to go back to!
Awesome - deck...views...decor...owners! Dennis & Sherry

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind comments. It's nice to have great renters like you. We look forward to seeing you again soon!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mi Casa Es Su Casa

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

The minute we walked in the Condo, we were overtaken by the best fragrance, it was very clean and the sign over the sink "Mi Casa Es Su Casa" just made us feel more welcome. The view from the balcony is breathtaking. We watered the huge Aloe Vera plant on the patio, would be nice if future guests would water these pretty plants, a shame to let them die. The owners were great to work with. The 2 pools were very clean and relaxing. There is a laundry facility on site that we utilized also very clean. We love Padre and will be back soon and stay here again. The kitchen and livingroom have great decor, the table was a perfect place to set up a laptop and work while looking out the patio doors and seeing the ocean. Guy and Diane

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I rented this place for a week. Took 12 hours to get down there and were welcomed by a very comfortable king sized bed. The condo was clean, but it was apparent that previous renters had a dog as there was some hair in the condo still and the doors had the paint scratched off the bottom of the doors. The kitchen was beautiful, everything worked fine except the dishwasher didn't really clean the dishes too well, and it took over an hour to wash. The view was absolutely breath-taking. From the 3rd story balcony you could see the Gulf and it was a 100 ft walk to the beach. The water was very clear and blue, the beach was clean an un-crowded. However the new bar/grill built next door made some noise at night, but you could only hear it if the sliding doors were open. The people there were very friendly and helpful as on of the locking mechanisms on the door broke when we went to lock the door. They quickly had maintenance up and climbing over the balcony to come help us as we were locked in. It's a quick walk to a lot of really good seafood restaurants. All in all it was a very amazing experience and I would recommend. The only warning is that there is no internet that we could manage to find. Highly suggest you stop and rent this place. The owners are very nice and will help you and answer any questions. Thank you guys so much! Also check out Island Adventures, its about 2 minutes from Tiki, and they do horse rides on the beach (which we did, so beautiful!), and ATV rentals.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your comments and your 5 star rating!!! As far as the dishwasher, the new high efficiency dishwashers do take awhile to wash. They use less soap and energy and that's supposed to be better??? There is wireless internet at the Tiki. I'm not sure why you couldn't connect. We have heard that the new restaurant/bar plays music on the weekends and we are looking into that with the city. We enjoy those short walks to the beach also. We are told they wont let buildings be built as close as the one we are in anymore due to building codes. You can't get any closer and we love it!!! (I just measured our building on Google Earth to the beach and it's only 60' - Yes our deck/building is only 60' away from the beach).

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Beach view 24 X 7

Review submitted: September 30, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

Our family stayed just after Labor Day 2011...... we loved it and will be back !!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you choose our condo for your stay and we look forward to your return stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Place!!!

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

This was an absolutely FABULOUS property to stay at. Not only was the condo stocked with everything you need and right on the beach, but the entire property was well maintained and always being cared for. Beach House Condos is a smaller property which makes it less active than other condos which we loved. With two pools, direct access to the beach, and a quick distance from retail and restaurants, we couldn't think of a better place to stay. The owners are absolutely wonderful to work with and take top notch care of the condo. We will definitely be going back again, and specifically to this property!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation We Will Be Back

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Overall great experience, the owner was easy to deal with and the property was better than what we expected.....the condo facility was really nice, outstanding amenities on site and the condo was very clean and well supplied with all of the things you will need for a wonderful vacation... Geoff

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thanks for your response. We've only been renting the unit since April and the response from all those that have rented our condo has been extremely positive. We have worked hard to update/furnish the condo and provide the "little things" to make everyones stay enjoyable. We also feel our cleaning service is 2nd to none! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great stay

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Wow, what a nice place. The views are awesome, nice grounds and the condo was just perfect. Cannot wait to go again!

Owners response: Thanks for your comments. We were last there 2 months ago and like you, can not wait to go back. Pictures can not discribe the view. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review