reviews for: listing #82293 - South Padre Island, Texas House rental

Beach View! Upscale, Private, Convenient, Loaded
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $115 - $265 /nt
    $805 - $1,785 /wk

sort by:

Location, Location, Location!

Review submitted: June 11, 2009   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

We just returned from our 4 days at the Bouganvilla, and couldn't be more pleased with the experience. The condo was extremely cute and clean, all amenities were as billed. We had complete access to the beach "toys" (my son has become an expert skimboarder). The location is right across from the beach entrance - you can see the water from the deck. We brought our large dogs - and it was perfect.

The location is also very convenient for walking to the supermarket, restaurants, shopping, and for those areas that are too far, the bus stops right in front of the home.

We loved the trip - plan to do it again for a longer period of time next year!

An added bonus - the restaurants in the area are very good - I'd recommend Daddy's for crayfish!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our family and pet friendly beach house is centrally located on the island. Across the street is the beach and beach access. Our guests have free access to all the beach necessities: beach chairs, umbrellas, beach towels, boogie boards, sand toys, and more. We make sure our guests have a happy, comfortable, and memorable vacation experience!
Lynn and Kevin

Helpful votes: 35 / 35

 

Resort amenities at a budget price!

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

I have stayed at many vacation rentals and the Bougainvillea is at the top of my list! Three of us stayed in this beautiful condo/apt. For 5 nights. The interior is fabulously decorated and the kitchen well stocked! Outside the condo, we enjoyed the large porch, rocking chairs and swing. We also took advantage of the huge charcoal grill. Lynn and Captain Kevin could not have been better hosts. They accommodated our every need, offered advice on restaurants and grocery supplies, but were never intrusive, and gave us lots of privacy . Staying at the Bougainvillea was more like staying at a small resort. We had all the supplies needed for our daily beach trek- chairs, umbrellas, coolers, sand toys and bikes were all provided!!! We can't wait to return SPI and the Bougainvillea!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Vacation

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

My family and I had a fabulous time!! Highly recommend this property. It was like home away from home.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great spot and great owners

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. There are a ton of things to do on or near the island, and the property/unit couldnt have been nicer. Lots of personal touches, great location. We used the bikes Lynn provided several times and the beach towels and umbrellas, all were in great condition. Kitchen was well stocked with tools and even some staples, that makes everything easier! We highly recommend this place and will return. Lynn is easy to talk with and willing to help in every way to make our stay perfect. Captain Kevin is very knowledgable and well certified. The weather was too windy while we were there to see him in action, maybe next time we can go out on the bay. We ate at Dirty Al's, Captain Roy's and Padre Brewing Co on the island, all were very good. Joe's Oyster Bar in Port Isabel was an excellent locals seafood find.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful visit and attentive owner

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 26, 2012

Clean with many, many positive surprises. Owner loves friendly dogs. Everything you need is right there including umbrella's and chairs for the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A MUST Place to stay!

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2012

The Bougenvilla was AWESOME! Property was beautiful and right by the beach. Lynn was kind enough to let us bring our 3 boxers and they had a great time! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.....we will definitely be coming back!

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: We are very pet friendly for responsible pet owners. These particular dog owners were extremely responsible and respectful.

Dogs must be well-behaved "inside" dogs. We have a two-pet maximum, but occasionally make exceptions after a phone interview. We know that it is not the size of the dog, but its behaviour that matters.

Both our units are thoroughly cleaned and disinfected after our people and dog guests complete their vacation. With travertine floors throughout, you will never know a pet has vacationed here before!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Condo Review

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

We had a great stay. The owners live on-site, while initially hesitant about this (we had 4 kids with us that can be quite loud) it ended up not being an issue. In fact it is better to have them readily available in case you need repairs, or have questions. Captain Kevin even gave us some fresh fish he had caught. The owners are very cool and not intrusive or nosy. As I mentioned we had 4 kids with us, three teenagers and a 10 year old. We really appreciated having boogie boards, sand toys, and awesome (not cheap) Nautica beach chairs with pockets for cell phones on them at our disposal. The kids enjoyed pedaling around the roads (thanks to the bike lanes) on the bikes that are available. It is a short hike across the road to the beach. While not an issue for us, the condo is close to the road so small children need to be watched closely. The beach was not crowded due to the lack of large condos/hotels in the area. The condo looked like the on-line pictures. The tiled shower is elegant, and the kitchen is a gourmet delight. We enjoyed the outside grill, and cooked out hamburgers although there is not a large grilling area. Loved, loved, the bed and the pillows. I loved the pillows so much that I went out and bought the same Tempur-Pedic Indulgence brand. I slept so well that I was mad at myself for sleeping in so late. The only issue while not a issue for us but might be for families with small children, the condo is fairly close to the road and they would need to be watched closely. The main reason we stayed here is because we could take our small Rat Terrier dog with us. You can not find many VRBO's that allow pets at this quality and price. Thanks again. We will be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Owners response: My beach house is located on desirable Gulf Boulevard, the street closest to the beach. The beach and beach access is directly across the street from the house. Gulf Boulevard is a two-lane 30 mph zone, as are most the streets on the Island. A gate is installed at the top of the balcony stairs, so you can enjoy the view and relax. Naturally, Gulf Boulevard will have more traffic during peak times. Being so close to the beach, we encourage our guests with small children to carefully watch their children, especially when crossing the street. We are Island locals, and live in the downstairs portion of the house. We are conveniently available if you need us or have questions about the Island. Otherwise you will not see much of us after you arrive and are comfortably settled. We take very good care of our guests!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Had a Wonderful Time!

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

It's been several years since my family and I have taken an actual vacation and this was the perfect place. It has everything you need besides your clothes and you, even down to shampoo, soap and detergent. The ad says fully furnished and stocked and it is. There were body boards, chairs, beach towels and umbrellas for use on the beach, a fully stocked kitchen will all the dishes, pots, pans and silverware you need and awesome rockers and porch swings for late evenings on the balcony with the great ocean breeze. Captain Kevin even took my brother out for a day of fishing and he had a wonderful time. Kevin and Lynn are great and I'd recommend this as a great place for any family to visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Family Getaway

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

Very nice property and perfect for our little family getaway. Had all the amenities we needed including beach toys and bbq supplies. Our dog loved relaxing out on the patio watching the runners/walkers pass by (our unit had a large wrap around patio that was gated). Owners were very nice and provided lots of information in regards to the local businesses in the area. Will make a point to come here again and definitely stay at the Bougainvillea. Well worth the drive from Dallas.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Pleasant Surprise

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

The South unit was nicer and cleaner than any unit we have stayed in over the years. It was complete with everything we needed to live comfortably for two weeks. We just had to buy food and drink. If you wanted to cook, it had all of the equipment, from utensils, crock pot, pans, toaster oven, coffee pot, cutting board, knives, mixing bowls, to all of the major appliances. It also had extra pillows and blankets, 6 or 7 plush beach towels to use, nicely updated bathrooms with nice towels. They had top of the line grill, beach chairs, 3 bikes, several body boards, and lots of beach toys at our disposal. Our favorite part was the porch which was shaded every afternoon with two rockers and a swing with room for several more chairs. Thank you Lynn and Captain Kevin! Your place is top notch. By the way, Lynn showed me the North unit while we were there, and it was even nicer and bigger, an even better place especially if you plan on entertaining a lot.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Owners response: Most all our guests travel long distances to vacation on beautiful South Padre Island. We strive to provide any and all amenities expected for a relaxing vacation. Our motto is "All you need to bring are your flip-flops, clothes, and food!"

Our large beach house consists of two upstairs vacation units, each with a private balcony. Captain Kevin (he's a USCG Licensed Fishing Guide, here on the Island) and I are available anytime you need anything or have any questions about the Island.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spring Getaway

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Excellent spot for our winter getaway. The accommodations are clean, modern and very well maintained. Beach access is easy, within walking distance and the balcony affords a spot to view the waves from a cozy chair and a cool swing. The owners are really friendtly and very helpful with info on local attractions. We would highly recommend this location!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

renter

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

The nicest place we have stayed on the island. The listing was accurate. The listing photos accurately dipicted the property and amenities which were well maintained and clean. The owners left a helpful book in the condo which listed things to do on the island. (some of them were things we had not done before)
Loved the Dolphin Cruise and the catamaran dinner cruise.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

THE best holiday we've had in the US

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 27, 2012

Thank you Lynn and Kevin for sharing your beautiful home. It was so nice getting to know you.
Even though we had less than 2 weeks, we settled in and felt at home immediately.
The rental was more than described for a relaxing vacation. Nothing was lacking.
We tried many of the restaurants recommended and were not disappointed.
Darby, our Westie, behaved just like he does at home, letting anyone walking by with a dog or 3 that he was guarding "his" territory! He even resigned himself to enjoying his beach time with us when all we did was lounge. We left totally relaxed,,and tanned. We'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A vacation of solitude.

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

I had such a wonderful stay there. Lynn was accommodating and so nice. The home was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The beach was a easy walk across the street. The grocery store a couple blocks away. Everything was perfect and hope to go back soon. Thank you Lynn for all you did for me at my stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Stay

Review submitted: December 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2011

Great little place for our family of 5. Had all the amenities we could need, great access to the beach, and Lynn was lovely and helpful. Any beach items you could want were available to use: toys, chairs, umbrellas, etc. Just outside one can get on the free island shuttle, so getting around the island was easy and convenient. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: December 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2011

Great little place for our family of 5. Had all the amenities we could need, great access to the beach, and Lynn was lovely and helpful. Any beach items you could want were available to use: toys, chairs, umbrellas, etc. Just outside one can get on the free island shuttle, so getting around the island was easy and convenient. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bougainvillea Beach House

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

This rental is great! Conveniently located close to the beach and many other activities on the island. Also, the owners are very nice and accommodating. They offered many different amenities to make our stay easier, such as bikes, beach towels, dog toys and the full kitchen saved us lots of money (we didn't have to eat out every meal!). The property is extremely clean and it was nice to be able to bring our dog.

We would stay here again and are even trying to get our family to come down for a vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bougainvillea Beach House

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

This rental is great! Conveniently located close to the beach and many other activities on the island. Also, the owners are very nice and accommodating. They offered many different amenities to make our stay easier, such as bikes, beach towels, dog toys and the full kitchen saved us lots of money (we didn't have to eat out every meal!). The property is extremely clean and it was nice to be able to bring our dog.

We would stay here again and are even trying to get our family to come down for a vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Choice location, great owners!

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

We found this house to be the perfect location on So. Padre. It is right in the middle of the island, away from the hotels, and the beach wasn't crowded the entire time we stayed. The beach being right across the street was perfect for us, although we often chose to walk an extra 100 yards to the access with matting. The house itself was great too, very comfortable with everything we needed. The owners were almost always available and very helpful when we had questions or if anything came up. We are definitely considering staying her again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

July 2011 Beach House Vacation

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

The south unit of the beach house was perfect for our family of 4. The interior design, appliances, and finishes are more than what you would expect in a beach house. The linens and beach equipment were so plentiful that our suitcases only needed to carry our clothes. The porch swing and rockers were a favorite retreat for everyone to take in the ocean breeze

The beach access is right across from the house and the informative guidebook of eateries and activities created by the homeowner was spot on. Every eatery and activity we went to lived up to the recommendations provided.

We've had many beach vacation experiences but what we really appreciated about this one was the personal touch provided by the homeowner. The responsive and prompt communications, greeting upon arrival, informal conversations when we bumped into one another, and guidebook made the stay more personable and warm. A home away from home feel.

While living in the southwest, we have found our beach vacation of choice with the Bougainvillea. Definitely, a place I'd recommend to others. Our two teenagers gave an unequivocal, "Yes!" to returning.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful accomodations and super landlords!!

Review submitted: December 25, 2010   Date of arrival: December 9, 2007

My husband and I stayed in this home for a week. It had been recently remodeled with beautiful upscale decor and we really enjoyed the accomodations. Love the all tile shower with rainhead. Kitchen was well equipped. Landlords were super folks. We'll be back!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great time on the Island!!

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: February 27, 2010

This was our first time on the Island,and let me say it will not be our last. The condo was everything promised in the description and more. We grilled out a few times, walked all-over the main Island and just chilled out, you know a vacationon. The wonderful family that allowed us into their home treated us as if we were family. We were on SPI from Feb.27th,2010 until March 7th 2010, and was really able to enjoy just hanging out on the balcony watching the sunrise(every morning) or go right across the street to the Gulf, and walk on the beach. The location of the condo made it easy to walk to all the best watering holes along the beach,and safely make your way back to the condo. Thank you Lynn, for treating us so well. Even the dog, King Beauru ( I hope that's how he spells it, we never really talked about that ) got in on the hospitality by just letting us pet him while we were missing our little dog. We hope to see you all again next season, this time for a longer stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Can't wait to go back!!!

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

This was our first time to South Padre Island and we could not have had a better experience. We were greeted by Lynn upon our arrival, and she showed us all of the amenities of the property which included everything we needed to have a great stay. First of all, the pictures do not do it justice. The space is much roomier than it appears. Although there were just three of us (including our dog) it could easily and comfortably house six. The convenience of walking right across the street to the beach was amazing. We were looking forward to eating out and enjoying fresh seafood every night, but did not eat out once. Lynn told us where to get the freshest seafood and we ended up preparing the best dishes we have ever had right there in the kitchen (which had everything you could ever need) and also outside on the grill. I know we saved a lot of money that way, and it was a lot more fun. We also enjoyed the convenience of being able to wash our sandy clothes and towels after a nice day on the beach (detergent and fabric softener provided too!) We have been home for three days and have already recommended this place to all of our friends, I think one or two might have already booked. If you are planning a trip to South Padre Island, you should treat yourself to this wonderful beach house, and to the hospitality of the owners. We are already planning our next visit and wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else. Thanks Lynn and Kevin!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Kids are begging to go back SOON!!!

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

We went to SPI end of Sep & it was such a GREAT vacation- we ALWAYS take off season vacations for the perks & this home away from home came through on everything we wanted & more - Lynn, the owner, is professional and so nice- she was available if we needed anything but also it felt like we had the place to ourselves :)
All the transactions for payment/dep went so smoothly by the time we arrived we had NOTHING to worry about!!!

We have 2 small children and this condo was perfect for the whole family!
Nice rooms, great living area - we enjoyed pulling out the sleeper sofa & hanging out watching DVDs after a long day on the beach- which by the way during that time of year (sep) the beach is ALMOST deserted but still pretty weather and lots of playing in the sand - the chairs & umbrellas were great that this property has them available - I can not imagine bringing your own on vacation!
We went to the grocery store (just down the street) & bought food for the week & we ENJOYED cooking in the kitchen- all the items you need are all there- pots, plans, utensils, dishes- VERY UPDATED & perfect for those like us that enjoy home cooking vs eating out- although we did go out 2x - very close to a great health food cafe/store- that the owner recommended - Naturally' s - love the place!!! the other unit was rented out twice while we were there with dog owners - being dog owners ourselves that was fine -my boys loved seeing the dogs :) and want to bring our dog next time :)
the balconies were so nice for coffee in the mornings while rocking in the rocking chairs there and they are gated so I NEVER had to worry about my 18month old getting down the steps - outside shower was great for washing off after the beach- on a nice quiet street (across from beach) so we walked in the evenings around the neighborhood - we can not say enough nice things about our first time to rent a home vs a hotel - the experience was great & we hope to make this a YEARLY vacation -
Thanks so much to Lynn for all the hospitality & providing a great place for vacation.

Hope to be there again soon :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

First timers to SPI

Review submitted: July 30, 2009   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

We had a great time. The house was great - great kitchen - perfect set up for families of 4-6 - loved the porch and the rocking chairs, convenient to public beach access and public transportation. Especially loved that the property had an outside shower and a washer and dryer to minimize sand in the unit. Lynn and Kevin provided us with a great canopy to provide shade at the beach as well as great beach chairs and toys which we greatly appreciated. Our first visit to SPI won't be our last!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 19, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

We just arrived back in Houston from our 5 day trip to South Padre. This vacation rental was everything we expected and more. The owner was very friendly and professional. The view was great and the home itself was comfortable, clean, and spacious. The balcony and rocking chairs were great for unwinding after our long days in the water, just across the road, and the sun! I would definitely recommend choosing this rental. The location was perfect! It's pet friendly and accommodating. We had a great stay, thank you very much!

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review