reviews for: listing #82305 - Santa Monica, California Studio rental

$93! Happy Hideaway ~ Only 8 blocks to beach!
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ocean Park
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $93 - $98 /nt

sort by:

Cute Bungalow close to everything!

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

My husband, best friend, and I enjoyed this bungalow and our stay in Santa Monica.
THE BUNGALOW: It was clean and pleasant. The two bedrooms were a little cramped, but with coaches and lots of seating areas. The t.v. was not in the den, but rather the main bedroom, which I found nice for socializing. It t.v. was of good quality, with digital cable. The den was spacious and had a beautiful view of flowers and trees. Charlie, the bungalow kitty, was very nice and loving. He didn't cry or bother us at all. The kitchen had a great sink and lots of dishes. The internet had no problems. There was sky lights in each bedroom and bathroom. This was nice for a warm glow throughout the bungalow, but it did make it very sunny in the mornings. We were okay with that, but if you need to sleep during the day, you may not like sunshine you can't shut off. But why would you sleep in California? Right!
AREA AROUND BUNGALOW: A quite neighborhood, and had no problems parking. I didn't hear any traffic or noise at all at night. Also, the bungalow was right next to a grocery store, that now has a Star Bucks! It was only 1-2 blocks away. The beach, Ocean View, was 8 blocks away. The beach parking was reasonably priced, and not hard to find a parking spot. I recommend renting a bike on the long bike trail that is on the beach. Don't rent outside of the bike trail, or you'll just have to carry it back with you home or if you have any issues you can't bike it back to the bike shop... just rent it on the bike trail, and you can bike for hours! We biked all over and from the Santa Monica Pier to Venice Beach. I didn't think I would enjoy Venice, but it really was fun to watch the skateboarders, muscle beach, and the stores had cheap souvenirs!
RESTAURANTS: We ate at "The Misfit" in Downtown Santa Monica one night. Parking was so cheap and it was very hip and cool! I am not sure if it would be kid friendly because downtown had a lot of homeless beggars, but we paid $2 to park and had a fun night! 4 blocks away was Main Street- has a lot of diners for breakfast and we really enjoyed every place we went. Some late night restaurants as well.
OWNER & RENTING: Kelly was easy to work with and she always responded in a timely manner. She returned our deposit with no problems. Everything went smoothly with our transactions with owner, Kelly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Potential Guests,

This is a very sweet review, but it is posted at the wrong listing. These folks stayed in my 2-BR Bungalow. So, please note: The Hideaway is for 2 people maximum and is a single-room studio.

However, everything they say about the neighborhood, restaurants, cable, internet and (hopefully!) me applies to the Hideaway, as well.

I appreciate the kind and thorough review!

~ Kelly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We loved the Hideaway!

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 23, 2013

My best friend and I traveled to Santa Monica, our favorite place, and were delighted with the Hideaway. The name of the place is so appropriate because we truly felt like we were hiding--it was so private and quiet.

We stayed for 6 days: walking around town and to the beach, relaxing, and visiting with Charley--who really did come by to check on us!

Kelly was great; she shared so much advice about the area's hotspots and ensured that the rental process easy and stress-free. And Wendy, the property manager, was very warm and accommodating.

If you want to live like a local, this is the spot for you! We will be back next summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Mindy, thank you for such a warm review! We'll look forward to seeing you next summer. I'm so glad you had fun with Charley, my cat, and the photo you sent was really cute!

I'm in the process of updating the nearby restaurant list. Any you think I should add?

Kelly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Very Pleasant Stay

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

The highlight of my Santa Monica visit was spending time with my nieces and their families (at the beach, in the park, on the pier, at Disneyland, and seeing my niece perform at the Disney Concert Hall), but Charley comes in a close second. The studio is small but comfortable, clean and well laid out with everything I needed for a week's stay. Thanks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Arnie, I'm so honored my cat comes in a close second to seeing your talented niece perform at Disney Concert Hall! He is a funny cat, and I'm so glad you two had "quality" time together.

Thank you for the kind comments. Come back any time!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

a very happy hideaway

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

the place was exactly as in the information, very welcoming & clean! everything work just great and they help me with everything i ask for, just awesome! also charley the cat is one of the best cat i ever meet, thanks and hope to be back soon, kindest tiziana

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Tiziana, thank you for this sweet review -- and for the lovely Swiss chocolate you left! I hope you can come back, too!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Santa Monica Hideaway

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 6, 2012

My second stay at the Hideaway and it was a great, quiet and convenient location. Meeting, greeting, check-in and check-out all very smooth. Amenities very nice. Charley the cat very civil and sociable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Charlie, it was great to have you back! ...And so glad my Diplo-Cat did his job well. He's a great cat! Hope to see you again soon...

Kelly

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Amazing Experience

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

I had an amazing experience with my stay here. It was my first time in LA and I have to say that a lot of the good things I have to say about LA is down to this little Hiedaway that me and a friend stayed in. Its got an amazing location on a quiet street and is in walking distance to Santa Monica beach as well as shops, restaurants and 3rd St Promenade.
I will definitely be coming back to LA at some point in the future and will definitely be booking the Hideaway again if its available.
I must thank Kelly for having me at her home and for the experience that It brought me.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hari, how sweet! I'm so glad you had a great time. I do love my neighborhood! It was our pleasure having you. Come back any time!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Within Walking Distance of Beach and Main Street

Review submitted: September 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

I loved my stay at the Hideaway. Kelly was wonderful rent from and provided an honest description of her darling Hideaway. I stayed alone in the place and felt safe and comfortable. I walked to the beach daily and could walk many wonderful eateries and landmarks. I recommend this place to anyone who just needs a clean, quiet, place to stay while visiting beautiful Santa Monica. I did not have a car, but my children live in Santa Monica and were able to take me to many places. I recommend driving down the Pacific Coast Highway. I love to hike, so we drove to a trail head in the Malibu area and took the Windy Trail East hike up the hill. The first part of the hike would be considered easy and you get to see a small waterfall. For a more difficult hike, keep going up the hill to find a large beautiful waterfall. If you take the more difficult trail, be prepared to get dirty and be physically able to climb over rocks and to be able to pull yourself up a steep incline using the existing ropes to help you. It is worth the effort. The Hideaway was perfect for me. Since both of my children live in the LA area, I will probably stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Kris, thanks for the sweet review! And the hike sounds incredible....I'll try it next time I'm in town (the easy one!). What a great tip....Come back any time -- we have lots of wonderful trails close to the Hideaway.

Kelly

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Great for a college reunion!

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

This is a great place if you are looking for a really good value in
the Santa Monica / Venice Beach area and prefer to be out and about most of the time. It's in a charming neighborhood that is just blocks from the beach and restaurants but far enough away from the nighttime bustle of the Main Street bars. It was great for my a reunion trip with an old college buddy. Bus access to 3rd Street Promenade couldn't be better. The bus stop is right on the street corner, comes every 5 minutes, gets you directly to the Promenade in 10 minutes for only $1 a trip and runs past midnight. No hassle for parking spots! When we did use our car,it wasn't difficult to find curbside parking back near the rental
property. By the way, the property owner is great about communication. Everything about the rental is fully disclosed, she responds to questions very quickly and is a pleasure to work with. She also gives great tips on things to see and do that only locals know about. Would do it again!

Owners response: Adam, I'm so glad you and Floris had a successful reunion. I love my neighborhood, too -- nice mix of people. Yes, the bus system in LA is one of our best-kept secrets! When I'm home these days, I'm usually carless, so I rely on the buses, too. Very convenient.

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review -- and thank you for your very sweet emails while you were at the Hideaway!

Come back anytime!

Kelly

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Great location

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

Everything we needed and within walking distance from the beach. The buses are quite easy way to move around even to and from LA and Hollywood. Our host provided us with great tips about the restaurants and things to do. Besides the restaurants and diners there were some nice day spas on Main Street!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Jonna, so glad you and Kari had fun! I love that my little Hideaway can provide a great base for visitors. I travel a lot myself and I wanted to create the kind of place I like to stay in.

Maybe we can connect sometime in Finland!

Thank you for taking the time to post...

~ Kelly

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Great location

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

Everything we needed and within walking distance from the beach. The buses are quite easy way to move around even to and from LA and Hollywood. Our host provided us with great tips about the restaurants and things to do. Besides the restaurants and diners there were some nice day spas on Main Street!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

cozy spot, great location

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

We just had great stay at the Hideaway when we visited our son in LA.
Cozy, small but quite adequate, and great location.
The room was very clean, had a very cool shower, and we enjoyed hanging out in the courtyard as well.
Our only "complaint" is that we would have preferred a double bed to 2 twins.
We enjoyed renting bicycles on the Santa Monica bikeway and walking around the neighborhoods.
We hope to come again and will be happy to stay at the Hideaway if it is available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Marci! So glad you and Barry enjoyed Santa Monica and my Hideaway...When you come again, you might want to check out my studio Casita, at the same great location, but slightly larger with a queen-sized bed. It's ideal for couples!

The Hideaway is a great option for travelers looking for an incredibly affordable deal near the beach - singles, companions, or couples OK with single beds...

Kelly

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review